Kenyan Manufacturing
Yaani we dont make printing paper, glue? Per the guy interviewed by Citizen tv on why textbooks are expensive. Kweli? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
china imetumaliza Politics is just things to keep the people divided and foolish and put your trust in men and none of them can do nothing for you...
murchr wrote:Yaani we dont make printing paper, glue? Per the guy interviewed by Citizen tv on why textbooks are expensive. Kweli? I was shocked.
mpobiz wrote:china imetumaliza
when I was in primary, many decades ago, the teacher organized a trip for us to PanPaper. I still remember the rotten eggs smell and touching a very big roll of very fine paper that we were told was usually for printing bibles. Its strange we are here now.
Not only paper, we import tooth picks, match boxes, mwikos, tea, coffee, eggs, fish, we have closed down the following industries or underusing, oil refinery, pan paper, there was a pencil making factory in Nyahururu try setting up a manufacturing plant and see how the government will block you unless you toa kitu kikubwa or nowadays you give someone big a share of your plant for fre To Each His Own
kayhara wrote:Not only paper, we import tooth picks, match boxes, mwikos, tea, coffee, eggs, fish, we have closed down the following industries or underusing, oil refinery, pan paper, there was a pencil making factory in Nyahururu try setting up a manufacturing plant and see how the government will block you unless you toa kitu kikubwa or nowadays you give someone big a share of your plant for fre on toothpicks, Sunny Bindra did an article a few years back arguing that toothpicks while small items are actually very complex to manufacture But all those other items you've mentioned? Why would any govt put obstacles for manufacturers?
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Lolest! wrote:kayhara wrote:Not only paper, we import tooth picks, match boxes, mwikos, tea, coffee, eggs, fish, we have closed down the following industries or underusing, oil refinery, pan paper, there was a pencil making factory in Nyahururu try setting up a manufacturing plant and see how the government will block you unless you toa kitu kikubwa or nowadays you give someone big a share of your plant for fre on toothpicks, Sunny Bindra did an article a few years back arguing that toothpicks while small items are actually very complex to manufacture But all those other items you've mentioned? Why would any govt put obstacles for manufacturers? Or we could ask, how does a country lose its competitive edge? So far, going by most sentiments I see here, we're unaware of how economics has changed and how we need to adapt to the challenges of globalization.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/16/2014 Posts: 1,420 Location: Bohemian Grove
Lolest! wrote:kayhara wrote:Not only paper, we import tooth picks, match boxes, mwikos, tea, coffee, eggs, fish, we have closed down the following industries or underusing, oil refinery, pan paper, there was a pencil making factory in Nyahururu try setting up a manufacturing plant and see how the government will block you unless you toa kitu kikubwa or nowadays you give someone big a share of your plant for fre on toothpicks, Sunny Bindra did an article a few years back arguing that toothpicks while small items are actually very complex to manufacture But all those other items you've mentioned? Why would any govt put obstacles for manufacturers? Because guys in govt only care about collecting kickbacks. Nothing about policy and creating a good business environment that would enable industries to thrive.This means whenever you go shopping, you'll most likely foreign products.I recently bought Egyptian made towel and toothpick made in China. Not that I "love" buying foreign items but that's what's available in every mall you walk into.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
whiteowl wrote:Lolest! wrote:kayhara wrote:Not only paper, we import tooth picks, match boxes, mwikos, tea, coffee, eggs, fish, we have closed down the following industries or underusing, oil refinery, pan paper, there was a pencil making factory in Nyahururu try setting up a manufacturing plant and see how the government will block you unless you toa kitu kikubwa or nowadays you give someone big a share of your plant for fre on toothpicks, Sunny Bindra did an article a few years back arguing that toothpicks while small items are actually very complex to manufacture But all those other items you've mentioned? Why would any govt put obstacles for manufacturers? Because guys in govt only care about collecting kickbacks. Nothing about policy and creating a good business environment that would enable industries to thrive.This means whenever you go shopping, you'll most likely foreign products.I recently bought Egyptian made towel and toothpick made in China. Not that I "love" buying foreign items but that's what's available in every mall you walk into. The distinction between foreign and local items is diminishing at a very high rate. It's better to remove the distinction sooner rather than later.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Yesterday i was at the supermarket looking for printing paper. And the paper in stock was from Egypt (do they have any forests?), brazil, portugal and indonesia. I believe if panpaper mills was just to concentrate in making printing paper then they can make money. They could also export to our neighbours.
Kenyan Manufacturing