wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

18 Pages<12345>»
What is a "good salary" in Kenya?
jerry
#41 Posted : Saturday, January 02, 2016 10:13:08 AM

ION: if my pension is say, 7M, what would I take home after taxes?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#42 Posted : Saturday, January 02, 2016 11:10:40 AM

Boris Boyka wrote:
Jon Jones wrote:
Nowadays, with the inflation and all, I guess 500k is the new "good" salary according to me, for a bachelor. If married, 800k will do.

500k for a single guy?
Boris Boyka
#43 Posted : Saturday, January 02, 2016 12:56:45 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:
Jon Jones wrote:
Nowadays, with the inflation and all, I guess 500k is the new "good" salary according to me, for a bachelor. If married, 800k will do.

500k for a single guy?

The likes of Steve Mbogo.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
Jon Jones
#44 Posted : Saturday, January 02, 2016 10:47:52 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:
Jon Jones wrote:

500k for a single guy?

The likes of Steve Mbogo.

Steve Mbogo pays 450k a month in rent. I think to be a rich bachelor in Kenya you should have a net (all income) of 500k to sit at the table of men. This means that I am literally near bankruptcy if that is the caseSad Sad Sad Sad
Since men have learned to shoot without missing, I have learned to fly without perching
kayhara
#45 Posted : Sunday, January 03, 2016 12:09:56 AM

Boris Boyka wrote:
Jon Jones wrote:

500k for a single guy?

Ati 500k? Remember that thread of how many Kenyans earn 100+k, if you add the employed and self employed plus juakali guys they are not that many tuseme like 50k people, how many of the 50k do you think are single guys?
To Each His Own
UpcomingPaperChaser
#46 Posted : Sunday, January 03, 2016 8:19:35 AM

so what about those of us who earn 70k? do we qualify as being termed as "upper class" poor?

But the salaries being talked about here are so exaggerated! Equity bank branch managers earn abt 140k net per month!! so Sijui hizi salary za 400k ni firms gani hulipa.

what about earning 500k n u are not at peace with your wife as opposed to earning 70k n u are so much at peace with the universe?
Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
Jon Jones
#47 Posted : Sunday, January 03, 2016 10:33:25 AM

UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:
so what about those of us who earn 70k? do we qualify as being termed as "upper class" poor?

But the salaries being talked about here are so exaggerated! Equity bank branch managers earn abt 140k net per month!! so Sijui hizi salary za 400k ni firms gani hulipa.

what about earning 500k n u are not at peace with your wife as opposed to earning 70k n u are so much at peace with the universe?

At 500k a month, I will be at peace with ISISLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ...on a serious note though, the money is in the private sector, not salaries. You dont expect to work for someone and get paid that much...at least not easily
Since men have learned to shoot without missing, I have learned to fly without perching
kiash
#48 Posted : Sunday, January 03, 2016 8:34:13 PM

Reading from the script, i think its only better working for yourself. Hustlers. And why is there lots of money in hustling? coz few pay taxes.No wonder there will always be car jackers and other crooks, how is one expected to survive in Kenya with 30K salary?
#49 Posted : Sunday, January 03, 2016 9:36:14 PM

Just find 10 women who earn more than 500K and lay them each week for 10 K;At the end of the month,you will be netting 400K tax free for using your dick.Hio kitu sio sabuni
WalterWhite
#50 Posted : Sunday, January 03, 2016 10:11:23 PM

Anything less than one million per month for a family man is poverty wages. You will never live well and get ahead if that trajectory is maintained. Employment from youth to retirement in Kenya is a slow death. Entrepreneurship is the way to go. Salary should be saved aggressively to be used as capital for business. Another way to make quick money is through immigration to Europe or USA. Those dirty jobs or nursing jobs pay well. Alafu rudi Kenya, nunua plots. That's the way out of poverty.
UpcomingPaperChaser
#51 Posted : Sunday, January 03, 2016 11:02:48 PM

Walter white,

Am trying the latter route that you pin pointed: immigrating to an American country in the course of the year. I wanna try my luck n so far so good there is hope!! Are the manual jobs there worth it?
WalterWhite
#52 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 4:26:05 PM

Walter white,

Am trying the latter route that you pin pointed: immigrating to an American country in the course of the year. I wanna try my luck n so far so good there is hope!! Are the manual jobs there worth it?

