wazua Tue, Apr 7, 2026

77 Pages«<1819202122>»
Chase Bank loss...another case of cooking the books?
#191 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:17:53 PM

muganda wrote:
Muganda wrote:

Caroline kago ‏@carolkags
Njoroge:Rafiki microfiance which is a subsidiary of Chase bank is safe and sound since its under a different management.

And the dominos start crumbling.

Don't be surprised to find your own bank that you are calling to safe to fail, going through these motions in a short while.

Runs on banks based on rumors have brought down countries.

People think that banks keep their money in the safe deposit box in their branch. There is no bank on earth with enough money to pay off its depositors when they all come for their monies in one day. Hakuna

I'm asking for a bit of retrospect here from the usual suspects on wazua. Scaremongering can lead straight to your safe bank.

#192 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:18:58 PM

#193 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:22:44 PM

CBK Governor p. Njoroge Press Brief

"We don' have a timeline on when Chase Bank will resume operations.

It depends on shareholders capital injection.

We met with shareholders on March 30,including institutional ones to increase their resources.

Social media rumours were reckless, led to a run on deposits of Chase Bank.

Yesterdays haemorrage on deposits was so large, Chase bank could not meet its obligations.

Chase bank would have survived had they dealt with the insider lending, non performing loans.

Africa Devpt Bank Ksh 5B signed last week hadn't been disbursed.
Chase bank hadn't received it.

Rafiki Microfinance isn't affected.

Last night we agreed with Chase Bank shareholders on amount and timeline but disagreed on who will provide the money.

Chase Bank reopening depends on when the shareholders will inject funds."
Cde Monomotapa
#194 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:33:15 PM

Yes. This is the price of recklessness, irresponsible posting, reporting, witch hunting & malice under the guise of 'democracy'.

Wengi wenu hapa mkiambiwa mfyate midomo hamtii. Wivu itawamaliza. Congratulations.
moneydust
#195 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:33:19 PM

wa P wrote:
Please someone assure my friend that MPESA will not be put under receivership. Huko dio pesa itakaa sasa.

Mpesa bank is not any safer than all the banks because the money it takes is in the same banks so if the banks go under it also goes under..
#196 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:39:25 PM

muganda wrote:
Muganda wrote:

Njoroge:Rafiki microfiance which is a subsidiary of Chase bank is safe and sound since its under a different management.

Don't be surprised to find your own bank that you are calling to safe to fail, going through these motions in a short while.

People think that banks keep their money in the safe deposit box in their branch. There is no bank on earth with enough money to pay off its depositors when they all come for their monies in one day. Hakuna

I'm asking for a bit of retrospect here from the usual suspects on wazua. Scaremongering can lead straight to your safe bank.

KCB and NIC (without the NPLs) are very solid...
#197 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:41:13 PM

IMHO, the role of auditors in the banking mess should be investigated as deeply as possible. Being a "bandit" economy the possibility of auditors being compromised is all so real.
#198 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:47:30 PM

-Bank CEO of the year 2014, Munir Ahmed (NBK)
-Bank CEO of the year 2015, Duncan Kabue (Chase Bank)
#199 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:48:43 PM

muganda wrote:
Muganda wrote:

KCB and NIC (without the NPLs) are very solid...

Maka my friend, what is wrong with Rafiki?

As in what is causing the run on Rafiki right now? Have their managers looted money? Are they also running fake accounts?

Or is it that they are owned by Chase bank? So fear and rumor.

There is no safe bank my friend once people start withdrawing. You cannot tell my mom NPL ratios. If she hears her neighbour is removing money from KCB, she will remove her money and KCB shall fall.

Never underestimate the power of rumors. We are watching right now unfolding.

The lines at Rafiki also don't augur well for Genghis. Actually I'm sure some wazua blue people are very excited at that prospect.

This was a straight up hack job done very well. With lies hidden in truth.

whiteowl
#200 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 12:50:04 PM

For those saying that the bank was brought down by malicious posts on social media, are you even serious? Social media didn't cook accounts, revise the cooked accounts and conduct a massive "internal lending" running into billions which pushed Chase to negative territory. Also coming hot on the heels of the collapse of 2 other banks, fear and caution is rational reaction you'd expect.Or did you expect people to just relax and assume everything is ok and their money is safe? Please don't shot the messenger!
77 Pages«<1819202122>»