wazua Fri, Mar 27, 2026

10 Pages123>»
Black Jews AKA lost tribes of Israel
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 10:00:12 AM

I have always been fascinated by just how many african societies consider themselves "jews" or "jew-like".
It is not uncommon to hear Kyuks referring to themselves as the jews of kenya.
The Pokot consider themselves the lost tribe of israel
The Lemba people of Zimbabwe consider themselves the lost tribe of israel
The igbo of Nigeria as well,...
Heck I even heard a friend claim that Liberia is "Africa's israel".
Some Ghanians consider themselves jewish... some Senegalese...
I am sure the list goes on
What is with the obsession... Accept wewe ni mwafrika!
#2 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 10:16:23 AM

I have always been fascinated by just how many african societies consider themselves "jews" or "jew-like".
It is not uncommon to hear Kyuks referring to themselves as the jews of kenya.
The Pokot consider themselves the lost tribe of israel
The Lemba people of Zimbabwe consider themselves the lost tribe of israel
The igbo of Nigeria as well,...
Heck I even heard a friend claim that Liberia is "Africa's israel".
Some Ghanians consider themselves jewish... some Senegalese...
I am sure the list goes on
What is with the obsession... Accept wewe ni mwafrika!

who said a mwafrika cannot be a jew?

You can be a jew through self identification or practicing their culture and religion.

If many christians consider themselves descendants of Abraham, then all christians are jews too!
Anti_Burglar
#3 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 10:20:19 AM

On the other hand, Iḿ always fascinated by those who cling on to the 'African' brand. You see some Europeans insisting they are 'African'. Even some Americans who easily trace their lineages back to Europe insist they are 'African'. Look at the American president. For all intents and purposes he is American yet still 'remembers' his 'African' roots. These 'African' labels is superficial. That is the evolution of it. We must accept that 'African' is nothing and move on.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 10:22:36 AM

Wakorino are the lost tribe of Yisrael.

#5 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 10:29:19 AM

Black jewry is fascinating... there is a book about it...
apparently the Ashanti, Tutsi, Igbo, Zulu, Beta Israel, Maasai and many others claim to be jews...
#6 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 10:31:01 AM

apparently the Ashanti, Tutsi, Igbo, Zulu, Beta Israel, Maasai and many others claim to be jews...

Who is a jew? Is it by birth, religion, culture, geography etc?
#7 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 10:31:09 AM

Anti_Burglar wrote:

On the other hand, Iḿ always fascinated by those who cling on to the 'African' brand. You see some Europeans insisting they are 'African'. Even some Americans who easily trace their lineages back to Europe insist they are 'African'. Look at the American president. For all intents and purposes he is American yet still 'remembers' his 'African' roots. These 'African' labels is superficial. That is the evolution of it. We must accept that 'African' is nothing and move on.

wewe...sasa...wewe! anzisha thread yako na hiyo topic!
#8 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 10:34:43 AM

Who is a jew? Is it by birth, religion, culture, geography etc?

apparently...By claim! if you look different from the people around you. if you have distinct cultures from those around you, if you have beaten them in war over and over again. Then Christianity shows up on your door step... you automatically associate with the conquests of the Israelites then draw an imaginary line between the so called lost tribes of israel (Samarians) and you... and then teach that to your kids... a couple of generations later - everyone has internalized the claim.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 11:08:22 AM

I thought some Kenyan tribes have tried hard to show how they are descended from ancient Egyptians

The Kikuyu, Maasai, Kalenjin and Luo . Philip Ochieng keeps writing about how the Luo were from Egypt...

Hiyo ya Israel, apart from drawing comparison in experiences tendencies etc sijaskia saana
#10 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 11:15:54 AM

I thought some Kenyan tribes have tried hard to show how they are descended from ancient Egyptians

The Kikuyu, Maasai, Kalenjin and Luo . Philip Ochieng keeps writing about how the Luo were from Egypt...

Hiyo ya Israel, apart from drawing comparison in experiences tendencies etc sijaskia saana

there is also the who Egypt claim as well... I think the Wangas from Mumias also claim walitoka 'misri'
10 Pages123>»