Matatu Business
junior121121
#741 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 6:52:58 PM

@ Metaspoilt - i inboxed you jana -
Maybe just post details on here
TeamW
#742 Posted : Saturday, January 23, 2016 2:30:44 PM

Hi Guys,
I would like to introduce you to Energym Fabricators (www.energym.co.ke). We are the new kids on the block :) and our first vehicle is the new sensational All Blacks plying Rongai route...probably the best Mat in Nbi right now, if not in KE. We own several 33-Seaters and formed Energym after being totally disappointed by the works of the major players in the industry. Most of them do mass fabrication with very cheap poor quality materials and give you timelines that they never keep. Our first Mat was done by Dodi...was supposed to take 45-60 Days BUT ended up taking 6 Months!!!!!!...and it may have taken longer, was it not for the shameless 'Kitu Kidogos' that the workers asked for daily. A few months on the road, the vehicle started falling apart...with leakages, windows breaking. So after having to take it back for 'Riko' we have spent almost 6.5M on that vehicle which was basic!!!.. We found out ommisions of certain materials e.g. Roof by Dodi...really really unprofessional.
At Energym, we intend to change this!!. We don't do mass Fabrication!! Our policy is one Vehicle at a time. We do the work in 60 days!. Furthermore, we offer flexible payment solutions to our esteemed clients. For instance, after the client buys the Chassis at 3.5M, he pays about 1M for Fabrication of a basic Bus, then the rest in interest-free installments for 6-12 months. This is because we are also in the industry and understand the needs, problems and challenges of Matatu owners. With our offer, Clients are able to focus on getting the returns on their investment as soon as possible. Feel free to contact us.
@Junior121121..how can we get the contacts of the Kalasinga offering loans???
.and btw, for the new or potential investors, the figures presented by Junior121121 are on point and reflect our own experience...
Thitifini
#743 Posted : Saturday, January 23, 2016 10:37:50 PM

matatuman wrote:
kendata26Y wrote:
matatuman wrote:
mwania wrote:
Thank you Thitifini (Stephen?). I will avoid the petrol one. What are the returns for the diesel one? What expenses will you have paid for to get the net?

Thitifini, what route are you on? Petrols only made sense when the difference in price was close to 600k. But they are still as good as 5Ls, just do a decat, fit an aftermarket chip and have it remapped then buy me a beer.

Do you mind expounding on what this is and what the impact on fuel consumption is? I will gladly pay for the beer.

The de-cat basically gives you a high flow exhaust. Have the catalytic converter removed. Get a Unichip installed and get an eco tune done by one of the pro tuners. Only two in Nairobi. Simon Sharpe of Sharpe services in Karen or the master tuner himself Amit Pandya of AMS chip tuning.

Avoid Sharpe he works with some kalasinga who has a problem with dark skin. Last job he did for me was shoddy and they just don't care. AMS is pricy but they do a good job. Never had a van tuned at AMS, but they once did a Subaru for me.

Plus you might want to replace the oxygen sensor before the tune with a new one not second hand. Pombe si lazima so do not feel obliged.

@Matatuman, am considering changing the engine to diesel. Am told that most likely I'll have to change gear box too.

Any experience/advice on this? Total cost might go to the range of 300k from what I pick from local mechanics.

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
matatuman
#744 Posted : Monday, January 25, 2016 10:36:11 AM

@Thitifini, I hear there are a couple of people who have done it. I do not have the details but can share if and when I get.

I however doubt you can swap with the diesel 1KD or 2KD engines due to costs of other related components.
Thitifini
#745 Posted : Monday, January 25, 2016 5:59:30 PM

matatuman wrote:
@Thitifini, I hear there are a couple of people who have done it. I do not have the details but can share if and when I get.

I however doubt you can swap with the diesel 1KD or 2KD engines due to costs of other related components.

Will appreciate @matatuman!

