Market
Pennywise
What is a "good salary" in Kenya?
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Not everyone is made to be a nurse. Some of us wouldnt want to spend all their lives cleaning wounds, vomit, etc, irrespective of how much money one is paid. Also why are people being advised to study nursing and not medicine, which i believe would bring in more cash?
hardwood wrote:Not everyone is made to be a nurse. Some of us wouldnt want to spend all their lives cleaning wounds, vomit, etc, irrespective of how much money one is paid. Also why are people being advised to study nursing and not medicine, which i believe would bring in more cash? You dont have to be a nurse, t here are Kenyan doctors in the US who studied in UON, Financial analysts who went to Kenyan unis did CPAs Accountants Lawyers and all kinds of other professionals etc "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
hardwood wrote:Not everyone is made to be a nurse. Some of us wouldnt want to spend all their lives cleaning wounds, vomit, etc, irrespective of how much money one is paid. Also why are people being advised to study nursing and not medicine, which i believe would bring in more cash? I guess its easier to get into nursing in the west due to few westerners willing to take up the profession. I guess doctors prefer kenya because hapa they only do less dirtier tasks as compared to doctors in the west.
This is the kind of encouraging news we want to hear, not nursing kila siku. I also know a guy who did his BSc, masters and PhD at UoN and is a professor in the US. Also a guy who did electrical engineering at Moi and is an engineer with some airline communications company in the US. Not to forget our Senior Barrister Miguna in Canada.
Wakanyugi wrote:This is all very good advice.
But, in all honesty, the people who are advising Paper chaser not to take the risk are not doing him any favour. That should be his decision.
Of course it's his decision who said otherwise?? I was dissuading him because I think he has good prospects of growth as a real estate sector expert. The ease of making it in that field is much higher than in crowded fields like accounting. Similarly, starting your own show is way easier than in many other professions. Added to that, he is earning 100k at circa 25yrs. Surely, you shouldn't leave that kind of job and salo for manual jobs like grave digging in North America! But it'd be ok if he was to practice his profession huko majuu
After tume maliza all this 'move to diaspora vs. 'not move to diaspora'...can someone please answer the initial question in a detailed manner.
WHAT IS A 'GOOD SALARY IN KENYA?'
Please lets keep the " you need a million' comments to the minimum. We all know that is BS na hapa ni online hakuna haja ya kuringa. if youre making that, sawa. But please know that kuna wenye tuna tumia hii resource ku jipanga. Also zile za watu wana lipa rent ya 10k tu wache pia, (nothing against them, but that isnt a definiont of someone making a 'good' salary)
In 2016 numbers...whats a good salary for a man to be able to afford nairobi comfortably?
by comfortably I dont mean being able to afford 40k shots of louis 13 on the weekend.
But how much would one need in nairobi to live in a middle class area, be able to go out on weekends and drink a few K's bila ku stress sana,(even in Njanuary) be able to afford a regular weekday baada ya kazi round of drinks while networking-also bila ku check ATM balance saa zote Be able to take the ka yelo-yelo or two out hapa na pale bila shida and maybe maintain a ka mpango on the side (we are men after all) transportation, chakula, mboch,
kama nime sahau kitu nikumbushe please...As the name suggests, nina rudi kenya....Planning stages ndio niko. ive gathered a lot of info while im in kenya but I would like to get a little bit more insight from you guys.
What we would consider a middle class life style....sio ile ya akina mbogo ya ku floss bila mpango. Ni life ya mtu ako 30 something na career yake iko poa...Think a mid level manager at a mid size firm....
Saidieni tafadhali
Rank: Member Joined: 9/11/2015 Posts: 244 Location: Thika
repat wrote:After tume maliza all this 'move to diaspora vs. 'not move to diaspora'...can someone please answer the initial question in a detailed manner.
Please lets keep the " you need a million' comments to the minimum. We all know that is BS na hapa ni online hakuna haja ya kuringa. if youre making that, sawa. But please know that kuna wenye tuna tumia hii resource ku jipanga. Also zile za watu wana lipa rent ya 10k tu wache pia, (nothing against them, but that isnt a definiont of someone making a 'good' salary)
In 2016 numbers...whats a good salary for a man to be able to afford nairobi comfortably?
by comfortably I dont mean being able to afford 40k shots of louis 13 on the weekend.
But how much would one need in nairobi to live in a middle class area, be able to go out on weekends and drink a few K's bila ku stress sana,(even in Njanuary) be able to afford a regular weekday baada ya kazi round of drinks while networking-also bila ku check ATM balance saa zote Be able to take the ka yelo-yelo or two out hapa na pale bila shida and maybe maintain a ka mpango on the side (we are men after all) transportation, chakula, mboch,
kama nime sahau kitu nikumbushe please...As the name suggests, nina rudi kenya....Planning stages ndio niko. ive gathered a lot of info while im in kenya but I would like to get a little bit more insight from you guys.
