wazua Wed, Mar 25, 2026

36 Pages«<7891011>»
What is a "good salary" in Kenya?
Pat87
#81 Posted : Sunday, January 10, 2016 8:39:04 AM

@Pat87 Thanks for the insight on the life in majuu.
Am now convinced that home is best. Sitoki Africa!

Hey,overseas is not for everybody,i prefer getting out of comfort levels and finding whats out there,kaeni Kenya,tuchungieni hizo shamba we will work these shifts and buy them less than market price cz that Kenyan uchumi might be ngumu for awhile.
“An asset is something that puts money in my pocket. A liability is something that takes money out of my pocket.”
― Robert T. Kiyosaki, Rich Dad, Poor Dad
#82 Posted : Sunday, January 10, 2016 9:26:39 AM

How easy or hard is it to get laid uko mayuu?

#83 Posted : Sunday, January 10, 2016 10:11:22 AM

Pat87 wrote:

Hey,overseas is not for everybody,i prefer getting out of comfort levels and finding whats out there,kaeni Kenya,tuchungieni hizo shamba we will work these shifts and buy them less than market price cz that Kenyan uchumi might be ngumu for awhile.

I said Africa not necessarily Kenya. Why should I move to US to wash tucucus when I can make $5K doing what I love in Kigali ,Addis or Monrovia?
enyands
#84 Posted : Sunday, January 10, 2016 10:27:18 AM

Pat87 how many have you laid so far Laughing out loudly
#85 Posted : Sunday, January 10, 2016 5:21:43 PM

Pat87 wrote:

I said Africa not necessarily Kenya. Why should I move to US to wash tucucus when I can make $5K doing what I love in Kigali ,Addis or Monrovia?

Most african countries have a better pay than uko mayuu especially those fragile countries
#86 Posted : Sunday, January 10, 2016 5:56:36 PM

Pat87 wrote:

Most african countries have a better pay than uko mayuu especially those fragile countries

Very true! If Majuu is paradise why are their citizens competing for jobs in Somalia, Darfur,Liberia etc
Quite a number are even scared of going back home!
Boris Boyka
#87 Posted : Sunday, January 10, 2016 7:17:44 PM

Pat87 wrote:

Very true! If Majuu is paradise why are their citizens competing for jobs in Somalia, Darfur,Liberia etc

I'll remind you this; The other side of the field always has greener pastures. Human beings have insatiable needs. They also get bored over time and look for change. The jungus come to Africa for expatriate jobs! Well paying (uniform regardless of your nationality) while living standards in Africa are relatively low. Why are Kenyans flooding Sudan yet Kenya looks 'paradise?' This is a cycle or a puzzle you can't solve. Underlying factor is what you mentally get contend with. Kenyans netting 100k + monthly don't see need of going majuu.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#88 Posted : Sunday, January 10, 2016 8:11:49 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:
Pat87 wrote:

I'll remind you this; The other side of the field always has greener pastures. Human beings have insatiable needs. They also get bored over time and look for change. The jungus come to Africa for expatriate jobs! Well paying (uniform regardless of your nationality) while living standards in Africa are relatively low. Why are Kenyans flooding Sudan yet Kenya looks 'paradise?' This is a cycle or a puzzle you can't solve. Underlying factor is what you mentally get contend with. Kenyans netting 100k + monthly don't see need of going majuu.

Kenya has oversupply of trained human power and is highly competitive compared with Sudan and Tz. Kenyans venture move to poor countries that have skills gap as expat and invest back home thus making Kenya look like 'paradise'
Previously, only seasoned pros were coming from Majuu to work in Africa. Siku hizi wanatafuta wira kama sisi tu na wanasema kwao ngangari!
Pat87
#89 Posted : Sunday, January 10, 2016 9:27:19 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:
Pat87 wrote:

Kenya has oversupply of trained human power and is highly competitive compared with Sudan and Tz. Kenyans venture move to poor countries that have skills gap as expat and invest back home thus making Kenya look like 'paradise'
Previously, only seasoned pros were coming from Majuu to work in Africa. Siku hizi wanatafuta wira kama sisi tu na wanasema kwao ngangari!

