Matatu Business
matatuman
#721 Posted : Thursday, January 07, 2016 10:21:22 AM

enyands wrote:
matatuman wrote:
kendata26Y wrote:
matatuman wrote:
mwania wrote:
Thank you Thitifini (Stephen?). I will avoid the petrol one. What are the returns for the diesel one? What expenses will you have paid for to get the net?

Thitifini, what route are you on? Petrols only made sense when the difference in price was close to 600k. But they are still as good as 5Ls, just do a decat, fit an aftermarket chip and have it remapped then buy me a beer.

Do you mind expounding on what this is and what the impact on fuel consumption is? I will gladly pay for the beer.

The de-cat basically gives you a high flow exhaust. Have the catalytic converter removed. Get a Unichip installed and get an eco tune done by one of the pro tuners. Only two in Nairobi. Simon Sharpe of Sharpe services in Karen or the master tuner himself Amit Pandya of AMS chip tuning.

Avoid Sharpe he works with some kalasinga who has a problem with dark skin. Last job he did for me was shoddy and they just don't care. AMS is pricy but they do a good job. Never had a van tuned at AMS, but they once did a Subaru for me.

Plus you might want to replace the oxygen sensor before the tune with a new one not second hand. Pombe si lazima so do not feel obliged.

@matatuman I'm not always on this thread of matatu but I ways curious.wewe ni mtu mwungwana .you r generous and wise.will look for you one day for help when ready

If you can avoid the petrol. Diesels respond way better to tuning especially with the dpf removed. Better power and better economy.
subaru
#722 Posted : Thursday, January 07, 2016 11:35:16 AM

junior121121 wrote:
tnai9 wrote:
junior121121 wrote:

@nia9 – thanks. Be encouraged. It’s a business that can make you money. I was lucky to get some guidance. To answer your questions
1)New complete mat is either 4.3/4.7 which is for NPR/NQR. You can get slightly cheaper if you buy chasis and give to bodybuilder (I prefer CFG as opposed to the others as they have a sturdy body). KCI is the best though but a lot more expensive. With regards to mannyanga – can go up to 6m (Really depends on what you wanna do – I have seen one that even has business class seats in Rongai )
* My advise – KISS. Keep it simple stupid. Go overboard on your third or fourth mat. For your first one just get some airbrushing and music – budget about 200k
2) Supped up one makes more as mentioned earlier. They don’t line up so can do more “squads”
3) You can finance with the banks (NIC best) or other bank. Two others are looking to join and make it happen so look into it.
4)There is no such thing as “stress free management” – even Buffet/Gates don’t have this. You need to find a good manager. The SACCOS will not do this for you. They will assist with TLB’s/ cops to an extent/ insurance claims etc but not day to day management of your vehicles. Get involved in your first year. I have a full time job and manage but you need to be able to tell the “stories” from the truth. Whats more you get to know the other owners on your route – we really tend to help each other out.

This is so so encouraging and invaluable. I got a partner already, a friend we have been discussing this biz and procrastinating but we have to do it now- met yesterday. He is kinda versed as he has two shuttles already + your invaluable info here really encouraged me to go it. Thinking diversification and already have a sketch of what we will do. We wont manage raising all the 5M so will do part financing.
Do you know anything about Choda fabricators?

Good stuff. Go for it. I don't know about Choda. I have some from Dodi and rest from CFG - CFG a lot better.

i have seen many people either with kci or cfg is cfg cheaper tham kci ?
Winwin
#723 Posted : Thursday, January 07, 2016 3:08:37 PM

Great thread....Been following forever. Just got one from KCI(3 weeks now) but before I made the decision, I read and re-read the thread. And I have been peeping for the last seven years, tho I registered and forgot the user name.
Well done, forumistsApplause Applause Applause
junior121121
#724 Posted : Thursday, January 07, 2016 9:05:25 PM

