4 Pages«<234
December 25th: Who’s birthday is it?
Nandwa
#61 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2015 8:21:39 PM

Liv wrote:
Who cares? Celebrate bwana!! don't get pedantic about it!! Even those other calendars are man made... Everyone decided to have a calendar based on something to have some symmetry and order in our almost insignificant lives to the fate of the universe on the surface of this rock speeding across the boundless universe! some based it off the moon , others the sun and other a combination of sun and moon. But they are all man made contraptions to have some kind of order. It really doesn't matter if Jesus was born on 25th... it actually doesn't matter if he was born at all! the reality is HE IS CELEBRATED AND BELIEVED BY MANY PEOPLE. So don't focus your energies on the actualities of these holidays... these holidays were created to tame people who had other holidays in their stead so... RELAX... Say Merry Christmas... it comes once a year and move on! check this out... even if you don't celebrate it... OTHERS WILL! you will be bombarded with messages in your whatsapp groups, your sms, people will call you and you will resent it. Christmas music will play and even you may be accosted by some random thin black guy in an oversized red suit with comical white hair ringing a bell! And you know why it's also going to be significant? you will not go to the supermarket and find it open. in other words -whether you accept it or not, whether you like it or not, whether history is right or wrong.... the reality is that CHRISTMAS is here and it's bigger than any of us.

Well said @Masukuma.

And we are celebrating 2015 years AD ..... After His death. Whoever does not like it, can go ahead have his own calendar, but the fact remains that the world systems are based on events related to his life in the world. The birth and death of Christ. That is why the world celebrates these events everywhere.

All we are saying is that this celebration is PAGAN tradition. Jesus Christ p.b.u.h was not born on 25th Dec, but someone else was. Open up your mind and find out. But if you are afraid to use your God given power of reasoning, and can't think on your own apart from relying on what you inherited from your forefathers, then that's okay.

Peace!

These are the people who need advice on opening up their minds and letting others to do so too.
An Egyptian court has reduced the jail term for a controversial Muslim scholar convicted of insulting Islam on his television show from five years to one, judicial officials and his lawyer said Tuesday.

Islam al-Behairy faced an uproar in April after remarks he made on his programme "With Islam", in which he called for reforms in "traditional Islamic discourse".

On his show on private satellite channel Al-Kahera Wel Nas, Behairy often questioned ancient Islamic preachings and centuries-old interpretations of the faith.

Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
Nandwa
#62 Posted : Wednesday, December 30, 2015 8:26:46 AM

Tolerance in Religion!

A woman who was accused of being too friendly with a man she is not married to, as well as the man himself, were caned at a mosque in Indonesia’s Aceh province on Monday.
Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
#63 Posted : Wednesday, December 30, 2015 9:10:23 AM

All we are saying is that this celebration is PAGAN tradition. Jesus Christ p.b.u.h was not born on 25th Dec, but someone else was. Open up your mind and find out. But if you are afraid to use your God given power of reasoning, and can't think on your own apart from relying on what you inherited from your forefathers, then that's okay.

Peace!

When was Jesus born? Date???

BTW, that theory of sijui borrowed from who has been proven false
#64 Posted : Wednesday, December 30, 2015 9:13:48 AM

I find it funny that masukuma revived this thread yet he has been complaining in the past that kaka sheikh doti and I engage in too many religious fights

Anyway, let the worshipper of the pagan god of Arabia have his day. He is in a religion where almost everything was copied from other faiths including worship of some idol worshipped at the ka'aba

Yes Mr. @lonest. So tell me what that religion copied? It's funny how "that" religion didn't copy Chrsitmas celebration smile

That guy was bright, I admit. The rosary, the moon at the centre of events, monotheism...not badsmile

What language are you speaking? I asked you to show me what was copied and where it was copied from... We don't want rumours in here. Otherwise you tell us what you are admitting Sad

English. Who are the 'we'?