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
junior121121
#746 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 3:14:17 PM

TeamW wrote:
Hi Guys,
I would like to introduce you to Energym Fabricators (www.energym.co.ke). We are the new kids on the block :) and our first vehicle is the new sensational All Blacks plying Rongai route...probably the best Mat in Nbi right now, if not in KE. We own several 33-Seaters and formed Energym after being totally disappointed by the works of the major players in the industry. Most of them do mass fabrication with very cheap poor quality materials and give you timelines that they never keep. Our first Mat was done by Dodi...was supposed to take 45-60 Days BUT ended up taking 6 Months!!!!!!...and it may have taken longer, was it not for the shameless 'Kitu Kidogos' that the workers asked for daily. A few months on the road, the vehicle started falling apart...with leakages, windows breaking. So after having to take it back for 'Riko' we have spent almost 6.5M on that vehicle which was basic!!!.. We found out ommisions of certain materials e.g. Roof by Dodi...really really unprofessional.
At Energym, we intend to change this!!. We don't do mass Fabrication!! Our policy is one Vehicle at a time. We do the work in 60 days!. Furthermore, we offer flexible payment solutions to our esteemed clients. For instance, after the client buys the Chassis at 3.5M, he pays about 1M for Fabrication of a basic Bus, then the rest in interest-free installments for 6-12 months. This is because we are also in the industry and understand the needs, problems and challenges of Matatu owners. With our offer, Clients are able to focus on getting the returns on their investment as soon as possible. Feel free to contact us.
.and btw, for the new or potential investors, the figures presented by Junior121121 are on point and reflect our own experience...

@Team W - you have a great vehicle on the road - have seen it and I like the finish. I don't do too much work to my matatus (Body wise) but would like to visit you guys next week - are you working on a car? I completely agree on Dodi - that's why i stopped working with them. The first car took me 5 months - not acceptable.
Send me your email and i will send you khalasingas mobile number.
subaru
#747 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 3:21:43 PM

5 months thats too long sasa loan inalipwa aje ?
kimiri
#748 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 3:54:21 PM

TeamW wrote:
Hi Guys,

Hey Team. Do you have photos that you can post? Cheers
junior121121
#749 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 6:14:56 PM

kimiri wrote:
TeamW wrote:
Hi Guys,

Hey Team. Do you have photos that you can post? Cheers

Here you go on the below link.

https://www.facebook.com...137/?type=3&theater
Cde Monomotapa
#750 Posted : Saturday, January 30, 2016 6:16:00 AM

Good job here.

What recommendations would you give for seat material for a school bus? The hardiest available understanding pupils. Thanks.

I see no mention of Banbros. We added a Hino, see how that goes, and the body works are terrible! Exactly how @TeamW describes. Banbros walituangusha raundi this!
junior121121
#751 Posted : Saturday, January 30, 2016 8:52:02 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Good job here.

What recommendations would you give for seat material for a school bus? The hardiest available understanding pupils. Thanks.

I see no mention of Banbros. We added a Hino, see how that goes, and the body works are terrible! Exactly how @TeamW describes. Banbros walituangusha raundi this!

Great Stuff Cde Monomotapa, please let me know you feedback and experience with the Hino (Anyone else with experience)
For the seat material - use the KCI material. There is a guy at Moonlight Autos who fixes chairs and stocks it - its about 45% more expensive but stays 2 years longer
Cde Monomotapa
#752 Posted : Sunday, January 31, 2016 2:50:14 PM

junior121121 wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Good job here.

Great Stuff Cde Monomotapa, please let me know you feedback and experience with the Hino (Anyone else with experience)
For the seat material - use the KCI material. There is a guy at Moonlight Autos who fixes chairs and stocks it - its about 45% more expensive but stays 2 years longer

Thanks @junior121121 for that. Will follow up.

Sure will. The Hino's fitted with 37 considering weight and height of pupils, also, we are having enrollment from S.S now and they're looking to match me at 6ft+ smile

Insurance the are good packages from CIC negotiated through KPSA along with other risks associated with schools. With more competition we can get better offers. What about Saccos?

Blockbuster performance for 2015; Mean 381, Lowest 350, 5 400+ all into National schools! The requirement for capacity has increased with that. I thank Min. of Edu for expanding quotas and with more constructive engagement, more can be achieved. We are on the same side!!!

Financing cost need divine intervention. That's a common concern I see.
subaru
#753 Posted : Sunday, January 31, 2016 3:36:54 PM

junior121121 wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Good job here.

@ junior where can i get a better price for a coach body 33 or 29 seater and shortest delivery time

hindsight
#754 Posted : Sunday, January 31, 2016 11:58:49 PM

Hi Wazuans,
I salute you all and appreciate lots of the knowledge and life hacks you have shared.

Thanks again, and I hope to do the same in due course.

Quick Disclaimer; (apologies for a long post-wanted to be on point.)

Note;

1) I have read all threads on matatu bizness and have gained lots of wisdom on the same, hence consider me “educated” from past posts.

2) I have also realized matatu bizness is not for the faint hearted you have to get yourself dirty and be able to have hands on approach for its success.

