junior121121
#731 Posted : Saturday, January 09, 2016 11:27:47 PM

matatuman wrote:
kendata26Y wrote:
junior121121 wrote:
matatuman wrote:
@Junior, What is your take on the ready made bodies by GB Polo? Also Hino vs Isuzu? On paper the Hino appears to be better I.e power & consumption.

Frankly - I like tried and tested. The average lifespan I like to keep the vehicles is like 5 years and then sell off and be able to retain some cash. Isuzu is excellent for this. For Example, I had a KBN in that I sold in Dec ( I had bought for 3.3 and sold for 2.1m. Granted that the VAT on chasis was recent but the isuzus tend to keep their value).

Hino is too new in the market for me to gauge this. I also find that they are aging too quick. Someone in my Sacco with one mentioned that they consume less - but the driver is the one who enjoys not the ownersmile

Interesting article. KBS MD is launching a new service with 10 Hinos.

http://businesstoday.co....le-western-kenya-routes

Wooi nawahurumia. No way that bus will beat the boxes and 5Ls on those routes. Wangenunua gari ndogo. Even Guardian found it tough and had to introduce so called Tablets. Those buses will end up in Nairobi since they also can't compete on the Nairobi - Western routes.

Is it true that the HINO engine is small and is easily overworked?

Myth propagated by mechanics who have refused to change with the times. The future of diesel is turbo charged engines. Turbo care and emission control devices make all the difference. You cannot service an engine built to Euro 5 standards the same way you serviced relics.

interesting take on it
subaru
#732 Posted : Sunday, January 10, 2016 12:24:45 PM

matatuman wrote:
kendata26Y wrote:
junior121121 wrote:
matatuman wrote:
@Junior, What is your take on the ready made bodies by GB Polo? Also Hino vs Isuzu? On paper the Hino appears to be better I.e power & consumption.

Frankly - I like tried and tested. The average lifespan I like to keep the vehicles is like 5 years and then sell off and be able to retain some cash. Isuzu is excellent for this. For Example, I had a KBN in that I sold in Dec ( I had bought for 3.3 and sold for 2.1m. Granted that the VAT on chasis was recent but the isuzus tend to keep their value).

Hino is too new in the market for me to gauge this. I also find that they are aging too quick. Someone in my Sacco with one mentioned that they consume less - but the driver is the one who enjoys not the ownersmile

Interesting article. KBS MD is launching a new service with 10 Hinos.

http://businesstoday.co....le-western-kenya-routes

Wooi nawahurumia. No way that bus will beat the boxes and 5Ls on those routes. Wangenunua gari ndogo. Even Guardian found it tough and had to introduce so called Tablets. Those buses will end up in Nairobi since they also can't compete on the Nairobi - Western routes.

Is it true that the HINO engine is small and is easily overworked?

Myth propagated by mechanics who have refused to change with the times. The future of diesel is turbo charged engines. Turbo care and emission control devices make all the difference. You cannot service an engine built to Euro 5 standards the same way you serviced relics.

I like your comment i remember talking with one veteran about hino he dismissed that car i still see a kbw competing with fh
kendata26Y
#733 Posted : Sunday, January 17, 2016 11:54:21 PM

Thitifini wrote:
matatuman wrote:
mwania wrote:
Thank you Thitifini (Stephen?). I will avoid the petrol one. What are the returns for the diesel one? What expenses will you have paid for to get the net?

Thitifini, what route are you on? Petrols only made sense when the difference in price was close to 600k. But they are still as good as 5Ls, just do a decat, fit an aftermarket chip and have it remapped then buy me a beer.

@Matatuman, I'm on the Nbi Kisumu Kakamega route under Prestige Sacco. Planning to shop for another sacco and route for the third unit ecpected around March just for comparison.

Thanks for the info. Tried 'tuning' but didn't work! Will do the mentioned things (will ask my mek what the hell they are!) and will definitely buy you a crate!

Consumption yake is looking about 30% higher than other mats on same route, eating to my profit badly!

If you don't my asking, how is the productivity on this route/sacco on a normal month? Is the car on the road daily except for service?
matatuman
#734 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2016 9:13:51 AM

kendata26Y wrote:
Thitifini wrote:
matatuman wrote:
mwania wrote:
Thank you Thitifini (Stephen?). I will avoid the petrol one. What are the returns for the diesel one? What expenses will you have paid for to get the net?

Thitifini, what route are you on? Petrols only made sense when the difference in price was close to 600k. But they are still as good as 5Ls, just do a decat, fit an aftermarket chip and have it remapped then buy me a beer.

@Matatuman, I'm on the Nbi Kisumu Kakamega route under Prestige Sacco. Planning to shop for another sacco and route for the third unit ecpected around March just for comparison.

Thanks for the info. Tried 'tuning' but didn't work! Will do the mentioned things (will ask my mek what the hell they are!) and will definitely buy you a crate!

Consumption yake is looking about 30% higher than other mats on same route, eating to my profit badly!

If you don't my asking, how is the productivity on this route/sacco on a normal month? Is the car on the road daily except for service?

Utaumia ndugu yangu. This is not information that you can copy and paste. What you are asking is dependent on a lot of factors but since you want to sit behind a screen and wait for answers to come to you, all I can tell you is all the best.
kendata26Y
#735 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2016 5:29:57 PM

matatuman wrote:
kendata26Y wrote:
Thitifini wrote:
matatuman wrote:
mwania wrote:

Utaumia ndugu yangu. This is not information that you can copy and paste. What you are asking is dependent on a lot of factors but since you want to sit behind a screen and wait for answers to come to you, all I can tell you is all the best.

I ask so I can compare with what I'm doing in my route from NRB to KTL and my "local box" that does KTL to KSM. I looked at prestige but settled on a different sacco for long distance.
If someone is willing to share the information, whether I get it from him here or kwa bara bara makes no difference. Internet is not a bad thing if the source if knowledgeable and willing.
matatuman
#736 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2016 6:44:05 PM

kendata26Y wrote:
matatuman wrote:
kendata26Y wrote:
Thitifini wrote:
matatuman wrote:
mwania wrote:

I ask so I can compare with what I'm doing in my route from NRB to KTL and my "local box" that does KTL to KSM. I looked at prestige but settled on a different sacco for long distance.
If someone is willing to share the information, whether I get it from him here or kwa bara bara makes no difference. Internet is not a bad thing if the source if knowledgeable and willing.

Sawa mboss, point taken. You still miss the point though. It is not about the "where". You ask too many questions for someone who is already in the business. Mind sharing your experience here?
junior121121
#737 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2016 7:19:35 PM

All Manyanga Owners - I hear there is a major operation later this week for vehicles with horns and noisy exhausts. The fines are crazy so check with your SACCO if your route is affected.
subaru
#738 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2016 8:25:17 AM

junior121121 wrote:
All Manyanga Owners - I hear there is a major operation later this week for vehicles with horns and noisy exhausts. The fines are crazy so check with your SACCO if your route is affected.

n flashin lights damn
Metasploit
#739 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2016 9:34:26 AM

subaru wrote:
junior121121 wrote:

n flashin lights damn

Subaru,junior121121..Someone wanted a Matatu on this thread

Please inbox metasploitke@gmail.com

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
Prime
#740 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2016 5:51:28 PM

Metasploit wrote:
subaru wrote:
junior121121 wrote:

n flashin lights damn

Subaru,junior121121..Someone wanted a Matatu on this thread

Please inbox metasploitke@gmail.com

Metaspoilt unaweza kuweka details hapa?
94 Pages«<7273747576>»