Behaviour of people with baseless claims. Now you have resorted to digressing and effort to change topic. I assume you had no claim smile

Yeah, I have no claim. I want to celebrate Christmas. The birth of Jesus. Not debate with people who have problems with the day but they have no problems inheriting Arabian pagan religion

Merry Christmas brosmile

Away goes the "copied" claim Liar Liar

Baseless with no evidence. Your attempts have been tried by many for centuries in vain. You're just a young man, born yesterday. truth is clear from falsehood. Your fellow Christians say you're just celebrating some random day, borrowed from Pagan tradition. Prove me wrong is you're truthful Shame on you

Usual hubris. Tuendelee....
#65 Posted : Wednesday, December 30, 2015 12:19:35 PM

Liv wrote:
Who cares? Celebrate bwana!! don't get pedantic about it!! Even those other calendars are man made... Everyone decided to have a calendar based on something to have some symmetry and order in our almost insignificant lives to the fate of the universe on the surface of this rock speeding across the boundless universe! some based it off the moon , others the sun and other a combination of sun and moon. But they are all man made contraptions to have some kind of order. It really doesn't matter if Jesus was born on 25th... it actually doesn't matter if he was born at all! the reality is HE IS CELEBRATED AND BELIEVED BY MANY PEOPLE. So don't focus your energies on the actualities of these holidays... these holidays were created to tame people who had other holidays in their stead so... RELAX... Say Merry Christmas... it comes once a year and move on! check this out... even if you don't celebrate it... OTHERS WILL! you will be bombarded with messages in your whatsapp groups, your sms, people will call you and you will resent it. Christmas music will play and even you may be accosted by some random thin black guy in an oversized red suit with comical white hair ringing a bell! And you know why it's also going to be significant? you will not go to the supermarket and find it open. in other words -whether you accept it or not, whether you like it or not, whether history is right or wrong.... the reality is that CHRISTMAS is here and it's bigger than any of us.

Well said @Masukuma.

And we are celebrating 2015 years AD ..... After His death. Whoever does not like it, can go ahead have his own calendar, but the fact remains that the world systems are based on events related to his life in the world. The birth and death of Christ. That is why the world celebrates these events everywhere.

Peace!

Listen... it really doesn't matter! it really doesn't! it really doesn't matter if 13 pagan gods goddess were said to have been born on that day... it really doesn't matter! if it happens that easter or good friday or idd falls on 20th April and you celebrated it will it mean that you are secretly celebrating Hitler's birthday? What if I chinja a mbuzi on that day? will it mean I am party to the hate of Hitler? of course not! it really does not matter if 13 or even 100 pagan gods were said to be born on that day... unless you are actively celebrating them. My brother was born on Christmas... does all the world celebrate him unknowingly? if diwali fell on your birthday will your family be party to the festival of lights when they buy you a cake?? how comes it's only evil things that people celebrate unknowingly? ati Harambee is Har Ambee... praise to the indian god Ambee and so we are unknowingly celebrating or asking that god for power or Dorobuchi/Doro is an indian god.... (side stepping the fact that doro means "I am" in some local tongue). there is a notoriously named cities in Japan... Kanagawa and the other one... you know it Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly. How come people don't do good things indirectly? how come people have to consciously be dogmatic to be seen as getting into heaven? But I digress... my point? LET'S STOP BEING PEDANTIC!! 25th Dec is here to stay... celebrated by many people... many of them not practicing christians. Goats die... people stuff their faces with chapos... nice feelings all around... some go to church... that is Christmas. Personally I don't go to church on Christmas coz... I am too busy stuffing myself with chicken... same as new year's eve when I try to fall asleep before midnight... but that's just me!
#66 Posted : Wednesday, December 30, 2015 12:25:02 PM

hamburglar wrote:

Masukuma. With this kind of sensible and logical thinking, how come you are not an atheist? I find myself agreeing with most of your observations on religion but it surprises me that you still call yourself a believer. This is the kind of statement i would expect from an atheist. Come out of the closet already, don't be afraid of the stigma. Hahaha 😊😊😊😊

There a video online of a discussion between Richard Dawkins and Neil deGrasse Tyson

I tend to think you are more like Richard Dawkins and I am more like Neil deGrasse Tyson!
sitaki.kujulikana
#67 Posted : Wednesday, December 30, 2015 12:42:20 PM

Nandwa wrote:

Tolerance in Religion!

