wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

18 Pages«<89101112>»
What is a "good salary" in Kenya?
UpcomingPaperChaser
#181 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 7:37:18 PM

Sevian wrote:
250k net is a lot of money. In GoK, hiyo ni job group Q and above: Assistant Director and above; while in the bank huyo ni manager wa branch ndogo kiasi. Those are positions achieved after 10 yrs of work. Tell me which of those categories of people live in Eastlands in a rental house? People are living like kings/queens on 150k with their families, taking 2 kids to Rose of Sharon, investing in plots, supporting their extended families and villages, etc. Wacheni vitisho
After all, approx 7% Kenyans earn above 100k and 1% above 500k. That's 2.8m and 0.5m people respectively. Take that and distribute across the whole country (Nrb, Msa and their diasporas taking the lion's share). We wouldn't have as many social joints, supermarkets with queues, vehicles on roads; if you needed so much money to get by comfortably
These figures are theoretical. In

Nothing of the sort!!!! Branch managers of banks like Equity earn a gross of 250 and not net.....and thats those in big towns like Nairobi. However, branch managers rise annually after they meet their targets and are awarded extremely huge bonuses....at times to the tune of 5 million!!
Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
#182 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 7:50:39 PM

WalterWhite wrote:
Sevian wrote:
250k net is a lot of money. In GoK, hiyo ni job group Q and above: Assistant Director and above; while in the bank huyo ni manager wa branch ndogo kiasi. Those are positions achieved after 10 yrs of work. Tell me which of those categories of people live in Eastlands in a rental house? People are living like kings/queens on 150k with their families, taking 2 kids to Rose of Sharon, investing in plots, supporting their extended families and villages, etc. Wacheni vitisho
After all, approx 7% Kenyans earn above 100k and 1% above 500k. That's 2.8m and 0.5m people respectively. Take that and distribute across the whole country (Nrb, Msa and their diasporas taking the lion's share). We wouldn't have as many social joints, supermarkets with queues, vehicles on roads; if you needed so much money to get by comfortably
These figures are theoretical. In

Exactly my friend! The salary figures certainly don't tally with the lifestyles we see in Kenya. Why? The numbers don't lie. If 250 k is alot of money, will be waiting to see your budget for a family of 4. Unless the middle class is living high on the hog on debts. Now that would be interesting!

That aside, we need LIFESTYLE AUDITS especially govt employees to capture the effect of corruption in the form of bribery and kickbacks. It's the same way unaskia secretary earning 15k per month has a house in Kile, a car, weave ya 30k kwa kichwa, designer bags and shoes, vacations to Dubai... You're left scratching your head as to how she's able to live that high life. What you don't know is the number of sponsors available to finance her lifestlye. Vile vile...with most so called middle class employees. You wonder how the ka miserable 70 k salary is paying for amenities that based on the budgets drawn up here is simply impossible. Of course, not considering Kanyari's multiplier effect, jk. Numbers don't lie!! When you hear billions upon billions being squandered and looted, that money has a real effect on the ground.

One can be a junior clerk at the lands office earning a net of 30k, but everyday he "assists" 20 people with 'land searches' @ 1k, that's 20k per day or 400k every month 920 working days). Thus his total net income is 430k, and he can afford the upper middle class lifestyle mentioned above, or own several flats huko rongai. Remember some junior cops who sued the IG after they were transferred from Mariakani weighbridge?

http://www.businessdaily...-/11hy2x2z/-/index.html
#183 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 7:57:16 PM

Houses are being sold 10M and above in Nairobi's 'suburbs' the Rongais, Ngongs, Juja, Thika, Kitengela, Isinya et al and apparently real estate is now where the money is. Who are buying these houses and where are they getting the money from?

Jon Jones
#184 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 8:04:51 PM

Houses are being sold 10M and above in Nairobi's 'suburbs' the Rongais, Ngongs, Juja, Thika, Kitengela, Isinya et al and apparently real estate is now where the money is. Who are buying these houses and where are they getting the money from?

