wazua Sat, Feb 1, 2025

The best fiction writer?
#41 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 6:11:57 AM

Elementary, my dear Watson” remains one of the most memorable lines in modern literature. While it entered the lexicon as part of the Holmes canon, it was not a line written by Conan Doyle himself. The phrase first appeared in one of the popular Sherlock Holmes films of the 1940s, which brought a new lease on life to the detective who lived at 221b Baker Street, London.

Read More http://www.wired.com/thi...ech_0522/#ixzz0j4GqHWU2
#42 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 10:00:56 AM

Frederick Forsyth any time....his title in writing circles is "The Master Story Teller"

But wait a minute....if you really want to read a story very well told, look for Chinua Achebe's The Arrow of God and God's Bit's of Wood by Senegalese author Sembène Ousmane. Enjoy the reading!!
redondo
#43 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 11:15:34 AM

Dickens would be the man for me. He is 70% responsible for my love for reading.Dickens had such a way with words that was undoubtedly genius.

There is another author though who managed to catch my attention and spin my imagination around.One BARBARA KIMENYE...author of an adventure series around a fictional student character referred to as Moses.

Barbara Kimenye is one of those authors who make you feel that EAST OR WEST, HOME IS ALWAYS BEST.Her writings are witty yet ingeniously creative in their simplicity thus making for quite a reading.

Hats off to BarbaraApplause .Keeping it local...

Mel Munyua
#44 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 3:14:41 PM

Aemathenge, reason Ludlum is making rounds is most people havent read alot since they read Ludlum, RIP Ludlum, so since 2001 non other seems to have inspired and moved people to read more. Hats off to the Paulo lovers(Alchemist is my bible) and to those who believe in something closer to home, I think our leaders should read Man of the people by Chinua Chebe. For those who were big on Sheldon, upgrade to James Patterson (funny how the name didnt crop up).
Mel Munyua
#45 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 3:17:15 PM

Bkismat, did you watch the movie version (recent one). How did you like Guy Ritchies take on Sherlock? Lookin forward to the sequel especially with Moriaty in it, will be awesome
the sage
#46 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 3:41:05 PM

@Kusaidikika, karibu.
@digitek 1 have you ever read Maugham's Appointment in Samara? Classic.
I forgot to add J.D. Salinger, Catcher in the Rye is probably the funniest book I've read.
Phaoro
#47 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 6:52:24 PM

Stieg Larsson - The girl with the dragon tattoo is a great read. Cant wait to get a hold of his other books to complete the Millennium Trilogy.
#48 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 8:25:37 PM

redondo wrote:
Dickens would be the man for me. He is 70% responsible for my love for reading.Dickens had such a way with words that was undoubtedly genius.

There is another author though who managed to catch my attention and spin my imagination around.One BARBARA KIMENYE...author of an adventure series around a fictional student character referred to as Moses.

Barbara Kimenye is one of those authors who make you feel that EAST OR WEST, HOME IS ALWAYS BEST.Her writings are witty yet ingeniously creative in their simplicity thus making for quite a reading.

Hats off to BarbaraApplause .Keeping it local...

Yes!!!! Yes!!!!!! Barbara Kimenye is great. I still remember "Mukibi's Educational Institute for the sons of African gentlemen." and "King Kong." Redondo Bwana umenirudisha mbali sana. And while we are still local who was not fascinated by John Kiriamiti's "My life in Crime".
Oyear
#49 Posted : Thursday, March 25, 2010 8:23:47 AM

I think I need to get my hand on the Stieg Larsson trilogy, the first one just became a runaway box office hit. Figure I read the books then see if the movies add up . . . just hope they do English voiceovers for the movies.
redondo
#50 Posted : Thursday, March 25, 2010 12:55:56 PM

@Kusadikika
Bwana K, naona kuna mengi ya kuzungumzia kati yangu na wewe. Ni burudani kila mara kukutana na mmoja au wawili wanaopenda na kuvutiwa na utamu wa lugha. AAAAHHHHH----burudani kweli.
Ulishawahi kukisoma kitabu 'Nyota Ya Rehema',na kile cha Ken Walibora- 'Siku Njema'. Nafikiri Siku Njema siku hizi hutahiniwa katika shule.
PS----Ken Walibora aliweza kucheza na lugha akakuwacha wewe msomaji na utamu wa hadithi uliokolea kooni.Katika kimombo waweza kusema 'he squeezed the juice out of simple Swahili while dotting it here and there with proverbs that made the otherwise everyday story turn into a captivating tale of a young man's journey through life.'

About Barbara...what I remember most is Rukia applying vaseline on his moustache, Itchy fingers, Moses and the day they tried to brew beer in the Institute of East Africa's GentlemenLaughing out loudly ...made for a serious laugh.And how could I have forgotten King Kong--was he the watchman?Remind me Bwana.

On John Kariamiti a.k.a John Baptista Wanjohi...http://www.eastafricanpublishers.com/News/Author%20of%20week-John%20Kiriamiti.htm

....EAEP seem to have gone digital in a partnership with Google docs and Uchuuzi.
tuvok
#51 Posted : Thursday, March 25, 2010 2:21:42 PM

My personal all time favourite author - Robert Ludlum. The books released after his death though have never quite matched the standards of the likes of The Apocalypse Watch, The Prometheus deception and the Bourne Trilogy.

Sidney Sheldon also was a great read - I read the Doomsday conspiracy literally from start to end in 4th form. Never mind sijui exams and what.

I think of these two authors - I've read a majority of their books.

I read a few James Hadley Chase - quite good too.

