wazua Thu, Jan 9, 2025

Contract Farming
#1 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2015 10:53:37 AM

Anyone have any ideas or contacts for this?

I have some land, and am willing to farm on contract...ie the buyer of the produce supplies me with seed, fertilizer etc and my input is the land and labour.

Any variation of this is welcome.

Any thoughts or experiences?
#2 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2015 11:39:04 AM

I have some land, and am willing to farm on contract...ie the buyer of the produce supplies me with seed, fertilizer etc and my input is the land and labour.

@KulaHappy, Where is the land and what's the acreage? This will provide a guide for leads.
#3 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2015 12:44:54 PM

Near Thika, 5 acres. Can do veggies, fruits etc. No bulk stuff like maize or wheat.
#4 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2015 1:23:19 PM

I can give you some seeds, but si umechelewa for this rains? I usually check to see the farmer has prepared his land where he will plant if i am to give away seeds to be sure he sells back to me otherwise i have to sell. Tuongee before next rains.
A New Kenya
Chaka
#5 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2015 2:09:19 PM

I can give you some seeds, but si umechelewa for this rains? I usually check to see the farmer has prepared his land where he will plant if i am to give away seeds to be sure he sells back to me otherwise i have to sell. Tuongee before next rains.

Maybe @Kularaha will not rely on rain?His land may be near Athi or Chania rivers?
#6 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2015 2:44:10 PM

Chaka wrote:

Maybe @Kularaha will not rely on rain?His land may be near Athi or Chania rivers?

Ni sawa although we are very conservationist in our approach, we promote use of irrigation only to "boost" a few weeks before rains, or overcome early stages of drought to ensure good harvest. Kenya's food problem is mostly related to food PRICE/value addition chain and not rainfall, pests, e.t.c we also prefer using organic mbolea kwa hivo time ya kujitayarisha, unless i send my wakulima "techies" to thika to start hunting for mboleo.
A New Kenya
tmakto
#7 Posted : Friday, October 30, 2015 6:56:32 PM

Have you thought of mushrooms?
wazuaguest
#8 Posted : Friday, November 13, 2015 5:33:58 PM

Chaka wrote:

Ni sawa although we are very conservationist in our approach, we promote use of irrigation only to "boost" a few weeks before rains, or overcome early stages of drought to ensure good harvest. Kenya's food problem is mostly related to food PRICE/value addition chain and not rainfall, pests, e.t.c we also prefer using organic mbolea kwa hivo time ya kujitayarisha, unless i send my wakulima "techies" to thika to start hunting for mboleo.

@MuchKnow do you contract countrywide?Personally i do farming in Olkalou.
Africa belongs to Africans.
#9 Posted : Friday, November 13, 2015 7:00:03 PM

wazuaguest wrote:
Chaka wrote:

Currently just a couple of farmers near my shags. I can send you the seeds IF YOU ARE SERIOUS and you can commit to send back a larger amount of seeds back after harvest (easy) by matatu, you can pick them at the ol kalau (mololine) stage kama parcel. Try to plant a small place first, a quarter acre hivi, one acre. Reason being sale of "kizungu" seeds is regulated under kephis/affa (including the obvious expected to be scheduled plants in the delayed constitutional laws), but mine are organic Ibisnian indigenous FOOD traded normally(very valuable), under the 2010 constitution, section 2 (culture), indigenous seeds, i can distribute culturally( we are no1 experts in traditional mt.Kenya seed trade) , you will also be left with a stock of seeds, we will also buy back the produce and give you directions/videos on how to plant online. If we market well in Kenya, or if direct flights to USA come to Kenya as Obama said soon, you might become a bit more 'cam=-fartable' before 2017. In simple words "AT YOUR OWN RISK", "BUYER BEWARE"! Yes!
A New Kenya
wazuaguest
#10 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 6:36:50 PM

wazuaguest wrote:
Chaka wrote:

Currently just a couple of farmers near my shags. I can send you the seeds IF YOU ARE SERIOUS and you can commit to send back a larger amount of seeds back after harvest (easy) by matatu, you can pick them at the ol kalau (mololine) stage kama parcel. Try to plant a small place first, a quarter acre hivi, one acre. Reason being sale of "kizungu" seeds is regulated under kephis/affa (including the obvious expected to be scheduled plants in the delayed constitutional laws), but mine are organic Ibisnian indigenous FOOD traded normally(very valuable), under the 2010 constitution, section 2 (culture), indigenous seeds, i can distribute culturally( we are no1 experts in traditional mt.Kenya seed trade) , you will also be left with a stock of seeds, we will also buy back the produce and give you directions/videos on how to plant online. If we market well in Kenya, or if direct flights to USA come to Kenya as Obama said soon, you might become a bit more 'cam=-fartable' before 2017. In simple words "AT YOUR OWN RISK", "BUYER BEWARE"! Yes!