What we would consider a middle class life style....sio ile ya akina mbogo ya ku floss bila mpango. Ni life ya mtu ako 30 something na career yake iko poa...Think a mid level manager at a mid size firm....
Saidieni tafadhali In my opinion, you need 300k per month NET. 40k for a house in South B, 70k in family expenses. 100k in savings..raha etc ya 35k...the remainder for any other business like supporting parents in shagz. NB: If your wife works, which she should, you can then reduce this amount to 250k Since men have learned to shoot without missing, I have learned to fly without perching
Rank: User Joined: 8/15/2013 Posts: 13,236 Location: Vacuum
repat wrote:After tume maliza all this 'move to diaspora vs. 'not move to diaspora'...can someone please answer the initial question in a detailed manner.
Saidieni tafadhali 1.Rent-50K-70K(middle class Nairobian) 2. House shopping-15k-20K 3.Mboch-8K 4. School fees for two kids and transport-50K 5.Entertainment(include day scholar yelo yelo)-30K 6.Fuel-20K 7.wazazi(we are africans)-15K 8. savings-15K 9.CSR(weddings,harambes etc)-10K miscellaneous-10K Assumptions-You have no loans and medical cover is provided by employer You need a monthly net of 223K approximately 310K+ gross If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
I'd consider this a 'comfortable' lifestyle in that one can meet their needs in a good neighborhood in Nairobi. Family with 2 kids.
1. Rent 70k 2. food/shopping - 25k 3. car (loan+Insurance) 35k 4. fuel sh700*30days= 21k 5. lunch 250*20days = 5k 6. savings/sacco/NSE - 20k 7. school fees 2 kids at 80k per term each kid- 40k pm 8. entertainment 4 beers @250, 4 days a week - 20k 9. Medical - 10k 10. Relatives - 5k 11. Househelp - 10k Total 261k
You need a net of 261K.
NB: Mpango will cost an extra 30k, so you will need 291k.
hardwood wrote:I'd consider this a 'comfortable' lifestyle in that one can meet their needs in a good neighborhood in Nairobi. Family with 2 kids.
1. Rent 70k 2. food/shopping - 25k 3. car (loan+Insurance) 35k 4. fuel sh700*30days= 21k 5. lunch 250*20days = 5k 6. savings/sacco/NSE - 20k 7. school fees 2 kids at 80k per term each kid- 40k pm 8. entertainment 4 beers @250, 4 days a week - 20k 9. Medical - 10k 10. Relatives - 5k 11. Househelp - 10k Total 261k
You need a net of 261K. Where and how I live reflects this. Lunch ya 250 ndio haiambatani na software ya 70k rent. And this would probably be 2 incomes, coming to a gross above 350k
Sevian wrote:hardwood wrote:I'd consider this a 'comfortable' lifestyle in that one can meet their needs in a good neighborhood in Nairobi. Family with 2 kids.
You need a net of 261K. Where and how I live reflects this. Lunch ya 250 ndio haiambatani na software ya 70k rent. And this would probably be 2 incomes, coming to a gross above 350k Lunch is only yako at the canteen kwa job for 20 working days a month, not family lunch. I have also added mpango 30k hapo juu.
Rank: Member Joined: 9/11/2015 Posts: 244 Location: Thika
hardwood wrote:I'd consider this a 'comfortable' lifestyle in that one can meet their needs in a good neighborhood in Nairobi. Family with 2 kids.
You need a net of 261K.
NB: Mpango will cost an extra 30k, so you will need 291k. Savings of 20k out of a 261k salary...rent of 70k, fuel of 21k, school fees of 40k per month,...that is living above your means in my opinion. Buying a guzzler when you cant afford to have one, living in estates you should not be in, and educating your children in schools you can barely afford. Typical middle class mindset I believe anyone should save/invest at least 30% of their income...at least. This is a perfect example of living from paycheck to paycheck. If you got fired today, your savings of 1 whole year cannot offset your expenses for one month. Are you from the lakeside region?? Since men have learned to shoot without missing, I have learned to fly without perching
Jon Jones wrote:hardwood wrote:I'd consider this a 'comfortable' lifestyle in that one can meet their needs in a good neighborhood in Nairobi. Family with 2 kids.
You need a net of 261K.
