Very very thick. If you are an Uchumi supplier
watesh wrote:
Meanwhile in Uchumi, things are thick

Sehemu ndio nyumba
#62 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 9:28:34 AM

watesh wrote:

Thickest...and the popcorns have absorbd the atmosheric moisture, so eating them is like chewing cud!

cyruskulei
#63 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 9:54:26 AM

watesh wrote:

Thickest...and the popcorns have absorbd the atmosheric moisture, so eating them is like chewing cud!

Silenced Silenced Silenced Silenced Silenced Silenced
Work hard at your job and you can make a living. Work hard on yourself and you can make a fortune.

cyruskulei
#64 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 10:13:43 AM

cyruskulei wrote:
watesh wrote:

Silenced Silenced Silenced Silenced Silenced Silenced

Work hard at your job and you can make a living. Work hard on yourself and you can make a fortune.

watesh
#65 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2016 10:24:50 AM

watesh wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly you have made my morning
1masha
#66 Posted : Sunday, May 01, 2016 9:45:13 PM

Shopping at Uchumi is a simple two step process:
- Shop at Uchumi
- Go to another supermarket to buy all the stuff you didn't find at Uchumi
Good judgement is often the result of experience. Experience is often the result of bad judgement - Mark Twain.
Ericsson
#67 Posted : Monday, May 02, 2016 12:08:46 PM

The way out for this supermarket chain is maybe if ICDC decides to take majority stake in it by converting its debt and buys out the other debts and converts it to Equity leaving it with a stake of about 40-55% similar to what happened to ARM.
Otherwise recovery of Uchumi going by the cases of empty shelves will be a hard nut to crack.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ericsson
#68 Posted : Tuesday, May 03, 2016 10:37:14 PM

http://www.businessdaily.../1/-/906sy5/-/index.html
#69 Posted : Tuesday, May 10, 2016 3:01:06 PM

Uchumi is dying a slow death. http://www.businessdaily...1/-/ngnn4jz/-/index.html
HaMaina
#70 Posted : Tuesday, May 10, 2016 3:15:32 PM

[quote=VituVingiSana]Uchumi is dying a slow death. http://www.businessdaily.../-/ngnn4jz/-/index.html[/quote]

-The list of goods confiscated from Uchumi and are up for auction includes 4,200 tissue papers, 605 cans of Mortein Doom, 129 pieces of Imperial Leather soap, 1,238 packets of Aquafresh toothpaste, 55 units of Del Monte juice, and 176 cans of Tusker beer.

Others are 930 bundles of hair weave, three StarTimes aerials, 63 Keringet water bottles, 164 containers of Blue Band margarine, 36 Kasuku exercise books, 18 pieces of Java coffee, 240 packets of Kericho Gold tea, and 145 bottles of Elianto cooking oil.

I only see 176 items worth my time. The rest are stocks available in any well stoked kiosk.
“You can get in way more trouble with a good idea than a bad idea, because you forget that the good idea has limits.” - Ben Graham
littledove
#71 Posted : Tuesday, May 10, 2016 3:16:16 PM

[quote=VituVingiSana]Uchumi is dying a slow death. http://www.businessdaily.../-/ngnn4jz/-/index.html[/quote]

just noticed unlike mumias and kq government is not in a hurry to save uchumi! or maybe somebody 'well connected' want to buy in at a throw away price
There are only two emotions in the stock market, fear and hope. The problem is, you hope when you should fear and fear when you should hope
#72 Posted : Tuesday, May 10, 2016 3:18:59 PM

HaMaina wrote:

-The list of goods confiscated from Uchumi and are up for auction includes 4,200 tissue papers, 605 cans of Mortein Doom, 129 pieces of Imperial Leather soap, 1,238 packets of Aquafresh toothpaste, 55 units of Del Monte juice, and 176 cans of Tusker beer.

Others are 930 bundles of hair weave, three StarTimes aerials, 63 Keringet water bottles, 164 containers of Blue Band margarine, 36 Kasuku exercise books, 18 pieces of Java coffee, 240 packets of Kericho Gold tea, and 145 bottles of Elianto cooking oil.

I only see 176 items worth my time. The rest are stocks available in any well stoked kiosk.

The total value of all these goods even at retail isn't even close to 2mn.
streetwise
#73 Posted : Tuesday, May 10, 2016 3:25:54 PM

I fail to understand the turn around strategy for Uchumi.

I.e What value to they intent to deliver and how much will they expect in return to become profitable again..

Looks dead to me
Aguytrying
#74 Posted : Tuesday, May 10, 2016 6:53:27 PM

I truly feel sorry for this company. What happened. I thought the new CEO would actually succeed. So sad. That dream of looking for a 5bn equity investment makes be chuckle. Unless the buyer gets >80-90% ownership.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#75 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2016 1:32:03 AM

NewsFlash!

Nakumatt misfortunes go on and on, yet they never go out of business... Thika Rd Branch demolition, Nakumatt downtown fire, Westgate terror, Shelf overpricing scandal, Kicked out of Lifestyle building and now the Ukay flooding.Seriously what could be their magical business strategy ? ................oh They donot pay taxes.Maybe Uchumi should follow this magical business strategy.
#76 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2016 4:42:33 AM

Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:

NewsFlash!

Nakumatt misfortunes go on and on, yet they never go out of business... Thika Rd Branch demolition, Nakumatt downtown fire, Westgate terror, Shelf overpricing scandal, Kicked out of Lifestyle building and now the Ukay flooding.Seriously what could be their magical business strategy ? ................oh They donot pay taxes.Maybe Uchumi should follow this magical business strategy.

What you seem not to know is that Nakumatt rents its outlets, when there are demolitions, they move stock when there are floods/bombs/fires, they get paid by insurance. They haven't experienced theft and embezzlement like Uchumi
enyands
#77 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2016 5:06:19 AM

Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:

NewsFlash!

What you seem not to know is that Nakumatt rents its outlets, when there are demolitions, they move stock when there are floods/bombs/fires, they get paid by insurance. They haven't experienced theft and embezzlement like Uchumi

Don't forget H.mwau background influence
Ericsson
#78 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2016 7:48:51 AM

Uchumi is a reflection of the African culture and how we run our companies.
Run to kill and not create a legacy
#79 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2016 8:57:15 AM

Ericsson wrote:

Stop insulting Africans bwana. Which African culture says that you steal from your employer or you run a supermarket like a kiosk?
HaMaina
#80 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2016 9:06:28 AM

Ericsson wrote:

Stop insulting Africans bwana. Which African culture says that you steal from your employer or you run a supermarket like a kiosk?

Boss its in our cultures,try keeping cattle or goats without sleeping with one eye open, or having a shamba boy with a panga and a firimbi to watch over them, and the next kilo of meat you buy will likely be from your shamba.
“You can get in way more trouble with a good idea than a bad idea, because you forget that the good idea has limits.” - Ben Graham