Middle class...banks...Kenyan version of the "American dream".
Since men have learned to shoot without missing, I have learned to fly without perching
#185 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 8:08:18 PM

Interesting question since as you have seen on the budgets above a middle level manager earning 250k net is living hand to mouth and thus can never afford a mortgage. Also interesting that reports say most houses are bought cash.
Rollout
#186 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 8:50:31 PM

Sublimity wrote:
Long time lurker, but first time poster. This is the best Kenyan forum have ever seen.

I have been in ‘majuu’ for around ten years, so I guess that qualifies me to add some 2 cents for perspective and balance. First, grew up in the village, went to Kenyan public uni for commerce degree, lived in Kibera/Mukuru, got a kajob, saved till had a million and left on a student visa. My first salary was 35k, and used to save about 20k. Used to teach part time. I was so broke when I left Kenya – money spent on fees/student visa but luckily had some one to host me.

I was clear on why I left – I didn’t see much opportunity (I think there are many young Kenyans who have a B. Comm and CPA and can’t get a job.), no capital, and just had this big dream that I will be successful. I hated poverty – and having gone through hardship growing up.

Ten years down the line, it is the best decision I have ever taken, completed studies, now citizen, went back to Kenya to get a wife. My wife and I live what a typical western middle class family lives, we have a house (on mortgage), earnings within highest 5% - 10% of the population, work 8 – 5 jobs and now started to think about where to retire.

Has it been easy? Hell no. Did the odd jobs – some times working 20 hours. Cried a few times – you do not adjust from an office job to selling cigarettes in a convenience store overnight or working as a cleaner. It has been a process of rediscovering, retraining (had to study again for an MBA, accounting qualification and CFA), and started from the bottom (Drakes song, started from the bottom has been the story of my life). It has been years of building networks – and having been a hustler all my life, this has helped. I work in middle management of a global corporation (not junior, and not too senior).

I have never joined this bandwagon that I am going back to Kenya (or for that matter, you must come to majuu to be successful). If you are lazy in Kenya, you are not going to just become an amazing hard worker by living in a different country. If you live an average life abroad, just doing the rat race, you are not going to become an amazing business man in Kenya. That perspective is important. I have seen people sell houses and go to Kenya – only to come back again. I have also seen people execute good plans and go back successful – but very few.

So people need to be careful, I think Kenya is a very competitive place to do business (if it was that easy – so many Kenyans would do it). If you are comfortable in Kenya, stay there. If you have a clear plan on what you want to achieve abroad – then leave, but understand it will take years. I have hosted and mentored a few Kenyans, ironically, many from parts of Nairobi we would never have crossed paths if I was in Kenya (have only ever been to Muthaiga to visit parents of a student I hosted, many years after have been here).

Good story!
#187 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 9:35:15 PM

ufisadi. I hear the main method is to make the guys bribing a public official pay directly to the land seller
WalterWhite
#188 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 10:37:18 PM

One can be a junior clerk at the lands office earning a net of 30k, but everyday he "assists" 20 people with 'land searches' @ 1k, that's 20k per day or 400k every month 920 working days). Thus his total net income is 430k, and he can afford the upper middle class lifestyle mentioned above, or own several flats huko rongai. Remember some junior cops who sued the IG after they were transferred from Mariakani weighbridge?

@Sublimity, great post! Thanks for sharing.

@Mukiri, exactly! How are people able to pay in cash yet their incomes suggest that a 10 million Kshs house should take a lifetime of work and saving religiously. Yet said people are buying multiple properties without breaking a sweat. Where is the money coming from?? If you recall that corrupt police boss who was being questioned why/how he has never touched his salary in years. The guy said ati his businesses are doing marvellous. Well, why not quit the low paying police job to focus solely on such a profitable venture?? He was left speechless. This culture of corruption in Kenya will bring the country to its knees. How can the middle class with legitimate livelihoods compete with people making cash from thin air? If you ever visit your sub county, just go to land board office and see how those people are eating. It's outrageous. People who barely went to school. You heard CJ Willy Mutunga saying that Kenya is under the mercy of cartels who are untouchable. Even the President is under siege from within.

Which begs the question. What exactly are we teaching the upcoming generation? Corruption kills ambition! Every single year, about 1 million kids sit for KCPE. What sort of future awaits them given that there are very few jobs available? Nowadays the trend is agribusiness for unemployed youth. It's all good, but I think we're sending the wrong message here because not everyone can do chicken farming, mara ni tomato farming or watermelons, onions etc etc. First of all, the cost of land is out of reach for many and getting worse. We simply don't have industries that can absorb the hordes of hungry Kenyan youth who are slated to join the employable workforce.

