wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

Abnormal foreign atm card charges
enyands
#1 Posted : Saturday, December 12, 2015 11:59:19 AM

My cousin just came from abroad. He went to withdraw money from Barclay's bank atm and he was charges ksh. 300 equivalent to their $3 even when he was withdrawing ksh 1000 they charged him ksh 300. I feel it's not fair to him . Two years ago they were charging much much less according to him.he wants to know if there is any banks atm that charge a reasonable fee for foreign atm
#2 Posted : Saturday, December 12, 2015 12:04:18 PM

That is normal, charges are mostly by Visa at times it is Mastercard!!!
enyands
#3 Posted : Saturday, December 12, 2015 2:17:41 PM

That is normal, charges are mostly by Visa at times it is Mastercard!!!

Thanks I'll tell him to check on other atms and see if the charges are the same.he remembered they used to charge a percentage of amount withdrawn.anyway thanks.
kiash
#4 Posted : Saturday, December 12, 2015 4:05:16 PM

enyands wrote:
My cousin just came from abroad. He went to withdraw money from Barclay's bank atm and he was charges ksh. 300 equivalent to their $3 even when he was withdrawing ksh 1000 they charged him ksh 300. I feel it's not fair to him . Two years ago they were charging much much less according to him.he wants to know if there is any banks atm that charge a reasonable fee for foreign atm

Haha that is Kenya, kwani your cousin does not know? Barclays ATMS are not that bad ,i tried using Equity's and they were not working. Ambia your kasin the best advice is withdraw a big amount once and pay the 3 dollar charge halafu aweke kwa mpesa.That way you will have no more charges ama you get a cheap account in Kenya like Equity bank account(by the way internet account works and is cheap) and deposit money there after withdrawal.I think Mpesa is the best option, uliza wakenya.
Boris Boyka
#5 Posted : Saturday, December 12, 2015 4:54:51 PM

kiash wrote:
enyands wrote:

Haha that is Kenya, kwani your cousin does not know? Barclays ATMS are not that bad ,i tried using Equity's and they were not working. Ambia your kasin the best advice is withdraw a big amount once and pay the 3 dollar charge halafu aweke kwa mpesa.That way you will have no more charges ama you get a cheap account in Kenya like Equity bank account(by the way internet account works and is cheap) and deposit money there after withdrawal.I think Mpesa is the best option, uliza wakenya.

Sawa mwamerika smile
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#6 Posted : Saturday, December 12, 2015 5:22:13 PM

If you want to save yourself all these shylock fees, then get yourself a skrill account before you come to Kenya.

They shall send your money straight to an mpesa account of your choosing in 2 seconds flat.

Kenyan banks lie that its visa charges but somehow the whole world pays more for atm withdrawals in Kenya than anywhere else worldwide.

They even have limits like sijui 50k max per transaction. To avoid this, get a card and go and withdraw at the counter.

So get into skrill Its worldwide. Move your money there, then withdraw when you wish onto mpesa.

You will do this if you have a situation where your card is "swallowed" by these banks. Utaimba nyimbo.

By the way this is one of the reasons people preferred imperial bank.

#7 Posted : Saturday, December 12, 2015 5:27:31 PM

enyands wrote:

That is normal rate for interbank ATM withdrawals.

How does anyone withdraw Sh 1,000 from the ATM anyway.

Tell him to withdraw dollars and pay with plastic at merchant points
premio
#8 Posted : Saturday, December 12, 2015 8:04:02 PM

This is the normal rate you would pay if you went to withdrawal with your Kenyan standard chartered bank card at a Hongkong or London standard chartered bank atm( note same bank)
This is not interbank, this is a fee applied by the card issuer Visa, Mastercard Union pay JCB American express. You would expect to pay the same to withdrawal 1000 form a Kenyan barclays atm using any other Kenyan bank with Visa or any other merchant.
enyands
#9 Posted : Saturday, December 12, 2015 9:33:40 PM

enyands wrote:

I withdraw 1000 using my coop bank atm so I don't know what you mean saying I can't withdraw 1000.anyway there is no way you can withdraw dollars using a foreign atm . the atm machines dispensing dollars is meant for the customers of that bank eg KCB who have dollar account with that specific bank but not someone from a different bank accessing "our" dollars.

