Market
Pennywise
What is a "good salary" in Kenya?
WalterWhite wrote:
@Mike Ock,
The average poorest working person in the US lives a lifestyle of a Kenyan in old Buruburu or so. You won't find slums made of cardboard like in Kibera, or kadogo economy which subsidizes the cost of living for the poor. I agree that minimum wage of 100k per month in Kenya will take you further than in an mid-size US city, but not by much ie assuming a lifestyle of a family living in Buruburu. That is my point! If you're willing to live in slum areas then there's almost no limit to the depths of poor living you can get away with in Kenya. But is that the goal? To see how much undignified poverty one can get away with in the name of cheap living?
Assuming the lowest we go down to is a Buruburu type middle class lifestlye.. Average rent is at least 25-30K. Add transport, food, clothes, school fees/supplies, medical. That 100K isn't so grand after all, is it?
Our Kenyan govt has been a total failure despite the citizenry being extremely hardworking and ambitious. KCPE results just came out and all these top performers were celebrating with their teachers and parents. They talked about how hard they studied, how they prayed etc etc. It brought back memories when I was in their shoes and later on in high school. How we would soak our legs in a basin of cold water to avoid sleeping while studying. And for what?!
How many of my former classmates are still stuck in low paying jobs, hustling or worse unemployed? We tell our kenyan kids to work hard in school, but for what? Yes, I don't disagree that literacy is important. I'm talking about the extra mile we had to go: the extra tuition, the late night or all night cramming. The good thing about America is that the harder you work the more the rewards. There's a direct correlation between the two. For example, a typical nurse makes about $35 per hour. If they do overtime, it's time and a half, so $53 per hour. If you're a nursing assistant the pay is $12 per hour etc etc. Hence, an American nurse is paid well enough to live in a beautiful house, take their kids to good schools and be able to save/invest for the future. It makes sense to study hard in school because the benefits for those who do are clear. Back at home, our nurses and doctors in public sector lead miserable lifestyles despite the substantial effort they put in their studies. Why is higher education in Kenya still considered a good investment, which it isn't?!
Kenyans deserve much better for all the effort they put in. Unfortunately, that rarely happens.
I agree, even in business, man you put so much effort for so little reward. The market as a whole is just screwed up. I currently have a Kenyan business, I poured my heart and soul into it for years, and at the end of the day it makes a measly 7m Kshs. per year profit. For my next business navuka border.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/15/2013 Posts: 1,977 Location: Here
jerry wrote:ION: if my pension is say, 7M, what would I take home after taxes? No wazuan KRA fellows answered this! . Did you mean Lump sum/gratuity or pension because there's NO KENYAN who qualifies for monthly pension of over 1M. Assuming you meant the former then its About 5.3M The first 400k is untaxable Next 600k tax is 10% Next 600k tax is 15% Next 600k tax is 20% Next 600k tax is 25% All the remaining amount will be taxed 30%. That's what I knew 2014/2015. Not very sure if it changed! Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
Mike Ock wrote:WalterWhite wrote:
@Mike Ock,
The average poorest working person in the US lives a lifestyle of a Kenyan in old Buruburu or so. You won't find slums made of cardboard like in Kibera, or kadogo economy which subsidizes the cost of living for the poor. I agree that minimum wage of 100k per month in Kenya will take you further than in an mid-size US city, but not by much ie assuming a lifestyle of a family living in Buruburu. That is my point! If you're willing to live in slum areas then there's almost no limit to the depths of poor living you can get away with in Kenya. But is that the goal? To see how much undignified poverty one can get away with in the name of cheap living?
Assuming the lowest we go down to is a Buruburu type middle class lifestlye.. Average rent is at least 25-30K. Add transport, food, clothes, school fees/supplies, medical. That 100K isn't so grand after all, is it?
Our Kenyan govt has been a total failure despite the citizenry being extremely hardworking and ambitious. KCPE results just came out and all these top performers were celebrating with their teachers and parents. They talked about how hard they studied, how they prayed etc etc. It brought back memories when I was in their shoes and later on in high school. How we would soak our legs in a basin of cold water to avoid sleeping while studying. And for what?!