Winwin wrote:
Great thread....Been following forever. Just got one from KCI(3 weeks now) but before I made the decision, I read and re-read the thread. And I have been peeping for the last seven years, tho I registered and forgot the user name.
Well done, forumistsApplause Applause Applause

@ winwin super news- wish you all the best in your venture bit KCI is great
So - earlier I was asked about Hino - today I happened to be with my mechanic while they were servicing/ repairing one hino- his advice " hii gari ni cheap kununua but after mwaka Iko na shida kabisa". He advises that FH and Isuzu is the way to go for mats
junior121121
#725 Posted : Thursday, January 07, 2016 9:09:03 PM

subaru wrote:
junior121121 wrote:
tnai9 wrote:
junior121121 wrote:

@nia9 – thanks. Be encouraged. It’s a business that can make you money. I was lucky to get some guidance. To answer your questions
1)New complete mat is either 4.3/4.7 which is for NPR/NQR. You can get slightly cheaper if you buy chasis and give to bodybuilder (I prefer CFG as opposed to the others as they have a sturdy body). KCI is the best though but a lot more expensive. With regards to mannyanga – can go up to 6m (Really depends on what you wanna do – I have seen one that even has business class seats in Rongai )
* My advise – KISS. Keep it simple stupid. Go overboard on your third or fourth mat. For your first one just get some airbrushing and music – budget about 200k
2) Supped up one makes more as mentioned earlier. They don’t line up so can do more “squads”
3) You can finance with the banks (NIC best) or other bank. Two others are looking to join and make it happen so look into it.
4)There is no such thing as “stress free management” – even Buffet/Gates don’t have this. You need to find a good manager. The SACCOS will not do this for you. They will assist with TLB’s/ cops to an extent/ insurance claims etc but not day to day management of your vehicles. Get involved in your first year. I have a full time job and manage but you need to be able to tell the “stories” from the truth. Whats more you get to know the other owners on your route – we really tend to help each other out.

This is so so encouraging and invaluable. I got a partner already, a friend we have been discussing this biz and procrastinating but we have to do it now- met yesterday. He is kinda versed as he has two shuttles already + your invaluable info here really encouraged me to go it. Thinking diversification and already have a sketch of what we will do. We wont manage raising all the 5M so will do part financing.
Do you know anything about Choda fabricators?

Good stuff. Go for it. I don't know about Choda. I have some from Dodi and rest from CFG - CFG a lot better.

i have seen many people either with kci or cfg is cfg cheaper tham kci ?

CFG is about 300k cheaper. But KCI is worth the additional 300k in the long run . E.g quality of seat cover material general look and feel.

This is in no way to mean CFG is a bad car. The Kao foreman for CFG is who made KCI what it is and they started CFG on the side. CFG seem to understand the needs of Matatu owners more - they are also a GM dealer
kendata26Y
#726 Posted : Friday, January 08, 2016 6:13:30 AM

matatuman wrote:
enyands wrote:
matatuman wrote:
kendata26Y wrote:
matatuman wrote:
mwania wrote:
Thank you Thitifini (Stephen?). I will avoid the petrol one. What are the returns for the diesel one? What expenses will you have paid for to get the net?

Thitifini, what route are you on? Petrols only made sense when the difference in price was close to 600k. But they are still as good as 5Ls, just do a decat, fit an aftermarket chip and have it remapped then buy me a beer.

Do you mind expounding on what this is and what the impact on fuel consumption is? I will gladly pay for the beer.

The de-cat basically gives you a high flow exhaust. Have the catalytic converter removed. Get a Unichip installed and get an eco tune done by one of the pro tuners. Only two in Nairobi. Simon Sharpe of Sharpe services in Karen or the master tuner himself Amit Pandya of AMS chip tuning.

Avoid Sharpe he works with some kalasinga who has a problem with dark skin. Last job he did for me was shoddy and they just don't care. AMS is pricy but they do a good job. Never had a van tuned at AMS, but they once did a Subaru for me.