If a whole branch manager, a graduate, has to scrimp and save to afford a very small piece of land, in this era of skyrocketing land prices, what of the bank teller? It's only going to get worse.

I think everyone should work juu chini anunue shamba. Do whatever it takes, even if it means leaving the country to make some quick cash, then coming back. Rents are only going to go up because of population growth. For ex. Roysambu rent has doubled juzi tu from 15k ish now it's 25-40 k for a 3bdr flat.
Xymalos
#189 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 11:17:55 PM

WalterWhite wrote:
Breakdown for upper middle class Kenyan family, in their 30s with 2 kids.

1.Rent and utilities (water, electricity etc) -100K = ($1000)

2. Food & House items, including house parties, birthdays, special occasions - 40-50K ($400 - $500)

3. School fees, transport, lunches, school supplies- 80K ($800) (40 K per child)
(You appreciate the importance of a rigorous, well rounded education not one based on cramming for exams. This category goes up even more so 80K is a huge understatement).

4. House help- 8-10K ($80 -$100)

5.Entertainment - 50K ($500). Averages to 5K each Sat/Sun per month.
(Ex. Fish + Chips + drink at a nice restaurant is about 1K per person)

6. Transport, including fuel, car repairs/maintenance,insurance, car loan for 2 family cars- 50K ($500)

7. Clothing for four- 10K ($100)

8. Wazazi - 15K ($150)

9. Airtime, DSTV, gadgets - 10K ($100)

10. Savings- 100 K ($100) (To get you closer to the dream of home ownership)

11. Community contributions (weddings, funerals, medical)- 10K ($100)

12. Health care- kids get sick alot + medicines- 5K ($50)

13. Charity & Miscellaneous-10-20K ($100-200)

Total: 500,000 NET monthly income

Those who are servicing loans, add another 100K maybe more.

It becomes very clear how important it is to have a working wife also contributing to the family budget.
This budget is for people who want to LIVE WELL.

Now those who thought my previous estimate of 1 million per month was too extravagant...At a savings rate of 100K per month, per year that's 1.2 million Kshs. It will take 3-4 years to buy a miserable 1/8th in Kamulu or Ruai. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

The choice is clear: you can't LIVE WELL and at the same time save substantially with anything less than say, 700K ($7000)per month in Kenya.

Maybe Wazuans living in diaspora understand better when expressed in $$s. These expenses reflect a lifestyle and income many in diaspora cannot afford. What proportion of Diaspora's earn a net of $84,000 per year ($7000 x 12)?
Mike Ock
#190 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 11:45:41 PM

The upscale houses are mostly being sold to wakoras to launder their cash. Politicians, tenderpreneurs, drug dealers, con men, arms dealers, human traffickers, pirates, wanakuanga wengi. As for mshaharas that can afford such, mostly business owners, C-Level guys and guys working for multinationals. Also note that government and bank workers are given fair mortgage rates of less than 10%, so they also qualify to be buying these houses we see around.
#191 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 11:54:04 PM

Just do a simple survey:
Please enquire from the following groups and find out how many have bought those units.

-Your colleagues at work
-Your neighbours within a radius of 1km
- members of of your church
repat
#192 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2016 12:13:02 AM

Xymalos wrote:
WalterWhite wrote:
Breakdown for upper middle class Kenyan family, in their 30s with 2 kids.

1.Rent and utilities (water, electricity etc) -100K = ($1000)

2. Food & House items, including house parties, birthdays, special occasions - 40-50K ($400 - $500)

3. School fees, transport, lunches, school supplies- 80K ($800) (40 K per child)
(You appreciate the importance of a rigorous, well rounded education not one based on cramming for exams. This category goes up even more so 80K is a huge understatement).

4. House help- 8-10K ($80 -$100)

5.Entertainment - 50K ($500). Averages to 5K each Sat/Sun per month.

