wazua Thu, Jan 9, 2025

198 Pages«<1112131415>»
Realities of Forex Investment
NGAATU
#241 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2008 7:41:00 PM

@timber

A unit has relationship with the lot when in trading in that;

- A lot is the standard unit used in the transaction and in forex currency the standard lot is equal to 100000 units,a mini lot comprises of 10000 units or maybe 1000 units which is a micro lot.Nowadays some brokers can even offer to you 1 unit.

The value of the base currency in the transaction will be based on the lot/units ; e.g in EUR/USD 100000 units or a standard lot pip value will be $10,a mini-lot or 10000 units will be $1 and e.t.c. If you think its complicated to use the term lot it can also be simpler if you just address it with the units as i am doing also personaly and it can be easier for you to know the value if you are new in forex.

Regarding the merits and demerits i do think that the larger the lot size or units will translate the big the value hence an advantage when you get profits but it can also be vice versa if it goes against you.

Leverage is the ability to gear your account into a position greater than your total account margin. For instance,if a trader has a $1,000 margin balance in his account and he opens a $100,000 position,he leverages his account by 100 times,or 100:1. If he opens a $200,000 position with a $1,000 margin balance in his account,his leverage is 200 times,or 200:1. Increasing your leverage magnifies both gains and losses.Leverage is the ability to gear your account into a position greater than your total account margin. For instance,if a trader has a $1,000 margin balance in his account and he opens a $100,000 position,he leverages his account by 100 times,or 100:1. If he opens a $200,000 position with a $1,000 margin balance in his account,his leverage is 200 times,or 200:1. Increasing your leverage magnifies both gains and losses.Leverage is the ability to gear your account into a position greater than your total account margin. For instance,if a trader has a $1,000 margin balance in his account and he opens a $100,000 position,he leverages his account by 100 times,or 100:1. If he opens a $200,000 position with a $1,000 margin balance in his account,his leverage is 200 times,or 200:1. Increasing your leverage magnifies both gains and losses.
leverage is not holy as purpoted by many brokers by offering you high leverage positions.High leverage positions exposes your trading capital too.So a person with a high leverage of 200:1 does not mean is better that much than of 50:1,he increases your options but when it goes other side you will feel the pinch.

A dealing desk provides price and executes trades,many brokers are commonly dealing desk and the disadvantage is that a dealing desk has many options of manipulating and many problems arising in the trading platforms,e.t.c.Though many deny but they are practising it.

ECN is an acronym for Electronic Communications Network. A Forex ECN does not operate a dealing desk but instead provides a marketplace where multiple market makers,banks and traders can enter competing bids and offers into the platform either inside or outside the spread,allowing traders to trade against each other and with multiple counterparties. A trader might open a trade with liquidity provider &quot;A&quot; and close it with liquidity provider &quot;B&quot;,or have the trade executed against the bid or offer of another trader. Participants of the ECN send in competing bids and offers into the platform,meaning no one liquidity provider can manipulate the price feed. Volume available at each price is usually displayed to traders. Orders are matched between counterparties,usually for a small fee.

An acronym for 'No Dealing Desk'. A no-dealing desk broker uses a matching engine to match up orders between its liquidity providers and their clients. The liquidity providers send in competing bids and offers into the platform,meaning no one liquidity provider can manipulate the price feed. A no dealing desk broker may increase the spread instead of charging a commission to their clients.

@NGAATU
NGAATU
#242 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2008 7:47:00 PM

@passyson @toni

Hows the trade on your side today! I have been following closely the USD/CAD since the pre-market and the indication was the positive figures from CAD economy and the fear of the unemployment data in the U.S. The CAD has gained about 45 pips against the USD during the pre NY and NY session itself.

Give me your take on other pairs?

@NGAATU
timber
#243 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2008 8:01:00 PM

so i can put in that 10000 units is 0.1 standard lot,and 100000 units is 1 standard lot?
And it seems that the unit size and value varies with the currencies because EUR/USD is not the same with USD/CHF or others.