Plus you might want to replace the oxygen sensor before the tune with a new one not second hand. Pombe si lazima so do not feel obliged.

@matatuman I'm not always on this thread of matatu but I ways curious.wewe ni mtu mwungwana .you r generous and wise.will look for you one day for help when ready

If you can avoid the petrol. Diesels respond way better to tuning especially with the dpf removed. Better power and better economy.

Asante sana. Will gladly buy the drink when the opportunity arises.Applause
kendata26Y
#727 Posted : Saturday, January 09, 2016 7:54:00 AM

junior121121 wrote:
matatuman wrote:
@Junior, What is your take on the ready made bodies by GB Polo? Also Hino vs Isuzu? On paper the Hino appears to be better I.e power & consumption.

Frankly - I like tried and tested. The average lifespan I like to keep the vehicles is like 5 years and then sell off and be able to retain some cash. Isuzu is excellent for this. For Example, I had a KBN in that I sold in Dec ( I had bought for 3.3 and sold for 2.1m. Granted that the VAT on chasis was recent but the isuzus tend to keep their value).

Hino is too new in the market for me to gauge this. I also find that they are aging too quick. Someone in my Sacco with one mentioned that they consume less - but the driver is the one who enjoys not the ownersmile

Interesting article. KBS MD is launching a new service with 10 Hinos.

http://businesstoday.co....le-western-kenya-routes
matatuman
#728 Posted : Saturday, January 09, 2016 9:43:37 AM

kendata26Y wrote:
junior121121 wrote:
matatuman wrote:
@Junior, What is your take on the ready made bodies by GB Polo? Also Hino vs Isuzu? On paper the Hino appears to be better I.e power & consumption.

Frankly - I like tried and tested. The average lifespan I like to keep the vehicles is like 5 years and then sell off and be able to retain some cash. Isuzu is excellent for this. For Example, I had a KBN in that I sold in Dec ( I had bought for 3.3 and sold for 2.1m. Granted that the VAT on chasis was recent but the isuzus tend to keep their value).

Hino is too new in the market for me to gauge this. I also find that they are aging too quick. Someone in my Sacco with one mentioned that they consume less - but the driver is the one who enjoys not the ownersmile

Wooi nawahurumia. No way that bus will beat the boxes and 5Ls on those routes. Wangenunua gari ndogo. Even Guardian found it tough and had to introduce so called Tablets. Those buses will end up in Nairobi since they also can't compete on the Nairobi - Western routes.
#729 Posted : Saturday, January 09, 2016 11:43:14 AM

matatuman wrote:
kendata26Y wrote:
junior121121 wrote:
matatuman wrote:

Wooi nawahurumia. No way that bus will beat the boxes and 5Ls on those routes. Wangenunua gari ndogo. Even Guardian found it tough and had to introduce so called Tablets. Those buses will end up in Nairobi since they also can't compete on the Nairobi - Western routes.

Is it true that the HINO engine is small and is easily overworked?
matatuman
#730 Posted : Saturday, January 09, 2016 4:03:21 PM

matatuman wrote:
kendata26Y wrote:
junior121121 wrote:
matatuman wrote:

Myth propagated by mechanics who have refused to change with the times. The future of diesel is turbo charged engines. Turbo care and emission control devices make all the difference. You cannot service an engine built to Euro 5 standards the same way you serviced relics.
junior121121
#731 Posted : Saturday, January 09, 2016 11:27:47 PM

matatuman wrote:
kendata26Y wrote:
junior121121 wrote:
matatuman wrote:

Myth propagated by mechanics who have refused to change with the times. The future of diesel is turbo charged engines. Turbo care and emission control devices make all the difference. You cannot service an engine built to Euro 5 standards the same way you serviced relics.

interesting take on it
subaru
#732 Posted : Sunday, January 10, 2016 12:24:45 PM

matatuman wrote:
kendata26Y wrote:
junior121121 wrote:
matatuman wrote:

I like your comment i remember talking with one veteran about hino he dismissed that car i still see a kbw competing with fh
kendata26Y
#733 Posted : Sunday, January 17, 2016 11:54:21 PM

Thitifini wrote:
matatuman wrote:
mwania wrote:

@Matatuman, I'm on the Nbi Kisumu Kakamega route under Prestige Sacco. Planning to shop for another sacco and route for the third unit ecpected around March just for comparison.