How many of my former classmates are still stuck in low paying jobs, hustling or worse unemployed? We tell our kenyan kids to work hard in school, but for what? Yes, I don't disagree that literacy is important. I'm talking about the extra mile we had to go: the extra tuition, the late night or all night cramming. The good thing about America is that the harder you work the more the rewards. There's a direct correlation between the two. For example, a typical nurse makes about $35 per hour. If they do overtime, it's time and a half, so $53 per hour. If you're a nursing assistant the pay is $12 per hour etc etc. Hence, an American nurse is paid well enough to live in a beautiful house, take their kids to good schools and be able to save/invest for the future. It makes sense to study hard in school because the benefits for those who do are clear. Back at home, our nurses and doctors in public sector lead miserable lifestyles despite the substantial effort they put in their studies. Why is higher education in Kenya still considered a good investment, which it isn't?!
Kenyans deserve much better for all the effort they put in. Unfortunately, that rarely happens.
I agree, even in business, man you put so much effort for so little reward. The market as a whole is just screwed up. I currently have a Kenyan business, I poured my heart and soul into it for years, and at the end of the day it makes a measly 7m Kshs. per year profit. For my next business navuka border. You consider 7M profit per year measly???
Depends on the capital you inject, like the maize millers a major one makes 200,000/- profit for every 5 million injected, too low if you ask me To Each His Own
Rank: User Joined: 8/15/2013 Posts: 13,236 Location: Vacuum
kayhara wrote:Depends on the capital you inject, like the maize millers a major one makes 200,000/- profit for every 5 million injected, too low if you ask me 200K per day,week,month or yearly? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
WalterWhite wrote:
@Mike Ock,
The average poorest working person in the US lives a lifestyle of a Kenyan in old Buruburu or so. You won't find slums made of cardboard like in Kibera, or kadogo economy which subsidizes the cost of living for the poor.
The myth of majuu. Why omit the other half of the story? That most people live on debt, not because they are irresponsible, but because it is almost impossible to survive on minimum wage. That the biggest epidemic in these high class 'Buruburus' of majuu is loneliness, especially in winter. A poor Kenyan can survive fairly well on zero salary and many in rural areas do. Can you do that in majuu? An American researcher friend once told me that many Kenyans are poor because they share all their money with family, friends and community. He forgot that they share problems, joys, pains etc with each other too. And that sense of community, which is largely missing in so called rich countries, is worth more than any salary. You certainly can't buy it with money. "The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
I just moved to the US and let me tell you,i am biting myself why i didnt come here earlier,surely people have been hacking this good life while i am kulaing traffic in Nairobi???people who say they better stay in Kenya say that because they have NOT LIVED in the US and all they hear is hearsay from people. Let me tell you,if you come the right way and your paperwork is legal,the sky is the limit,if you come kichorochoro you will regret,hapa no kitu kidogo,you break laws you serve time.Kuja the right way,dont pick n choose jobs,do what you can,do at least two jobs,for example,doing customer service at $11 an hr(Kes per hr 1100) and then doing evening shift at a hotel for another $12 an hrs will give you roughly $2700 per month,if you add extra hrs that's around $3000,that's almost 300k kes,for someone who just arrived doing entry level jobs,toa house rent(water n garbage)700(people paying 70k kes in Kenyan are livig in Kleleshwa)electricity 100(at most),car n gas(Kenyans we say mafuta)300pm,shopping 400 pm ,health insurance hmo 350 Total=$1850,i am saving over $1k(that is around 100k kes)in savings which if i decide to send home hata 70k,i am still set,driving comfortable car,staying in a beautiful house,being able to go to hospital if sick,eating comfortably,come on,entry level in Kenya is being paid $35k,kungangana na matatu.If you can kuja huku,work hard,invest in Kenya.it really doesn't earn you much so its better you invest in US but home is home,so set it up comfortable in case trump gets in office and decides to put all Kenyans in a plane,lol,all in all,wacheni kudanganywa eti people suffer overseas,those who do,something is off,cz this short time i have been here i have met practicing lawyers and doctors who are Kenyans,hata mayors,so those sleeping on the street must be bad luck.God knows our journeys,do not be discouraged with other peoples bad stories,come live better and earn more,you know,dignified life. “An asset is something that puts money in my pocket. A liability is something that takes money out of my pocket.” ― Robert T. Kiyosaki, Rich Dad, Poor Dad