3) I have a fair understanding of various matatu options available for an investor;

--14 seater (shuttle/long distance & town plying) –MY INTEREST- town service
--33/51 seater bus CFG/Dodi/Banbros etc
--Citi Hoppa/KBS etc leased.

My Question/My Interest; Interested running a 14 sitter Matatu Bizness in a town route (of a well managed sacco) ,alone as I don’t intend to do partnership as of now + other reasons i.e…quick decision making.

I wish to enter the matatu bizness starting from the bottom pyramid due to cash constraints. I have a budget of ksh 400,000 cash. I can squeeze another 300k through a sacco loan, readily available, hence total available and willing to spend 600K-700k at most.

What are the best options to acquire a 2nd hand Matatu reg’ (KAX-KBD) ,a Manual & Diesel run out of these below, in relations to low risk and consistent returns, easy to maintain etc.

1) Buy an X tour- Nissan caravan van(not 4wd); preferably (a good tested model); cost price; 650K onwards and convert to a matatu ,after registrations etc total comes to approx’ ksh 850k onwards.

My take; very costly above my budget, but am told they perform well reliably over 4yrs with usual repairs & maintenance.

My query;
Any ideas where I get one at a good price and are my costing above fair? Any other counsel appreciated.

2) Buy an old matatu Toyota/Nissan (a good tested model) but still in service and do an overhaul; cost price ;300k onwards,do engine and gear box (overhaul/change) ,change seats, do the paint job and change key other parts. Overhauling & repairs costs ; 250K total costs 550-600K.

My take;
No idea whether it can serve me reliably and the costs not sure and risks of overhauling /changing engine or gearbox.

My query; Do you know routes/yards/auction companies where one can get a good deal and what ‘s your take on my maths. Can you advise one to go for this option?

3) Buy a clean long distance matatu shuttle (a good tested model) in service and good condition.
Cost price ; 950k onwards .

My take;
Reliable and will serve me a few years before the usual challenges of old models. The problem is my budget is 700k tops and can’t afford to stretch myself further as of now.

My query;
Do you know people who can offer the same at a cheaper costs/down payment with low interests especially those owned by a Sacco and pay them in six months etc.

Bottomline;

I will appreciate any suggestions from those who had to start from scratch and how they hacked their way up the matatu pyramid. I would really appreciate any relevant information as per above.

Feel free to share any own experience is really welcomed.

Thanks a ton in advance! Laughing out loudly

Live your life well, don't settle nor conform to people expectations. It's one of the best way to live life full of bliss and contentment.
Cde Monomotapa
#755 Posted : Monday, February 01, 2016 7:23:28 AM

Morning @hindsight There is Toyotsu Auto Mart, Popo Road, South C. They sell used cars with good mileage. It's a Toyota subsidiary.
#756 Posted : Monday, February 01, 2016 7:45:52 AM

hindsight wrote:
Hi Wazuans,
I salute you all and appreciate lots of the knowledge and life hacks you have shared.

Thanks again, and I hope to do the same in due course.

Quick Disclaimer; (apologies for a long post-wanted to be on point.)

Note;

1) I have read all threads on matatu bizness and have gained lots of wisdom on the same, hence consider me “educated” from past posts.

2) I have also realized matatu bizness is not for the faint hearted you have to get yourself dirty and be able to have hands on approach for its success.

3) I have a fair understanding of various matatu options available for an investor;

--14 seater (shuttle/long distance & town plying) –MY INTEREST- town service
--33/51 seater bus CFG/Dodi/Banbros etc
--Citi Hoppa/KBS etc leased.

My Question/My Interest; Interested running a 14 sitter Matatu Bizness in a town route (of a well managed sacco) ,alone as I don’t intend to do partnership as of now + other reasons i.e…quick decision making.

I wish to enter the matatu bizness starting from the bottom pyramid due to cash constraints. I have a budget of ksh 400,000 cash. I can squeeze another 300k through a sacco loan, readily available, hence total available and willing to spend 600K-700k at most.

What are the best options to acquire a 2nd hand Matatu reg’ (KAX-KBD) ,a Manual & Diesel run out of these below, in relations to low risk and consistent returns, easy to maintain etc.

1) Buy an X tour- Nissan caravan van(not 4wd); preferably (a good tested model); cost price; 650K onwards and convert to a matatu ,after registrations etc total comes to approx’ ksh 850k onwards.

My take; very costly above my budget, but am told they perform well reliably over 4yrs with usual repairs & maintenance.

