Market
Pennywise
A government for the rich
The new excise duty is unjust. It is oppressive to the poor while soothing the rich. It's application is a clear case of a government for the rich with no regard for the masses. Consider one calculated example; A 2008 Nissan Advan costing USD 2000 CIF suffers duty of Kes 394,000 up from Kes 189,000. A 2008 Prado costing USD 30,000 CIF is charged Kes 562,000 up from 541,000.
I am struggling to get the logic if any.If Equality was to apply, duty for a Prado should be x15 that of Advan, ie, 394,000x15= 5,910,000. However, tax emphasizes on Equity which implies we tax the rich more and the poor lesser, therefore duty for Prado should be Kes 7,000,000. Or say, duty for Advan be 562,000/15= Kes 37,500 on Equality basis.
The law makers have no regard for mama mboga who is looking for a car to ferry nappier grass and milk to the shamba and shop respectively. Therefore reasons A GOVERNMENT FOR THE RICH.
mzalendo69 wrote:The new excise duty is unjust. It is oppressive to the poor while soothing the rich. It's application is a clear case of a government for the rich with no regard for the masses. Consider one calculated example; A 2008 Nissan Advan costing USD 2000 CIF suffers duty of Kes 394,000 up from Kes 189,000. A 2008 Prado costing USD 30,000 CIF is charged Kes 562,000 up from 541,000.
I am struggling to get the logic if any.If Equality was to apply, duty for a Prado should be x15 that of Advan, ie, 394,000x15= 5,910,000. However, tax emphasizes on Equity which implies we tax the rich more and the poor lesser, therefore duty for Prado should be Kes 7,000,000. Or say, duty for Advan be 562,000/15= Kes 37,500 on Equality basis.
The law makers have no regard for mama mboga who is looking for a car to ferry nappier grass and milk to the shamba and shop respectively. Therefore reasons A GOVERNMENT FOR THE RICH. Excise duty doesn't target the poor,it targets the rich. If you are complaining about taxes on vehicles due to excise duty, you need to reevaluate your priorities in life since it simply means that your are trying to live a luxurious life yet you have no financial capacity. If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:mzalendo69 wrote:The new excise duty is unjust. It is oppressive to the poor while soothing the rich. It's application is a clear case of a government for the rich with no regard for the masses. Consider one calculated example; A 2008 Nissan Advan costing USD 2000 CIF suffers duty of Kes 394,000 up from Kes 189,000. A 2008 Prado costing USD 30,000 CIF is charged Kes 562,000 up from 541,000.
The law makers have no regard for mama mboga who is looking for a car to ferry nappier grass and milk to the shamba and shop respectively. Therefore reasons A GOVERNMENT FOR THE RICH. Excise duty doesn't target the poor,it targets the rich. If you are complaining about taxes on vehicles due to excise duty, you need to reevaluate your priorities in life since it simply means that your are trying to live a luxurious life yet you have no financial capacity. Ditto!! The poor walk to work or ride on matatus, they don't smoke cigarettes but sniff unprocessed tobacco, they don't drink soda or bottled water. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:Swenani wrote:mzalendo69 wrote:The new excise duty is unjust. It is oppressive to the poor while soothing the rich. It's application is a clear case of a government for the rich with no regard for the masses. Consider one calculated example; A 2008 Nissan Advan costing USD 2000 CIF suffers duty of Kes 394,000 up from Kes 189,000. A 2008 Prado costing USD 30,000 CIF is charged Kes 562,000 up from 541,000.
The law makers have no regard for mama mboga who is looking for a car to ferry nappier grass and milk to the shamba and shop respectively. Therefore reasons A GOVERNMENT FOR THE RICH. Excise duty doesn't target the poor,it targets the rich. If you are complaining about taxes on vehicles due to excise duty, you need to reevaluate your priorities in life since it simply means that your are trying to live a luxurious life yet you have no financial capacity. Ditto!! The poor walk to work or ride on matatus, they don't smoke cigarettes but sniff unprocessed tobacco, they don't drink soda or bottled water. You guys are choking the new member, now even a welcome, sit down kind of stuff Formal education will make you a living. Self-education will make you a fortune - Jim Rohn.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2009 Posts: 2,040 Location: GA
As much as it is leaving within your means one should also think of the support services in the car business from importation to delivery and thereafter kuna clearing agents ,drivers ,mtu wa kuosha at the car yard ,mechs etc Most of this guys may be jobless this time next year. mzalendo69 may be just one of the victims..
madollar wrote:As much as it is leaving within your means one should also think of the support services in the car business from importation to delivery and thereafter kuna clearing agents ,drivers ,mtu wa kuosha at the car yard ,mechs etc Most of this guys may be jobless this time next year. mzalendo69 may be just one of the victims.. It should be cheaper to buy a car assembled here. What is this obsession with mitumbas? Do you buy them so that you can take it to the mechanic? The clearing agents can clear anything else "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: New-farer Joined: 11/3/2015 Posts: 45 Location: Mombatha
murchr wrote:madollar wrote:As much as it is leaving within your means one should also think of the support services in the car business from importation to delivery and thereafter kuna clearing agents ,drivers ,mtu wa kuosha at the car yard ,mechs etc Most of this guys may be jobless this time next year. mzalendo69 may be just one of the victims.. It should be cheaper to buy a car assembled here. What is this obsession with mitumbas? Do you buy them so that you can take it to the mechanic? The clearing agents can clear anything else Lest we forget that the govt had a budget of 2.1 trln, it had to be financed one way or the other
4eva eva wrote:murchr wrote:madollar wrote:As much as it is leaving within your means one should also think of the support services in the car business from importation to delivery and thereafter kuna clearing agents ,drivers ,mtu wa kuosha at the car yard ,mechs etc Most of this guys may be jobless this time next year. mzalendo69 may be just one of the victims.. It should be cheaper to buy a car assembled here. What is this obsession with mitumbas? Do you buy them so that you can take it to the mechanic? The clearing agents can clear anything else Lest we forget that the govt had a budget of 2.1 trln, it had to be financed one way or the other You voted for the new devolution galloping constitution overwhelmingly, coz Baba alisoma now you are paying for it Formal education will make you a living. Self-education will make you a fortune - Jim Rohn.
Othelo wrote:4eva eva wrote:murchr wrote:madollar wrote:As much as it is leaving within your means one should also think of the support services in the car business from importation to delivery and thereafter kuna clearing agents ,drivers ,mtu wa kuosha at the car yard ,mechs etc Most of this guys may be jobless this time next year. mzalendo69 may be just one of the victims.. It should be cheaper to buy a car assembled here. What is this obsession with mitumbas? Do you buy them so that you can take it to the mechanic? The clearing agents can clear anything else Lest we forget that the govt had a budget of 2.1 trln, it had to be financed one way or the other You voted for the new devolution galloping constitution overwhelmingly, coz Baba alisoma now you are paying for it Exactly! "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
madollar wrote:As much as it is leaving within your means one should also think of the support services in the car business from importation to delivery and thereafter kuna clearing agents ,drivers ,mtu wa kuosha at the car yard ,mechs etc Most of this guys may be jobless this time next year. mzalendo69 may be just one of the victims.. This is a baseless and a street(a street in the middle of boni forest) argument! If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Market
Pennywise
A government for the rich