KCPE 2015 results
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:I liked ole kiyapi take on the education sector on ntv yesterday, he even mentioned that they had already carried out a review on the system and the research paper (or whatever they are called) had already been completed, but I hear the president wants to start another review, just a chance for more wastage, some commission and tenders to be floated.
How on earth can normal people compare a kid sitting an exam at some academy in nairobi to another kid studying under a tree in some rural area. As long as the syllabus is the same and is fully covered, and the teachers are equally trained and competent, then performance shouldn't vary. For many years in the past, rural schools used to outperform city schools.
newfarer wrote:Was shocked this holiday to meet a class 7 kid. Who cant read a preschool basic English sound book. In our time we would be talking of a murder case, murderer being the English teacher. don't be surprised, KNUT busy fighting for higher salos when teacher absenteeism is said to be as high as 70% in some places.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/19/2010 Posts: 3,504 Location: Uganda
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:I liked ole kiyapi take on the education sector on ntv yesterday, he even mentioned that they had already carried out a review on the system and the research paper (or whatever they are called) had already been completed, but I hear the president wants to start another review, just a chance for more wastage, some commission and tenders to be floated.
How on earth can normal people compare a kid sitting an exam at some academy in nairobi to another kid studying under a tree in some rural area. You better start accepting that this jubilee government will take us too far, in circles that is. punda amecheka
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/19/2010 Posts: 3,504 Location: Uganda
Intelligentsia wrote:newfarer wrote:Was shocked this holiday to meet a class 7 kid. Who cant read a preschool basic English sound book. In our time we would be talking of a murder case, murderer being the English teacher. don't be surprised, KNUT busy fighting for higher salos when teacher absenteeism is said to be as high as 70% in some places. Absenteeism, low morale, teachers making ends meet in other ventures after being shortchanged and intimidated by government. The government thought it was winning lakini the children are the losers Teachers ought to be paid what they've fought for then we demand results. punda amecheka
Rank: Veteran Joined: 6/23/2011 Posts: 1,740 Location: Nairobi
I don't understand this business of public vs private, rich vs poor.
Soon we will be saying lets ration power and water to private hospitals so that they come to same level as public hospitals or something mad like that. Or lets have a uniform check list for diagnosis etc
Those are not the root cause of the problem , the root cause is the failure of the Government with the catalyst being corruption.
It does not matter how much you review the syllabus. You need to fix the root cause.
If there is a Wazuan in Government please communicate this to the right people who need to take action
newfarer wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:I liked ole kiyapi take on the education sector on ntv yesterday, he even mentioned that they had already carried out a review on the system and the research paper (or whatever they are called) had already been completed, but I hear the president wants to start another review, just a chance for more wastage, some commission and tenders to be floated.
How on earth can normal people compare a kid sitting an exam at some academy in nairobi to another kid studying under a tree in some rural area. You better start accepting that this jubilee government will take us too far, in circles that is. The new education review set to be launched next month is just mchezo, I think there exists enough data on this and what is needed is action. The push should be on universal secondary education, increasing teachers, increasing the schools and equally equipping the public schools. The best solution would be for every primary school to have a secondary section, in this day and age secondary education and socialization of teenagers is what is considered basic.
hardwood wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:I liked ole kiyapi take on the education sector on ntv yesterday, he even mentioned that they had already carried out a review on the system and the research paper (or whatever they are called) had already been completed, but I hear the president wants to start another review, just a chance for more wastage, some commission and tenders to be floated.
How on earth can normal people compare a kid sitting an exam at some academy in nairobi to another kid studying under a tree in some rural area. As long as the syllabus is the same and is fully covered, and the teachers are equally trained and competent, then performance shouldn't vary. For many years in the past, rural schools used to outperform city schools. performance will always be hinged on the resources available to the kids, definitely a kid in a household with a househelp, piped water, electricity, internet and parents who can afford text books and revision books will fair better than a kid from a household where they have to work in the shamba, do other household chores, whose parent can not afford text books e.t.c Even when the teachers are similar, the resources play a major factor, a kid who walks for several kilometers to school vs one who has access to a school bus makes some difference. but we cant change that since we are born into different backgrounds, but we can try and provide opportunities even to the kids born in poor backgrounds, otherwise some of us would not even be here.
streetwise wrote:I don't understand this business of public vs private, rich vs poor.
