wazua Fri, Aug 15, 2025

#JubaLandFrontiers
#1 Posted : Sunday, December 13, 2015 10:47:19 PM

Is Betty Kyalo's husband on someone's payroll or sometimes investigative journalism can be positive?
kollabo
#2 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2015 9:00:18 AM

Coolio wrote:
Is Betty Kyalo's husband on someone's payroll or sometimes investigative journalism can be positive?

Just sought to disprove Githongo and his team.
#3 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2015 10:11:22 AM

kollabo wrote:
Coolio wrote:

The ending part was kinda stage managed!

Gadaffi
#4 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2015 10:50:24 AM

kollabo wrote:
Coolio wrote:

True, that was. If it wasnt, it could have been a major feature..bt it jus ends
#5 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2015 10:54:28 AM

Gadaffi wrote:
kollabo wrote:
Coolio wrote:

True, that was. If it wasnt, it could have been a major feature..bt it jus ends

It's seems he's now learned the life of "sponsored" people. Sponsoring the honeymoon wasn't enough. Now even stories.

What's sad is that the story has merit. But you just don't call it investigative journalism, when the person you are supposed to be investigating is the one who's your chaperon.

#6 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2015 11:23:00 AM

I was expecting this... a couple of weeks ago on Press Pass, Kwamchetsi Makokha and his team released a scathing report on KDF that Dennis Disputed on air citing reasons why it was impractical to have 1billion plus of sugar and makaa escaping Somalia headed to kenya in an organized manner. Dennis fronted himself as the investigative journalist on matters Al Shabab and Somalia. Let's see where the top stops
#7 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2015 11:28:55 AM

I was expecting this... a couple of weeks ago on Press Pass, Kwamchetsi Makokha and his team released a scathing report on KDF that Dennis Disputed on air citing reasons why it was impractical to have 1billion plus of sugar and makaa escaping Somalia headed to kenya in an organized manner. Dennis fronted himself as the investigative journalist on matters Al Shabab and Somalia. Let's see where the top stops

He may have to re-educate himself on the difference between sponsored and investigative.

Can you imagine the Wetangula story on BBC with the reporter being given a ride in BAT vehicles as he "was investigating?"

#8 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2015 11:35:37 AM

He may have to re-educate himself on the difference between sponsored and investigative.

Can you imagine the Wetangula story on BBC with the reporter being given a ride in BAT vehicles as he "was investigating?"

Yaani he was riding in Amiso armored vehicles while investigating the same Amison...hii Kenya!

popat
#9 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2015 11:49:16 AM

Yaani he was riding in Amiso armored vehicles while investigating the same Amison...hii Kenya!

I guess he didn't have an alternative.Should he have gone there under Al'shabab because KDF,TFG,AU,UN are the only alternatives under AMISOM?
popat
#10 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2015 11:53:39 AM

Lets agree there is no independent investigative journalism this side of Sahara.They all serve some interest.The report release could also have been serving particular interest which you or me may not be privy to.
#11 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2015 12:07:56 PM

popat wrote:

I guess he didn't have an alternative.Should he have gone there under Al'shabab because KDF,TFG,AU,UN are the only alternatives under AMISOM?

That's where you are wrong. Of course he had an alternative. Probably too cowardly to take it. He could have gone without anyone and risked his life being shot by alkebab or anyone.

He chose the easy one. That is not investigative reporting.

Have you guys ever watched Panorama or some of the stories on Al Jazeera or even Discovery channel.

Investigative journalism means your life is at risk at any one time. That's why I'm thinking Purity Mwambia is much better than some of these journalists who have no shame parading their honeymoons on twirra then posting that this trip was sponsored by so and so.

smh

The worst thing about this is that a story that may actually be true just lost all form of credibility.

He should just have called it "What Amisom is Saying about Jubaland"

wajuguna
#12 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2015 6:46:01 PM

Dismissing the feature offhandedly is very cheap. That area is under the command of Amisom and one wonders who else would have taken him around. Not sure but it might have been another 'mass grave' wild goose chase.
#13 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2015 7:17:16 PM

Yaani there are people who believed the sugar and makaa story? I asked 1 question, where is the money? Hio tu! Everything else is propaganda
Pesa Nane
#14 Posted : Monday, December 14, 2015 8:56:07 PM

why wait for investigation when you have a pre-determined outcome?
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
Risasi Sufuri
#15 Posted : Tuesday, December 15, 2015 6:04:45 PM

I think Purity Mwambia is the better compared to the few I know. Some of them try to show how good they are by using kiswahili technical jargon and act movie like while it is now crystal clear they are sponsored by some politicians.....If you analyse all those investigative stories they always have a particular outcome. How do they choose what to investigate? Some obvious investigations are never undertaken!!!