A woman who was accused of being too friendly with a man she is not married to, as well as the man himself, were caned at a mosque in Indonesia’s Aceh province on Monday.

@alph just out of curiosity, why is the being doing the caning hiding itself ?

#68 Posted : Wednesday, December 30, 2015 12:54:05 PM

God, and the belief in God is a delusion when taken as the 'thing in itself'; but a living reality when taken as a symbol.

The truth is in the socio-linguistic system. Each socio-linguistic system is not only unique but valid and not amenable to marking by those outside it. Therefore marking and evaluating other people's systems as outsiders is in itself a delusion.
#69 Posted : Wednesday, December 30, 2015 9:06:20 PM

To those who celebrate Christmas... Did Jesus Christ (pbuh) celebrate this event annually in any of his 33 years on earth??

Why invent?? Sad
#70 Posted : Wednesday, December 30, 2015 11:36:16 PM

guru267 wrote:
To those who celebrate Christmas... Did Jesus Christ (pbuh) celebrate this event annually in any of his 33 years on earth??

Why invent?? Sad

Did Jesus celebrate his birthday at any time of the year? Let's suppose he did, but the date isn't documented and that later scholars like the monk who came up with the AD calender had to come up with a specific date/day, what factors would he consider? It is these factors that would lead to the so called 'invention'. Is there a law or moral imperative against such? There's none whatsoever!
#71 Posted : Thursday, December 31, 2015 12:07:41 AM

guru267 wrote:

Why invent?? Sad

we don't know... and it really doesn't matter... sorry what I meant to say is "we really don't care!". He may or may not have but that is besides the point! He did not get married, he did not have kids, there are many things he did not do! like surf the web or even drink coca cola.... all these things came after him.
#72 Posted : Thursday, December 31, 2015 12:14:27 AM

guru267 wrote:

Why invent?? Sad

we don't know... and it really doesn't matter... sorry what I meant to say is "we really don't care!". He may or may not have but that is besides the point! He did not get married, he did not have kids, there are many things he did not do! like surf the web or even drink coca cola.... all these things came after him.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly what is pbuh?
#73 Posted : Thursday, December 31, 2015 8:25:27 AM

guru267 wrote:

Why invent?? Sad

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly what is pbuh?

peace be upon him/her!
hamburglar
#74 Posted : Thursday, December 31, 2015 8:55:35 AM

hamburglar wrote:

Masukuma. With this kind of sensible and logical thinking, how come you are not an atheist? I find myself agreeing with most of your observations on religion but it surprises me that you still call yourself a believer. This is the kind of statement i would expect from an atheist. Come out of the closet already, don't be afraid of the stigma. Hahaha 😊😊😊😊

There a video online of a discussion between Richard Dawkins and Neil deGrasse Tyson

I tend to think you are more like Richard Dawkins and I am more like Neil deGrasse Tyson!

Nice. Two of my favorite human beings. I have great admiration for these two guys.
#75 Posted : Thursday, December 31, 2015 8:03:41 PM

guru267 wrote:

Why invent?? Sad

The web and coca cola have nothing to do with Jesus (pbuh)

What I'm wondering is that if Jesus (pbuh) or his disciples or his mother never ever ever celebrated his birthaday why do you do so??

Invention/innovation in religion is from Satan because its his only entry point!
thuks
#76 Posted : Thursday, December 31, 2015 10:02:04 PM

guru267 wrote:

Why invent?? Sad

What I'm wondering is that if Jesus (pbuh) or his disciples or his mother never ever ever celebrated his birthaday why do you do so??

Invention/innovation in religion is from Satan because its his only entry point!

Just like use of IEDs?
I care!
#77 Posted : Thursday, December 31, 2015 10:13:48 PM

guru267 wrote:

Why invent?? Sad

Most people don't care!! Actually...the whole idea that we should rely on God's revelation made not to many people but rather to a single person who lived 1400 years ago is today is a bit faulty but we engage in it.... it's not the best way to deliver a really important message...

now back to the point...if you haven't noticed... we have innovated some of those things for example slavery.... it seemed like a good idea then... it's not now!! back then the idea of marrying a 9 year old seemed like a good idea... we don't think it is now.
#78 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2016 10:16:43 PM