Kenyan Manufacturing
Yaani we dont make printing paper, glue? Per the guy interviewed by Citizen tv on why textbooks are expensive. Kweli? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
china imetumaliza Politics is just things to keep the people divided and foolish and put your trust in men and none of them can do nothing for you...
murchr wrote:Yaani we dont make printing paper, glue? Per the guy interviewed by Citizen tv on why textbooks are expensive. Kweli? I was shocked.
mpobiz wrote:china imetumaliza
when I was in primary, many decades ago, the teacher organized a trip for us to PanPaper. I still remember the rotten eggs smell and touching a very big roll of very fine paper that we were told was usually for printing bibles. Its strange we are here now.
Not only paper, we import tooth picks, match boxes, mwikos, tea, coffee, eggs, fish, we have closed down the following industries or underusing, oil refinery, pan paper, there was a pencil making factory in Nyahururu try setting up a manufacturing plant and see how the government will block you unless you toa kitu kikubwa or nowadays you give someone big a share of your plant for fre To Each His Own
kayhara wrote:Not only paper, we import tooth picks, match boxes, mwikos, tea, coffee, eggs, fish, we have closed down the following industries or underusing, oil refinery, pan paper, there was a pencil making factory in Nyahururu try setting up a manufacturing plant and see how the government will block you unless you toa kitu kikubwa or nowadays you give someone big a share of your plant for fre on toothpicks, Sunny Bindra did an article a few years back arguing that toothpicks while small items are actually very complex to manufacture But all those other items you've mentioned? Why would any govt put obstacles for manufacturers?
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Lolest! wrote:kayhara wrote:Not only paper, we import tooth picks, match boxes, mwikos, tea, coffee, eggs, fish, we have closed down the following industries or underusing, oil refinery, pan paper, there was a pencil making factory in Nyahururu try setting up a manufacturing plant and see how the government will block you unless you toa kitu kikubwa or nowadays you give someone big a share of your plant for fre on toothpicks, Sunny Bindra did an article a few years back arguing that toothpicks while small items are actually very complex to manufacture But all those other items you've mentioned? Why would any govt put obstacles for manufacturers? Or we could ask, how does a country lose its competitive edge? So far, going by most sentiments I see here, we're unaware of how economics has changed and how we need to adapt to the challenges of globalization.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/16/2014 Posts: 1,420 Location: Bohemian Grove
Lolest! wrote:kayhara wrote:Not only paper, we import tooth picks, match boxes, mwikos, tea, coffee, eggs, fish, we have closed down the following industries or underusing, oil refinery, pan paper, there was a pencil making factory in Nyahururu try setting up a manufacturing plant and see how the government will block you unless you toa kitu kikubwa or nowadays you give someone big a share of your plant for fre on toothpicks, Sunny Bindra did an article a few years back arguing that toothpicks while small items are actually very complex to manufacture But all those other items you've mentioned? Why would any govt put obstacles for manufacturers? Because guys in govt only care about collecting kickbacks. Nothing about policy and creating a good business environment that would enable industries to thrive.This means whenever you go shopping, you'll most likely foreign products.I recently bought Egyptian made towel and toothpick made in China. Not that I "love" buying foreign items but that's what's available in every mall you walk into.
whiteowl wrote:Lolest! wrote:kayhara wrote:Not only paper, we import tooth picks, match boxes, mwikos, tea, coffee, eggs, fish, we have closed down the following industries or underusing, oil refinery, pan paper, there was a pencil making factory in Nyahururu try setting up a manufacturing plant and see how the government will block you unless you toa kitu kikubwa or nowadays you give someone big a share of your plant for fre on toothpicks, Sunny Bindra did an article a few years back arguing that toothpicks while small items are actually very complex to manufacture But all those other items you've mentioned? Why would any govt put obstacles for manufacturers? Because guys in govt only care about collecting kickbacks. Nothing about policy and creating a good business environment that would enable industries to thrive.This means whenever you go shopping, you'll most likely foreign products.I recently bought Egyptian made towel and toothpick made in China. Not that I "love" buying foreign items but that's what's available in every mall you walk into. The distinction between foreign and local items is diminishing at a very high rate. It's better to remove the distinction sooner rather than later.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Yesterday i was at the supermarket looking for printing paper. And the paper in stock was from Egypt (do they have any forests?), brazil, portugal and indonesia. I believe if panpaper mills was just to concentrate in making printing paper then they can make money. They could also export to our neighbours.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
The way to support and encourage local manufacturing is to buy local products. Esp ladies because they control the household budget. Life is short. Live passionately.