Rank: User Joined: 8/15/2013 Posts: 13,236 Location: Vacuum
Pat87 wrote:I just moved to the US and let me tell you,i am biting myself why i didnt come here earlier,surely people have been hacking this good life while i am kulaing traffic in Nairobi???people who say they better stay in Kenya say that because they have NOT LIVED in the US and all they hear is hearsay from people. Let me tell you,if you come the right way and your paperwork is legal,the sky is the limit,if you come kichorochoro you will regret,hapa no kitu kidogo,you break laws you serve time.Kuja the right way,dont pick n choose jobs,do what you can,do at least two jobs,for example,doing customer service at $11 an hr(Kes per hr 1100) and then doing evening shift at a hotel for another $12 an hrs will give you roughly $2700 per month,if you add extra hrs that's around $3000,that's almost 300k kes,for someone who just arrived doing entry level jobs,toa house rent(water n garbage)700(people paying 70k kes in Kenyan are livig in Kleleshwa)electricity 100(at most),car n gas(Kenyans we say mafuta)300pm,shopping 400 pm ,health insurance hmo 350 Total=$1850,i am saving over $1k(that is around 100k kes)in savings which if i decide to send home hata 70k,i am still set,driving comfortable car,staying in a beautiful house,being able to go to hospital if sick,eating comfortably,come on,entry level in Kenya is being paid $35k,kungangana na matatu.If you can kuja huku,work hard,invest in Kenya.it really doesn't earn you much so its better you invest in US but home is home,so set it up comfortable in case trump gets in office and decides to put all Kenyans in a plane,lol,all in all,wacheni kudanganywa eti people suffer overseas,those who do,something is off,cz this short time i have been here i have met practicing lawyers and doctors who are Kenyans,hata mayors,so those sleeping on the street must be bad luck.God knows our journeys,do not be discouraged with other peoples bad stories,come live better and earn more,you know,dignified life. Wewe wacha uongo Statistically, 48% of the total workforce in US earn less than US$ 25K p.a, 27% earn between $25-$50K{translating to 75% earning less than $50K, 13 % earn US $ 50- $75K,5% earn between $75-100K while the remaining earn over 100K p.a, I presume these stats to be true unless there are cases of tax evasion. ION, very veeeery few americans can afford to save US 1,000 p.m If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/25/2014 Posts: 2,300 Location: kenya
Pat87 wrote:I just moved to the US and let me tell you,i am biting myself why i didnt come here earlier,surely people have been hacking this good life while i am kulaing traffic in Nairobi???people who say they better stay in Kenya say that because they have NOT LIVED in the US and all they hear is hearsay from people. Let me tell you,if you come the right way and your paperwork is legal,the sky is the limit,if you come kichorochoro you will regret,hapa no kitu kidogo,you break laws you serve time.Kuja the right way,dont pick n choose jobs,do what you can,do at least two jobs,for example,doing customer service at $11 an hr(Kes per hr 1100) and then doing evening shift at a hotel for another $12 an hrs will give you roughly $2700 per month,if you add extra hrs that's around $3000,that's almost 300k kes,for someone who just arrived doing entry level jobs,toa house rent(water n garbage)700(people paying 70k kes in Kenyan are livig in Kleleshwa)electricity 100(at most),car n gas(Kenyans we say mafuta)300pm,shopping 400 pm ,health insurance hmo 350 Total=$1850,i am saving over $1k(that is around 100k kes)in savings which if i decide to send home hata 70k,i am still set,driving comfortable car,staying in a beautiful house,being able to go to hospital if sick,eating comfortably,come on,entry level in Kenya is being paid $35k,kungangana na matatu.If you can kuja huku,work hard,invest in Kenya.it really doesn't earn you much so its better you invest in US but home is home,so set it up comfortable in case trump gets in office and decides to put all Kenyans in a plane,lol,all in all,wacheni kudanganywa eti people suffer overseas,those who do,something is off,cz this short time i have been here i have met practicing lawyers and doctors who are Kenyans,hata mayors,so those sleeping on the street must be bad luck.God knows our journeys,do not be discouraged with other peoples bad stories,come live better and earn more,you know,dignified life. You must be young ,no family and just new. I'm happy you are ambitious and love your attitude. Take advantage to do much like being a doc or lawyer before the family comes in.it becomes a different ball game when you have family and you are still at entry level. Day care sets in and also you can't afford to do two jobs and don't see your family . People who have been there long enough never say the same story .for you its a huge change from hustling with matatu to driving a left handed car . Trust me 3 yrs down the road you will be talking different story.take advantage of your youth before it's too late
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/19/2015 Posts: 2,871 Location: hapo