Thanks for the tips anyways
#10 Posted : Saturday, December 12, 2015 10:31:05 PM

premio wrote:
This is the normal rate you would pay if you went to withdrawal with your Kenyan standard chartered bank card at a Hongkong or London standard chartered bank atm( note same bank)
This is not interbank, this is a fee applied by the card issuer Visa, Mastercard Union pay JCB American express. You would expect to pay the same to withdrawal 1000 form a Kenyan barclays atm using any other Kenyan bank with Visa or any other merchant.

d'oh! d'oh!
Sevian
#11 Posted : Sunday, December 13, 2015 6:40:00 AM

Sijawahi enda America... Lakini nashtuka kusikia wa majuu anataka ku-withdraw 1000. Benki inafaa kukulipisha 800 for withdrawing such small amounts. Alafu una-complain juu ya 300. Ai!!!. Angalia kama huyo kasin yako alienda USA kweli
👷🏽 helmet ndio hiyo nimevaa
enyands
#12 Posted : Sunday, December 13, 2015 7:26:45 AM

Sevian wrote:
Sijawahi enda America... Lakini nashtuka kusikia wa majuu anataka ku-withdraw 1000. Benki inafaa kukulipisha 800 for withdrawing such small amounts. Alafu una-complain juu ya 300. Ai!!!. Angalia kama huyo kasin yako alienda USA kweli

Laughing out loudly something tells me you live there majuu .because ur posting is done at 7.40 pm Saturday and today is Sunday here in kenya .and to be precise I feel you are in west coast .he he he .anyway I'll tell him atoe mob it will be cheaper . U don't need a helmet bro .hapa ni kanisa. Unakuja jinsi ulivyo Laughing out loudly Applause
jerry
#13 Posted : Sunday, December 13, 2015 10:52:41 AM

premio wrote:

d'oh! d'oh!

I think it's 200/= plus 20/=(excise).
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#14 Posted : Sunday, December 13, 2015 11:11:22 AM

Sevian wrote:

I agree with you, why is he wasting time queuing only to withdraw 1,000 bob? How do you even live with yourself and justify you actions?What goes on in his mind while on the queue? what does he tell himself whenever he looks in the mirror?

Si angebeba 5,000 dollars then change it at many of the forex bureaus? if he is/was going to spend less than USD 5,000 I do not see the need of him requiring an ATM, he shoudl have carried hard USD
#15 Posted : Sunday, December 13, 2015 1:02:59 PM

enyands wrote:

I withdraw 1000 using my coop bank atm so I don't know what you mean saying I can't withdraw 1000.anyway there is no way you can withdraw dollars using a foreign atm . the atm machines dispensing dollars is meant for the customers of that bank eg KCB who have dollar account with that specific bank but not someone from a different bank accessing "our" dollars.

Thanks for the tips anyways

I have a KES account with KCB but can withdraw USD or the local currency in any KCB ATM with USD in any EAC country.
Sevian
#16 Posted : Sunday, December 13, 2015 1:04:34 PM

enyands wrote:
Sevian wrote:

Laughing out loudly something tells me you live there majuu .because ur posting is done at 7.40 pm Saturday and today is Sunday here in kenya .and to be precise I feel you are in west coast .he he he .anyway I'll tell him atoe mob it will be cheaper . U don't need a helmet bro .hapa ni kanisa. Unakuja jinsi ulivyo Laughing out loudly Applause

Very much in the 254. Just wondering what/how 1000 bob helps. I imagine umeamka ukaomba gari kwa bro yako, drove all the way to an atm, then queued for 10 min to withdraw 1k. Na saa hizo una tweng. Sijui warrrup bruuuh! Na 1k kwa mfuko.
Alafu 1k hainunui lunch ya mtu mmoja Java unless unakula samosa, leave alone drinks (unless keg). Unless unakula chapo marashi hapo railways
Huyo kasin ajue iko expectations. Na standards
#17 Posted : Sunday, December 13, 2015 1:36:07 PM

Sevian wrote:
enyands wrote:
Sevian wrote:

Very much in the 254. Just wondering what/how 1000 bob helps. I imagine umeamka ukaomba gari kwa bro yako, drove all the way to an atm, then queued for 10 min to withdraw 1k. Na saa hizo una tweng. Sijui warrrup bruuuh! Na 1k kwa mfuko.
Alafu 1k hainunui lunch ya mtu mmoja Java unless unakula samosa, leave alone drinks (unless keg). Unless unakula chapo marashi hapo railways

enyands
#18 Posted : Sunday, December 13, 2015 1:42:59 PM

Sevian wrote:
enyands wrote:
Sevian wrote:

@sevian This is the comedy of the week after Obiero's kq reaching mid 20s mid next year. Hii 1000 imeleta shida jameni.Laughing out loudly .mpaka there is java,matatu, bro mentioned .anyway it's good humor Applause Applause
Sevian
#19 Posted : Sunday, December 13, 2015 7:15:55 PM

enyands wrote:
Sevian wrote:
enyands wrote:
Sevian wrote:

@sevian This is the comedy of the week after Obiero's kq reaching mid 20s mid next year. Hii 1000 imeleta shida jameni.Laughing out loudly .mpaka there is java,matatu, bro mentioned .anyway it's good humor Applause Applause

And I haven't mentioned the guy complaining about the things that don't work in Kenya starting with, "In America, we don't bla bla bla..."
🙈🙉🙊🐒🐒🐒
Sevian
#20 Posted : Sunday, December 13, 2015 7:20:17 PM

@enyands : thank you for taking the 'humor' (more of a diss!) in your stride. If it were someone else tungekuwa tumefika Kamwana vs Baba, with madam admin threatening with userment.
Enjoy your week, and be blessed