Njung'e wrote:hardwood wrote:Kaigangio wrote:Hey chief, if your boys are already past 90 feet below the surface, they would better be careful not to stay in that hole for more than five minutes continuously in any digging session. Otherwise they may suffer some breathing problems.
There is nothing you can do about the gas unless of course you install an air pump to pump out the gas. But again if you do that, you might suck almost all the air in the hole and your boys will have nothing to breath in.
The pump should blow fresh air in to displace the noxious gas.
Seriously??

.Go back to your chem teacher and ask for a refund.

. I would go with having the gas identified first especially for toxicity and combustibility.You see,it might take one strike on a rock and Ka-boom,explosion.

Ngai baba!! Guka!
You see at 100 feet below the surface the surrounding temperature in the hole is slightly higher (somewhere between 30 to 35 degrees centigrade. At this temperature and due to presence of wet soil the air inside that hole is pretty humid and this constitutes the water vapour gas.
The so called gas in those shallow wells is mostly carbon dioxide and water vapour/humidity. The combined density of the gas mixture is close to 1.3 kg/cu.m. The air at the surface has a density equal to 1.2kg/cu.m which explains why there is no conventional air circulation in the hole and the denser gas mixture still remains in the hole. So, pumping in air will not displace the denser mixture in the hole, but rather the other way round.
In Kenya, the various geological surveys that have been carried out that i am aware of have not confirmed any presence of mineral gases on the surface. Here, I say surface because 100ft compared to 21,000,000ft(distance to centre of earth) is negligible. Only areas around Longonot, Nakuru and Marigat where those gases (mostly hydrogen sulphide and traces of sulphur dioxide) are found in very small amounts at more than 4000ft below the surface.
Back to the hole...At 100ft (30 metres) below the surface you have added another column of 30m above the normal atmospheric pressure...This may affect your breathing by making it a little difficult for you to breathe out.
Hii mambo ingine ya sijui ya testing the gas ni pang'ngá tupu.