enyands wrote:Pat87 wrote:I just moved to the US and let me tell you,i am biting myself why i didnt come here earlier,surely people have been hacking this good life while i am kulaing traffic in Nairobi???people who say they better stay in Kenya say that because they have NOT LIVED in the US and all they hear is hearsay from people. Let me tell you,if you come the right way and your paperwork is legal,the sky is the limit,if you come kichorochoro you will regret,hapa no kitu kidogo,you break laws you serve time.Kuja the right way,dont pick n choose jobs,do what you can,do at least two jobs,for example,doing customer service at $11 an hr(Kes per hr 1100) and then doing evening shift at a hotel for another $12 an hrs will give you roughly $2700 per month,if you add extra hrs that's around $3000,that's almost 300k kes,for someone who just arrived doing entry level jobs,toa house rent(water n garbage)700(people paying 70k kes in Kenyan are livig in Kleleshwa)electricity 100(at most),car n gas(Kenyans we say mafuta)300pm,shopping 400 pm ,health insurance hmo 350 Total=$1850,i am saving over $1k(that is around 100k kes)in savings which if i decide to send home hata 70k,i am still set,driving comfortable car,staying in a beautiful house,being able to go to hospital if sick,eating comfortably,come on,entry level in Kenya is being paid $35k,kungangana na matatu.If you can kuja huku,work hard,invest in Kenya.it really doesn't earn you much so its better you invest in US but home is home,so set it up comfortable in case trump gets in office and decides to put all Kenyans in a plane,lol,all in all,wacheni kudanganywa eti people suffer overseas,those who do,something is off,cz this short time i have been here i have met practicing lawyers and doctors who are Kenyans,hata mayors,so those sleeping on the street must be bad luck.God knows our journeys,do not be discouraged with other peoples bad stories,come live better and earn more,you know,dignified life. You must be young ,no family and just new. I'm happy you are ambitious and love your attitude. Take advantage to do much like being a doc or lawyer before the family comes in.it becomes a different ball game when you have family and you are still at entry level. Day care sets in and also you can't afford to do two jobs and don't see your family . People who have been there long enough never say the same story .for you its a huge change from hustling with matatu to driving a left handed car . Trust me 3 yrs down the road you will be talking different story.take advantage of your youth before it's too late You can always spot a newbie in america. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Rank: Member Joined: 1/20/2015 Posts: 489 Location: Nairobi
watesh wrote:UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:Walter white,
Am trying the latter route that you pin pointed: immigrating to an American country in the course of the year. I wanna try my luck n so far so good there is hope!! Are the manual jobs there worth it? Only if you find cheap housing. I have done manual jobs in Canada, $10.5 an hour for 8hrs all weekdays, housing would eat up all of it if i wasnt sharing the house. Do double shift and u can send 150k per month to Kenya Watesh, thank God i found you. U are the person i have been looking for for ages. My plan is to go to Edmonton, Canada maybe in May or September in the name of studying for a diploma course. Their admission procedures for international students are too strict though. So am hoping all my documents will be in check, meaning i will be a legal immigrant. My friend in Calgary tells me its easy to make it there as he has seen Ethiopians and Somalis who can barely communicate in English finding jobs within weeks of arrival. Once i get there, my two degrees wont make any more sense to me as i wont be choosy with jobs, though i ultimately intend to study Firefighting or to be a paramedic. My friends uncle is married to a Canadian and is a police officer n he told me they are paid over 40 dollars per hour with subsidized housing and lots of other benefits. So with my 700k savings, assuming i will be jobless for 4 months, will i be able to survive with that amount assuming i find roomates? Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:watesh wrote:UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:Walter white,
Am trying the latter route that you pin pointed: immigrating to an American country in the course of the year. I wanna try my luck n so far so good there is hope!! Are the manual jobs there worth it? Only if you find cheap housing. I have done manual jobs in Canada, $10.5 an hour for 8hrs all weekdays, housing would eat up all of it if i wasnt sharing the house. Do double shift and u can send 150k per month to Kenya Watesh, thank God i found you. U are the person i have been looking for for ages. My plan is to go to Edmonton, Canada maybe in May or September in the name of studying for a diploma course. Their admission procedures for international students are too strict though. So am hoping all my documents will be in check, meaning i will be a legal immigrant.