6. Transport, including fuel, car repairs/maintenance,insurance, car loan for 2 family cars- 50K ($500)

7. Clothing for four- 10K ($100)

8. Wazazi - 15K ($150)

9. Airtime, DSTV, gadgets - 10K ($100)

10. Savings- 100 K ($100) (To get you closer to the dream of home ownership)

11. Community contributions (weddings, funerals, medical)- 10K ($100)

12. Health care- kids get sick alot + medicines- 5K ($50)

13. Charity & Miscellaneous-10-20K ($100-200)

Total: 500,000 NET monthly income

Those who are servicing loans, add another 100K maybe more.

It becomes very clear how important it is to have a working wife also contributing to the family budget.
This budget is for people who want to LIVE WELL.

Now those who thought my previous estimate of 1 million per month was too extravagant...At a savings rate of 100K per month, per year that's 1.2 million Kshs. It will take 3-4 years to buy a miserable 1/8th in Kamulu or Ruai. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

The choice is clear: you can't LIVE WELL and at the same time save substantially with anything less than say, 700K ($7000)per month in Kenya.

Maybe Wazuans living in diaspora understand better when expressed in $$s. These expenses reflect a lifestyle and income many in diaspora cannot afford. What proportion of Diaspora's earn a net of $84,000 per year ($7000 x 12)?

I was thinking budget yangu iko poa but from what I read here bado I have more work to do. Im in my early 30's, not married and not planning on doing that any time soon. I have kids who I'll be leaving in the diaspora who I'll be visiting every 3 monthts or so...Mtu anitoe makosa kama kuna kitu nime sahau hapa down. Im thinking theres gotta be a lot of places to trim the fat from this budget cause 350k seems like a lot of money

1.Rent and utilities (water, electricity etc) -50K

2. Food & House items, including house parties, birthdays, special occasions - 20-25K

3. School fees, transport, lunches, school supplies- 80K.. i wont need this since education is free stateside

4. House help- 8-10K

5.Entertainment - 50K

6. Transport, including fuel, car repairs/maintenance,insurance, car loan for 2 family cars- 20K ( although I shouldnt need this cause I weirdly prefer matatus and taxis)

7. Clothing for 1- 3K

8. Wazazi - 15K hapa nita save (my wazazi ni ma hustler on their own right)

9. Airtime, DSTV, gadgets - 10K

10. Savings- 100 K

11. Community contributions (weddings, funerals, medical)- 10K

12. Health care- kids get sick alot + medicines- 5K (Obama care)

13. Charity & Miscellaneous-10-20K

14. Travel back here to see kids..($1200*4=$4800/12)40k

Total: 340,000 NET monthly income

That total kinda throws my plans off kabisa though. I have investments that can generate kedo 400k a month, but if the budget is 340k a month, thats cutting it too close. Hakuna margin of error. Considering it might take me a while to land a decent job in kenya na biashara will take a while to incubate and start bearing fruits.

The plan of going back is already underway..but if you were in my shoes, would you advice me to kanyangia mafuta and rudi back chap chap ama niendelee ku hustle for a few more years hapa?
Xymalos
#193 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2016 12:26:43 AM

[/quote]

I was thinking budget yangu iko poa but from what I read here bado I have more work to do. Im in my early 30's, not married and not planning on doing that any time soon. I have kids who I'll be leaving in the diaspora who I'll be visiting every 3 monthts or so...Mtu anitoe makosa kama kuna kitu nime sahau hapa down. Im thinking theres gotta be a lot of places to trim the fat from this budget cause 350k seems like a lot of money

1.Rent and utilities (water, electricity etc) -50K

2. Food & House items, including house parties, birthdays, special occasions - 20-25K

3. School fees, transport, lunches, school supplies- 80K.. i wont need this since education is free stateside

4. House help- 8-10K

5.Entertainment - 50K

6. Transport, including fuel, car repairs/maintenance,insurance, car loan for 2 family cars- 20K ( although I shouldnt need this cause I weirdly prefer matatus and taxis)

7. Clothing for 1- 3K

8. Wazazi - 15K hapa nita save (my wazazi ni ma hustler on their own right)

9. Airtime, DSTV, gadgets - 10K

10. Savings- 100 K

11. Community contributions (weddings, funerals, medical)- 10K

12. Health care- kids get sick alot + medicines- 5K (Obama care)

13. Charity & Miscellaneous-10-20K

14. Travel back here to see kids..($1200*4=$4800/12)40k

Total: 340,000 NET monthly income

That total kinda throws my plans off kabisa though. I have investments that can generate kedo 400k a month, but if the budget is 340k a month, thats cutting it too close. Hakuna margin of error. Considering it might take me a while to land a decent job in kenya na biashara will take a while to incubate and start bearing fruits.