NB: Mpango will cost an extra 30k, so you will need 291k. Savings of 20k out of a 261k salary...rent of 70k, fuel of 21k, school fees of 40k per month,...that is living above your means in my opinion. Buying a guzzler when you cant afford to have one, living in estates you should not be in, and educating your children in schools you can barely afford. Typical middle class mindset I believe anyone should save/invest at least 30% of their income...at least. This is a perfect example of living from paycheck to paycheck. If you got fired today, your savings of 1 whole year cannot offset your expenses for one month. Are you from the lakeside region?? I will advise my friend to move from that apartment in kileleshwa arudi eastlands, where he belongs.
Jon Jones wrote:hardwood wrote:I'd consider this a 'comfortable' lifestyle in that one can meet their needs in a good neighborhood in Nairobi. Family with 2 kids.
You need a net of 261K.
NB: Mpango will cost an extra 30k, so you will need 291k. Savings of 20k out of a 261k salary...rent of 70k, fuel of 21k, school fees of 40k per month,...that is living above your means in my opinion. Buying a guzzler when you cant afford to have one, living in estates you should not be in, and educating your children in schools you can barely afford. Typical middle class mindset I believe anyone should save/invest at least 30% of their income...at least. This is a perfect example of living from paycheck to paycheck. If you got fired today, your savings of 1 whole year cannot offset your expenses for one month. Are you from the lakeside region?? what is your level of education? That's a very ignorant stupid question.Go back to the bush you came from If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
I think the main issue here is that a net of less than 300k wont take you any far in Nairobi.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
If you earn over 250K,you should not be paying rent unless you have been working for less than five years. Nunua mbuloti Mwihoko na ujenge kibanda. Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Rank: Member Joined: 1/20/2015 Posts: 489 Location: Nairobi
Of all the posts above....its evident that all men have one thing in common: they must have a mpango wa kando aka yelo yelo day scholar! But I will be realistic with you: Rent: 45 - 60k (in Thome or Garden Estate, you will get stand alone bungalows and mansions at this price, with own gardens on a quarter or half an acre) Family Expenses: 50k (Food, Shopping) Education of kids: 50k per term upper middle class schools like Riara Springs where kids speak so flowery English better than akina Swenanis) Booze and njaro: 25k assuming 2 crates every week where a beer costs 250/= Mpango wa Kando: 20K student at USIU or KU, bedsitter 10k at Roysa, 10k shopping = unlimited supply of airport and landing permits!! Fuel: 20k assuming you drive a 2500 - 3000cc guzzler Parents at rural home: 15k monthly Charity: educate at least one or two orphans 20k per month TOTALS: 250K Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
kaka2za wrote:If you earn over 250K,you should not be paying rent unless you have been working for less than five years. Nunua mbuloti Mwihoko na ujenge kibanda. Renting is cheaper than buying kwa wengine wetu who are just in Nairobi for money not to live and retire If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:Of all the posts above....its evident that all men have one thing in common: they must have a mpango wa kando aka yelo yelo day scholar! But I will be realistic with you:
Rent: 45 - 60k (in Thome or Garden Estate, you will get stand alone bungalows and mansions at this price, with own gardens on a quarter or half an acre)
Family Expenses: 50k (Food, Shopping)
Education of kids: 50k per term upper middle class schools like Riara Springs where kids speak so flowery English better than akina Swenanis)
Booze and njaro: 25k assuming 2 crates every week where a beer costs 250/=
Mpango wa Kando: 20K student at USIU or KU, bedsitter 10k at Roysa, 10k shopping = unlimited supply of airport and landing permits!!
Fuel: 20k assuming you drive a 2500 - 3000cc guzzler
Parents at rural home: 15k monthly
Charity: educate at least one or two orphans 20k per month
TOTALS: 250K What? Rent in Thome is 170K as you can see <HERE>.Also, you have not included savings.
hardwood wrote:UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:Of all the posts above....its evident that all men have one thing in common: they must have a mpango wa kando aka yelo yelo day scholar! But I will be realistic with you:
Rent: 45 - 60k (in Thome or Garden Estate, you will get stand alone bungalows and mansions at this price, with own gardens on a quarter or half an acre)
Family Expenses: 50k (Food, Shopping)
Education of kids: 50k per term upper middle class schools like Riara Springs where kids speak so flowery English better than akina Swenanis)
Booze and njaro: 25k assuming 2 crates every week where a beer costs 250/=
Mpango wa Kando: 20K student at USIU or KU, bedsitter 10k at Roysa, 10k shopping = unlimited supply of airport and landing permits!!
Fuel: 20k assuming you drive a 2500 - 3000cc guzzler
Parents at rural home: 15k monthly
Charity: educate at least one or two orphans 20k per month
TOTALS: 250K What? Rent in Thome is 170K as you can see <HERE>.Also, you have not included savings. Hio ni Thome ya TZ not Kenya Why save when there is NSSF? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Market
Pennywise
What is a "good salary" in Kenya?