tycho wrote:Lolest! wrote:kayhara wrote:Not only paper, we import tooth picks, match boxes, mwikos, tea, coffee, eggs, fish, we have closed down the following industries or underusing, oil refinery, pan paper, there was a pencil making factory in Nyahururu try setting up a manufacturing plant and see how the government will block you unless you toa kitu kikubwa or nowadays you give someone big a share of your plant for fre on toothpicks, Sunny Bindra did an article a few years back arguing that toothpicks while small items are actually very complex to manufacture But all those other items you've mentioned? Why would any govt put obstacles for manufacturers? Or we could ask, how does a country lose its competitive edge? So far, going by most sentiments I see here, we're unaware of how economics has changed and how we need to adapt to the challenges of globalization. I see you trying to draw the "its cheaper to produce it elsewhere" line. But look at it this way, China imports timber from West Africa to produce the paper in bulk (taking advantage of economies of scale) then distribute it to the rest of the world. Now lets look at the economy, the person who is cutting and supplying that timber from West Africa is probably Chinese, the ship ferrying has employed Chinese, the receivers at the port, the company that extracts the paper, the byproducts all remain in China to be distributed, the only jobs we create here are the kazi ya mkono, those who will import the paper, the clearing & forwarding guys and those printing & publishing. I might not be wrong if I said those are just 100 jobs. If you are wondering why China is experiencing a slow down, its mainly because, America started taking its jobs back. We have to start bringing jobs back, sell Pan paper and ignore the western politics noise and yes more and more power is needed. As for the toothpick vibe from sunny bindra, hizo toothpick hazichongwi na mkono, import that machine not the end product. Last, Brand Kenya should stop usurping Kenya tourism Boards job and focus on selling Brand Kenya to Kenyans. And that means selling "MADE IN KENYA" running programming that shows people the benefits of buying Kenyan as opposed to that popcorn from South Africa or some Arabic packaged cooking oils. Did you see some sch asking kids to go with a metallic bucket from INDIA? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
@murchr, I'd like to go over the sources of information that America is reclaiming back its manufacturing and how it is doing this with respect to China. Then I can respond to your post if you don't mind...
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/27/2010 Posts: 951 Location: Nyumbani
This happened to companies like Mountex, remember them days when those rubber shoes by Bata would be made using Kenyan made cotton. There was also a company making match boxes pale Chaka on your way to Nanyuki. Nowadays its used by Brookside. Wasn't there Webuye paper mills? Soon we might talk the same about Sugar industries. Whan you talk about the cost of production, the question i always ask is why are things so dams expensive to produce in Kenya? Sugar imports, now there are eggs and even chicken. There is a DR in Nyeri who has gone big on chicken (can't rememeber his name) he said the other day on TV how he has started the decline since stuff like chicken feeds are being taxed by the state. No wonder people will continue eating South African eggs. Some one tell me how much is that chicken in Kenchic if you buy a grilled one.Go to Nakumatt and check the price of a deep frozen chicken , guess the last time i saw it was 1000sh , where i live , such goes for 400ksh. Watched Mutua's interview on Maendeleo chap chap when he said how he built a road for 600M instead of 1.6B. Why are things so damn expensive in Kenya
WHY WHY !!
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/27/2012 Posts: 2,256 Location: Bandalungwa
mpobiz wrote:china imetumaliza
Kenyans pia wamejimaliza. Instead of holding our leaders accountable for addressing issues affecting manufacturing, we are more concerned with encouraging them to build tribal blocks for elections and if the leader is from our ethnic group, we make excuses for their incompetence or poor governance. Someone is asking WHY WHY WHY The answer is because the priorities of the Kenyan populace is warped, twisted and brainless. With our warped priorities, Kenyans should not be surprised to find that the country has a paper thin manufacturing base.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/15/2013 Posts: 1,977 Location: Here
murchr wrote:tycho wrote:Lolest! wrote:kayhara wrote:Not only paper, we import tooth picks, match boxes, mwikos, tea, coffee, eggs, fish, we have closed down the following industries or underusing, oil refinery, pan paper, there was a pencil making factory in Nyahururu try setting up a manufacturing plant and see how the government will block you unless you toa kitu kikubwa or nowadays you give someone big a share of your plant for fre on toothpicks, Sunny Bindra did an article a few years back arguing that toothpicks while small items are actually very complex to manufacture But all those other items you've mentioned? Why would any govt put obstacles for manufacturers? Or we could ask, how does a country lose its competitive edge? So far, going by most sentiments I see here, we're unaware of how economics has changed and how we need to adapt to the challenges of globalization. I see you trying to draw the "its cheaper to produce it elsewhere" line. But look at it this way, China imports timber from West Africa to produce the paper in bulk (taking advantage of economies of scale) then distribute it to the rest of the world. Now lets look at the economy, the person who is cutting and supplying that timber from West Africa is probably Chinese, the ship ferrying has employed Chinese, the receivers at the port, the company that extracts the paper, the byproducts all remain in China to be distributed, the only jobs we create here are the kazi ya mkono, those who will import the paper, the clearing & forwarding guys and those printing & publishing. I might not be wrong if I said those are just 100 jobs. If you are wondering why China is experiencing a slow down, its mainly because, America started taking its jobs back. We have to start bringing jobs back, sell Pan paper and ignore the western politics noise and yes more and more power is needed. As for the toothpick vibe from sunny bindra, hizo toothpick hazichongwi na mkono, import that machine not the end product. Last, Brand Kenya should stop usurping Kenya tourism Boards job and focus on selling Brand Kenya to Kenyans. And that means selling "MADE IN KENYA" running programming that shows people the benefits of buying Kenyan as opposed to that popcorn from South Africa or some Arabic packaged cooking oils. Did you see some sch asking kids to go with a metallic bucket from INDIA? @murchr you this psychologist/philosopher pops in to confuse and throw people off balance... Anyway. This this hit me and we were discussing with friends. There was a thread here on buy Kenya build Kenya where I mentioned that a good number of Kenyans manufacture low quality products and price them highly! Top to that as mentioned, the cost of production is too high. The 'high' prices tagged on factors of production majorly labour and raw materials. Employees want to be paid so high while they steal from the factory. Suppliers quote high prices . We are a greedy lot, our appetite for money is too high... Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
tycho wrote:@murchr, I'd like to go over the sources of information that America is reclaiming back its manufacturing and how it is doing this with respect to China. Then I can respond to your post if you don't mind... The internet shall help you "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
I was shocked to see chicken feet from china on sale at Nakumatt. Surely Kenchic can satisfy the local demand. Such imports, plus toothpicks, matchboxes, toilet paper, chicken eggs etc should be banned. They can be produced locally.
