wazua Wed, Apr 29, 2026

Cost of building a bungalow
AntonyM
#1 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 1:29:12 PM

Hey Wazuans,
I would want to built a 3 bedroom bungalow, master en-suite along Kangundo road in the coming year. But I don't have lots of free time to oversee the project and all and I don't want to keep procrastinating. I am thinking of hiring a company to do the job for me (of course at a fee). If you have experience on this kind of arrangement, how much is it? What should I be expecting from the company? And if you are an architect who does the job, I'd love to hear from you. @a4architect, I would love to hear from you. And of course other professionals in the industry. I quotation and a rough estimate would be great.
#2 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 1:59:11 PM

Built?
Thats so difficult, utaweza kweli?

#3 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 2:08:46 PM

For a 3 bed bungalow there is no need for involving a company/architect, just get the plans approved - go to the area and ask the guys with houses in the vicinity for the fundi who did their houses, sit with the fundi and chart a way forward.

Sand and quarry stones are well priced those sides.

Otherwise the architects will laugh you out of the village.
Mtublack
#4 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 2:41:20 PM

try a labour contract with a competent mason or an upcoming contractor- where you source the materials yourself , if possible have a technical person to pass by ones in awhile at a fees to ensure the quality of work is good
but first have the drawings approved and involve a professional there is nothing like a small project get the preliminaries straight
Some you win some you lose
premio
#5 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 3:59:58 PM

@a4arthitect clearly said he handles big commercial, residential and gated community projects where his cut is several times bigger than the average single dwelling unit but quite good advice go look around not neccesarily around that area for an ongoing construction that looks good select 3 guys compare rates engage one. Buy everthing an negotiate a labour contract
Foundation
Walling
Roofing
Plaster
Fittings
Etc.
4eva eva
#6 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 4:15:06 PM

premio wrote:
@a4arthitect clearly said he handles big commercial, residential and gated community projects where his cut is several times bigger than the average single dwelling unit but quite good advice go look around not neccesarily around that area for an ongoing construction that looks good select 3 guys compare rates engage one. Buy everthing an negotiate a labour contract
Foundation
Walling
Roofing
Plaster
Fittings
Etc.

Once you have the drawings, look at the slab/floor area and multiply by 15-25k to get the approximate cost
#7 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 4:49:37 PM

4eva eva wrote:
premio wrote:
Foundation
Walling
Roofing
Plaster
Fittings
Etc.

Once you have the drawings, look at the slab/floor area and multiply by 15-25k to get the approximate cost

This 15k-25k remains a puzzle to me.Just finished something(stonework) and cost is already way past this yet am 60% done.
I have done the sourcing na kadhalika and am not easy to con...yet imekataa.

Unless I do not understand that calculation.

Meanwhile when ready let me know.(for a good fundi)
4eva eva
#8 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 6:43:50 PM

4eva eva wrote:
premio wrote:
Foundation
Walling
Roofing
Plaster
Fittings
Etc.

This 15k-25k remains a puzzle to me.Just finished something(stonework) and cost is already way past this yet am 60% done.

To know where the rain started beating you, please break down
your expenses and the type of structure you are putting Up and the duration of the construction to date.P.S Kujenga pole pole is costly
aljazeera
#9 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2015 7:15:31 PM

Sad Pray
Built?
Thats so difficult, utaweza kweli?

A Theory of Everything.
Iganamagana
#10 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2015 9:19:51 AM

4eva eva wrote:
premio wrote:
Foundation
Walling
Roofing
Plaster
Fittings
Etc.

To know where the rain started beating you, please break down
your expenses and the type of structure you are putting Up and the duration of the construction to date.P.S Kujenga pole pole is costly

It shouldn't be. The rate was valid way back in 2008. I was then give a rate of 20k but it ended up being 25k. I belief if the fundis stole from me, it is very little since nilisimama hapo most of the time and even chased away a few lazy and rogue ones. I however factored in everything including my own fuel when in search of fittings and material. Lakini hii kujenga sio mchezo. Unaweza pata grey hair.