18 Pages«<7891011>»
What is a "good salary" in Kenya?
#161 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 11:57:33 AM

Jon Jones wrote:
I'd consider this a 'comfortable' lifestyle in that one can meet their needs in a good neighborhood in Nairobi. Family with 2 kids.

1. Rent 70k
2. food/shopping - 25k
3. car (loan+Insurance) 35k
4. fuel sh700*30days= 21k
5. lunch 250*20days = 5k
6. savings/sacco/NSE - 20k
7. school fees 2 kids at 80k per term each kid- 40k pm
8. entertainment 4 beers @250, 4 days a week - 20k
9. Medical - 10k
10. Relatives - 5k
11. Househelp - 10k
Total 261k

You need a net of 261K.

NB: Mpango will cost an extra 30k, so you will need 291k.

Savings of 20k out of a 261k salary...rent of 70k, fuel of 21k, school fees of 40k per month,...that is living above your means in my opinion. Buying a guzzler when you cant afford to have one, living in estates you should not be in, and educating your children in schools you can barely afford. Typical middle class mindset
I believe anyone should save/invest at least 30% of their income...at least. This is a perfect example of living from paycheck to paycheck. If you got fired today, your savings of 1 whole year cannot offset your expenses for one month. Are you from the lakeside region??Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

I will advise my friend to move from that apartment in kileleshwa arudi eastlands, where he belongs.

It's a #Ratrace

Rat race

Rat Race is a term used to describe a frustrating, hard-to-break financial lifestyle. It is a lifestyle that is lived by countless people, oblivious to the very nature of it, to a degree that even when called upon, vehemently deny it.

To summarize the Rat Race, it involves subjecting one's self to a time-consuming job, saddling one's self with heavy mortgages/rents, bills, children, and liabilities, forcing the individual to continue busting his or her ass at that same job. The illusion that working at the same job will be better bars off alternatives.
UpcomingPaperChaser
#162 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 12:09:00 PM

UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:
Of all the posts above....its evident that all men have one thing in common: they must have a mpango wa kando aka yelo yelo day scholar! But I will be realistic with you:

Rent: 45 - 60k (in Thome or Garden Estate, you will get stand alone bungalows and mansions at this price, with own gardens on a quarter or half an acre)

Family Expenses: 50k (Food, Shopping)

Education of kids: 50k per term upper middle class schools like Riara Springs where kids speak so flowery English better than akina Swenanis)

Booze and njaro: 25k assuming 2 crates every week where a beer costs 250/=

Mpango wa Kando: 20K student at USIU or KU, bedsitter 10k at Roysa, 10k shopping = unlimited supply of airport and landing permits!!

Fuel: 20k assuming you drive a 2500 - 3000cc guzzler

Parents at rural home: 15k monthly

Charity: educate at least one or two orphans 20k per month

TOTALS: 250K

What? Rent in Thome is 170K as you can see <HERE>.

Also, you have not included savings.

Hio ni Thome ya TZ not Kenya

Why save when there is NSSF?smile smile smile

Hhahahahaha........Thome ya huku inaitwa Tabata!!
Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
#163 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 12:16:24 PM

Yaani hamtoi sadaka na fungu la kumi? Au nyinyi ni harmbuglar Mumia?
sitaki.kujulikana
#164 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 12:28:31 PM

Of all the posts above....its evident that all men have one thing in common: they must have a mpango wa kando aka yelo yelo day scholar! But I will be realistic with you:

Rent: 45 - 60k (in Thome or Garden Estate, you will get stand alone bungalows and mansions at this price, with own gardens on a quarter or half an acre)

Education of kids: 50k per term upper middle class schools like Riara Springs where kids speak so flowery English better than akina Swenanis)

Mpango wa Kando: 20K student at USIU or KU, bedsitter 10k at Roysa, 10k shopping = unlimited supply of airport and landing permits!!

