wazua Thu, Jan 9, 2025

advice a brother
merick
#1 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 10:00:40 AM

Hi Wazuans,

i have a toyota corolla year 2004 in very good condition and iv been thinking of how to make it start generating something small for me. Anyone who knows a taxi company taking up cars of that age? what is the return? what is the risk? and any other pointers..
UpcomingPaperChaser
#2 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 12:04:02 PM

Sell the salon at 300-400k.....and then buy an imbo Nissan 14 seater (the plain, uncolored ones)....that plies Nairobi routes as from 7 pm.....1k net Monday - Friday....2k Saturday and Sunday!!
Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
aljazeera
#3 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 12:14:19 PM

merick wrote:
Hi Wazuans,

i have a toyota corolla year 2004 in very good condition and iv been thinking of how to make it start generating something small for me. Anyone who knows a taxi company taking up cars of that age? what is the return? what is the risk? and any other pointers..

Rather you keep your car and run something on your own !
These threads would help you with some insights into what you are looking at

1. Wazua » SME » Ideas » Car hire

2. Wazua » SME » Ideas » Leasing a car to a Cab company- Pros n cons?

3.azua » Groups » Advice » Car Hire Biashara
Think
A Theory of Everything.
Chaka
#4 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 12:17:55 PM

UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:
Sell the salon at 300-400k.....and then buy an imbo Nissan 14 seater (the plain, uncolored ones)....that plies Nairobi routes as from 7 pm.....1k net Monday - Friday....2k Saturday and Sunday!!

Where would this thing be parked during the day before starting the nightshift?
#5 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 1:01:42 PM

Matatu business is not for the faint hearted or the uninitiated. The stress can kill you. You would rather get a driver - like your cab guy or the cab guy of a friend and get into an arrangement - He uses the car and gives you a fixed amount daily and also agree on maintenance and other cost breakdown. Getting a relatively dependable person will be the challenge!
#6 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 1:05:50 PM

Matatu biz lazima ukuwe na 100,000 emergency fund kama unataka flow less business
#7 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 1:16:08 PM

kyt wrote:
Matatu biz lazima ukuwe na 100,000 emergency fund kama unataka flow less business

And if you are new to the biz everyone will take advantage of you from the crew to the traffic police to the Mungiki etc.

Rule of thumb - Matatu haitakagi mtu wa ofisi. The crew will be lying to you because they know you can't leave the office every time. Gari imeshikwa, wanataka 10k. Gari imeharibu bla bla bla, tuko garage.

At the beginning, they will not lie so much but once you get tired of leaving the office every time, then they take you to the dry cleaners! And even if you randomly decide to go, they rope in the mechanic/police man into the plan.

Matatu inataka mtu hands on!!
Museveni
#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 1:29:14 PM

aljazeera wrote:
merick wrote:
Hi Wazuans,

Rather you keep your car and run something on your own !
These threads would help you with some insights into what you are looking at

1. Wazua » SME » Ideas » Car hire

2. Wazua » SME » Ideas » Leasing a car to a Cab company- Pros n cons?

3.Wazua » Groups » Advice » Car Hire Biashara
Think

Most likely all you need is up there somewhere. Sometimes all you have to do is use the custom google search box in wazua since this may end up being merged with one of those threads provided
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
matatuman
#9 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 1:35:53 PM

I do not mean to be rude but those are theories. Infact, I dare you to do it. Keep chasing paper like that and you will end up groping at shadows. Then some journalist will write a story about how chaotic the industry is and use you as a case study.
geofreygachie
#10 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 7:35:51 PM

I have noted this trend at Route 25 Baba Dogo /Lucky Summer Estate.Unmarked /conductorless vans ferry people from Koja Roundabout terminus every day from 7pm and earlier on fridays and weekends.
Same thing happens at Westlands with very old vans ferrying people to Kangemi and they do it from 4pm every day.
Divers - can you laugh in scuba gear, or will you drown? I was wondering. - James May.
geofreygachie
#11 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 7:44:03 PM

matatuman wrote:

I do not mean to be rude but those are theories. Infact, I dare you to do it. Keep chasing paper like that and you will end up groping at shadows. Then some journalist will write a story about how chaotic the industry is and use you as a case study.

