wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

Starting a business vs Buying a Matatu "Box"
Jon Jones
#1 Posted : Monday, January 11, 2016 10:51:04 PM

I am torn between starting a business and buying a matatu (14 seater). I work from home. I have recently seen the need to diversify my income and I have these two options.
OPTION 1: BUSINESS
I will need capital of 300k-400k to launch the business. I expect a net income of Ksh 90,000 from the business. I have already spotted a good location (kwa stage, grond floor, facing the highway)...in an area that is rapidly developing. The risks associated with the business are that if a business fails, I lose 400k cash i.e all capital invested.If the business picks, I expect a profit of at least 10k per day (net) because of that location. If I go for the business, I will have Ksh 1,800,000 remaining, which I can buy land with for real estate purposes. The business premise is 100 meters from my home which makes it easy to monitor at a moments notice.
OPTION 2: MATATU
After my calculations, I will need 2.2 million to launch this business successfully. I expect an income of Ksh 80,000 per month from the business (net)as per my research. Since the matatu is insured, I will have little worry of losing the 2.2 million investment. Transport is somewhat a basic need, therefore I will also be assured of something at the end of the day.
DILEMMA: Which one should I take?
Since men have learned to shoot without missing, I have learned to fly without perching
UpcomingPaperChaser
#2 Posted : Tuesday, January 12, 2016 12:14:29 AM

1. The first option looks a bit more ambitious than it should be. Which business is that makes you 10k profit per day? A gas station? hotel or massage parlour? Prepare a business plan and carry out a SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats) analysis, which should guide you in making the decision.

2. Which route for your nissan? Why dont you top it up upto about 4 million and unleash a brand new well souped Nganya that plies more than 15 trips per day Kasarani - Mwiki
Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
Jon Jones
#3 Posted : Tuesday, January 12, 2016 12:41:57 AM

UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:
1. The first option looks a bit more ambitious than it should be. Which business is that makes you 10k profit per day? A gas station? hotel or massage parlour? Prepare a business plan and carry out a SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats) analysis, which should guide you in making the decision.

2. Which route for your nissan? Why dont you top it up upto about 4 million and unleash a brand new well souped Nganya that plies more than 15 trips per day Kasarani - Mwiki

For the first option, if the business picks, I can re-invest the earnings and make it 10k profit per day. My estimates are 80k per month for the first 6 months at least.
For the second option, my budget is strictly 2.2 million cash...no loans. I dont want loans when starting a business...I can only use loans to expand a business.
Since men have learned to shoot without missing, I have learned to fly without perching
#4 Posted : Tuesday, January 12, 2016 12:11:47 PM

Jon Jones wrote:
I am torn between starting a business and buying a matatu (14 seater). I work from home. I have recently seen the need to diversify my income and I have these two options.
OPTION 1: BUSINESS
I will need capital of 300k-400k to launch the business. I expect a net income of Ksh 90,000 from the business. I have already spotted a good location (kwa stage, grond floor, facing the highway)...in an area that is rapidly developing. The risks associated with the business are that if a business fails, I lose 400k cash i.e all capital invested.If the business picks, I expect a profit of at least 10k per day (net) because of that location. If I go for the business, I will have Ksh 1,800,000 remaining, which I can buy land with for real estate purposes. The business premise is 100 meters from my home which makes it easy to monitor at a moments notice.
OPTION 2: MATATU
After my calculations, I will need 2.2 million to launch this business successfully. I expect an income of Ksh 80,000 per month from the business (net)as per my research. Since the matatu is insured, I will have little worry of losing the 2.2 million investment. Transport is somewhat a basic need, therefore I will also be assured of something at the end of the day.
DILEMMA: Which one should I take?

You mean a matatu is not a business?

In red, What kind of a risk is that? The "real"risk should be what will cause the failure?

In blue,what kind of assumptions are those?

You are doomedto fail if you go either way with that kind of risk analysis and business assumptions.

Keep your money under the mattres you wont loose since you will be sleeping on it
Mkondoa Macho
#5 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 2:34:37 PM

I need an unbiased opinion. Assuming a guy has cash 2.2 million...he has two choices:
1) Buy a matatu 14 seater at 1.8 million and add all expenses to 2.2 million.
2) Buy two plots near Juja town at 1.1 million each inclusive of all conveyancing costs.

Assumption: I have enough time to check on the matatu whenever needed because I am my own boss a.k.a businessman hence always available.

What would you choose...wazuans?
#6 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 2:57:31 PM

Mkondoa Macho wrote:
I need an unbiased opinion. Assuming a guy has cash 2.2 million...he has two choices:
2) Buy two plots near Juja town at 1.1 million each inclusive of all conveyancing costs.

Assumption: I have enough time to check on the matatu whenever needed because I am my own boss a.k.a businessman hence always available.