Soon we will be saying lets ration power and water to private hospitals so that they come to same level as public hospitals or something mad like that. Or lets have a uniform check list for diagnosis etc
Those are not the root cause of the problem , the root cause is the failure of the Government with the catalyst being corruption.
It does not matter how much you review the syllabus. You need to fix the root cause.
If there is a Wazuan in Government please communicate this to the right people who need to take action
its very easy to understand, its all about public resource allocation. Using the current structure the best would be to do away with public funded schools which get preferential treatment when it comes to resource allocation, thats what causes all the fighting, i.e getting into the top end public high schools. using your private hospital analogy, what would be your take be, if say agha khan or nairobi hospital massive resources were being funded by the taxpayer but access to the same was only restricted to a few, there would be fighting for access to the same also.
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/17/2013 Posts: 4,693 Location: Earth
I purposed not to get overly excited by KNEC results.The strikes and leakages dampened our expectations. A parent was heard praising the smartphone for her child's 400+ KCPE success. I now wish to congratulate the disadvantaged kids who gave it their all but managed to score low without any form of assistance from teachers/parents. Reading stories of kids on the verge of commiting suicide due to perceived failure by the community at large makes me sick. ION where did the giants go? Little known private schools are beating them at their game.
Well, it's time to tackle the elephant in the room-School Allocations.I guess it's going to turn out the same way as last year so just find a school and pray that your child succeeds in life.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
newfarer wrote:Intelligentsia wrote:newfarer wrote:Was shocked this holiday to meet a class 7 kid. Who cant read a preschool basic English sound book. In our time we would be talking of a murder case, murderer being the English teacher. don't be surprised, KNUT busy fighting for higher salos when teacher absenteeism is said to be as high as 70% in some places. Absenteeism, low morale, teachers making ends meet in other ventures after being shortchanged and intimidated by government. The government thought it was winning lakini the children are the losers Teachers ought to be paid what they've fought for then we demand results. Teachers are paid well, just like the other public servants. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
What sitaki is trying to advocate is just good on talk but impraticle. If all teachers are trained in the same Teachers Training Colleges, TSC supposedly employs the best, apart from a classroom number what difference is there for a child who went to a public sch in the urban area and that who went to a private sch? I would take exception on boarding schools but in terms of resources, those two schools are at par the only difference is the classroom number "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:What sitaki is trying to advocate is just good on talk but impraticle. If all teachers are trained in the same Teachers Training Colleges, TSC supposedly employs the best, apart from a classroom number what difference is there for a child who went to a public sch in the urban area and that who went to a private sch?
I would take exception on boarding schools but in terms of resources, those two schools are at par the only difference is the classroom number As you mention the teacher student ratio is apparently different, but I think I got my comparison wrong then, its more of kids who have great resources vs those who do not. I guess the classic example is the kid in the urban area vs one in the rural area. But as I mentioned I am not advocating for parents to be forced to take their kids to the public schools in rural areas, nor do we choose where we are born, all I am saying is that, secondary education should be a basic need and as such categorizing kids based on the kcpe exam is flawed since some are way better in terms of resources available in preparation for the same. If we need public funded centers of excellence it should be based on the standardized IQ tests, that way most academically gifted kids get a chance. But I think if we really wanted we can make sure all public primary schools have corresponding secondary school component and as many kids as possible enjoy secondary education, without classifying them on what they scored in a single test. I mean this national schools thing is a colonial relic.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
kanu turned our education system into a game - a competition. sasa we are a country addicted to exams. We are literary shaping the future lives of our 13/14 year olds based on a single exam.