Sorry,long post Alert!!
You need to understand international labour laws to understand why people are moving,if you are somewhere in Africa earning $5k then you are very different from that Kenyan being satisfied with 100k cz a Kenyan earning that amount is management,if they make a smart move they will make way more than 100kes so thats why i was speaking of non driven people staying in comfort zones.
Now,I have worked out of country before and i know of the jobs in Africa or in war-zones where Kenyans make more,but the difference between me and you is that when i get my US citizenship,i will definately make more than you if i come to the same job,or get a better rank than you cz of US citizenship,this is the one truth most people working overseas dont speak of,your nationality(First world or third world )dictates your pay,but to bring this in perspective,i will tell you this,Kenyan working in Ethiopia will most likely earn more than the locals cz of intl labor laws,now,American or french coming into Ethiopia will earn way more than the Kenyan or Ethiopian doing same job,same level,why??nationality,something about first world nationaly,they get treated better,unfair but true(they are trying to change this but its still rampant)same way west Africans in airtel Kenya earn way more than Kenyans there or come in and scoop better jobs that they cant scoop back home,french guys in Airtel Kenya way more than the west Africans or the Kenyans.Now lets flip it,Americans coming into Kenya will earn more than their Kenyan counterparts,the amount an American is being paid in Kenya working for US embassy is way higher than Kenyans working same place,the amount Americans earn in US embassy in Kenya is not the same amount they will earn when they work stateside,hence why they move to Africa to scoop the jobs.that's why they are coming to Africa cz they are being paid way higher cz once you cross the border,intl labor laws dictate your pay.so thats why smart ones are crossing borders.(cross borders and invest in businesses back home(Being an employee and a boss same time),its the smart thing to do.
That guy speaking of washing cucus,whoever decides to do that,its their choice,too many jobs to pick from paying better than back home.US appreciates every profession,If you are a driver,a cook,housekeeper,baby sitter,nanny(maid),delivery,mechanic,carpenter,plumber,nurse,chef,mortician,office guy,hairstylist,it dont matter,you will be certified and you will be paid well,the only job if you do in Kenya you might not transfer that knowledge here is tout,no matatus here so you might want to know how to drive a truck,crane or something.actually if you are an electrician,plumber,carpenter,tailoryou know,kazi za mikono,US will treat you well unlike Kenya where they expect you to be white collar to make it.
“An asset is something that puts money in my pocket. A liability is something that takes money out of my pocket.”
― Robert T. Kiyosaki, Rich Dad, Poor Dad
UpcomingPaperChaser
#90 Posted : Sunday, January 10, 2016 11:31:46 PM

watesh wrote:
UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:
watesh wrote:
UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:
Walter white,

Am trying the latter route that you pin pointed: immigrating to an American country in the course of the year. I wanna try my luck n so far so good there is hope!! Are the manual jobs there worth it?

Only if you find cheap housing. I have done manual jobs in Canada, $10.5 an hour for 8hrs all weekdays, housing would eat up all of it if i wasnt sharing the house. Do double shift and u can send 150k per month to Kenya

Watesh, thank God i found you. U are the person i have been looking for for ages. My plan is to go to Edmonton, Canada maybe in May or September in the name of studying for a diploma course. Their admission procedures for international students are too strict though. So am hoping all my documents will be in check, meaning i will be a legal immigrant.

My friend in Calgary tells me its easy to make it there as he has seen Ethiopians and Somalis who can barely communicate in English finding jobs within weeks of arrival.

Once i get there, my two degrees wont make any more sense to me as i wont be choosy with jobs, though i ultimately intend to study Firefighting or to be a paramedic. My friends uncle is married to a Canadian and is a police officer n he told me they are paid over 40 dollars per hour with subsidized housing and lots of other benefits.

So with my 700k savings, assuming i will be jobless for 4 months, will i be able to survive with that amount assuming i find roomates?

I will speak from my experience in Ontario....
Just come in with all the right papers, you will get a social insurance number (at immigration services at the airport) which will let you open a bank account, get a job and a place to stay. If you know sb there who will give you temporary accomodation it will be easier since they will need an address to send your documents. If you dont have kids as a newbie you will be very flexible.Canadian law protects kids alot so a number of rules regarding them. If you cant get a job there is always social services cash you can apply for (basically free cash) till you get on your feet. To get these unskilled jobs you just need a phone number and go to one of the many employment services they will hook you up in a day, you can get day or night time jobs.
For the degree related jobs it can get tricky since there is a process to verify your Kenyan degree which involves your Kenyan university sending transcripts and emails blah blah blah. They really favor Canadian or US degrees. I have seen doctors from Pakistan and India being reduces to manual job workers since they dont recognize their degrees there. For the formal jobs, you have to hustle.
Then there is their culture (the way they do things) It may seem small but it affects smoothness of your daily life .Examples learning to use buses and trains, system is so different from here in Kenya. Following traffic lights when crossing roads, winter dressing, knowing to calculate tax on items before you buy them since they dont display goods price with tax on them (VAT), cheapest places to buy your groceries and chicken, how to do door to door apartment search if you not going online, then get used to being ripped off by the telecommunication companies, getting your health insurance and so many small things, some words have different meaning eg elevator instead of lift gas instead of fuel resume instead of CV basically learn some american english vocabulary different from british
If at first you have sb to guide you, you will fit in very fast without looking so confused in public

Thanks for your post, i appreciate the insights!

- About that Social Security Number, can i be eligible for it if i immigrate as a student? as in coming to study?

- What about if i come on a tourist Visa, lets say for a 3 months visit, then in the process I look for a college and apply for admission? so that after the three months, i apply for a student's Visa? is it legal that way?

- Whats the cheapest cost of living per month for hustler living the lowest standards of life assuming am lucky to get a roomate in Ontario for instance?
Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
36 Pages«<7891011>»