wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

47 Pages«<3233343536>»
Matatu Business
Modoh
#661 Posted : Friday, October 30, 2015 4:48:01 PM

@swaleh01....on your post about Vanette as a mathree, here are my two cents.

I bought one in Feb 2015.2009 model auto diesel for 800K(good deal-normal ranges were 950), single rear.
Take note of the following:
- seats ni 26,500
- sacco fees(pesa ya shimo) were 70k, iko based in upcounty
- comprehensive 145K
- windows 7k
- 2wd
- wages za dere na kange 500+400
- maintance 4500k on average,kuna siku inaitisha break pads,mguu n stuff
- the route is well tarmacked

Returns on average 40k@month
Msafara wa mamba burukenge hawakosi![/b]
tmakto
#662 Posted : Saturday, October 31, 2015 4:05:36 PM

Modoh wrote:
@swaleh01....on your post about Vanette as a mathree, here are my two cents.

I bought one in Feb 2015.2009 model auto diesel for 800K(good deal-normal ranges were 950), single rear.
Take note of the following:
- seats ni 26,500
- sacco fees(pesa ya shimo) were 70k, iko based in upcounty
- comprehensive 145K
- windows 7k
- 2wd
- wages za dere na kange 500+400
- maintance 4500k on average,kuna siku inaitisha break pads,mguu n stuff
- the route is well tarmacked

Returns on average 40k@month

Thanks for sharing. Eye opening.

I'll add from personal experience its not a hands-free business (not like there is any really). So be ready to be monitor what's going on.

#663 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2015 7:35:09 PM

What is range of prices for 15 inch 195 tyres for a matatu 14 seater?
subaru
#664 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2015 8:41:31 PM

kyt wrote:

Nunua kwa waria best prices
junior121121
#665 Posted : Sunday, November 29, 2015 12:56:31 PM

also buying from dubai and bringing in
#666 Posted : Monday, November 30, 2015 7:53:00 PM

kyt wrote:

Around 7,800/= for 195R15C Maxxis.
jerry
#667 Posted : Monday, November 30, 2015 9:31:22 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
kyt wrote:

Where do you buy at such a reasonable price?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#668 Posted : Wednesday, December 02, 2015 11:45:36 AM

jerry wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
kyt wrote:

Where do you buy at such a reasonable price?

Was offered that price by a fellow in my town early last month. He also had Dunlop going at slightly lower price than this, same size. Previously, I've bought from any of those shops around Cross Road/Kumasi road.
Jon Jones
#669 Posted : Sunday, January 03, 2016 1:22:06 PM

I have been doing a study regarding matatu business. I have observed that one can get a new petrol "box" HiAce in a few locations in Kenya as per olx etc. I would like some advice from the veterans matatuman et al, about how much I could save if I decided to import the vehicle instead of buying locally at 1.8 million. How much do I expect to save if I decide to import instead of buying from local suppliers? Can I get a total cost of 1.4 or 1.5 if I import?
http://www.olx.co.ke/ad/...ol-long-dx-ID15GuLW.html
Since men have learned to shoot without missing, I have learned to fly without perching
matatuman
#670 Posted : Sunday, January 03, 2016 2:00:42 PM

Jon Jones wrote:
I have been doing a study regarding matatu business. I have observed that one can get a new petrol "box" HiAce in a few locations in Kenya as per olx etc. I would like some advice from the veterans matatuman et al, about how much I could save if I decided to import the vehicle instead of buying locally at 1.8 million. How much do I expect to save if I decide to import instead of buying from local suppliers? Can I get a total cost of 1.4 or 1.5 if I import?
http://www.olx.co.ke/ad/...l-long-dx-ID15GuLW.html

1.4.... That was two years ago. Realistic budget is 1.6 to 1.7. Doesn't mean you cant get it for less than 1.6 though. It depends on your patience, bargaining skills and of course condition of the vehicle.

If i were you, i would not buy a petrol at that price, difference in prices is no longer significant. Ongeza kidogo and get a diesel.
Jon Jones
#671 Posted : Sunday, January 03, 2016 3:23:31 PM

matatuman wrote:
Jon Jones wrote:

1.4.... That was two years ago. Realistic budget is 1.6 to 1.7. Doesn't mean you cant get it for less than 1.6 though. It depends on your patience, bargaining skills and of course condition of the vehicle.

