6 Pages<12345>»
Equity Group FY 2015 profit before tax up 7%
watesh
#41 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 4:37:00 PM

mlennyma wrote:
watesh wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
Equity Bank has put South Sudan subsidiary in exit position meaning the subsidiary is on the verge of shutdown

CEO said no exit plans. They are now bagging a huge deal with UN and other NGOs to handle all the funds they send. Plus they handle embassy funds...retail banking though isnt vibrant

ask cfc the risk of relying on that kind of business without sustainable retail business

Even with currency devaluation and conflicy SS still makes more profit than Uganda and Rwanda subsidiaries. So i say run the business as long as its profitable
Fetero
#42 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 4:51:37 PM

watesh wrote:
mlennyma wrote:
watesh wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
Equity Bank has put South Sudan subsidiary in exit position meaning the subsidiary is on the verge of shutdown

CEO said no exit plans. They are now bagging a huge deal with UN and other NGOs to handle all the funds they send. Plus they handle embassy funds...retail banking though isnt vibrant

ask cfc the risk of relying on that kind of business without sustainable retail business

Even with currency devaluation and conflicy SS still makes more profit than Uganda and Rwanda subsidiaries. So i say run the business as long as its profitable

But it is no longer profitable as long as conflict escalation is on. KCB closed two branches in SS. from 22 to now 20. You can always retreat to help you live to fight again.
Ask & it'll be given to you,seek & you shall find..Mathew:7:7
madebe
#43 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 4:52:35 PM

WHO HAS THE PRESENTATION AND THE FULL REPORT.please share
#44 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 4:58:06 PM

Realtreaty wrote:
madebe wrote:
where can i get the presentation?

Wewe Madebe nawewe, si uende Equitybank kenya site and read?

watesh
#45 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 5:04:48 PM

Fetero wrote:
watesh wrote:
mlennyma wrote:
watesh wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

But it is no longer profitable as long as conflict escalation is on. KCB closed two branches in SS. from 22 to now 20. You can always retreat to help you live to fight again.

Look at the balance sheet 0.4bn ksh is coming from SS in terms of profit, THAT IS MONEY, not just mere numbers. Thats profitable than many companies here in kenya. The problem last year with SS is currency devaluation due to lack of dollars in the market. Oil production had been reduced by more than 50%, Then prices sank and they were giving out 80%-90% of the revenue to Sudan for transport. Govt was busy using money to buy weapons and pay soldiers.
So far negotiations with Sudan about the reduction of $25 per barrel charge has started, more oil fields are back into production and oil prices are back at $40.
So its not yet time to close shop yet
#46 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 5:05:54 PM

When will this Man @James Mwangi retire and let some fresh blood to run the show?

watesh
#47 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 5:06:43 PM

When will this Man @James Mwangi retire and let some fresh blood to run the show?

9 more years
#48 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 5:07:19 PM

Fetero wrote:
watesh wrote:
mlennyma wrote:
watesh wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

Yaani KCB has gone and opened up to 22 branches in SS?
Real gogetters!

#49 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 5:11:20 PM

watesh wrote:

9 more years

He is surely turning himself into a deity and celebr-eity!
Sad Sad

#50 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 5:14:53 PM

watesh wrote:

9 more years

even with fresh blood the influence of this man in equity bank will still reign unless the whole bank is sold
#51 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 6:52:44 PM

Fresh blood ya kupeleka wapi??? Kenyans are a funny lot!!

They want change for the sake of change.

You only step aside when it is clear you no longer have new ideas, the company’s growth is flat or contracting and there is evidence this is BECAUSE OF YOUR LEADERSHIP or lack of it thereof!!

Go ask Larry Page and Sergey Brin when they will retire. While at it ask Warren Buffet how long he has been at the helm and why he hasn't retired. You should also have asked Steve Jobs the same questions.

Some people have big dreams and plans that take decades to actualize.

James Mwangi has a Pan African dream for Equity. This will not be actualized even in 10 years. To have an Equity Bank in at least half the African Countries as one of the top 3 or top 5 banks will take decades.

James Mwangi feels like he is just starting the journey while other are seeing the end - in Kenya!!!
#52 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 6:56:44 PM

mulla wrote:
Fetero wrote:
James Mwangi is 1st pouring praises to the ONLY BEST asset owned by equity that never gets an entry in balance sheet. #His Employees!!!

