wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

A government for the rich
mzalendo69
#1 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 4:53:33 PM

The new excise duty is unjust. It is oppressive to the poor while soothing the rich. It's application is a clear case of a government for the rich with no regard for the masses. Consider one calculated example;

A 2008 Nissan Advan costing USD 2000 CIF suffers duty of Kes 394,000 up from Kes 189,000. A 2008 Prado costing USD 30,000 CIF is charged Kes 562,000 up from 541,000.

I am struggling to get the logic if any.If Equality was to apply, duty for a Prado should be x15 that of Advan, ie, 394,000x15= 5,910,000. However, tax emphasizes on Equity which implies we tax the rich more and the poor lesser, therefore duty for Prado should be Kes 7,000,000. Or say, duty for Advan be 562,000/15= Kes 37,500 on Equality basis.

The law makers have no regard for mama mboga who is looking for a car to ferry nappier grass and milk to the shamba and shop respectively. Therefore reasons A GOVERNMENT FOR THE RICH.
#2 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 5:15:17 PM

mzalendo69 wrote:
The new excise duty is unjust. It is oppressive to the poor while soothing the rich. It's application is a clear case of a government for the rich with no regard for the masses. Consider one calculated example;

A 2008 Nissan Advan costing USD 2000 CIF suffers duty of Kes 394,000 up from Kes 189,000. A 2008 Prado costing USD 30,000 CIF is charged Kes 562,000 up from 541,000.

I am struggling to get the logic if any.If Equality was to apply, duty for a Prado should be x15 that of Advan, ie, 394,000x15= 5,910,000. However, tax emphasizes on Equity which implies we tax the rich more and the poor lesser, therefore duty for Prado should be Kes 7,000,000. Or say, duty for Advan be 562,000/15= Kes 37,500 on Equality basis.

The law makers have no regard for mama mboga who is looking for a car to ferry nappier grass and milk to the shamba and shop respectively. Therefore reasons A GOVERNMENT FOR THE RICH.

Excise duty doesn't target the poor,it targets the rich.
If you are complaining about taxes on vehicles due to excise duty, you need to reevaluate your priorities in life since it simply means that your are trying to live a luxurious life yet you have no financial capacity.
#3 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 5:28:19 PM

mzalendo69 wrote:

If you are complaining about taxes on vehicles due to excise duty, you need to reevaluate your priorities in life since it simply means that your are trying to live a luxurious life yet you have no financial capacity.

Ditto!! The poor walk to work or ride on matatus, they don't smoke cigarettes but sniff unprocessed tobacco, they don't drink soda or bottled water.
#4 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 5:40:37 PM

mzalendo69 wrote:

Ditto!! The poor walk to work or ride on matatus, they don't smoke cigarettes but sniff unprocessed tobacco, they don't drink soda or bottled water.

You guys are choking the new member, now even a welcome, sit down kind of stuff smile
#5 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 6:22:30 PM

As much as it is leaving within your means one should also think of the support services in the car business from importation to delivery and thereafter kuna clearing agents ,drivers ,mtu wa kuosha at the car yard ,mechs etc Most of this guys may be jobless this time next year. mzalendo69 may be just one of the victims..
#6 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 6:29:12 PM

madollar wrote:
As much as it is leaving within your means one should also think of the support services in the car business from importation to delivery and thereafter kuna clearing agents ,drivers ,mtu wa kuosha at the car yard ,mechs etc Most of this guys may be jobless this time next year. mzalendo69 may be just one of the victims..

It should be cheaper to buy a car assembled here. What is this obsession with mitumbas? Do you buy them so that you can take it to the mechanic? The clearing agents can clear anything else
4eva eva
#7 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 6:58:35 PM

madollar wrote:

It should be cheaper to buy a car assembled here. What is this obsession with mitumbas? Do you buy them so that you can take it to the mechanic? The clearing agents can clear anything else

Lest we forget that the govt had a budget of 2.1 trln, it had to be financed one way or the other
#8 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 7:09:47 PM

4eva eva wrote:
madollar wrote:

Lest we forget that the govt had a budget of 2.1 trln, it had to be financed one way or the other

You voted for the new devolution galloping constitution overwhelmingly, coz Baba alisoma now you are paying for it smile
#9 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 7:42:33 PM

4eva eva wrote:
madollar wrote:

You voted for the new devolution galloping constitution overwhelmingly, coz Baba alisoma now you are paying for it smile

Exactly!
#10 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 9:47:41 PM

madollar wrote:

This is a baseless and a street(a street in the middle of boni forest) argument!

#11 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 10:12:19 PM

madollar wrote:

This is a baseless and a street(a street in the middle of boni forest) argument!

This is the way #Martha will govern us smile
#12 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 10:19:54 PM

madollar wrote:

This is the way #Martha will govern us smile

How do you propose we treat alcoholics,obese people,lung cancer patients?