Laughing out loudly malipo ya uzeeni
#165 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 12:34:39 PM

Don't make us feel guilty now
mv_ufanisi
#166 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 1:32:27 PM

What's a good salary in Kenya? This question is loaded. It depends on the kind of lifestyle you prefer. I see that a lot of Kenyan men lack imagination and their idea of fun is either "drinking", "sensual seduction" ama "church". Actually this gets to the extreme in Ocha where the men can easily be divided into two camps "the church goers" and the "alcoholics". To avoid this trap which is a road that leads to nowhere it's important for a man to cultivate and enjoy other interests and do it passionately. Here's a few things you could take up that will rescue you from the "alcoholics" or "church" trap: which evidently shows a lack of education and sophistication as your income goes up.
1. Cooking: For a man to take a passion to cooking, you have to really take it to the extreme. You should be able to make things like "swiss chard and lemon ricotta pasta"
2. Travel: Not just to Ocha but to deep in Taveta Hills, Shompole, middle of nowhere kind of stuff. Go diving, riding camels, go to Kariandusi etc
3. Archaelogy: Easiest thing, create a comprehensive family tree and interview all the old people in your family and write a book to share with your family members. Do good profiles of your ancestors and such. If you go deep enough, start your own self taught archaelogy stuff in some random place in Kenya.
4. Chess: Build your game to championship level - become a Master
5. Sewing & Fashion: Go deep with this and challenge the designers out there.
6. Mentoring
7. Painting
8. Pick up a sport as you get older: whether it's golf, running, biking etc you need to break a sweat at least a few times a week.
9. Collecting - whether its stamps, old music, pictures from the 1950s and below do something.
10. Start an alternative night club - which doesn't necessary involve just drinking and watching sports on tv. Maybe a club where you can hang out play some badminton with your boss or something like that.

One of the reasons Nairobi gets dull is because people can't seem to imagine alternative paths.

If a man is going to get out of the trap he has to go very deep into some kind of passion which consumes the time and hopefully where he has some talent. The obvious pleasures such as drinking and church going do not provide the best returns. Be a contrarian and make the country more interesting. Always gathering for drinks with friends is a lack of imagination.
Ngogoyo
#167 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 1:33:03 PM

I'd consider this a 'comfortable' lifestyle in that one can meet their needs in a good neighborhood in Nairobi. Family with 2 kids.

1. Rent 40k
2. food/shopping - 20k
3. car (loan+Insurance) 35k
4. fuel = 15k
5. lunch 250*20days = 5k
6. savings/sacco/NSE - 80k
7. school fees 2 kids at 40k per term each kid- 26k pm
8. entertainment 4 beers @250, 4 days a week - 20k
9. Medical - 10k
10. Relatives - 5k
11. Househelp - 8k
Total 264k

You need a net of 261K.

NB: Mpango will cost an extra 30k, so you will need 291k.

With a net of 291k kes for those who are in diaspora not to get confused, i would change the above to;

assumption: you have a wife if you are earning net of 291 otherwise....ya wanaume hupotelea kwingi
#168 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 2:57:13 PM

Hhahahahaha........Thome ya huku inaitwa Tabata!!

Mikocheni bwana! Tabata ni Kinoo!
#169 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 3:22:10 PM

mv_ufanisi wrote:
What's a good salary in Kenya? This question is loaded. It depends on the kind of lifestyle you prefer. I see that a lot of Kenyan men lack imagination and their idea of fun is either "drinking", "sensual seduction" ama "church". Actually this gets to the extreme in Ocha where the men can easily be divided into two camps "the church goers" and the "alcoholics". To avoid this trap which is a road that leads to nowhere it's important for a man to cultivate and enjoy other interests and do it passionately. Here's a few things you could take up that will rescue you from the "alcoholics" or "church" trap: which evidently shows a lack of education and sophistication as your income goes up.
1. Cooking: For a man to take a passion to cooking, you have to really take it to the extreme. You should be able to make things like "swiss chard and lemon ricotta pasta"
2. Travel: Not just to Ocha but to deep in Taveta Hills, Shompole, middle of nowhere kind of stuff. Go diving, riding camels, go to Kariandusi etc
3. Archaelogy: Easiest thing, create a comprehensive family tree and interview all the old people in your family and write a book to share with your family members. Do good profiles of your ancestors and such. If you go deep enough, start your own self taught archaelogy stuff in some random place in Kenya.
6. Mentoring
7. Painting
8. Pick up a sport as you get older: whether it's golf, running, biking etc you need to break a sweat at least a few times a week.
9. Collecting - whether its stamps, old music, pictures from the 1950s and below do something.
10. Start an alternative night club - which doesn't necessary involve just drinking and watching sports on tv. Maybe a club where you can hang out play some badminton with your boss or something like that.