If i were you, i would not buy a petrol at that price, difference in prices is no longer significant. Ongeza kidogo and get a diesel.

What is the maximum amount I should budget for in order to pay the joining fee for a sacco? How much should I budget as joining fees on average or basically, what range to typical saccos charge new entrants (first vehicle)?
Since men have learned to shoot without missing, I have learned to fly without perching
tom_boy
#672 Posted : Sunday, January 03, 2016 3:32:54 PM

Jon Jones wrote:
matatuman wrote:
Jon Jones wrote:

What is the maximum amount I should budget for in order to pay the joining fee for a sacco? How much should I budget as joining fees on average or basically, what range to typical saccos charge new entrants (first vehicle)?

Wewe Jon Jones, what study have you been doing if you dont even know joining fees for sacco. You are not serious in your studies. Please go back to class.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
subaru
#673 Posted : Sunday, January 03, 2016 3:33:39 PM

Jon Jones wrote:
matatuman wrote:
Jon Jones wrote:

@ jon jones si u join me we unleash a 33 seater
mwania
#674 Posted : Sunday, January 03, 2016 8:54:43 PM

Is it better to run a 33 seater matatu really than the 14 seater ones for long distances? Who runs the 33 seaters in Nairobi? How much does it give you gross per month? From all the adverts, I have not seen a 2008 diesel, automatic Toyota Hiace for less than 2.5m. In fact some are being advertised for Shs. 3.3m Petrol ones are going for between 1.9 and 2.3m. With such a disparity between petrol and diesel Hiaces, would it not make sense to buy the petrol ones?
matatuman
#675 Posted : Sunday, January 03, 2016 10:27:16 PM

mwania wrote:
Is it better to run a 33 seater matatu really than the 14 seater ones for long distances? Who runs the 33 seaters in Nairobi? How much does it give you gross per month? From all the adverts, I have not seen a 2008 diesel, automatic Toyota Hiace for less than 2.5m. In fact some are being advertised for Shs. 3.3m Petrol ones are going for between 1.9 and 2.3m. With such a disparity between petrol and diesel Hiaces, would it not make sense to buy the petrol ones?

Why would you buy a petrol van for 1.9? Stop shopping on olx and do some real ground work, mnaharibu soko. The only Hiace that should cost 3m or more is the Super Long Wide wheelbase currently being bought by bus operators on the kiambu route. And please go through this thread before asking questions that have been answered.

matatuman
#676 Posted : Sunday, January 03, 2016 10:30:00 PM

Jon Jones wrote:
matatuman wrote:
Jon Jones wrote:

My brother, huwezi saidika. Hii si biashara ya kulisha na simu or in your case internet. Excuse my french.
mwania
#677 Posted : Sunday, January 03, 2016 11:04:29 PM

Matatuman, I think it is good to understand that as far as I know, "kuuliza si ujinga". I have read through all the posts severally and none gives you clear answers.. only very rough estimates devoid of full facts about the business: for example, how do we calculate net profits of we do not enumerate all the known expenses? Income tax is part of business and nobody seems to account for it anywhere. Known expenses in my opninion are fuel, maintenance costs, licensing costs, tyre replacement, human resources (Driver, conductor), management fees, miscellaneous (bribery cum extortion, inspection,etc), advance tax (and income tax from the gross profits). If we enumerate the above and share the general gross collections per month, depreciation, then we can decide. Please, share information about the price of a 2008 Diesel Hiace if you have. For now, one can only estimate using the prices advertised on OLX/ and other web sites.. Actual price will be used at the point of purchasing. We are also in other businesses too and can also advise in our respective areas of operation. The need for diversification is the reason we are asking. We are ignorant and therefore are seeking information.

This is a dynamic industry and discussions of 2006 are not necessarily accurate enough.
mwania
#678 Posted : Sunday, January 03, 2016 11:17:48 PM

I think we need to discuss tax elements in our business ventures too because it is bound to affect the ventures in the long run.
junior121121
#679 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 1:08:44 AM

mwania wrote:

I have a few 33 seater (Some with Chama). You are looking at about 8500-10k daily as return. This is net. All are operating within Nairobi.
tnai9
#680 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2016 8:07:31 AM

subaru wrote:

@ jon jones si u join me we unleash a 33 seater

Hey @Subaru
What does joining you entail? what figures are we talking about assuming its a 50/50 arrangement?
"The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski