I am Depressed. :( :( :(
#61 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 1:13:36 AM

Yes @alma, both are wealthy ranchers worth millions. Same job, same career. Why do we hate ourselves so much?

Motherf***er have you even seen a rancher in your life?

Sorry wazua but surely

Surely

Hardwood, have you ever seen a rancher in your life?
Then you compare a rancher to a masai

Unajua ujinga ni wa mamayako

Surely

I just setup the mute button on you

Damn....this is too maaash. I didn't do that to looolest, Kratos or Harrydre....Wewe umeshinda. And if you can beat harrydre in upus, utakuwa umejaribu.

Hehehe. So am I supposed to care or go into depression when 1 out of 45,000,000 kenyans blocks me? I still have 44,999,998 other kenyans i can debate with (that is except you and that mikeock guy).

This middle class Nyeuthi @alma should lay low like an envelope (to quote Ole Ntimama), what do you know about Masai wealth? You need to do some research and stop looking down upon our people!

No Masai owes the govt a cent. Compare that to these Ranchers in the US who owe millions of dollars. Some are going to jail for it. Who is more poor? Idiet!

That said the masai just need a little civilization, sell few cows and he will be way ahead of the American Rancher.

http://www.msnbc.com/pol...-bundy-hefty-bill#52097

Then why aren't you a maasai, jinga hii?

Working so hard so that you can have the american dream....

Not the Maasai dream

ha!!!

1000 maasai cattle x @50,000 = Ksh 50,000,000. That is more cash than the assets owned by many of the mortgage-choked and debt ridden middle class. Maybe the maasai guy should also buy a horse like that Texan rancher so that you can take him seriously.
#62 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 1:20:44 AM

Yes @alma, both are wealthy ranchers worth millions. Same job, same career. Why do we hate ourselves so much?

Motherf***er have you even seen a rancher in your life?

Sorry wazua but surely

Surely

Hardwood, have you ever seen a rancher in your life?
Then you compare a rancher to a masai

Unajua ujinga ni wa mamayako

Surely

I just setup the mute button on you

Damn....this is too maaash. I didn't do that to looolest, Kratos or Harrydre....Wewe umeshinda. And if you can beat harrydre in upus, utakuwa umejaribu.

Hehehe. So am I supposed to care or go into depression when 1 out of 45,000,000 kenyans blocks me? I still have 44,999,998 other kenyans i can debate with (that is except you and that mikeock guy).

This middle class Nyeuthi @alma should lay low like an envelope (to quote Ole Ntimama), what do you know about Masai wealth? You need to do some research and stop looking down upon our people!

No Masai owes the govt a cent. Compare that to these Ranchers in the US who owe millions of dollars. Some are going to jail for it. Who is more poor? Idiet!

That said the masai just need a little civilization, sell few cows and he will be way ahead of the American Rancher.

http://www.msnbc.com/pol...-bundy-hefty-bill#52097

Then why aren't you a maasai, jinga hii?

Working so hard so that you can have the american dream....

Not the Maasai dream

ha!!!

1000 maasai cattle x @50,000 = Ksh 50,000,000. That is more cash than the assets owned by many of the mortgage-choked and debt ridden middle class. Maybe the maasai guy should also buy a horse like that Texan rancher so that you can take him seriously.

Ethiteri
#63 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 7:29:41 AM

I believe this debate is now at the tail end.My take is....

1.The whole story is very sad and tear jerking.But I agree with whoever said the mzungu could have helped queitely if there was no other motive.

2.We have failed as a people.We the relatives,neighbours,church,government everybody.

3.Am certain and sure that one @ Alma can put across his issues queitely and with no insults.Words like stupid,foolish,matapaka etc are not necessary.In addition hiyo kuzungu mingi na point ni moja ama mbili not necessary at all.

#64 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 9:34:35 AM

Who ever took that video is just sick. What kind of adult comes across suffering children then instead of picking them up immediately or even giving them some water and food, spends 30mins trying to take the best video shots to capture the suffering spectacle in all its HD glory while the children are lying there writhing in pain and hunger? Hell, they could have even slaughtered one of those chickens roaming around those children and make them some lunch.

What kind of callousness is this? What about respecting the privacy of the children? From the video, one can see that it is all about capturing the starvation story, which will translate to more $$$$ for their NGO.