My friend in Calgary tells me its easy to make it there as he has seen Ethiopians and Somalis who can barely communicate in English finding jobs within weeks of arrival. So with my 700k savings, assuming i will be jobless for 4 months, will i be able to survive with that amount assuming i find roomates? Some unsolicited advice, if I may: 1. Hold on to your positive attitude. It is the one fact that will determine whether you succeed or fail, in any country. 2. The oil based economy of Alberta has recently taken a major hit due to the oil price collapse. The rich pickings in Calgary and Edmonton are no more. Try Ontario or BC instead. Their economies are surging, a benefit of the same oil price collapse that is hurting their Prairies brethren. 3. 700K over 4 months should sustain you if you are thrifty. The trick is to chose a place where jobs are plentiful to start, halafu ujipange. 3. Finally something I heard but that makes sense "if you are young and unattached go to the US. If you have a family, or are planning one very soon, Canada is the place for you." Good luck "The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
mulla wrote:Mike Ock wrote:WalterWhite wrote:
@Mike Ock,
I agree, even in business, man you put so much effort for so little reward. The market as a whole is just screwed up. I currently have a Kenyan business, I poured my heart and soul into it for years, and at the end of the day it makes a measly 7m Kshs. per year profit. For my next business navuka border. You consider 7M profit per year measly??? Yup, compared to the effort I've put. My business is a national brand mind you. If I say it's name here then you'll understand why I say measly. But I want to remain anonymous, so I can't reveal.
Rank: Member Joined: 1/20/2015 Posts: 489 Location: Nairobi
Wakanyugi wrote:UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:watesh wrote:UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:Walter white,
Am trying the latter route that you pin pointed: immigrating to an American country in the course of the year. I wanna try my luck n so far so good there is hope!! Are the manual jobs there worth it? Only if you find cheap housing. I have done manual jobs in Canada, $10.5 an hour for 8hrs all weekdays, housing would eat up all of it if i wasnt sharing the house. Do double shift and u can send 150k per month to Kenya Watesh, thank God i found you. U are the person i have been looking for for ages. My plan is to go to Edmonton, Canada maybe in May or September in the name of studying for a diploma course. Their admission procedures for international students are too strict though. So am hoping all my documents will be in check, meaning i will be a legal immigrant.