One of the reasons Nairobi gets dull is because people can't seem to imagine alternative paths.

If a man is going to get out of the trap he has to go very deep into some kind of passion which consumes the time and hopefully where he has some talent. The obvious pleasures such as drinking and church going do not provide the best returns. Be a contrarian and make the country more interesting. Always gathering for drinks with friends is a lack of imagination.

Tunaongelea mishahara sio hobbies
Wakanyugi
#170 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 3:44:30 PM

repat wrote:
After tume maliza all this 'move to diaspora vs. 'not move to diaspora'...can someone please answer the initial question in a detailed manner.

WHAT IS A 'GOOD SALARY IN KENYA?'

Please lets keep the " you need a million' comments to the minimum. We all know that is BS na hapa ni online hakuna haja ya kuringa. if youre making that, sawa. But please know that kuna wenye tuna tumia hii resource ku jipanga. Also zile za watu wana lipa rent ya 10k tu wache pia, (nothing against them, but that isnt a definiont of someone making a 'good' salary)

In 2016 numbers...whats a good salary for a man to be able to afford nairobi comfortably?

by comfortably I dont mean being able to afford 40k shots of louis 13 on the weekend.

But how much would one need in nairobi to live in a middle class area, be able to go out on weekends and drink a few K's bila ku stress sana,(even in Njanuary)
be able to afford a regular weekday baada ya kazi round of drinks while networking-also bila ku check ATM balance saa zote
Be able to take the ka yelo-yelo or two out hapa na pale bila shida
and maybe maintain a ka mpango on the side (we are men after all)
transportation,
chakula,
mboch,

kama nime sahau kitu nikumbushe please...As the name suggests, nina rudi kenya....Planning stages ndio niko. ive gathered a lot of info while im in kenya but I would like to get a little bit more insight from you guys.

What we would consider a middle class life style....sio ile ya akina mbogo ya ku floss bila mpango. Ni life ya mtu ako 30 something na career yake iko poa...Think a mid level manager at a mid size firm....

Saidieni tafadhali

1.Rent-50K-70K(middle class Nairobian)
2. House shopping-15k-20K
3.Mboch-8K
4. School fees for two kids and transport-50K
5.Entertainment(include day scholar yelo yelo)-30K
6.Fuel-20K
7.wazazi(we are africans)-15K
8. savings-15K
9.CSR(weddings,harambes etc)-10K
miscellaneous-10K

Assumptions-You have no loans and medical cover is provided by employer

You need a monthly net of 223K approximately 310K+ gross

I like the CSR smile

But methinks landing fees should be an item by itself

"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
WalterWhite
#171 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 4:25:22 PM

Breakdown for upper middle class Kenyan family, in their 30s with 2 kids.

1.Rent and utilities (water, electricity etc) -100K.

2. Food & House items, including house parties, birthdays, special occasions - 40-50K

3. School fees, transport, lunches, school supplies- 80K (40 K per child)
(You appreciate the importance of a rigorous, well rounded education not one based on cramming for exams. This category goes up even more so 80K is a huge understatement).

4. House help- 8-10K

5.Entertainment - 50K. Averages to 5K each Sat/Sun per month.
(Ex. Fish + Chips + drink at a nice restaurant is about 1K per person)

6. Transport, including fuel, car repairs/maintenance,insurance, car loan for 2 family cars- 50K

7. Clothing for four- 10K

8. Wazazi - 15K

9. Airtime, DSTV, gadgets - 10K

10. Savings- 100 K (To get you closer to the dream of home ownership)

11. Community contributions (weddings, funerals, medical)- 10K

12. Health care- kids get sick alot + medicines- 5K

13. Charity & Miscellaneous-10-20K

Total: 500,000 NET monthly income

Those who are servicing loans, add another 100K maybe more.