Most of his employees don't share the same sentiments...at least the ones I have interacted with.
Still KCB rules with PBT up 12%

1. Mwangi is full of praise for those employees whose skills are necessary in this day & age. Tellers are a dime a dozen and being phased out by Mobile Banking, agents and ATMs.
2. Pay for performance. Those who complain should quit. Mwangi isn't forcing them to remain at Equity.
3. His top management is accomplished. Look at how Equitel has taken on Safaricom despite the roadblocks from Safaricom's lobbying and lawsuits.

James Mwangi is a legend.
#53 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 7:03:23 PM

watesh wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

I think retail banking is on its way out for now. What makes sense for Equity is to rely on USD deposits [not lending] and transactional income.

Example: Embassy sends USD to Equity which pays it out to the employees [in USD or SSP] and charges a fee to the embassy and customers. In addition, it offers other services to local clients but in SSP.

Mwangi said they have reduced the Loan Book to only KES 700mn. He said they had seen the signs and had started reducing the lending and were in collection mode.
PKoli
#54 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 7:06:53 PM

mulla wrote:
[quote=Fetero]James Mwangi is 1st pouring praises to the ONLY BEST asset owned by equity that never gets an entry in balance sheet. #His Employees!!!

Most of his employees don't share the same sentiments...at least the ones I have interacted with.

1. Mwangi is full of praise for those employees whose skills are necessary in this day & age. Tellers are a dime a dozen and being phased out by Mobile Banking, agents and ATMs.
2. Pay for performance. Those who complain should quit. Mwangi isn't forcing them to remain at Equity.
3. His top management is accomplished. Look at how Equitel has taken on Safaricom despite the roadblocks from Safaricom's lobbying and lawsuits.

[/quote?

Watched James Mwangi during the investor presentation and was amazed at his passion. Like VVS says, he's a legend.
#55 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 7:10:56 PM

Fresh blood ya kupeleka wapi??? Kenyans are a funny lot!!

They want change for the sake of change.

You only step aside when it is clear you no longer have new ideas, the company’s growth is flat or contracting and there is evidence this is BECAUSE OF YOUR LEADERSHIP or lack of it thereof!!

Go ask Larry Page and Sergey Brin when they will retire. While at it ask Warren Buffet how long he has been at the helm and why he hasn't retired. You should also have asked Steve Jobs the same questions.

Some people have big dreams and plans that take decades to actualize.

James Mwangi has a Pan African dream for Equity. This will not be actualized even in 10 years. To have an Equity Bank in at least half the African Countries as one of the top 3 or top 5 banks will take decades.

James Mwangi feels like he is just starting the journey while other are seeing the end - in Kenya!!!

Amen! Mwangi is an OWNER. He is not an employee [with zero shares] like Naikuni was. Mwangi has about 5% [directly & indirectly] in Equity. His wife has significant shares in Equity as well.

As I have said before, I like firms with DIRECTORS who have a significant part of their wealth invested in the firms. [Warren Buffett].

Equity - Mwangi & Munga
Unga - Ndegwas
I&M - Shahs
TPSEA - Aga Khan's people.
KenolKobil - Biwott's people
KenRe - This is an exception as I have said many, many times. It's GoK so I watch it.

FTGH - Bangera with 80% ... I am getting into it as well.

That said, I do not trust Merali, Kiuna & friends [TCL], Matu Family, Obura [Olympia], Dinitz [Express] who use the firms as ATMs.
moneydust
#56 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 7:11:45 PM

mlennyma wrote:
watesh wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

The exit he was referring to is in loans and advances and anyone who knows the south sudan market would tell you the retail banking segment is too risky especially the loans and advances..
#57 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 7:14:28 PM

mulla wrote:
Fetero wrote:
James Mwangi is 1st pouring praises to the ONLY BEST asset owned by equity that never gets an entry in balance sheet. #His Employees!!!

Am still trying to locate the impact of Equitel in FY's results

#58 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 7:34:32 PM

#59 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 7:37:49 PM

mulla wrote:
Fetero wrote:

The twitterati are right on spot. Equity are on the back foot.. Coop will shake them up, soon enough

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
PKoli
#60 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 8:25:02 PM

mulla wrote:
Fetero wrote:

The twitterati are right on spot. Equity are on the back foot.. Coop will shake them up, soon enough

What I can guess for
2016 is significant growth of Equitel loans. Depending on how DRC performance will be, Memba might overtake Simba in PBT and PAT