wazua Sat, Aug 16, 2025

Paris Accord
#1 Posted : Sunday, December 13, 2015 10:40:51 AM

From now on it will be Paris accord this, Paris accord that! All in all great for the Kenyan! We are big winners here! Historical! Applause

PDF LINK
Meru Holiness
#2 Posted : Sunday, December 13, 2015 10:53:42 AM

From now on it will be Paris accord this, Paris accord that! All in all great for the Kenyan! We are big winners here! Historical! Applause

PDF LINK

I fail to see why this is called historic,nothing is legally binding apart from the one which requires countries to provide an update on the progress made in achieving the agreements of cop21,the rest are just voluntary and promises with no tangible action in place to achieve them? What happens if a country fails to cut down on emissions?

I think the world is prioritizing the wrong things!
Ngalaka
#3 Posted : Sunday, December 13, 2015 11:00:12 AM

I wonder what it portends for our oil deposits in Turkana.
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#4 Posted : Sunday, December 13, 2015 11:06:40 AM

PDF LINK

I fail to see why this is called historic,nothing is legally binding apart from the one which requires countries to provide an update on the progress made in achieving the agreements of cop21,the rest are just voluntary and promises with no tangible action in place to achieve them? What happens if a country fails to cut down on emissions?

It is legally binding and will be enforced, targets have been clearly outlined. This is an extensive agreement and has expected outcomes/impacts which i will not (for years) be able to summarize well here, however please start of with the treaty called Kyoto Protocol which lays out an extremely extensive "global economic apparatus" called 1992 United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change for adopting and enforcing changes, that has all these dimensions. Relevant sections are outlined inside the Paris Accord if you go through it including 'payment' to poor Kenyan farmers who are being robbed 'globally' buy these multinationals and garments e.t.c. , it is quite tight, it will take a long time to take it all in, but it is HISTORIC.
Meru Holiness
#5 Posted : Sunday, December 13, 2015 11:12:52 AM

Ngalaka wrote:

I wonder what it portends for our oil deposits in Turkana.

Am no oil expert, but not very good news for our Turkana oil in any case crude prices have been falling to dramatic lows (heading to sub 30 dollars per barrel) and i wonder whether those wells are still economically viable. The oil industry have been the biggest "fighters", kickback givers, e.t.c in stemming these changes, they are the ones most aware of the implications since one of the main target is fossil fuels.
Meru Holiness
#6 Posted : Sunday, December 13, 2015 11:28:36 AM

PDF LINK

It is legally binding and will be enforced, targets have been clearly outlined. This is an extensive agreement and outcome which i will not (for years) be able to summarize well here, however please start of with the treaty called Kyoto Protocol which lays out an extremely extensive "global economic apparatus" called 1992 United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change for adopting and enforcing changes, that has all these dimensions. Relevant sections are outlined inside the Paris Accord if you go through it including payment to poor Kenyan farmers who are being robbed 'globally' e.t.c. , it is quite tight, it will take a long time to take it all but it is HISTORIC.

I do not think most of the key agreements are legally binding when they use terms such as "request" "further request" "recommends"

It recommends developed countries to mobilize US $ 100 billion but what happens if they fail? It should have gone further to specify what each "developed" country should contribute. How or on what basis will this be enforced?

It request countries to "pursue" efforts to reduce warming to 2 degrees and further to 1.5 degrees and to set targets to reduce emissions.Why couldn't they specifically lay out what countries need to do as well as specifically set the target emissions based on the current emissions? What happens if a country sets a low target or puts in minimal efforts to reduce warming to degrees? Do you think china will set an ambitious target for both warming and emissions?
#7 Posted : Sunday, December 13, 2015 12:26:07 PM

PDF LINK

It is legally binding and will be enforced, targets have been clearly outlined. This is an extensive agreement and outcome which i will not (for years) be able to summarize well here, however please start of with the treaty called Kyoto Protocol which lays out an extremely extensive "global economic apparatus" called 1992 United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change for adopting and enforcing changes, that has all these dimensions. Relevant sections are outlined inside the Paris Accord if you go through it including payment to poor Kenyan farmers who are being robbed 'globally' e.t.c. , it is quite tight, it will take a long time to take it all but it is HISTORIC.

I do not think most of the key agreements are legally binding when they use terms such as "request" "further request" "recommends"

It recommends developed countries to mobilize US $ 100 billion but what happens if they fail? It should have gone further to specify what each "developed" country should contribute. How or on what basis will this be enforced?

It request countries to "pursue" efforts to reduce warming to 2 degrees and further to 1.5 degrees and to set targets to reduce emissions.Why couldn't they specifically lay out what countries need to do as well as specifically set the target emissions based on the current emissions? What happens if a country sets a low target or puts in minimal efforts to reduce warming to degrees? Do you think china will set an ambitious target for both warming and emissions?

We were told there cannot be much "spoon-feeding" on this issue smile You will find a valuation of emissions in the aforementioned document above, pour through them, and how payments result after the imbalances, it is quite a complex document that in essence introduces for example a "new currency". It outlines what is "theft" and what is "property" in these terms, so some extensive law right there. There are the laws, maths, measurements kila kitu iko. These "currencies" have already been traded by Kenya before, ordinary mwananchi will find their way, the "market will make itself", as long as kila mtu amekubaliana! If you want to know exactly how, go plant some trees e.t.c and look for the enforcers, ngos, Kenya forest service e.t.c Have some scattered and kidogo info, also UNEP. After reading it, answer the following questions

So, how much do you think the developed countries should pay Kenya? Is euro bond enough payment. Ni sisi tuna deni yao ama ni hao wana deni yetu?
Meru Holiness