It becomes very clear how important it is to have a working wife also contributing to the family budget.
This budget is for people who want to LIVE WELL.

Now those who thought my previous estimate of 1 million per month was too extravagant...At a savings rate of 100K per month, per year that's 1.2 million Kshs. It will take 3-4 years to buy a miserable 1/8th in Kamulu or Ruai. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

The choice is clear: you can't LIVE WELL and at the same time save substantially with anything less than say, 700K per month in Kenya.

#172 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 5:16:05 PM

Ngai fafa...kuna watu wanalipa rent 100K! Mirrioni imwe mwaka?
Sevian
#173 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 5:25:31 PM

250k net is a lot of money. In GoK, hiyo ni job group Q and above: Assistant Director and above; while in the bank huyo ni manager wa branch ndogo kiasi. Those are positions achieved after 10 yrs of work. Tell me which of those categories of people live in Eastlands in a rental house? People are living like kings/queens on 150k with their families, taking 2 kids to Rose of Sharon, investing in plots, supporting their extended families and villages, etc. Wacheni vitisho
After all, approx 7% Kenyans earn above 100k and 1% above 500k. That's 2.8m and 0.5m people respectively. Take that and distribute across the whole country (Nrb, Msa and their diasporas taking the lion's share). We wouldn't have as many social joints, supermarkets with queues, vehicles on roads; if you needed so much money to get by comfortably
These figures are theoretical. In
Sevian
#174 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 5:29:30 PM

Wacha kutisha watu. Hii inalingana na mahali uliko na kule unaelekea. Wacha kupimia watu uji na kale ka-kikombe ka queens tea
WalterWhite
#175 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 5:51:18 PM

Sevian wrote:
250k net is a lot of money. In GoK, hiyo ni job group Q and above: Assistant Director and above; while in the bank huyo ni manager wa branch ndogo kiasi. Those are positions achieved after 10 yrs of work. Tell me which of those categories of people live in Eastlands in a rental house? People are living like kings/queens on 150k with their families, taking 2 kids to Rose of Sharon, investing in plots, supporting their extended families and villages, etc. Wacheni vitisho
After all, approx 7% Kenyans earn above 100k and 1% above 500k. That's 2.8m and 0.5m people respectively. Take that and distribute across the whole country (Nrb, Msa and their diasporas taking the lion's share). We wouldn't have as many social joints, supermarkets with queues, vehicles on roads; if you needed so much money to get by comfortably
These figures are theoretical. In

Exactly my friend! The salary figures certainly don't tally with the lifestyles we see in Kenya. Why? The numbers don't lie. If 250 k is alot of money, will be waiting to see your budget for a family of 4. Unless the middle class is living high on the hog on debts. Now that would be interesting!

That aside, we need LIFESTYLE AUDITS especially govt employees to capture the effect of corruption in the form of bribery and kickbacks. It's the same way unaskia secretary earning 15k per month has a house in Kile, a car, weave ya 30k kwa kichwa, designer bags and shoes, vacations to Dubai... You're left scratching your head as to how she's able to live that high life. What you don't know is the number of sponsors available to finance her lifestlye. Vile vile...with most so called middle class employees. You wonder how the ka miserable 70 k salary is paying for amenities that based on the budgets drawn up here is simply impossible. Of course, not considering Kanyari's multiplier effect, jk. Numbers don't lie!! When you hear billions upon billions being squandered and looted, that money has a real effect on the ground.
mv_ufanisi
#176 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 5:56:09 PM

WalterWhite wrote:
Breakdown for upper middle class Kenyan family, in their 30s with 2 kids.

1.Rent and utilities (water, electricity etc) -100K.

2. Food & House items, including house parties, birthdays, special occasions - 40-50K

3. School fees, transport, lunches, school supplies- 80K (40 K per child)
(You appreciate the importance of a rigorous, well rounded education not one based on cramming for exams. This category goes up even more so 80K is a huge understatement).

