wazua Wed, Dec 25, 2024

Taj Mall title revoked to clear the way for Outer Ring
Mike Ock
#21 Posted : Tuesday, January 26, 2016 11:58:16 PM

Sometimes I wonder if being this rich in Kenya has any real advantages. You can be sure this Gorasia guy does not sleep at night. I think the only real beneficiaries are his wife and mpangos...... no I take that back, the wife would also be stressed. Mpangos, doctors and lawyers are the only people who benefit. All for what??!! Wacha ikae.

There is a level of richness that just begets more problems. The so-called "stinking" rich level. Like the name implies, it just stinks. On the other hand, I've seen people making just a few hundred thousand a month or a million, and the work-life balance can be amazing at that level.
#22 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 6:26:32 AM

Those whose say 30million is small, see what the embattled judge tanui has to say

The judge added, "I have grown from a salary
of Sh22,000 as a High Court judge to
Sh750,000 as a Supreme Court judge. I have
Sh15 million savings in my account and I
have some 2,000 goats. I can go into farming
and take with me my lump sum exit package
of Sh22 million."

If a person of such high standing in the society is happy with 37+million, sambusa mimi?

kayhara
#23 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 7:57:16 AM

Sometimes I wonder if being this rich in Kenya has any real advantages. You can be sure this Gorasia guy does not sleep at night. I think the only real beneficiaries are his wife and mpangos...... no I take that back, the wife would also be stressed. Mpangos, doctors and lawyers are the only people who benefit. All for what??!! Wacha ikae.

Own experience when I bought my first car, I started noticing its benefitting everyone but me, my boss expected me to use it for work with no refunds, my girlfriend wanted night dates, my friends borrowed rides, I didn't have parking so I paid a guard at a shared night parking, the mechanics were always happy to see me, the parking boys expected a 20/-bob ya macho, the parking fees, my insurance friends were fighting over me for the car cover, it's very true that sometimes your wealth will end up benefiting others more at your expense, I decided to sell the car and again my car broker friends fought over the opportunity, SIGH, so many people were disappointed by my selling the car, currently I just lie that my car is a work car and to the boss for work matters I take a taxi.
To Each His Own
streetwise
#24 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 5:07:51 PM

2000 Goats at 9K per unit is 18M.

This guy is not pooreee
#25 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 5:58:39 PM

streetwise wrote:

This guy is not pooreee

Who the hell buys a goat for 9k???

A goat is like 10kg - give or take a few. At Kiamaiko I am told a Kg goes for 270 to 300 wholesale. That is 2,700/= to 3,000/= for the whole goat. Make that even 4,000/= for a heavier goat.

Who I ask would want to buy a goat for 9,000/=. Unless it is one of those one coloured goats used for some juju ceremonies.

I postulate that only a goat would buy another goat for 9k.
enyands
#26 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 6:04:59 PM

streetwise wrote:

This guy is not pooreee

A goat is like 10kg - give or take a few. At Kiamaiko I am told a Kg goes for 270 to 300 wholesale. That is 2,700/= to 3,000/= for the whole goat. Make that even 4,000/= for a heavier goat.

Who I ask would want to buy a goat for 9,000/=. Unless it is one of those one coloured goats used for some juju ceremonies.

That 9000 figure troubled me for a minute . Unless ni Mbusi aliyetoka majuu na 1st class plane
#27 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 6:16:11 PM

To contribute to the wealth discussion, I love normal life. If I can live a normal life, I am okay with what I have. By normal life, I mean I can walk anywhere, shop wherever I feel like, chill wherever etc. without feeling like a target or the odd one out.

But this depends on how you acquired your wealth and how you live your life. I know a fellow who probably collects like 4 million in rental income monthly - and most of the properties have been around for a while so it is not new money. And these are just the properties I know and given that the guy doesn't talk about his wealth, this must just be the tip of an iceberg. The fellow drinks at a ka local near one of his rental properties but never even once goes into the property for whatever reason. All things are handled by agents. Most tenants don't even know him.

Although he lives in an expansive home in Karen, he fits in anywhere. He has like 10 vehicles from Range Rovers to Toyotas and he knows which to use where. I once met him somewhere. He had just parked his kawaida Nissan and was walking on the streets without a fear in the world. No looking over his shoulders. That is the life I like. If I need body guards, walking around with guns, changing vehicles to avoid being followed, avoiding food and drinks not to be poisoned, etc. sasa hiyo si maisha!!!
#28 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 8:18:55 PM

@newfarer, I wish I could say 30M tosha like you. Congrats man

Back in my campo days, I'd hear fmr students on their first jobs complain about their 35k salos. I'd wonder what was wrong with these fellows. To me hiyo ilikuwa pesa I could manage to live with for the rest o my working life. I'd think of amts such as 70k as mwisho wa mawazo. In my thinking then, anybody earning such was not to complain

Shock on me when I landed 'out here'

Lakini godliness snd contentment is great gain. kudos
enyands
#29 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 8:54:45 PM

Back in my campo days, I'd hear fmr students on their first jobs complain about their 35k salos. I'd wonder what was wrong with these fellows. To me hiyo ilikuwa pesa I could manage to live with for the rest o my working life. I'd think of amts such as 70k as mwisho wa mawazo. In my thinking then, anybody earning such was not to complain

Basing on the 35k I guess you cleared Campo 2000- 2004 coz I had the same thoughts too .
#30 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 2:07:56 AM

To contribute to the wealth discussion, I love normal life. If I can live a normal life, I am okay with what I have. By normal life, I mean I can walk anywhere, shop wherever I feel like, chill wherever etc. without feeling like a target or the odd one out.