For development ama speculation?
jerry
#7 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 5:05:21 PM

Mkondoa Macho wrote:

Which is this matatu costing 1.8M?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
Mkondoa Macho
#8 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 9:07:40 PM

jerry wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:

Petrol auto (mtumba) as I was told. Now, kindly answer the question. As I said, total cost of 2.2 mil for the mat...rough estimate
matatuman
#9 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 10:16:19 PM

Mkondoa Macho wrote:
jerry wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:

Petrol auto (mtumba) as I was told. Now, kindly answer the question. As I said, total cost of 2.2 mil for the mat...rough estimate

Wacha nikusaidie, buy that land wachana na matatu utaumia bure. Let me help you further, if you intend to spend 2.2M on a petrol box, what is your expected break even period all factors held constant? If you feel i do not want you to dip your fingers in the honeypot then remember 2.2M can get you a diesel vehicle.
Motomoto
#10 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 7:03:19 AM

matatuman wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:
jerry wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:

Wacha nikusaidie, buy that land wachana na matatu utaumia bure. Let me help you further, if you intend to spend 2.2M on a petrol box, what is your expected break even period all factors held constant? If you feel i do not want you to dip your fingers in the honeypot then remember 2.2M can get you a diesel vehicle.

@matatuman-are you talking from experience? Then who are these who make money from matatus? Do all these thousands of matatus I see on the road run at a loss? Why are you discouraging him? Is that an honest advice?
Ali Baba
#11 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 11:10:24 AM

Motomoto wrote:
matatuman wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:
jerry wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:

@matatuman-are you talking from experience? Then who are these who make money from matatus? Do all these thousands of matatus I see on the road run at a loss? Why are you discouraging him? Is that an honest advice?
Matatu industry is a criminal enterprise.Its founded on fraud,tax evasion and money laundering.If you are not buying your matatu to conceal your loot from say,NYS,stay away from that investment.However,a few good guys are in the industry,but the others are Kaburas of this world....
Mkondoa Macho
#12 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 11:22:49 AM

matatuman wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:
jerry wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:

My estimate for purchasing the vehicle was 1.8 million. 400k for all modifications, licenses etc until it is on the road...including 100k for emergencies. Can I get that diesel at 2.2 here in Kenya or will I have to import?
Ule Msee
#13 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 12:18:21 PM

DO these, with the 2.2M, buy 2 axios and register them with Uber, you'll easily dwarf the expected income from bit ventures youre speculating about
Atalaku
#14 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 1:06:45 PM

Mkondoa Macho wrote:
matatuman wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:
jerry wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:

My estimate for purchasing the vehicle was 1.8 million. 400k for all modifications, licenses etc until it is on the road...including 100k for emergencies. Can I get that diesel at 2.2 here in Kenya or will I have to import?

@mkondoa macho.... I have one landing on 22 this month. Diesel 3000cc. 20009. If interested inbox me atalaku@gmail.com
Atalaku
#15 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 1:09:01 PM

Mkondoa Macho wrote:
matatuman wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:
jerry wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:

@mkondoa macho. .. I have one landing on 22nd this month. 2009 diesel 3000cc. If interested inbox me. atalakuu@gmail.com
matatuman
#16 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 1:26:12 PM

Ule Msee wrote:
DO these, with the 2.2M, buy 2 axios and register them with Uber, you'll easily dwarf the expected income from bit ventures youre speculating about

He he mbona nakushuku. Hiyo ni panganga. Share your experience, do not give us hearsay.
matatuman
#17 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 1:27:47 PM

Mkondoa Macho wrote:
matatuman wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:
jerry wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:

Kijana uko na mchezo sana. Nunua shamba.
matatuman
#18 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 1:50:38 PM

Motomoto wrote:
matatuman wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:
jerry wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:

Mko na shida moja nyinyi wawili. Mnachoka hata kusoma a simple thread with all the questions you keep asking. You would rather start another thread and start playing "20 questions". Kwani mnataka kupikiwa chakula na mtafuniwe? The business is profitable but not for people like you who sit behind a screen and expect answers to show up. You wouldnt last 6 months. Show some effort.
Mkondoa Macho
#19 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 4:30:17 PM

matatuman wrote:
Motomoto wrote:
matatuman wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:
jerry wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:

Mko na shida moja nyinyi wawili. Mnachoka hata kusoma a simple thread with all the questions you keep asking. You would rather start another thread and start playing "20 questions". Kwani mnataka kupikiwa chakula na mtafuniwe? The business is profitable but not for people like you who sit behind a screen and expect answers to show up. You wouldnt last 6 months. Show some effort.

I have read that thread already. I am not seeking insight into the matatu business, I am trying to do a comparison through the views of wazuans. I understand that both are good investments, what I need is views on which one to pursue because I know that I cant be knowledgeable 100% in both sectors (matatu and plot speculation).
matatuman
#20 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 8:25:58 PM

Mkondoa Macho wrote:
matatuman wrote:
Motomoto wrote:
matatuman wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:
jerry wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:

I have read that thread already. I am not seeking insight into the matatu business, I am trying to do a comparison through the views of wazuans. I understand that both are good investments, what I need is views on which one to pursue because I know that I cant be knowledgeable 100% in both sectors (matatu and plot speculation).

You have not read it if you are willing to throw 2.2M at a petrol box. That you can take to the bank! No further inputs from me.