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:murchr wrote:What sitaki is trying to advocate is just good on talk but impraticle. If all teachers are trained in the same Teachers Training Colleges, TSC supposedly employs the best, apart from a classroom number what difference is there for a child who went to a public sch in the urban area and that who went to a private sch?
I would take exception on boarding schools but in terms of resources, those two schools are at par the only difference is the classroom number As you mention the teacher student ratio is apparently different, but I think I got my comparison wrong then, its more of kids who have great resources vs those who do not. I guess the classic example is the kid in the urban area vs one in the rural area. But as I mentioned I am not advocating for parents to be forced to take their kids to the public schools in rural areas, nor do we choose where we are born, all I am saying is that, secondary education should be a basic need and as such categorizing kids based on the kcpe exam is flawed since some are way better in terms of resources available in preparation for the same. If we need public funded centers of excellence it should be based on the standardized IQ tests, that way most academically gifted kids get a chance. But I think if we really wanted we can make sure all public primary schools have corresponding secondary school component and as many kids as possible enjoy secondary education, without classifying them on what they scored in a single test. I mean this national schools thing is a colonial relic. You clearly have no idea of what you are talking about. Just look at the data, and you will notice the kids in the public rural areas tend to do well compared to the kids in the urban public schools more so in the city. I should assume the kids in urban public schs have better "resources" than those in the rural areas right?. What are these "resources" in private/urban schools that may not be available in rural public primary schs? Everywhere in the world, top performers attract the attention from top schools. Have you tried to figure out how it is done elsewhere? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:murchr wrote:What sitaki is trying to advocate is just good on talk but impraticle. If all teachers are trained in the same Teachers Training Colleges, TSC supposedly employs the best, apart from a classroom number what difference is there for a child who went to a public sch in the urban area and that who went to a private sch?
I would take exception on boarding schools but in terms of resources, those two schools are at par the only difference is the classroom number As you mention the teacher student ratio is apparently different, but I think I got my comparison wrong then, its more of kids who have great resources vs those who do not. I guess the classic example is the kid in the urban area vs one in the rural area. But as I mentioned I am not advocating for parents to be forced to take their kids to the public schools in rural areas, nor do we choose where we are born, all I am saying is that, secondary education should be a basic need and as such categorizing kids based on the kcpe exam is flawed since some are way better in terms of resources available in preparation for the same. If we need public funded centers of excellence it should be based on the standardized IQ tests, that way most academically gifted kids get a chance. But I think if we really wanted we can make sure all public primary schools have corresponding secondary school component and as many kids as possible enjoy secondary education, without classifying them on what they scored in a single test. I mean this national schools thing is a colonial relic. You clearly have no idea of what you are talking about. Just look at the data, and you will notice the kids in the public rural areas tend to do well compared to the kids in the urban public schools more so in the city. I should assume the kids in urban public schs have better "resources" than those in the rural areas right?. What are these "resources" in private/urban schools that may not be available in rural public primary schs? Everywhere in the world, top performers attract the attention from top schools. Have you tried to figure out how it is done elsewhere? I dont know what data you have access to, but just looking at the the list (the media and social media is peddling) all the best performers are from the urban areas, bar the boarding schools which might be located in the rural areas. Even the mean score for the public vs private schools as announced by the cs is in favor of the private schools, now look at the kenya private schools association and get the loation of the private school, almost all are in urban areas. Are we even discussing that a kid who walks several kilometers to school everyday, and after school has to milk the cows, tend the farm and do other household chores is at the same level resource wise as a kid who lives in a home with electricity, househelps, piped water e.t.c I have not come across any system especially in the west where kids admission to national high schools is based on a single exam, actually I don't think any well meaning country splits up kids in high school based on an exam, IQ test yes, but a single exam no.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
Some of the comments here are suggestive of Socialism. That horse bolted two decades ago. We can't be equal but we should be given equal chance to prove how unequal we are. Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
kaka2za wrote:Some of the comments here are suggestive of Socialism. That horse bolted two decades ago. We can't be equal but we should be given equal chance to prove how unequal we are. I thought public primary education almost everywhere in the world borders on socialist tendencies, even in the mighty capitalistic usa
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:murchr wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:murchr wrote:What sitaki is trying to advocate is just good on talk but impraticle. If all teachers are trained in the same Teachers Training Colleges, TSC supposedly employs the best, apart from a classroom number what difference is there for a child who went to a public sch in the urban area and that who went to a private sch?