Anyway thank you.But what is the disadvantages of the leverage?

Mchumia Juani hula Kivulini
dakiku
#244 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2008 8:33:00 PM

Hope you all have a cheerfully and happpy weekend.I am now closing my all trades and heading for a brief weekend.The dollar has been marvelous this week.I think i will look to fulfil my dreams of shifting from buruburu to kilimani and have a nice apartment.

For all guys who working you need to pull up your socks and achieve your goals.
- Those who are skeptical and say that it is tiresome and you need to stay 6 hours on the computers i think they are not honest,ask yourself how many hours do you spend in your office or kwa any job eveyday? i think its more than 8 so you are saying spending 4 hours is tiresome,kwani were you born to have easy things or being employed till you die like our dear brothers. As Robert kiyosaki said that dont fall on the two top on his four description of wealth.

Haya kueni na siku njema.

God bless

Perseverance and right information and tactics = tons of $$$
kilabe
#245 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2008 9:18:00 PM

@Alala If you are around i would be glad if you could explain maybe the way the EURO DOLLAR SWISS ARBITRAGE SYSTEM ( EDSAS) so that it may be helpful to all around here who may wish to use it and also for others who are willing to purchase it in future.
Its better like in a forum like this so that we could try and test and then share anything of the forex so that it could be benefitial and if not benefitial to all we can also discuss it.

I made my personal observations after you discussed it with @ngaatu and @passyson.I wanted to get their arguments if they were practical or if they did not test it. As i discussed earlier my argument was to denounce that trading fundamental was tiresome and trading a system was based on probabilities but the questions to be asked was what was the range of probability? I tested the correlations with about 5 different demo accounts using different equity capital sizes and i got the result as i explained to you earlier in the discusion.

For the better of all investors i think it would have been better if it could be discussed so that we avoid telling every investor from the one who has $500 that it can work for him underlooking all other pitfalls.Am gladly waiting for response for all out there also if you have anything to add to benefit everyone.

Bottom line: No short cuts and easy things,you need good and practical skills.

Adios

HARD WORK,HARD WORK HARD WORK
NGAATU
#246 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2008 9:56:00 PM

@ kilabe

I think the argument we had was slightly the same but i dont want to get in details you have with @alala.But i am also having some reservations.I think a good product is the one with merits and demerits and if demerits supercedes the merits then it wont be useful,and if vice versa then it would be useful.That does not mean it will suit for anyone as it will vary according to different people and investment techniques.

I will comment on the issue of the trading once again next week and give detail information so that we can all help each other where neccesary. For fundamentals i insinst again that it gives you a holistic approach in looking at the economic enviroment and develop your abilities to grasp the markets fast,there is no room for laziness and holy grails here.And its not tiresome and a person being glued to the market as most would wrongly advise.

Anyway i think we are continuing to help many kenyans on the opportunities which are there and are genuine to help a person in the life.Many are unemployed,or earn less but they are short of ideas so maybe this could give them an option which is really viable. Yes its not for everyone but it does not mean you should not give it a hint and look at it,but its also optional. We have good folks around here @passyson @toni @ kilabe e.t.c whom we can share and give our cheap opinions.So anyone who has anything to ask no matter how stupid or small it is dont hestitate to ask,it may be helpful to all of us. This is a good investment i can conclude that,but varies according to persons and approach of it.

@passyson am also looking at the NZD/JPY which you said earlier.@toni @harryK @kilabe and all fellows around wishing you a good weekend.

Harambee Stars 2 Namibia 0 (My analysis) Lets support our team

@mandlagh,@mtibe and others my e-mail you can use: casee83@yahoo.com

Regards

@NGAATU
tonicasert
#247 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2008 11:30:00 PM

@Ngaatu

Our weekends here are Fri and Sato,so just logged in late in the afternoon. Took afew trades and scalped for a couple of pips on GBPUSD. I can see CAD has also made some nice moves. Hope you made some good money.

