wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

DTB 09M15
Pesa Nane
#1 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2015 5:17:52 PM

Group

Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
Pesa Nane
#2 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2015 5:19:37 PM

Pesa Nane
#3 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2015 5:28:31 PM

Zoomed
Arconnrk
#4 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2016 5:54:10 AM

Just caught this interview in which the head of the Kenya Matatu Owners Association mentioned that they were partnering with DTB to re-boot the cashless payment system after it failed miserably over the past year.

Link

I like the way DTB quietly let Safcon, Simba and Equity fight it out with their competing systems; now that these are seemingly exhausted, they've quietly snuck in their own experiment with cashless payment. What I got from this is that the KMOA's members have formed Pamoja Ltd. and will have their own 'Pamoja' payment card with DTB providing the technical infrastructure and other backing for processing the fare payments. I don't know if this will be more successful than the efforts of the giants, but it's promising that DTB is working hand in hand with the industry players rather than launching a product then hoping to entice matatu owners to join up.
Even the birds can testify...but you forget the chief has his son as the judge and his son-in-law as interpreter- Oumar Ba
#5 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2016 9:37:27 AM

@Arconnrk :
Nakumatt have replaced the "Points Card" with DTB Visa Debit cards.
KenolKobil is replacing their K-Cards with DTB Visa Debit cards.
#6 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2016 10:26:02 AM

Arconnrk wrote:
Just caught this interview in which the head of the Kenya Matatu Owners Association mentioned that they were partnering with DTB to re-boot the cashless payment system after it failed miserably over the past year.

Link

I like the way DTB quietly let Safcon, Simba and Equity fight it out with their competing systems; now that these are seemingly exhausted, they've quietly snuck in their own experiment with cashless payment. What I got from this is that the KMOA's members have formed Pamoja Ltd. and will have their own 'Pamoja' payment card with DTB providing the technical infrastructure and other backing for processing the fare payments. I don't know if this will be more successful than the efforts of the giants, but it's promising that DTB is working hand in hand with the industry players rather than launching a product then hoping to entice matatu owners to join up.

Cashless payment is sabotaged by the industry itself... the saccos, drivers, touts, mungiki, police, stage managers etc
Arconnrk
#7 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2016 7:34:35 AM

@Arconnrk :

Thanks for the context @VVS. One thing that troubles me about DTB is that they told us they were looking into pushing into DRC and Madagascar- that was nearly 2 years ago and not much word on progress. Indeed it was the fact that they were looking at these two countries at a time when other expanding banks were absorbed in South Sudan and East Africa that caught my eye about DTB. I hope the idea did not quietly die.

@Sparkly, I agree, there is a whole food chain that must be fed in cash in the Matatu industry. But the police on the other hand, at least based on what's come out of the vetting process have already moved to a cashless bribe payment system. My eyes were opened when I learnt that the Mpesa outlets near police lines are mostly owned by senior officers (link). So I think the police cartels have already 'migrated' to digital corruption- they're simply waiting for the rest of us to catch up.
Even the birds can testify...but you forget the chief has his son as the judge and his son-in-law as interpreter- Oumar Ba
watesh
#8 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2016 8:13:25 AM

Arconnrk wrote:

Link

It will still fail, the only way this thing can work is if touts and drivers are also willing to implement
muandiwambeu
#9 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2016 1:32:44 PM

watesh wrote:
Arconnrk wrote:

Link

It will still fail, the only way this thing can work is if touts and drivers are also willing to implement

The main actor here is the tout, who pulls the strings any direction and at will. but imagine none of the other players, except the oficer, who else is not whinning, wibling and wobling because of the soldier in maroon. the mat owner needs money for the investment, KMOA wants there cut asap, police have evolved, driver would get promoted, but the tout will not here none of it. its time to for the change and the old must go with the tout and the conductor.
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
#10 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2016 8:03:53 PM

Arconnrk wrote:
@Arconnrk :

Thanks for the context @VVS. One thing that troubles me about DTB is that they told us they were looking into pushing into DRC and Madagascar- that was nearly 2 years ago and not much word on progress. Indeed it was the fact that they were looking at these two countries at a time when other expanding banks were absorbed in South Sudan and East Africa that caught my eye about DTB. I hope the idea did not quietly die.
DTB is a conservative bank. They probably haven't found the right bank [or the numbers didn't make sense]. Then there's Kenya which remains profitable i.e. why not concentrate on increasing market share in Kenya?
DRC is weird and risky [but profits high]. Plus DTB should go into RW before DRC since Rwanda is to DRC what Dubai is the the Middle East.
wazuaguest
#11 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2016 9:17:24 PM

The returns are very low vis a vis the amount of capital you will invest in a matatu system.
Actually the only thing that can make transport cashless is mobile money.
Africa belongs to Africans.