Thanks for the info. Tried 'tuning' but didn't work! Will do the mentioned things (will ask my mek what the hell they are!) and will definitely buy you a crate!

Consumption yake is looking about 30% higher than other mats on same route, eating to my profit badly!

If you don't my asking, how is the productivity on this route/sacco on a normal month? Is the car on the road daily except for service?
matatuman
#734 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2016 9:13:51 AM

kendata26Y wrote:
Thitifini wrote:
matatuman wrote:
mwania wrote:

@Matatuman, I'm on the Nbi Kisumu Kakamega route under Prestige Sacco. Planning to shop for another sacco and route for the third unit ecpected around March just for comparison.

Thanks for the info. Tried 'tuning' but didn't work! Will do the mentioned things (will ask my mek what the hell they are!) and will definitely buy you a crate!

Consumption yake is looking about 30% higher than other mats on same route, eating to my profit badly!

If you don't my asking, how is the productivity on this route/sacco on a normal month? Is the car on the road daily except for service?

Utaumia ndugu yangu. This is not information that you can copy and paste. What you are asking is dependent on a lot of factors but since you want to sit behind a screen and wait for answers to come to you, all I can tell you is all the best.
kendata26Y
#735 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2016 5:29:57 PM

matatuman wrote:
kendata26Y wrote:
Thitifini wrote:
matatuman wrote:
mwania wrote:

Utaumia ndugu yangu. This is not information that you can copy and paste. What you are asking is dependent on a lot of factors but since you want to sit behind a screen and wait for answers to come to you, all I can tell you is all the best.

I ask so I can compare with what I'm doing in my route from NRB to KTL and my "local box" that does KTL to KSM. I looked at prestige but settled on a different sacco for long distance.
If someone is willing to share the information, whether I get it from him here or kwa bara bara makes no difference. Internet is not a bad thing if the source if knowledgeable and willing.
matatuman
#736 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2016 6:44:05 PM

kendata26Y wrote:
matatuman wrote:
kendata26Y wrote:
Thitifini wrote:
matatuman wrote:
mwania wrote:

I ask so I can compare with what I'm doing in my route from NRB to KTL and my "local box" that does KTL to KSM. I looked at prestige but settled on a different sacco for long distance.
If someone is willing to share the information, whether I get it from him here or kwa bara bara makes no difference. Internet is not a bad thing if the source if knowledgeable and willing.

Sawa mboss, point taken. You still miss the point though. It is not about the "where". You ask too many questions for someone who is already in the business. Mind sharing your experience here?
junior121121
#737 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2016 7:19:35 PM

All Manyanga Owners - I hear there is a major operation later this week for vehicles with horns and noisy exhausts. The fines are crazy so check with your SACCO if your route is affected.
subaru
#738 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2016 8:25:17 AM

junior121121 wrote:
All Manyanga Owners - I hear there is a major operation later this week for vehicles with horns and noisy exhausts. The fines are crazy so check with your SACCO if your route is affected.

n flashin lights damn
Metasploit
#739 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2016 9:34:26 AM

subaru wrote:
junior121121 wrote:

n flashin lights damn

Subaru,junior121121..Someone wanted a Matatu on this thread

Please inbox metasploitke@gmail.com

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
Prime
#740 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2016 5:51:28 PM

Metasploit wrote:
subaru wrote:
junior121121 wrote:

n flashin lights damn

Subaru,junior121121..Someone wanted a Matatu on this thread

Please inbox metasploitke@gmail.com

Metaspoilt unaweza kuweka details hapa?