I guess the USD now is really taking a breather. It has lost just marginally after the weak Non-Farm Payrolls. In the last 2-3 days its been trading in a range,so for now will concentrate more on trading with oscillators on the technicals. Probably from mid-next week we may go back to trending markets after the techs are out of the oversold levels.

Otherwise the week was great. Hope next week will be better.

@kilabe

On the systems,I think we had discussed earlier,and you were right in your analysis. So its upto someone to decide whether he is willing to trade with such a system that will give small,less risky but consistent profits,or go all out in the market and ride it openly,obviously with the discpline and proper money mgt skills.

Have a nice weekend all.

Moneymaniac
#248 Posted : Saturday, September 06, 2008 1:30:00 AM

@ Ngaatu
Who do u use to trade or do you have a preferred website? I'd like to get into forex trade

We enjoy the process more than the proceeds,
NGAATU
#249 Posted : Saturday, September 06, 2008 8:13:00 PM

@money maniac

Good for showing interest,hope you will benefit more benefits if you are determined.I will suggest you take some tips on the babypips.com site so that you can get the overview and basics,and then you can continue in looking for information.It requires discipline and be determined to take some time and practicals.Incase you have any other questions you should not hestitate to contact me or any other for clarification and information.We are all here to help one another without being selfish.

Good weekend all.

@NGAATU
tonicasert
#250 Posted : Sunday, September 07, 2008 1:23:00 AM

For anyone out there who wants to take free video lessons on how to trade forex,register at www.global-view.com and go to the link below.

http://www.global-view.c...trading-manual/dir.html

Its a proffesionally run forum where traders discuss the markets. The lessons cover introduction,technical analysis,fundamental analysis,trading psychology,money management and reading economic data.

You can use this lessons in conjuction with other learning sites like babypips.com

tonicasert
#251 Posted : Monday, September 08, 2008 2:32:00 PM

Morning all,

The weekend bail-out of Freddie and Fannie by the US government has spurred appetite for rsik and global economies have praised the bail-out for stabilising the market. However this may squeeze the USD as the govt has to borrow heavily.

USD lost in Asia open,and the volatilities seem pretty high. GBPUSD has been unable to break the 1.8000 level. Currently 1.7845,looking to short on retracements close to 1.7900. Oil and gold marginally up at 108.50 and 813,though I think they're temporary retracements.

Have a nice week ahead!

GL and GT.
NGAATU
#252 Posted : Monday, September 08, 2008 3:29:00 PM

@all

Morning too. The hurricane hanna is almost on level 4 and heading towards the gulf of mexico and this has spiralled the dollar to $118 per barrel.As the markets are preparing to be opened i think the USD also may feel a small heat of around 20- 50 pips with commodities.Am looking at commodities Currencies and they have around 30 pips against the USD already. The major report of economic data today i suppose is the GBP with the reports coming from 11.30 kenyan time.So depending on the prevailing situation of the hurricane think maybe the GBP will loose around 20 - 60 pips before it retraces back.

Hows the market @tonicasert @passyson.Have you checked the JPY ?

@NGAATU
kilabe
#253 Posted : Monday, September 08, 2008 4:02:00 PM

Morning @all

Hope your weekend has been good.Looking also at the prevailing situation,following hurricane fears i took around EUR/USD long with around 25 pips and i got them.It was flactuating waiting for the hurricane and the england economic data.

To all guys i think you can see that fundamentals dont lie,they can only drive you this way or that but you can see their direction.Getting 25 pips in the morning thats not miracle its something you can see.Even if the movement goes against you can still play with a good figure at the end of the day.
They are now retracing back. You dont need to spend 7 hours on the comp,you can spend 4 hrs a day and have enough.