My friend in Calgary tells me its easy to make it there as he has seen Ethiopians and Somalis who can barely communicate in English finding jobs within weeks of arrival. So with my 700k savings, assuming i will be jobless for 4 months, will i be able to survive with that amount assuming i find roomates? Some unsolicited advice, if I may: 1. Hold on to your positive attitude. It is the one fact that will determine whether you succeed or fail, in any country. 2. The oil based economy of Alberta has recently taken a major hit due to the oil price collapse. The rich pickings in Calgary and Edmonton are no more. Try Ontario or BC instead. Their economies are surging, a benefit of the same oil price collapse that is hurting their Prairies brethren. 3. 700K over 4 months should sustain you if you are thrifty. The trick is to chose a place where jobs are plentiful to start, halafu ujipange. 3. Finally something I heard but that makes sense "if you are young and unattached go to the US. If you have a family, or are planning one very soon, Canada is the place for you." Good luck Thanks for spending your time to reply to my post. The information above is more than helpful......kindest regards. I owe you a bottle of Konyagi...am in Magufuli land.....here Konyagi is a national brand and heritage....even very big fishes in the society indulge in the consumption of Konyagi.....while back in Kenya it is viewed as a poor mans liver destroyer.. What about the weather in Ontario brother? Canadas climate is extreme so i dint want a very cold place as i hear extreme cold weather has a way of impacting on immigrants mentally, socially and psychologically Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/25/2014 Posts: 2,300 Location: kenya
Am trying the latter route that you pin pointed: immigrating to an American country in the course of the year. I wanna try my luck n so far so good there is hope!! Are the manual jobs there worth it? Only if you find cheap housing. I have done manual jobs in Canada, $10.5 an hour for 8hrs all weekdays, housing would eat up all of it if i wasnt sharing the house. Do double shift and u can send 150k per month to Kenya Watesh, thank God i found you. U are the person i have been looking for for ages. My plan is to go to Edmonton, Canada maybe in May or September in the name of studying for a diploma course. Their admission procedures for international students are too strict though. So am hoping all my documents will be in check, meaning i will be a legal immigrant. My friend in Calgary tells me its easy to make it there as he has seen Ethiopians and Somalis who can barely communicate in English finding jobs within weeks of arrival. Once i get there, my two degrees wont make any more sense to me as i wont be choosy with jobs, though i ultimately intend to study Firefighting or to be a paramedic. My friends uncle is married to a Canadian and is a police officer n he told me they are paid over 40 dollars per hour with subsidized housing and lots of other benefits. So with my 700k savings, assuming i will be jobless for 4 months, will i be able to survive with that amount assuming i find roomates? Upcoming brother ,this is just tmi. Anyway be open for anything especially foreign lands.
You can always spot a bitter person too,wish me well,it wont cost you much,at least i am ready to learn and i am here on wazua not lking pics on fb. alma1 wrote:enyands wrote:Pat87 wrote:I just moved to the US and let me tell you,i am biting myself why i didnt come here earlier,surely people have been hacking this good life while i am kulaing traffic in Nairobi???people who say they better stay in Kenya say that because they have NOT LIVED in the US and all they hear is hearsay from people. Let me tell you,if you come the right way and your paperwork is legal,the sky is the limit,if you come kichorochoro you will regret,hapa no kitu kidogo,you break laws you serve time.Kuja the right way,dont pick n choose jobs,do what you can,do at least two jobs,for example,doing customer service at $11 an hr(Kes per hr 1100) and then doing evening shift at a hotel for another $12 an hrs will give you roughly $2700 per month,if you add extra hrs that's around $3000,that's almost 300k kes,for someone who just arrived doing entry level jobs,toa house rent(water n garbage)700(people paying 70k kes in Kenyan are livig in Kleleshwa)electricity 100(at most),car n gas(Kenyans we say mafuta)300pm,shopping 400 pm ,health insurance hmo 350 Total=$1850,i am saving over $1k(that is around 100k kes)in savings which if i decide to send home hata 70k,i am still set,driving comfortable car,staying in a beautiful house,being able to go to hospital if sick,eating comfortably,come on,entry level in Kenya is being paid $35k,kungangana na matatu.If you can kuja huku,work hard,invest in Kenya.it really doesn't earn you much so its better you invest in US but home is home,so set it up comfortable in case trump gets in office and decides to put all Kenyans in a plane,lol,all in all,wacheni kudanganywa eti people suffer overseas,those who do,something is off,cz this short time i have been here i have met practicing lawyers and doctors who are Kenyans,hata mayors,so those