At the start of this year i made a decision to start farming seriously.

lets do this at the start of the next planting season.Ie March 2016

Meanwhile drop me an email on wazuaguest (at) gmail (.) com

So that once the planting season kicks off i will remind you.

Your conditions are ok with me.Hopefully there will be a bumper harvest.

Africa belongs to Africans.
Chaka
#11 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 11:35:03 AM

wazuaguest wrote:

What crop is this?
#12 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 12:16:46 PM

Chaka wrote:
wazuaguest wrote:

What crop is this?

My flagship is hibiscus sabdariffa (coast mribena, choya e.t.c), and Kimeru yams which i am still developing propagation, i have some traditional indigenous maize and lablab/beans duracol aka njahi seeds which i am still developing, some farmers managed to keep some of these crops e.t.c , basically traditional African foods seeds and trade.

Hibiscus is very high value (prices over 10k per kilo for organic certified ziko mayuu), good scientific rigor, it's lightweight, easy to grow/plant, matures quickly (3 to 4 months) and can be transported by air profitably, the US (and some EU countries and Japan) currently import from Germany, who import from Sudan, because US has some restrictions that do not allow them to get direct from Sudan. Kenya's production is still too low to fill this gap if any direct flights come, though this might result in a sustainable growth for investors in this sector......in the long term!

My main focus however is developing the local (lower income market), i can guarantee a price of 300/- per kilo ( i make between 1k and 2k per kilo), but you might get better, plus it is easy to sell,particularly the cool juice.
A New Kenya
Chaka
#13 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 4:18:17 PM

@Much Know,
For the hibiscus,will you expect fresh flowers or dry ones i,e is the pricing wet or dry price?Also how will you handle the FDA,which I understand is very tough..?
#14 Posted : Thursday, November 19, 2015 10:17:26 AM

Chaka wrote:
@Much Know,
For the hibiscus,will you expect fresh flowers or dry ones i,e is the pricing wet or dry price?Also how will you handle the FDA,which I understand is very tough..?

I buy the dried, from near i can buy the fresh and dry/prepare them. I really do not encourage the 'EXPORT' mentality particularly when food is scarce in Kenya, it is simply a Moi error misnomer about business & that's why many honchos in his garment were after exporting flowers and stealing tea/coffee money as we starve, it's simply unethical at times silly and unsustainable (turns into cartel) killing farmer. Sell to your neighbor please, or let the Americans come to buy at your place. When exporting hibiscus tea from Kenya to USA you will have no problem and no interaction with FDA, there is an approved list that covers many things, search for it at US customs, or the US Dept. Agriculture portal. That's how kiashes ship food from here. The honors of filling necessary forms is with the buyer and not you, and is simple and straight forward, there is a possibility there is a Kenyan bureaucracy/form to export huge quantities (cargo/shipping). I know a few people who export 20kgs/5Kgs e.t.c, you can even use postal services as long as you fill their simple form, or use a site like Amazon.com who have already filled necessary forms. There are places to trade as a more serious seller but you buy membership for kitu 50K per annum. FDA are strict on labeling (e.g 'organic') and unapproved stuff.
A New Kenya
majimaji
#15 Posted : Friday, November 20, 2015 2:09:52 PM

following closely
#16 Posted : Friday, November 20, 2015 4:56:53 PM

@muchknow, kindly send your email to dropmyload at gmail dot com. Would like a detailed chat to take things forward.
kayhara
#17 Posted : Friday, November 20, 2015 6:42:27 PM

My folks do contract farming FOR BAT, and EABL for barley and tobacco leaves, very profitable venture the only other I know is spices and herbs and some medicinal plants contracts some farmers were offered in Laikipia
To Each His Own
#18 Posted : Friday, November 20, 2015 7:33:25 PM

kayhara wrote:

My folks do contract farming FOR BAT, and EABL for barley and tobacco leaves, very profitable venture the only other I know is spices and herbs and some medicinal plants contracts some farmers were offered in Laikipia

I can do spices and herbs. Any leads?
#19 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2015 8:49:22 AM

@wazuaguest, @Kularaha check you emails. Thanks for the interest, sure we can make something substantial of the opportunity with your individual/collective smart inputs.
A New Kenya
Milele
#20 Posted : Friday, December 11, 2015 1:58:12 PM

@wazuaguest, @Kularaha check you emails. Thanks for the interest, sure we can make something substantial of the opportunity with your individual/collective smart inputs.

@Much know, would also be interested in the contract farming, pliz give me the details too.
Thanks in advance.