Fundamentals are the key:

NB: Am sounding a warning to all potential and would be do not be tempted invest or partner with people who do not have information or tend to &quot;partner&quot; with you in forex and tell you that you can invest with as little as Ksh 5000 or $70!! Those guys are not investing in forex and do not know anything,they are using it as conduit.So if you have any forex querry we have practical guys and genuine people here in this forum who can give you the information at free and have good knowledge on the market and can assist you in anyway. We have @ngaatu @toni @passyson and few others who can really help you genuinely.Dont be tempeted by the ignorant they will lie you out there.

HARD WORK,HARD WORK HARD WORK
dakiku
#254 Posted : Monday, September 08, 2008 4:18:00 PM

Morning fellow traders

@ngaatu @ toni sure wazee for information!!! I have already scalped 28 pips with GBP/USD going under and am already out,waiting for the pre NY session.

Am scalper by proffesion in fx.

@kilabe thats good to ensure guys are not duped.Wacha mambo ya kuogopa of spoiling other people names,just name those craps who are taking advantage of people in the market by telling people to &quot;partner&quot; and they themselves dont have an IOTA of information.I know them and my workmate was near to be fleeced but he visited this forum and was saved. they are based at posta sacco plaza 8 th floor and they are putting adverts in the classifieds,they are telling guys to invest as little as Ksh 5000 in forex!!!! Those are scam and wananchi beware of them. If you dont beleive go there and ask them.

Here in the forum you can get free and genuine information and all skills you want.I am an individual trader but really applaud the efforts being put by these lads here.I hope you continue like that to help others more.

Perseverance and right information and tactics = tons of $$$
tonicasert
#255 Posted : Monday, September 08, 2008 4:23:00 PM

Hi,

Since morning I have watched the pound crushing by 150 pips (last 2.5 hours). What a move! It hasnt retraced in a huge way to my comfort levels,so managed to just scalp 35 pips on 1 trade. Its really moving I wonder why? Awaiting another retracement then I short again. Currently at 1.7710. If I see 1.7750 (or close)I will short again.

USD is proving to be safe-haven after the Freddie and Fanniebail-out,so JPY will continue getting hit. Current levels of 109 are a major resistance,but if broken we may head to 109.70 then 110.

GL and GT

tonicasert
#256 Posted : Monday, September 08, 2008 4:34:00 PM

Wow,GBPUSD is now 100 pips from my last take profit in just in 20 mins. If only.... But in forex one never wishes!

Still looking for that retracement.
NGAATU
#257 Posted : Monday, September 08, 2008 5:09:00 PM

I think every trader took that opportunity as we projected in the morning.The move has been marvellous for the GBP/USD I projected to go around 30-60 pips before any retracement but it has hit 100 pips! The data for the U.K has been very negative as it was expected.T hats not bad for a morning session guys.

@toni sure if horses were wishes in forex!!! that 100 pips,ooops. I went out at 50 pips.Thats why discipline will always be required mzee. Hows your projections on other currencies?

Am looking at CAD building permits and i think the comdolls may eat around 25 pips of the USD,as it awaits for the consumer credits of the U.S..My technicals still are giving me a positive direction.

@NGAATU
Passyson
#258 Posted : Monday, September 08, 2008 7:33:00 PM

Hi all...

Can see you had good trades here and there...happy for you.

Two things happened to me...NZD/JPY reversed...my S/L was hit and my internet connections got messed up since friday... :(

Anyway am back and we will see how the week progresses...Happy trading all

Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination
Passyson
#259 Posted : Monday, September 08, 2008 8:59:00 PM

Ny session is here with us...i am going short GBP/CHF and EUR/USD at least for the next hour...

Happy trading

Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination
tonicasert
#260 Posted : Monday, September 08, 2008 9:20:00 PM

Missed all the movements most of the day,got busy.

Thinking of shorting GBPUSD at current levels of 1.7645 and target around 1.7600.