My query;
Any ideas where I get one at a good price and are my costing above fair? Any other counsel appreciated.

2) Buy an old matatu Toyota/Nissan (a good tested model) but still in service and do an overhaul; cost price ;300k onwards,do engine and gear box (overhaul/change) ,change seats, do the paint job and change key other parts. Overhauling & repairs costs ; 250K total costs 550-600K.

My take;
No idea whether it can serve me reliably and the costs not sure and risks of overhauling /changing engine or gearbox.

My query; Do you know routes/yards/auction companies where one can get a good deal and what ‘s your take on my maths. Can you advise one to go for this option?

3) Buy a clean long distance matatu shuttle (a good tested model) in service and good condition.
Cost price ; 950k onwards .

My take;
Reliable and will serve me a few years before the usual challenges of old models. The problem is my budget is 700k tops and can’t afford to stretch myself further as of now.

My query;
Do you know people who can offer the same at a cheaper costs/down payment with low interests especially those owned by a Sacco and pay them in six months etc.

Bottomline;

I will appreciate any suggestions from those who had to start from scratch and how they hacked their way up the matatu pyramid. I would really appreciate any relevant information as per above.

Feel free to share any own experience is really welcomed.

Thanks a ton in advance! Laughing out loudly

Kweli una jokes Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

My experience: I began with a low capacity vehicle, 8-seater Toyota TownAce doing long distance shuttle service. My reason for doing so were two-fold: One, I was similarly cash constrained (had to take 300k loan, half of which I spent on offsetting the remainder of the purchase cost. At the time I bought the vehicle for 750k). And two, I figured that in case I found the going tough (I was a newbie, remember) I could easily convert the townace to a personal vehicle or easily find an alternative use for it. Long story short, hii gari ilinifunza mengi sana and, two years later, I sold and upgraded to a (slightly used) 5l.

I'll answer the highlighted: With respect to a Toyota Hiace, the estimates you have for overhauling engine and transmission are understated. Currently, an ex-japan 3l engine is going for about 300k, 5l 330-350k. It's very rare that an engine overhaul (where you open it up and fix/replace sleeves, valves, rings,gaskets, pumps, etc) will cost you less than 100k, labor costs excluded. Especially when you insist on good quality parts.

Manual gearbox (3l/5l) is currently going for around 50-60k (gearbox only, with its bell housing) exclusive of labor costs. An auto gearbox is about 20-30k. If you wanna convert auto to manual, expect to spend upwards of 180k (actually ranging between 180-220k) inclusive of labor costs.

I normally prefer to fabricate my own seats rather than buy those ready made ones hapo Ngara whose quality is below par. Last I recall, I spent about 30k on materials (i.e. fabric, cushions - both heavy and standard density)and a further about 30k on actual fabrication, i.e. kununua chuma, kuzikunja na welding. Might seem a bit expensive but sitaki kupigiwa simu eti kiti imekatika, losing time in repairs. Fanya kazi nzuri ambayo hutarudia tena. Paintwork, both interior and exterior, cost somewhere around 30-40k. Good quality paint that has lasted 4yrs now and still looks as glossy as it was when newly done.

I hope that helps you a bit.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
hindsight
#757 Posted : Monday, February 01, 2016 1:32:41 PM

@Rankaz13 and @Cde Monomotapa thanks for the info.

I would appreciate other experiences.

@Rankaz On the costs noted.

I stay guided :)
Live your life well, don't settle nor conform to people expectations. It's one of the best way to live life full of bliss and contentment.
hindsight
#758 Posted : Tuesday, February 02, 2016 10:09:16 AM

Follow Up...Kindly need your input guys as per above post.

Where is

@Thitifini
@Matatuman
@Subaruman
@Junior121121

and the rest Matatu investors...help out!

Thanks.

Roque
#759 Posted : Tuesday, February 02, 2016 11:55:08 AM

Hi Guys,
Recently acquired an used van and am in search of the following items (quality and best price):
1. Tyres and rims
2. Paint job and body work
3. Installation of seats (14 seater)

PS> Van is to be used as a private van or school van
kayhara
#760 Posted : Tuesday, February 02, 2016 12:07:26 PM

Roque wrote:
Hi Guys,
Recently acquired an used van and am in search of the following items (quality and best price):
1. Tyres and rims
2. Paint job and body work
3. Installation of seats (14 seater)

PS> Van is to be used as a private van or school van

kisungu, visit Ngara or any fitout garage bei ni kuongea
To Each His Own