wazua Mon, Jan 27, 2025

$65,000 for Somali dude in Captain Philip
#21 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 2:31:52 PM

[quote=harrydre]That's good money for a first movie. He should now create a name for himself to command more pay like kina tom hanks and will Smith. After all if tom hanks was not in the movie, who would have watched it?[/quote

Can't agree more. That is a tidy sum for a start.I would personally be ready to do it without pay.Actors like Tom Hanks add glamor to those they associate with.
#22 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 2:34:03 PM

Money Whisperer wrote:
this was his first movie they had to train him and all that. he was paid and kwisha. 65K is good pay that is what most masters degree holders earn on average per year and he lives in a cheap neighbourhood so that is enough live on for a year. and the accolades will attract more opportunities and he can then raise his fee

haiya, watu wa masters get around 500k (kes) per month, funny that all the masters degree holders friends I have are unemployed.

anyway, approx mita sita is not bad money
#23 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 2:48:11 PM

He should not be worried much, it will not be long before Hollywood makes the big movie "WESTGATE' and Barkhat will be featuring alongside @Amores who will be acting Kimaiyo (burning mattresses) and @thmioni as Ole Lenku. I believe his dreams are still valid
#24 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 3:56:24 PM

He should not be worried much, it will not be long before Hollywood makes the big movie "WESTGATE' and Barkhat will be featuring alongside @Amores who will be acting Kimaiyo (burning mattresses) and @thmioni as Ole Lenku. I believe his dreams are still valid

I will act the part of Rachael while @Ecstacy will act the part of Gava lair!
#25 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 4:28:43 PM

#26 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 4:51:40 PM

Kumbe Oscar winners aren't paid any money for winning the prize.
#27 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 5:04:13 PM

I will act the part of Rachael while @Ecstacy will act the part of Gava lair!

Kumbe wewe ni wa bonus kwa sitting allowance
Buster
#28 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 7:03:13 PM

Kumbe Oscar winners aren't paid any money for winning the prize.

Ofcourse they are not. It's a way of recognising people in the industry. You even don't have to win just getting nominated is enough to put you on the A list. This makes your worth go up. You now get offered a lot of roles and can negotiate chapaa from a better position.
Money Whisperer
#29 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 8:18:22 PM

Money Whisperer wrote:
this was his first movie they had to train him and all that. he was paid and kwisha. 65K is good pay that is what most masters degree holders earn on average per year and he lives in a cheap neighbourhood so that is enough live on for a year. and the accolades will attract more opportunities and he can then raise his fee

haiya, watu wa masters get around 500k (kes) per month, funny that all the masters degree holders friends I have are unemployed.

anyway, approx mita sita is not bad money

That is in US and starting is usually 45K p.a and in some cities utaishi kama hustler. 50k comes to around 3K a month and in NY a small keja is 2K a month
"Money never sleeps"
#30 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2016 4:52:51 AM

The guy is acting in another movie.."Eye in the sky" the plot is about terrorism in Nairobi

#31 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2016 8:36:12 AM

See now he can hold his head high and demand $2m!

Next he will demand more and a hero role to save the reputation of the black man.
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#32 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2016 9:26:41 AM

See now he can hold his head high and demand $2m!

Next he will demand more and a hero role to save the reputation of the black man.

wow. he's just a good businessman.he has increased in value.so he charges more
#33 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2016 9:31:54 AM

aendelee vivyo hivyo - More power to him! I wish him smooth seas and may his skills and reputation grow!
I saw the Friends actors were each paid 1 million dollars an episode... an episode! so ile pesa ya kidero inasumbua watu akili ilikuwa 3 episodes lol. Halafu they negotiated a deal which the 5 would get 10% of all earnings from the series - Warner brothers makes approx 1 billion each year from syndication of friends years after the series ended and so each of those guys get 20M USD every year not lifting a finger.... lol!!