sleeping on the street must be bad luck.God knows our journeys,do not be discouraged with other peoples bad stories,come live better and earn more,you know,dignified life. You must be young ,no family and just new. I'm happy you are ambitious and love your attitude. Take advantage to do much like being a doc or lawyer before the family comes in.it becomes a different ball game when you have family and you are still at entry level. Day care sets in and also you can't afford to do two jobs and don't see your family . People who have been there long enough never say the same story .for you its a huge change from hustling with matatu to driving a left handed car . Trust me 3 yrs down the road you will be talking different story.take advantage of your youth before it's too late You can always spot a newbie in america. “An asset is something that puts money in my pocket. A liability is something that takes money out of my pocket.” ― Robert T. Kiyosaki, Rich Dad, Poor Dad
UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:Wakanyugi wrote:UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:watesh wrote:UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:Walter white,
My friend in Calgary tells me its easy to make it there as he has seen Ethiopians and Somalis who can barely communicate in English finding jobs within weeks of arrival. So with my 700k savings, assuming i will be jobless for 4 months, will i be able to survive with that amount assuming i find roomates? Some unsolicited advice, if I may: 1. Hold on to your positive attitude. It is the one fact that will determine whether you succeed or fail, in any country. 2. The oil based economy of Alberta has recently taken a major hit due to the oil price collapse. The rich pickings in Calgary and Edmonton are no more. Try Ontario or BC instead. Their economies are surging, a benefit of the same oil price collapse that is hurting their Prairies brethren. 3. 700K over 4 months should sustain you if you are thrifty. The trick is to chose a place where jobs are plentiful to start, halafu ujipange. 3. Finally something I heard but that makes sense "if you are young and unattached go to the US. If you have a family, or are planning one very soon, Canada is the place for you." Good luck Thanks for spending your time to reply to my post. The information above is more than helpful......kindest regards. I owe you a bottle of Konyagi...am in Magufuli land.....here Konyagi is a national brand and heritage....even very big fishes in the society indulge in the consumption of Konyagi.....while back in Kenya it is viewed as a poor mans liver destroyer.. What about the weather in Ontario brother? Canadas climate is extreme so i dint want a very cold place as i hear extreme cold weather has a way of impacting on immigrants mentally, socially and psychologically In the beginning you will hate the cold and the snow. Everyone does, even Canadians who know no different. But guess what? You will get over it. You may even learn to like it, especially if you enjoy outdoor winter sports. As for loving winter. Nah, forget it. Won't happen. Personally I believe it is worth suffering the winter just to experience the magic of Canadian fall. The summer is nothing that you have not experienced in Dar, for instance. The weather can be tough for some. But believe me it is not this fact that will decide your success, or even whether you end up loving Canada. For that, wait until you meet the people. Canadians are good people. If you can't get along with them, there is something wrong with you. "The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/10/2014 Posts: 967 Location: Kenya
Am trying the latter route that you pin pointed: immigrating to an American country in the course of the year. I wanna try my luck n so far so good there is hope!! Are the manual jobs there worth it? Only if you find cheap housing. I have done manual jobs in Canada, $10.5 an hour for 8hrs all weekdays, housing would eat up all of it if i wasnt sharing the house. Do double shift and u can send 150k per month to Kenya Watesh, thank God i found you. U are the person i have been looking for for ages. My plan is to go to Edmonton, Canada maybe in May or September in the name of studying for a diploma course. Their admission procedures for international students are too strict though. So am hoping all my documents will be in check, meaning i will be a legal immigrant. My friend in Calgary tells me its easy to make it there as he has seen Ethiopians and Somalis who can barely communicate in English finding jobs within weeks of arrival. Once i get there, my two degrees wont make any more sense to me as i wont be choosy with jobs, though i ultimately intend to study Firefighting or to be a paramedic. My friends uncle is married to a Canadian and is a police officer n he told me they are paid over 40 dollars per hour with subsidized housing and lots of other benefits. So with my 700k savings, assuming i will be jobless for 4 months, will i be able to survive with that amount assuming i find roomates? I will speak from my experience in Ontario.... Just come in with all the right papers, you will get a social insurance number (at