Some time back i was in India and was impressed that all the products they use are manufactured in India. Even vehicles. If a vehicle company wants to sell in India they have to manufacture in India in partnership with Indians. That's why they have Suzuki Maruti, Ashok Leyland etc. They dont have japanese and european mitumbas on their roads, unlike Kenya. They buy Made in India. We need to adopt such a system in Kenya.
Boris Boyka wrote:murchr wrote:tycho wrote:Lolest! wrote:kayhara wrote:Not only paper, we import tooth picks, match boxes, mwikos, tea, coffee, eggs, fish, we have closed down the following industries or underusing, oil refinery, pan paper, there was a pencil making factory in Nyahururu try setting up a manufacturing plant and see how the government will block you unless you toa kitu kikubwa or nowadays you give someone big a share of your plant for fre on toothpicks, Sunny Bindra did an article a few years back arguing that toothpicks while small items are actually very complex to manufacture But all those other items you've mentioned? Why would any govt put obstacles for manufacturers? Or we could ask, how does a country lose its competitive edge? So far, going by most sentiments I see here, we're unaware of how economics has changed and how we need to adapt to the challenges of globalization. I see you trying to draw the "its cheaper to produce it elsewhere" line. But look at it this way, China imports timber from West Africa to produce the paper in bulk (taking advantage of economies of scale) then distribute it to the rest of the world. Now lets look at the economy, the person who is cutting and supplying that timber from West Africa is probably Chinese, the ship ferrying has employed Chinese, the receivers at the port, the company that extracts the paper, the byproducts all remain in China to be distributed, the only jobs we create here are the kazi ya mkono, those who will import the paper, the clearing & forwarding guys and those printing & publishing. I might not be wrong if I said those are just 100 jobs. If you are wondering why China is experiencing a slow down, its mainly because, America started taking its jobs back. We have to start bringing jobs back, sell Pan paper and ignore the western politics noise and yes more and more power is needed. As for the toothpick vibe from sunny bindra, hizo toothpick hazichongwi na mkono, import that machine not the end product. Last, Brand Kenya should stop usurping Kenya tourism Boards job and focus on selling Brand Kenya to Kenyans. And that means selling "MADE IN KENYA" running programming that shows people the benefits of buying Kenyan as opposed to that popcorn from South Africa or some Arabic packaged cooking oils. Did you see some sch asking kids to go with a metallic bucket from INDIA? @murchr you this psychologist/philosopher pops in to confuse and throw people off balance... Anyway. This this hit me and we were discussing with friends. There was a thread here on buy Kenya build Kenya where I mentioned that a good number of Kenyans manufacture low quality products and price them highly! Top to that as mentioned, the cost of production is too high. The 'high' prices tagged on factors of production majorly labour and raw materials. Employees want to be paid so high while they steal from the factory. Suppliers quote high prices . We are a greedy lot, our appetite for money is too high... What say you about the carcinogenic wheelbarrows as compared to those wheelbarrows in Gikomba? If we continued producing blankets in rivatex are you saying the quality would have been the same? Are you saying that the challenges Unilever got in producing Kimbo are different from what Bidco encountered? What about Kinuthia of Nice and Lovely? Didn't he operate in the same environment/country that the Unilever were on? Multinationals are out to make money, thats why they choose to close operations in environments where profits are minimal. In the Unilever case, they will choose to operate in Egypt and import. I hope L'oreal is not planning to do that with Kinuthias Nice and lovely "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Kenyan Manufacturing