I would take exception on boarding schools but in terms of resources, those two schools are at par the only difference is the classroom number As you mention the teacher student ratio is apparently different, but I think I got my comparison wrong then, its more of kids who have great resources vs those who do not. I guess the classic example is the kid in the urban area vs one in the rural area. But as I mentioned I am not advocating for parents to be forced to take their kids to the public schools in rural areas, nor do we choose where we are born, all I am saying is that, secondary education should be a basic need and as such categorizing kids based on the kcpe exam is flawed since some are way better in terms of resources available in preparation for the same. If we need public funded centers of excellence it should be based on the standardized IQ tests, that way most academically gifted kids get a chance. But I think if we really wanted we can make sure all public primary schools have corresponding secondary school component and as many kids as possible enjoy secondary education, without classifying them on what they scored in a single test. I mean this national schools thing is a colonial relic. You clearly have no idea of what you are talking about. Just look at the data, and you will notice the kids in the public rural areas tend to do well compared to the kids in the urban public schools more so in the city. I should assume the kids in urban public schs have better "resources" than those in the rural areas right?. What are these "resources" in private/urban schools that may not be available in rural public primary schs? Everywhere in the world, top performers attract the attention from top schools. Have you tried to figure out how it is done elsewhere? I dont know what data you have access to, but just looking at the the list (the media and social media is peddling) all the best performers are from the urban areas, bar the boarding schools which might be located in the rural areas. Even the mean score for the public vs private schools as announced by the cs is in favor of the private schools, now look at the kenya private schools association and get the loation of the private school, almost all are in urban areas. Are we even discussing that a kid who walks several kilometers to school everyday, and after school has to milk the cows, tend the farm and do other household chores is at the same level resource wise as a kid who lives in a home with electricity, househelps, piped water e.t.c If you are talking about media reports (where parents called reporters to brag about their kids results) then you clearly have no idea what you are talking about. Those kids who walk to sch and have hse chores also perform very well; they just dont brag and display their results online. Again talk about something you know. There are kids who had everything in those private schools but did not even get half the mark. Performance in primary sch mainly is a reflection of the caliber of teacher the student had and the motivation they receive. As for secondary sch. There needs for "cut-off points" measures but also there should be consensus. Private schools are stakeholders in the sector andthe kids who choose to go to these schools should not be punished for performing well because after all if they scored the same marks while in public schools they would have made it in those "good national Schools". That said, the govt - both county and national, should equip and upgrade all schools to be of the same status. The private sector too can get involved "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/19/2015 Posts: 2,871 Location: hapo
Let me tell you a funny story. Today I was in Ruaka. As we were driving out of the area, we found a band playing right in the middle of the street. A young girl was being carried shoulder high. Apparently, the parents were so happy that they had a Boniface moment in the streets of Ruaka. Band and cheerleaders at hand. Funny thing is that the guy I was with was the best student in the country during his time. He told us how he was only given 10 peremendes by his dad and told to go and tend the cows later. lol Come on guys. Stop bragging about your kids. Life is not about passing exams. One damn exam who's papers we saw the day before the exam. I'm seriously taking a look at the Bridges Schools for my kids. I want my kids to learn the way we learned during our time. Where the guy who was no.1 was hanging around the guy who was last. And they are still friends. This boasting about exam results really needs to take a back seat to education. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
KCPE 2015 results