Dawnwoods
#13 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2015 12:05:32 AM

Wait a minute, Whose responsibility is it to treat alcoholics et al... government? is that what you are saying? Just want to make sure I understand you correctly.
sheri
#14 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2015 9:41:45 AM

mzalendo69 wrote:

Karibu@mzalendo69 or what was your other handle? the middo crass citizens of wazua republic might not be feeling your pain and again the temperatures are a bit high coz of the Euro bond saga. Karibu you are also welcome to join the third wave of @Swenani vote Martha for prosperity.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2015 11:02:26 AM

Dawnwoods wrote:
Wait a minute, Whose responsibility is it to treat alcoholics et al... government? is that what you are saying? Just want to make sure I understand you correctly.

Yes and all the other sick people. Did you think it is the responsibility of the mosque?
mzalendo69
#16 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2015 2:09:34 PM

@Stenani; Thank you for the welcome and fire baptism.

The number one Canon of a good taxation system is Equity or Equality. That is simply what is explained in the Prado/Advan thing. This is opposed by new excise tax on cars, the rich are punishing the poor. An Advan is a tool box while a Prado is a money box. Your understanding of the "poor" is somewhat wanting, maybe narrow. Your presumption that the poor should only walk like animals and never own metal on rubber is retrogressive to say the least. Kindly don't belittle the poor, they also have a right to be here.

@Elder; It would do this economy a great boost to drive vehicles manufactured in Kenya, but be practical, do you know any? Shipping body and engine separately in a guise to "create jobs" and avoid taxes only serves the "masters", any educated fool will tell you it is uneconomical and inefficient. It would cost less if those vehicles are assembled by robots and shipped. A government with brains ought to lobby for a full production plant like in Singapore.

This kind of taxes and similar line of thinking will only serve to open channels for cheating, suppress the economy while rewarding greed. It is too expensive for a government to behave badly.

Dawnwoods
#17 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2015 3:10:50 PM

@swanani...Well.. i guess you and i have nothing further to discuss about. I now wonder how many more people in Wazua believe that..
#18 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2015 3:30:31 PM

mzalendo69 wrote:
@Stenani; Thank you for the welcome and fire baptism.

The number one Canon of a good taxation system is Equity or Equality. That is simply what is explained in the Prado/Advan thing. This is opposed by new excise tax on cars, the rich are punishing the poor. An Advan is a tool box while a Prado is a money box. Your understanding of the "poor" is somewhat wanting, maybe narrow. Your presumption that the poor should only walk like animals and never own metal on rubber is retrogressive to say the least. Kindly don't belittle the poor, they also have a right to be here.

@Elder; It would do this economy a great boost to drive vehicles manufactured in Kenya, but be practical, do you know any? Shipping body and engine separately in a guise to "create jobs" and avoid taxes only serves the "masters", any educated fool will tell you it is uneconomical and inefficient. It would cost less if those vehicles are assembled by robots and shipped. A government with brains ought to lobby for a full production plant like in Singapore.

This kind of taxes and similar line of thinking will only serve to open channels for cheating, suppress the economy while rewarding greed. It is too expensive for a government to behave badly.

I'm not belittling the poor but I find it sad that you are mocking the poor.

Once a person buys a car, that person is not poor! For you to claim that a person who is capable of earning a car is poor is very sardonic.

Excise duty is a sin tax, meaning is meant to discourage consumption of certain goods which are usually hazardous in nature due to the high cost of correcting or treating those hazards thus in the spirit of equity,it only makes sense for those contributing the biggest hazards to pay more. A car more than 3 years emits more carbon that a car less than 3 years
#19 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2015 3:34:03 PM

Dawnwoods wrote:
@swanani...Well.. i guess you and i have nothing further to discuss about. I now wonder how many more people in Wazua believe that..

Health, education ect are public services which are supposed to be provided by the government
#20 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2015 5:57:05 PM

This diseases and sin tax argument is total bullshit!!!

Does bottled water cause disease? Compared to unboiled tap water, which one is riskier?? What about electric cigarettes??? They are used by people who want to QUIT SMOKING!! Why slap them with a Kshs. 3,000/= tax?? What about this emission nonsense??? Is a 3 year old guzzler better than a four year old 1000cc vehicle in terms of emission?? What about a 6 year old electric car vs a 3 year old 4200 cc monster??? Total rubbish!!! In California for example, they get verified emission data on different vehicle models to know which ones to levy what tax. Like if you drive a hammer for example, be ready to pay!!!

Hii ya Kenya no total nonsense!!! They should just say they need more money to finance corruption, oops, "operations" na wapeleke hii nonsensical excuses mbali!!!

Ati Obesity!!?? When did obesity become a wide spread problem in Kenya??? Most Kenyans can barely afford three square meals and some fellows are talking about obesity?? Is there any empirical data on the level of obesity and the actual causes or some bugger just wakes up and decides to tax bottled water to reduce obesity.

And what are people supposed to drink?? Not beer. Not soda. Not Juice (even freshly squeezed juice). Not water. Idiocy!!!