immigration services at the airport) which will let you open a bank account, get a job and a place to stay. If you know sb there who will give you temporary accomodation it will be easier since they will need an address to send your documents. If you dont have kids as a newbie you will be very flexible.Canadian law protects kids alot so a number of rules regarding them. If you cant get a job there is always social services cash you can apply for (basically free cash) till you get on your feet. To get these unskilled jobs you just need a phone number and go to one of the many employment services they will hook you up in a day, you can get day or night time jobs. For the degree related jobs it can get tricky since there is a process to verify your Kenyan degree which involves your Kenyan university sending transcripts and emails blah blah blah. They really favor Canadian or US degrees. I have seen doctors from Pakistan and India being reduces to manual job workers since they dont recognize their degrees there. For the formal jobs, you have to hustle. Then there is their culture (the way they do things) It may seem small but it affects smoothness of your daily life .Examples learning to use buses and trains, system is so different from here in Kenya. Following traffic lights when crossing roads, winter dressing, knowing to calculate tax on items before you buy them since they dont display goods price with tax on them (VAT), cheapest places to buy your groceries and chicken, how to do door to door apartment search if you not going online, then get used to being ripped off by the telecommunication companies, getting your health insurance and so many small things, some words have different meaning eg elevator instead of lift gas instead of fuel resume instead of CV basically learn some american english vocabulary different from british If at first you have sb to guide you, you will fit in very fast without looking so confused in public
Swenani wrote:Pat87 wrote:I just moved to the US and let me tell you,i am biting myself why i didnt come here earlier,surely people have been hacking this good life while i am kulaing traffic in Nairobi???people who say they better stay in Kenya say that because they have NOT LIVED in the US and all they hear is hearsay from people. Let me tell you,if you come the right way and your paperwork is legal,the sky is the limit,if you come kichorochoro you will regret,hapa no kitu kidogo,you break laws you serve time.Kuja the right way,dont pick n choose jobs,do what you can,do at least two jobs,for example,doing customer service at $11 an hr(Kes per hr 1100) and then doing evening shift at a hotel for another $12 an hrs will give you roughly $2700 per month,if you add extra hrs that's around $3000,that's almost 300k kes,for someone who just arrived doing entry level jobs,toa house rent(water n garbage)700(people paying 70k kes in Kenyan are livig in Kleleshwa)electricity 100(at most),car n gas(Kenyans we say mafuta)300pm,shopping 400 pm ,health insurance hmo 350 Total=$1850,i am saving over $1k(that is around 100k kes)in savings which if i decide to send home hata 70k,i am still set,driving comfortable car,staying in a beautiful house,being able to go to hospital if sick,eating comfortably,come on,entry level in Kenya is being paid $35k,kungangana na matatu.If you can kuja huku,work hard,invest in Kenya.it really doesn't earn you much so its better you invest in US but home is home,so set it up comfortable in case trump gets in office and decides to put all Kenyans in a plane,lol,all in all,wacheni kudanganywa eti people suffer overseas,those who do,something is off,cz this short time i have been here i have met practicing lawyers and doctors who are Kenyans,hata mayors,so those sleeping on the street must be bad luck.God knows our journeys,do not be discouraged with other peoples bad stories,come live better and earn more,you know,dignified life. Wewe wacha uongo Statistically, 48% of the total workforce in US earn less than US$ 25K p.a, 27% earn between $25-$50K{translating to 75% earning less than $50K, 13 % earn US $ 50- $75K,5% earn between $75-100K while the remaining earn over 100K p.a, I presume these stats to be true unless there are cases of tax evasion. ION, very veeeery few americans can afford to save US 1,000 p.m I disagree,young person who is thrift,no children,two jobs,living within limits,NOT BUYING luxury cars with expensive monthly payments and NOT getting over sized houses with monthly mortgage,this is actually a possibility.open your mind.Most immigrants do well than most Americans cz they have the drive,they know what NOT having is.48% earning less than 25k? Not if you take two jobs and work weekends.immigrants work really hard,no wonder they remit alot of cash back home. “An asset is something that puts money in my pocket. A liability is something that takes money out of my pocket.” ― Robert T. Kiyosaki, Rich Dad, Poor Dad
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
@Pat87 Thanks for the insight on the life in majuu. Am now convinced that home is best. Sitoki Africa! Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Market
Pennywise
What is a "good salary" in Kenya?