But this depends on how you acquired your wealth and how you live your life. I know a fellow who probably collects like 4 million in rental income monthly - and most of the properties have been around for a while so it is not new money. And these are just the properties I know and given that the guy doesn't talk about his wealth, this must just be the tip of an iceberg. The fellow drinks at a ka local near one of his rental properties but never even once goes into the property for whatever reason. All things are handled by agents. Most tenants don't even know him.

Although he lives in an expansive home in Karen, he fits in anywhere. He has like 10 vehicles from Range Rovers to Toyotas and he knows which to use where. I once met him somewhere. He had just parked his kawaida Nissan and was walking on the streets without a fear in the world. No looking over his shoulders. That is the life I like. If I need body guards, walking around with guns, changing vehicles to avoid being followed, avoiding food and drinks not to be poisoned, etc. sasa hiyo si maisha!!!

Nditto me!

#31 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 2:12:51 AM

streetwise wrote:

This guy is not pooreee

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

#32 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 2:23:01 AM

popat wrote:
Hata kama, what the heavens do you want to do with a billion?
For me ksh20-30million is enough for me to live a quiet life and leave enough for generations to come. Watu wawache tamaa!

Boss 30million is what will kill you with stress.Thats a four bedroom house in Mlolongo.So how do you live out of that?

Let me say my upcoming house in a better location than mlolongo is decent enough, my neighbours too just for notes comparison, I m still far from spending 5million as yet, by the time the cost gets to 6m it will be good enough, this can be done pole pole, so again why do I need a billion. Even worse a stolen billion.
If you spend that clean 30million prudently you can live a decent life and leave a clean story to your descendants . Acha za wizi.

Na sasa Range Rover utabuy na pesa gani?

#33 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 6:09:17 AM

popat wrote:
Hata kama, what the heavens do you want to do with a billion?
For me ksh20-30million is enough for me to live a quiet life and leave enough for generations to come. Watu wawache tamaa!

Boss 30million is what will kill you with stress.Thats a four bedroom house in Mlolongo.So how do you live out of that?

Let me say my upcoming house in a better location than mlolongo is decent enough, my neighbours too just for notes comparison, I m still far from spending 5million as yet, by the time the cost gets to 6m it will be good enough, this can be done pole pole, so again why do I need a billion. Even worse a stolen billion.
If you spend that clean 30million prudently you can live a decent life and leave a clean story to your descendants . Acha za wizi.

Na sasa Range Rover utabuy na pesa gani?

Must one have a range to have lived? The need for a car is to help you move from point a to b with little inconveniences. You don't need a billion to own a well serviced mark I I
#34 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 7:30:54 AM

enyands wrote:

Basing on the 35k I guess you cleared Campo 2000- 2004 coz I had the same thoughts too .

No. 2k I was still in Secondary school!
#35 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 8:08:26 AM

With 30 million (Assuming you already have a plot) you can build a flat with a monthly rental income of between 400k and 500k. You can be reinvesting the surplus of this money if you feel like.

You can then use your time doing things that have real importance - like spending time with family and friends, playing with your kids, listening to them, travelling, hobbies etc. Of course you can still be doing some work (IF you want to) but for lesser hours - 9 to 3 in the worst case scenario!

The problem with us is that we spend all our time amassing wealth then we die! We live like we will never die then we die like we never lived!

For example, do you think Kirima really enjoyed his wealth or he was busy trying to get more? I have said here before that I feel very sad (for the kids) when I go to places like Village Market and I see kids accompanied by House Helps in full uniform coming for swimming or something and then are picked by the driver. No parent in sight. Kids accompanied by their parents always seem to have more fun.
Arconnrk
#36 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 12:29:46 PM

Those whose say 30million is small, see what the embattled judge tanui has to say

The judge added, "I have grown from a salary
of Sh22,000 as a High Court judge to
Sh750,000 as a Supreme Court judge. I have
Sh15 million savings in my account and I
have some 2,000 goats. I can go into farming
and take with me my lump sum exit package
of Sh22 million."

If a person of such high standing in the society is happy with 37+million, sambusa mimi?

Applause I like your point but be careful not to take the explanations of suspects at face value.

The 'I'm too humble to steal' tactic is almost always deployed by those accused of corruption or illegal wealth creation. Even M-Zero-One liked to remind us about how he was a humble schoolteacher once upon a time.

Aside from the judge's 2,000 goats, one would also need to check wealth and property registered in the names of family, friends,lawyers, househelps, drivers and gardeners (to name but a few) but in which he has a beneficial interest. That's where the hard work of a corruption investigator begins.

If 30mn is enough for you, its probably because your moral compass is still in good working condition. Once that thing breaks down, there's no such thing as 'tosha'. There was a recent case in the UK about one of the biggest heists ever in that country in which a group of burglars literally broke into an underground bank vault and stole more than £14 million worth (~2 billion shirrings)- one of the men who pleaded guilty was 76 years old, another was 75 and another was 74- what were they going to do with the money at that age (link)?
Even the birds can testify...but you forget the chief has his son as the judge and his son-in-law as interpreter- Oumar Ba
#37 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 1:42:45 PM

enyands wrote:

Kwani uko mdogo aje? Ni kelele yako iko nyingi lakini experience ni ZERO!

actuarywahisa
#38 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 2:29:53 PM

streetwise wrote:

This guy is not pooreee

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Maich kuwa mpole hahaha.
There are too many opportunities all around. Open your eyes and maybe you'll spot one
#39 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 3:02:27 PM

enyands wrote:

#40 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 6:23:33 PM

enyands wrote:

I always thought wewe ni born '76...kumbe ni kiherehere tu, no wonder saa zingine wewe hukasirika sana ukiambia kitu personal from an anonymous wazuan whose face you dont even know!