Absolutely. Better if you have green card.
The jobs are many including hotel work, nursing assistant, warehouse, truck or taxi driver, guard etc etc.
If you invest in a little education, the pay gets even better. There are kenyan nurses who if they were still in Kenya ingekuwa ni kusota throughout. When they come here, they work 2-3 jobs. These guys are earning 6 figures in dollars. Other kenyans own franchises like Chick fil a and they're doing marvellous (annual profits of Kshs 30-50 million per year).
Btw, the cost of living in Nbi versus an average American city is almost the same. Welcome to the global economy! Life in kenya is damn expensive. I'm amazed at how much I spend when I visit there. Food, transport and utilities are waay more expensive in kenya than US. Even rent can be cheaper in the US than Kenya if you get roomates.
When you hear of these ridiculous money (billions) that diaspora is sending to kenya to buy plots and start businesses, it's from those manual/dirty jobs that some wananchi at home look down upon. India's and Mexico's economies and others around the world have benefitted greatly from diaspora remittances. Kama utapata kazi ya kuosha tushosho, tuoshe vizuri. Why not? Your livelihood and your future depend on it.
The govt of Kenya has terribly failed its youth, so why do they continue to stay in a country that doesn't give a hoot about them? They should move out! Migration is part of our human DNA. Since the beginning of time, people have always moved in search of better opportunities, for water, land etc etc.

All the best.
UpcomingPaperChaser
#53 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 11:45:06 PM

WalterWhite wrote:
Walter white,

The jobs are many including hotel work, nursing assistant, warehouse, truck or taxi driver, guard etc etc.
If you invest in a little education, the pay gets even better. There are kenyan nurses who if they were still in Kenya ingekuwa ni kusota throughout. When they come here, they work 2-3 jobs. These guys are earning 6 figures in dollars. Other kenyans own franchises like Chick fil a and they're doing marvellous (annual profits of Kshs 30-50 million per year).
Btw, the cost of living in Nbi versus an average American city is almost the same. Welcome to the global economy! Life in kenya is damn expensive. I'm amazed at how much I spend when I visit there. Food, transport and utilities are waay more expensive in kenya than US. Even rent can be cheaper in the US than Kenya if you get roomates.
When you hear of these ridiculous money (billions) that diaspora is sending to kenya to buy plots and start businesses, it's from those manual/dirty jobs that some wananchi at home look down upon. India's and Mexico's economies and others around the world have benefitted greatly from diaspora remittances. Kama utapata kazi ya kuosha tushosho, tuoshe vizuri. Why not? Your livelihood and your future depend on it.
The govt of Kenya has terribly failed its youth, so why do they continue to stay in a country that doesn't give a hoot about them? They should move out! Migration is part of our human DNA. Since the beginning of time, people have always moved in search of better

You have spoken like 10 elders n three wisemen from the East!! Thanks

opportunities, for water, land etc etc.

All the best.

tafutabiz
#54 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2016 10:40:54 AM

I have a friend that hardly makes anything to spend back home from his funny American jobs. It is not very obvious to everyone. America's money is not that easy. In other news, look for homeless Kenyans in USA and are afraid to return home with nothing

WalterWhite wrote:
Walter white,

The govt of Kenya has terribly failed its youth, so why do they continue to stay in a country that doesn't give a hoot about them? They should move out! Migration is part of our human DNA. Since the beginning of time, people have always moved in search of better opportunities, for water, land etc etc.

All the best.

#55 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2016 11:46:02 AM

WalterWhite wrote:
Anything less than one million per month for a family man is poverty wages. You will never live well and get ahead if that trajectory is maintained.

Make that 6 Million! No, 13Million!!
watesh
#56 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2016 9:01:54 PM

Walter white,

Only if you find cheap housing. I have done manual jobs in Canada, $10.5 an hour for 8hrs all weekdays, housing would eat up all of it if i wasnt sharing the house. Do double shift and u can send 150k per month to Kenya
#57 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2016 9:19:45 PM

Walter white,

I will never leave this country with all these beautiful succulent airports
Mike Ock
#58 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2016 9:34:54 PM

WalterWhite wrote:
Walter white,

All the best.

