wazua Sat, Apr 11, 2026

77 Pages«<3536373839>»
Chase Bank loss...another case of cooking the books?
sitaki.kujulikana
#361 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2016 6:35:41 PM

were bank runs during the gold era same as today, most transactions are electronic nowadays. I thought a run should be easier to manage as opposed to when everyone would come to collect their gold or promissory notes or whatever paper money is.
sitaki.kujulikana
#362 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2016 6:39:11 PM

Just to correct this bullshit idea being sold here that "no bank can withstand a run", hio ni ujinga ya 19th century. A modern bank should be able to withstand run, and often carries out tests on it's own called "stress tests", these are simple tests that can be carried out by any serious banker and central bank (it is apparently what they are doing now). Those who were keen during the 2008 financial crisis will remember banks like JP Morgan emphasizing they are ready for a run. There are credit risk analysis, liquidity analysis etc to ensure in any case you can quickly convert some assets to cover "mass withdrawas", lakini kama umeweka pesa Panama ama in speculatory burotis and apartments in Nairobi shauri yako. THERE IS NO WAY ON EARTH social media can bring down a bank! CBK governor ongeza stress!!!!

Why cant you just name one bank that you know has undergone this kind of "stress test". Is that JP Morgue the same bank that imposed withdrawal limits?

He can't name one. Even his Waiguru did not survive a run.

Ziko zimefanya hii Kenya for sure!!! And they can't collapse! Hata social media iseme aje!

I remember sometime back when rumors were doing the rounds that equity was collapsing and a lot of guys started withdrawing cash, I wonder how member handled that, even my folks got out their pension money.
enyands
#363 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2016 6:47:28 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Just to correct this bullshit idea being sold here that "no bank can withstand a run", hio ni ujinga ya 19th century. A modern bank should be able to withstand run, and often carries out tests on it's own called "stress tests", these are simple tests that can be carried out by any serious banker and central bank (it is apparently what they are doing now). Those who were keen during the 2008 financial crisis will remember banks like JP Morgan emphasizing they are ready for a run. There are credit risk analysis, liquidity analysis etc to ensure in any case you can quickly convert some assets to cover "mass withdrawas", lakini kama umeweka pesa Panama ama in speculatory burotis and apartments in Nairobi shauri yako. THERE IS NO WAY ON EARTH social media can bring down a bank! CBK governor ongeza stress!!!!

Why cant you just name one bank that you know has undergone this kind of "stress test". Is that JP Morgue the same bank that imposed withdrawal limits?

He can't name one. Even his Waiguru did not survive a run.

Ziko zimefanya hii Kenya for sure!!! And they can't collapse! Hata social media iseme aje!

I remember sometime back when rumors were doing the rounds that equity was collapsing and a lot of guys started withdrawing cash, I wonder how member handled that, even my folks got out their pension money.

Equity was able to start the test run. Some banks their books are so down that should a test run be done they can't survive eg chase . A strong bank shouldn't be shaken by even wind .member did it
#364 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2016 6:49:55 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
were bank runs during the gold era same as today, most transactions are electronic nowadays. I thought a run should be easier to manage as opposed to when everyone would come to collect their gold or promissory notes or whatever paper money is.

Exactly why am saying some people are in the 19th century boss, with technology and a CLEAN system banks that are simply thieves collapse on their own, its easier to steal paper money! Utashikwa tu, hakuna story kama socio media, your bank closes itself up, somewhat like evolution!
enyands
#365 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2016 6:53:54 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Exactly why am saying some people are in the 19th century boss, with technology and a CLEAN system banks that are simply thieves collapse on their own, its easier to steal paper money! Utashikwa tu, hakuna story kama socio media, your bank closes itself up, somewhat like evolution!

Change that to chocho
#366 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2016 7:05:00 PM

As someone is blaming social media here, just know that traditional media has lost its mantle to the new media long time.

During the imperial bank crisis a blogger going by the name @owaah, did the most comprehensive write-up on the subject matter.

Right now people are requesting him to do the same for chase bank. Some of his followers on Twitter include prof. Mbithi (uon vc) frank ireri (hf ceo), knbs, nbk and many many bigwigs.

Between Wednesday and Thursday, a hitherto unknown Twitter user @manwamagoma broke down the chase bank fraud in a series of 100 tweets. Funny thing, he is neither a banker, economist or finance specialist but even Dr. David Ndii thought his was the most comprehensive piece. Btw he discovered the theft started in 2012 from published accounts. On Wed morning he had 1000 followers, today-5000. Again, all the bigwigs are following him.

Now when terryanne chebet and that chidzuga girl attempted to jump into the chase bank debate, KOT literally chased them away and exposed their shallow grasp of financial matters.

The world is changing people. Continue blaming social media.
#367 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2016 7:12:33 PM

Who is this that has a software that can stop a bank run?

There is only one bank that can survive a bank run. That's the Central Bank....Because they shall print the money and tell you to go on your way.

When you deposit 100 bob, the money is not kept in a safe.

It is lent out to someone else pronto. As in hapo hapo.

So from your 100 bob, Kamau is given 50, the bank is required by law to keep it in reserve, lets assume its 20% (i don't know the kenyan amount) and the bank goes to buy another kaplot with the remaining 30 bob.

In actual sense, the only money that the bank has that is yours is 20 bob.

So imagine a rumor that a bank is closing down. Let's go withdraw our money.

All that the bank has is your 20 bob.

So in the evening after all the chocho media economics gurus have withdrawn their money, the bank can go and borrow from the other banks for the night.

In this case, the withdrawals were so much that they couldn't even borrow from the other banks and the CBK decided to stop the madness.

It is madness because the moment you allow a bank run on one bank, other banks are also going to be affected. You see what happened at Rafiki. Who knows what has happened to the other small banks?

There are two issues here and they are not mutually inclusive.

1. The management was not ethical probably illegally dummifying the numbers.

2. There was someone and some people who shouted FIRE in a theatre.

You know they are feeling guilty when they continuously say and want to prove that its not their fault.

This is not a political debate though. There is no debating or points of views in economics and math.

When everyone goes to take money from their bank on Monday, there is no bank that shall survive.

You may tell yourself that if you wish to, but its not true.

#368 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2016 7:49:21 PM

alma how did equity survive that run caused by social media ?

a 16 billion hole cannot be filled overnight too. I'm sad for my honest friends who worked at Chase.
#369 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2016 7:55:17 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

The Bank run that caused the great depression in 1929

If the mongering is not stopped, most banks would collapse
enyands
#370 Posted : Saturday, April 09, 2016 7:57:48 PM

alma how did equity survive that run caused by social media ?

a 16 billion hole cannot be filled overnight too. I'm sad for my honest friends who worked at Chase.

Good point
77 Pages«<3536373839>»