#65 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 9:48:25 AM

Ethiteri wrote:

3.Am certain and sure that one @ Alma can put across his issues queitely and with no insults.Words like stupid,foolish,matapaka etc are not necessary.In addition hiyo kuzungu mingi na point ni moja ama mbili not necessary at all.

#66 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 10:05:46 AM

Who ever took that video is just sick. What kind of adult comes across suffering children then instead of picking them up immediately or even giving them some water and food, spends 30mins trying to take the best video shots to capture the suffering spectacle in all its HD glory while the children are lying there writhing in pain and hunger? Hell, they could have even slaughtered one of those chickens roaming around those children and make them some lunch.

What kind of callousness is this? What about respecting the privacy of the children? From the video, one can see that it is all about capturing the starvation story, which will translate to more $$$$ for their NGO.

I disagree! I really do! here is the reason. Showing this to the world does more good than sorting out one person. Case in point is the South African journalist Kevin Carter iconic photo in 1993

but it was not without consequence - Carter fell into depression and committed suicide by carbon-monoxide poisoning in Johannesburg!
his suicide note was
"The pain of life overrides the joy to the point that joy does not exist."

The photo however moved people to act and move.

photos like these don't go away

#67 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 10:37:33 AM

@masukuma, interesting observations about that child-vulture photo in the link you have given.

However good the reasons as to why Carter published this picture, his method of capturing that heart-rending moment invited criticism. In an article relaying Carter’s tragic death, Macleod recounted the details that Carter had told their mutual friends about the scene he photographed:

[He wandered into the open bush. He heard a soft, high-pitched whimpering and saw a tiny girl trying to make her way to the feeding center. As he crouched to photograph her, a vulture landed in view. Careful not to disturb the bird, he positioned himself for the best possible image. He would later say he waited about 20 minutes, hoping the vulture would spread its wings. It did not, and after he took his photographs, he chased the bird away and watched as the little girl resumed her struggle. (Macleod, 1994, par.10)]

This patience for the perfect shot created the spacing and lighting needed to have the desired effect on the viewer. But in order to get the best possible shot, Carter ignored his responsibility to help the struggling girl. His professional detachment seemed to override his own humanity and morals. His decision would have a lasting effect on the world, as well as a lasting and overwhelming effect on Carter himself.

Following his death, some saw in the photograph parallels with Carter’s own death (MacLeod, 1994). The starving child in the foreground of the photograph symbolized Carter himself, and the vulture preying on him from behind represented the angel of death that would soon consume him through depression (Macleod, 1994).

#68 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 11:00:31 AM

@masukuma, interesting observations about that child-vulture photo in the link you have given.

However good the reasons as to why Carter published this picture, his method of capturing that heart-rending moment invited criticism. In an article relaying Carter’s tragic death, Macleod recounted the details that Carter had told their mutual friends about the scene he photographed:

[He wandered into the open bush. He heard a soft, high-pitched whimpering and saw a tiny girl trying to make her way to the feeding center. As he crouched to photograph her, a vulture landed in view. Careful not to disturb the bird, he positioned himself for the best possible image. He would later say he waited about 20 minutes, hoping the vulture would spread its wings. It did not, and after he took his photographs, he chased the bird away and watched as the little girl resumed her struggle. (Macleod, 1994, par.10)]

This patience for the perfect shot created the spacing and lighting needed to have the desired effect on the viewer. But in order to get the best possible shot, Carter ignored his responsibility to help the struggling girl. His professional detachment seemed to override his own humanity and morals. His decision would have a lasting effect on the world, as well as a lasting and overwhelming effect on Carter himself.

Following his death, some saw in the photograph parallels with Carter’s own death (MacLeod, 1994). The starving child in the foreground of the photograph symbolized Carter himself, and the vulture preying on him from behind represented the angel of death that would soon consume him through depression (Macleod, 1994).

yes... this work takes it's toll.... and Carter as a journalist saved so many using this photo that he would have if he didn't take it. You ask why people do these things - coz it sells. it's called Poverty Porn... white people eat it up then send lots of cash over. My agenda is not to block the disgusting trade that Poverty Porn is but rather - why should we not just end these cases to begin with so that we don't have photos like these being taken? Instead of proposing that shephard wazungus to Muranga instead of Kibera - why not just clean up kibera once and for all? Why not end this degrading fatalistic living? Just because the world is not seeing it does not mean it does not exist... however if it does not exist... well... IT DOES NOT EXIST!!