The plan of going back is already underway..but if you were in my shoes, would you advice me to kanyangia mafuta and rudi back chap chap ama niendelee ku hustle for a few more years hapa?[/quote]

Well, its not all about $$s and shillings! Leaving kids behind, in their early formative stages, even if you will be able to see them frequently is totally a different matter.
WalterWhite
#194 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2016 12:51:10 AM

Xymalos wrote:

@Xymalos, this is where many Diasporans go wrong. It's an illogical conclusion to assume that by virtue of living and working abroad, one is automatically in the top 1% back home. Not so. As you can see the figures tell a different story. Numbers don't lie. Hence, it's apparent that people earning less than the amount you quoted cannot afford a solid, upper middle class family lifestyle in Kenya. And those estimates are quite average. Educational expenses probably take the hugest chunk of family income. Schools like Rusinga, Peponi, Hillcrest charge upwards of 200 K per child/term.
Under clothing category, the upper middle class family does not shop at Muthurwa or Gikomba so that 10k per month for 4 people is by all means a very low estimate. Yes, there are a number of diasporans who earn a net of $84,000 per year and more (my wife and I included, by His mercies). Not to worry, diasporans should encourage their kids to work hard in school, like a true Kenyan. Sooner than later, they will be at the top! It becomes very clear that a comfortable, solid middle class lifestyle is cheaper in US than Kenya. In America, the quality of suburban schools is like Brookhouse or Braeburn, all paid for by house property taxes. Even better, there's hope for the youth. That if they work hard, they can become anything without resorting to corruption.

Unfortunately due to market forces, many people have fallen off the solid middle class, into the low middle class and don't even know it! Perhaps they have to live on debt to subsidize the increased cost of living and depressed wages. A budget is crucial in visualizing the in/outflow of income.

@repat, nikuulize swali. Are you on the hook for child support? That alone could significantly alter your budget, plus you want to be on the good side with the law. Is baby mama an understanding lady? I hope! As a single guy, I would say 400K is more than enough. If you're able to grow it, the better. Good thing is that you're not paying school fees. On the other hand, airtickets plus gifts every time you go see them can and will add up over time. At some point, you will probably marry and have other kids, but you'll have a headstart if you can continue growing your businesses.

Mike Ock wrote:

The upscale houses are mostly being sold to wakoras to launder their cash. Politicians, tenderpreneurs, drug dealers, con men, arms dealers, human traffickers, pirates, wanakuanga wengi. As for mshaharas that can afford such, mostly business owners, C-Level guys and guys working for multinationals. Also note that government and bank workers are given fair mortgage rates of less than 10%, so they also qualify to be buying these houses we see around.

Exactly!
Rollout
#195 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2016 12:55:07 AM

I think the question should be ask like this.

- what's the estimated salary for a 35-45 year old Safaricom Finance, Accounting, ICT manager?

I believe a manager at a company like Safaricom will be considered by a lot of terms to be making what would be equivalent to a good salary in Kenya. Everything else I see on top is just people's budgets
WalterWhite
#196 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2016 12:59:01 AM

Rollout wrote:

- what's the estimated salary for a 35-45 year old Safaricom Finance, Accounting, ICT manager?

I believe a manager at a company like Safaricom will be considered by a lot of terms to be making what would be equivalent to a good salary in Kenya. Everything else I see on top is just people's budgets

http://naibuzz.com/2014/...p-kenyan-companies-pay/

Here is the list (2014)

1. Safaricom Limited

According to a survey conducted by Pay Scale, the leading telecommunication company pays a monthly salary of ksh 101,000 – ksh220,000. This is before taxes and any other deductions. Safaricom is the most profitable company in Kenya and sponsors hundreds of events every year.