Fredrick Forsyth really good too, and Grishams as well.

There's also David Baldacci and Vince Flynn with his Jack Bauer like Mitch Rapp.

Never quite got to read Stephen King much.

-

On a related note - there's the Book Villa - 8th floor Norwich Union which has great membership deals - I'm sure many wazuans know about it but just in case...
#52 Posted : Thursday, March 25, 2010 8:04:04 PM

it came in stages. primary school; mwangi ruheni, Charles Mangua, james hardley chase..high school; robert rudlum and fredrick forsyth...later; Tom clancy, Jeffrey Archer,...at the moment the only writer ever read is Wilbur Smith.

@kusadikika
kweli lugha umeifahamu kabisa
#53 Posted : Tuesday, May 13, 2014 1:45:59 PM

Do people read these kinds of books anymore?
#54 Posted : Tuesday, May 13, 2014 3:01:52 PM

aemathenge wrote:
Do people read these kinds of books anymore?

they prefer motivation books
Msa Liti
#55 Posted : Tuesday, May 13, 2014 3:37:18 PM

I have not read much of late but Mario Puzo still my favourite fic writer, I also love Agatha Christie, especially the "The Murder of Roger Ackroyd, I have read this book a number of times!!!!!

Wow!!! What a book. I read it while in college a while back. Simply awesome. I had borrowed the book from a friend who had borrowed it from a library. So I had only the night to read it. Once I started there was no stopping.
I hear Hercule is the only fictional person to appear in the obituary pages of the NY Times.

#56 Posted : Tuesday, May 13, 2014 4:07:43 PM

redondo wrote:
@Kusadikika
Bwana K, naona kuna mengi ya kuzungumzia kati yangu na wewe. Ni burudani kila mara kukutana na mmoja au wawili wanaopenda na kuvutiwa na utamu wa lugha. AAAAHHHHH----burudani kweli.
Ulishawahi kukisoma kitabu 'Nyota Ya Rehema',na kile cha Ken Walibora- 'Siku Njema'. Nafikiri Siku Njema siku hizi hutahiniwa katika shule.
PS----Ken Walibora aliweza kucheza na lugha akakuwacha wewe msomaji na utamu wa hadithi uliokolea kooni.Katika kimombo waweza kusema 'he squeezed the juice out of simple Swahili while dotting it here and there with proverbs that made the otherwise everyday story turn into a captivating tale of a young man's journey through life.'

About Barbara...what I remember most is Rukia applying vaseline on his moustache, Itchy fingers, Moses and the day they tried to brew beer in the Institute of East Africa's GentlemenLaughing out loudly ...made for a serious laugh.And how could I have forgotten King Kong--was he the watchman?Remind me Bwana.

On John Kariamiti a.k.a John Baptista Wanjohi...http://www.eastafricanpublishers.com/News/Author%20of%20week-John%20Kiriamiti.htm

....EAEP seem to have gone digital in a partnership with Google docs and Uchuuzi.

Among the many african writers I have read, meja mwangi alinibamba mbaya mbovu na riwaya yake ya "Going down river road" I remember when I read the novel I had a complete hard on throughout the whole time I had intercourse with it. And mind you pussy was so scarce those days you could look for it for months without finding any...what a writer.
#57 Posted : Wednesday, May 14, 2014 1:54:55 AM

redondo wrote:
@Kusadikika

Among the many african writers I have read, meja mwangi alinibamba mbaya mbovu na riwaya yake ya "Going down river road" I remember when I read the novel I had a complete hard on throughout the whole time I had intercourse with it. And mind you pussy was so scarce those days you could look for it for months without finding any...what a writer.

Have you ever held a book and got mad at someone interrupting your reading? Never mind that they were calling you for loaf(in primo) or fish(in campus)?

An Uncle back in shags gave me Kiriamiti's My life in Crime and Meja Mwangi's Kill me quick. He still remains my favorite Uncle to date. Kwanza you've reminded me sijamnunulia kanywaji this year.

As @Willin2learn put it, it also came in progression. From Hardy boys/Nancy Drews, James Hardley Chase, Sidney Sheldon, Pacesetters in primo, to Archer, Grisham, Forsyth, Robin Cook later on. Mailu spoilt my head(both). I thank God I'm yet to come across Mang'ua.

Age has brought with it self-help-books and blogs. But the recent Chimamanda's books I've read, have kept me captivated till the very end.

kiterunner
#58 Posted : Wednesday, May 14, 2014 9:06:45 AM

Kiterunner by Khaled Hosseini

Chnua Achebe's trilogy

PS

Unfortunately/ interestingly wazua middle class doesnt fancy African writes!!!
our goals are best achieved indirectly
wa P
#59 Posted : Wednesday, May 14, 2014 3:48:29 PM

kiterunner wrote:
Kiterunner by Khaled Hosseini

Chnua Achebe's trilogy

PS

Unfortunately/ interestingly wazua middle class doesnt fancy African writes!!!

Am not middle class. Thus find verve in 'African Writers Series'. Mariama Ba's 'So Long a Letter is a masterpiece.

The icing on cake after Kiriamiti, Ruheni, Chase, Ludlum, Sheldon, Archer (esp post jail)etal... is Grisham (legal genre - kindred)and James Michener.

But one need to have turned a certain curve to hve met Michener...Tales of South Pacific, Hawaii, Sayonara...
wanyee
#60 Posted : Wednesday, May 14, 2014 6:43:22 PM

Alex La Guma's A Walk in the Night ,Miguel Street- Naipaul