I am in no way supporting paperchaser but whatever he described happens everyday.
Route 25 Nairobi -Baba Dogo /Lucky summer estate ,there are unmarked vans/no conductor that are stationed at Khoja Roundabout terminus this has been going on for almost an year now .Just check the place every day from 7pm karibu na the toilet and you will be amazed by the number.
The same happens in Westlands to Kangemi everyday from 4pm just outside ChildFund Office.The hustle is real.
Divers - can you laugh in scuba gear, or will you drown? I was wondering. - James May.
UpcomingPaperChaser
#12 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 8:09:08 PM

matatuman wrote:

This is a working business my brother! My cuzo is deep into that biz......with two nissans that ply some two different routes in Nairobi. As from 7 there are no cops on the road and the crew do not get ways of manipulating you. Mat za mchana ndio balaa.
UpcomingPaperChaser
#13 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 8:11:22 PM

Matatu business is not for the faint hearted or the uninitiated. The stress can kill you. You would rather get a driver - like your cab guy or the cab guy of a friend and get into an arrangement - He uses the car and gives you a fixed amount daily and also agree on maintenance and other cost breakdown. Getting a relatively dependable person will be the challenge!

This is not the normal matatu biz bro..... all you need as from 7 PM is just a driver.....makanga will fill up the car at the stage and you will give them 100/=. the car makes two trips to and fro mtaani...by 11 the driver returns the car on weekdays and at 2 AM on weekends. There is no room for manipulation like the daytime matatu!!
UpcomingPaperChaser
#14 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 8:12:54 PM

Chaka wrote:

Where would this thing be parked during the day before starting the nightshift?

You just park it mtaani. because the car has no yellow line so it remains as private in the eyes of individuals.
UpcomingPaperChaser
#15 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 8:14:37 PM

geofreygachie wrote:
matatuman wrote:

I am in no way supporting paperchaser but whatever he described happens everyday.
Route 25 Nairobi -Baba Dogo /Lucky summer estate ,there are unmarked vans/no conductor that are stationed at Khoja Roundabout terminus this has been going on for almost an year now .Just check the place every day from 7pm karibu na the toilet and you will be amazed by the number.
The same happens in Westlands to Kangemi everyday from 4pm just outside ChildFund Office.The hustle is real.

The hustle is real man...remind our brother above
Chaka
#16 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 9:01:38 PM

@ UPC,
What I don't get is how these 'fake' mats operate w/o being harassed by goons hired by the 'genuine' ones?
Also,are these 'fake' vehicles insured?Whichever way looks like they are well driven..Who inducted your rela to this biz?I would imagine the fares get friendly as the roads clear into the night?
#17 Posted : Thursday, November 19, 2015 10:19:24 AM

Chaka, the hustle is real.very real
subzero
#18 Posted : Thursday, November 19, 2015 1:33:42 PM

I've seen these very very old Nissans on waiyaki way for a very long time. they run almost through the night on many other routes.
returns of 1k/2k sounds plausible
#19 Posted : Thursday, November 19, 2015 2:23:47 PM

Plys walevi routes Buru/umoja/Koma every friday, Sato and Sundays - odd hours from 11pm into the night. Convinient because they at times accomodate requests for drop offsom the main route na unaongeza kitu kidogo. Cheaper than taxis!
UpcomingPaperChaser
#20 Posted : Thursday, November 19, 2015 4:08:57 PM

Chaka wrote:
@ UPC,
What I don't get is how these 'fake' mats operate w/o being harassed by goons hired by the 'genuine' ones?
Also,are these 'fake' vehicles insured?Whichever way looks like they are well driven..Who inducted your rela to this biz?I would imagine the fares get friendly as the roads clear into the night?

They are not insured.......i havent witnessed any accident involving the said mats. Maybe coz at night the roads are clear hence a bit safe.

My relative was inducted by some owners who also have the vehicles. Fares are fixed......at night...tao - kahawa west..100/=, so 14 passengers is 1400. When coming back to tao, say you get 6 passengers paying 50 bob each...300......if you make two trips, to-and-fro, u are assured of 2k.......weekend things are good....hata 4k is possible.