2. Barclays Bank

The pay here ranges between ksh39,000 and ksh170,000 a month. This is one of the oldest banks in Kenya with headquarters in United Kingdom.

3. Equity Bank

The entry level salary for graduates is around ksh45,000 a month. This will go up as you climb the ranks.

4. KCB

This is the largest bank in terms of assets and one of the oldest banks in the country. Their entry level salary is around ksh55,000 according to research from various people.

5. Kenya Airways

The company calls itself The Pride of Africa and has been facing fierce competition from Ethiopian Airlines. Salaries range from ksh55,000 to ksh1.6 million. Systems Analysts are one of the highest paid people there.

6. Nation Media Group

This is the largest media house in East Africa with presence in all East African countries. Salaries range from ksh24,000 to ksh668,000

7. Standard Chartered Bank

According to the survey the employee pay ranges between ksh70,000 and ksh214,000 a month. The bank is one of the first banks to set up shop in Kenya.

Rollout
#197 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2016 1:10:11 AM

WalterWhite wrote:
Rollout wrote:

http://naibuzz.com/2014/...p-kenyan-companies-pay/

Here is the list (2014)

1. Safaricom Limited

According to a survey conducted by Pay Scale, the leading telecommunication company pays a monthly salary of ksh 101,000 – ksh220,000. This is before taxes and any other deductions. Safaricom is the most profitable company in Kenya and sponsors hundreds of events every year.

2. Barclays Bank

The pay here ranges between ksh39,000 and ksh170,000 a month. This is one of the oldest banks in Kenya with headquarters in United Kingdom.

3. Equity Bank

The entry level salary for graduates is around ksh45,000 a month. This will go up as you climb the ranks.

4. KCB

This is the largest bank in terms of assets and one of the oldest banks in the country. Their entry level salary is around ksh55,000 according to research from various people.

5. Kenya Airways

The company calls itself The Pride of Africa and has been facing fierce competition from Ethiopian Airlines. Salaries range from ksh55,000 to ksh1.6 million. Systems Analysts are one of the highest paid people there.

6. Nation Media Group

This is the largest media house in East Africa with presence in all East African countries. Salaries range from ksh24,000 to ksh668,000

7. Standard Chartered Bank

According to the survey the employee pay ranges between ksh70,000 and ksh214,000 a month. The bank is one of the first banks to set up shop in Kenya.

I'd expect more for a manager, I am assuming those rates are just for non- management roles
repat
#198 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2016 1:14:13 AM

im lucky cause I dont have to pay child support. My ex is well off. we have even considered sending the kids to kenya with me when they get a little older and she can help foot the education and living expenses. (the benefits of being selective where you mwaga mwaga ndani).

My option as i see them now after reading this topic

1. go home and live a new graduate for a few years so that I can dedicate the bulk of $$ to investments that will pay off later

2. Go home and jump into that 'uuper middle' class that we're talking about here and try to tarmac for a job

3. stay here for a few more years and pay off some mortgages on a few rental properties I have, thus freeing up a bit more monthly cash flow...

Chances are nitaenda na option one cause sioni niki make na hiyo lifestyle ya walterwhite...like Ive iterated up there, Im more of a matatu and taxi guy na drinking at the ka local nyama choma jiont vs some jisty club or hotel in westy, kile etc...Pengine its cause Im a kibera product
Rollout
#199 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2016 1:21:46 AM

My total expenses for my 3 weeks annual visit to Kenya is between ksh400k-ksh500k. I spend more money in Kenya than in USA. I wonder how Kenyans actually make it.

I once walked into a Hotel in Kisumu only to be told that the price is Ksh 40k per night, a comparable hotel in USA would have been somewhere between 15k-20k. Sumsang tablet that cost 18k in USA cost 39k in Nairobi
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#200 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2016 2:32:48 AM

Rollout wrote:
My total expenses for my 3 weeks annual visit to Kenya is between ksh400k-ksh500k. I spend more money in Kenya than in USA. I wonder how Kenyans actually make it.

I once walked into a Hotel in Kisumu only to be told that the price is Ksh 40k per night, a comparable hotel in USA would have been somewhere between 15k-20k. Sumsang tablet that cost 18k in USA cost 39k in Nairobi

its disgusting as sh*it.kenyans cannot get goods stuff