I agree with all the sentiments, except the ones in bold. You cannot argue that life in States is cheaper than Kenya. Minimum wage in States is 12,000USD, which is equal to 100k KShs per month. That means you need 100k per month just for bare survival in States. Unless you're those mido crass who must eat at News Cafe, must use cab, must be seen at Koroga festival, there's no way you need 100k Kshs. per month for mere survival. In fact, it is very well known that expatriates really enjoy life in Kenya because they demand international salaries of 30k usd annually kuenda juu.
WalterWhite
#59 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2016 11:30:15 PM

tafutabiz wrote:
I have a friend that hardly makes anything to spend back home from his funny American jobs. It is not very obvious to everyone. America's money is not that easy. In other news, look for homeless Kenyans in USA and are afraid to return home with nothing

Well, let me tell you. Kama mtu ni wa kulalia masikio his or her environment won't matter. If someone can't hack it in US, basi asahau Kenya which is not for the fainthearted. In Kenya people are too street smart and do or die for survival. For me, America means the country where someone's sweat is comparatively rewarded. It is not free money, you must work. But if you're willing and able to work the sky is the limit.

Make that 6 Million! No, 13Million!!

Sure, Lolest! Laughing out loudly

Mike Ock wrote:

I agree with all the sentiments, except the ones in bold. You cannot argue that life in States is cheaper than Kenya. Minimum wage in States is 12,000USD, which is equal to 100k KShs per month. That means you need 100k per month just for bare survival in States. Unless you're those mido crass who must eat at News Cafe, must use cab, must be seen at Koroga festival, there's no way you need 100k Kshs. per month for mere survival. In fact, it is very well known that expatriates really enjoy life in Kenya because they demand international salaries of 30k usd annually kuenda juu.

@Mike Ock,

The average poorest working person in the US lives a lifestyle of a Kenyan in old Buruburu or so. You won't find slums made of cardboard like in Kibera, or kadogo economy which subsidizes the cost of living for the poor. I agree that minimum wage of 100k per month in Kenya will take you further than in an mid-size US city, but not by much ie assuming a lifestyle of a family living in Buruburu. That is my point! If you're willing to live in slum areas then there's almost no limit to the depths of poor living you can get away with in Kenya. But is that the goal? To see how much undignified poverty one can get away with in the name of cheap living?

Assuming the lowest we go down to is a Buruburu type middle class lifestlye.. Average rent is at least 25-30K. Add transport, food, clothes, school fees/supplies, medical. That 100K isn't so grand after all, is it?

Our Kenyan govt has been a total failure despite the citizenry being extremely hardworking and ambitious. KCPE results just came out and all these top performers were celebrating with their teachers and parents. They talked about how hard they studied, how they prayed etc etc. It brought back memories when I was in their shoes and later on in high school. How we would soak our legs in a basin of cold water to avoid sleeping while studying. And for what?!

How many of my former classmates are still stuck in low paying jobs, hustling or worse unemployed? We tell our kenyan kids to work hard in school, but for what? Yes, I don't disagree that literacy is important. I'm talking about the extra mile we had to go: the extra tuition, the late night or all night cramming. The good thing about America is that the harder you work the more the rewards. There's a direct correlation between the two. For example, a typical nurse makes about $35 per hour. If they do overtime, it's time and a half, so $53 per hour. If you're a nursing assistant the pay is $12 per hour etc etc. Hence, an American nurse is paid well enough to live in a beautiful house, take their kids to good schools and be able to save/invest for the future. It makes sense to study hard in school because the benefits for those who do are clear. Back at home, our nurses and doctors in public sector lead miserable lifestyles despite the substantial effort they put in their studies. Why is higher education in Kenya still considered a good investment, which it isn't?!

Kenyans deserve much better for all the effort they put in. Unfortunately, that rarely happens.
#60 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2016 12:06:43 AM

My earnings are inversely related to my contributions in this blog.I tend to post more when life is hard.