4. House help- 8-10K

5.Entertainment - 50K. Averages to 5K each Sat/Sun per month.
(Ex. Fish + Chips + drink at a nice restaurant is about 1K per person)

6. Transport, including fuel, car repairs/maintenance,insurance, car loan for 2 family cars- 50K

7. Clothing for four- 10K

8. Wazazi - 15K

9. Airtime, DSTV, gadgets - 10K

10. Savings- 100 K (To get you closer to the dream of home ownership)

11. Community contributions (weddings, funerals, medical)- 10K

12. Health care- kids get sick alot + medicines- 5K

13. Charity & Miscellaneous-10-20K

Total: 500,000 NET monthly income

Those who are servicing loans, add another 100K maybe more.

It becomes very clear how important it is to have a working wife also contributing to the family budget.
This budget is for people who want to LIVE WELL.

Now those who thought my previous estimate of 1 million per month was too extravagant...At a savings rate of 100K per month, per year that's 1.2 million Kshs. It will take 3-4 years to buy a miserable 1/8th in Kamulu or Ruai. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

The choice is clear: you can't LIVE WELL and at the same time save substantially with anything less than say, 700K per month in Kenya.

Apparently there's a lot of Nairobians living like this. All those guys living in Kilimani and Kileleshwa apartments - they would typically have this kind of budget if they have two kids.

#177 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 6:14:55 PM

Lanessmile

http://www.olx.co.ke/ad/...-IDR6781.html#c4e0efe673
Mike Ock
#178 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 6:51:36 PM

ndio Kiuna anunue nyumba mpya? Never ever, wacha mi nijenge yangu kwanza.
Mike Ock
#179 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 6:53:51 PM

mv_ufanisi wrote:
6. Mentoring
7. Painting

Applause Applause Applause man, these Wazuans are addicts! I haven't heard of anything apart from drinking in AOB budget!
Sublimity
#180 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 7:31:51 PM

Long time lurker, but first time poster. This is the best Kenyan forum have ever seen.

I have been in ‘majuu’ for around ten years, so I guess that qualifies me to add some 2 cents for perspective and balance. First, grew up in the village, went to Kenyan public uni for commerce degree, lived in Kibera/Mukuru, got a kajob, saved till had a million and left on a student visa. My first salary was 35k, and used to save about 20k. Used to teach part time. I was so broke when I left Kenya – money spent on fees/student visa but luckily had some one to host me.

I was clear on why I left – I didn’t see much opportunity (I think there are many young Kenyans who have a B. Comm and CPA and can’t get a job.), no capital, and just had this big dream that I will be successful. I hated poverty – and having gone through hardship growing up.

Ten years down the line, it is the best decision I have ever taken, completed studies, now citizen, went back to Kenya to get a wife. My wife and I live what a typical western middle class family lives, we have a house (on mortgage), earnings within highest 5% - 10% of the population, work 8 – 5 jobs and now started to think about where to retire.

Has it been easy? Hell no. Did the odd jobs – some times working 20 hours. Cried a few times – you do not adjust from an office job to selling cigarettes in a convenience store overnight or working as a cleaner. It has been a process of rediscovering, retraining (had to study again for an MBA, accounting qualification and CFA), and started from the bottom (Drakes song, started from the bottom has been the story of my life). It has been years of building networks – and having been a hustler all my life, this has helped. I work in middle management of a global corporation (not junior, and not too senior).

I have never joined this bandwagon that I am going back to Kenya (or for that matter, you must come to majuu to be successful). If you are lazy in Kenya, you are not going to just become an amazing hard worker by living in a different country. If you live an average life abroad, just doing the rat race, you are not going to become an amazing business man in Kenya. That perspective is important. I have seen people sell houses and go to Kenya – only to come back again. I have also seen people execute good plans and go back successful – but very few.

So people need to be careful, I think Kenya is a very competitive place to do business (if it was that easy – so many Kenyans would do it). If you are comfortable in Kenya, stay there. If you have a clear plan on what you want to achieve abroad – then leave, but understand it will take years. I have hosted and mentored a few Kenyans, ironically, many from parts of Nairobi we would never have crossed paths if I was in Kenya (have only ever been to Muthaiga to visit parents of a student I hosted, many years after have been here).