Investor
Stocks
No Cash - Rebalancing The Portfolio
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,121 Location: Nairobi
I have a dilemma. I see bargains. I have no cash. I have some stocks which I like for the 3+ year period that is beyond the 2017 election. I have given my reasons on multiple posts on what I hold these. KenolKobil KenRe Unga I&M Williamson/Kapchorua There are other shares here and there but the above are my core holdings. I think I am diversified but the question is what do I buy that is more promising than those above. And what do I sell from the above? No more than 5-10 core holdings. I can concentrate better on managing, following, reviewing, attending AGMs, etc for only 10 holdings. I do not mind attending other AGMs or meetings if there is a chance it opens my eyes. I don't want more than 1 pick per sector which is why I have just 1 Bank, 1 non-bank Financial, 1 FMCG Industrial, 1 agricultural and 1 commercial/trading firm. As prices have fallen; Centum pops out. As does Equity & HFCK. Britam too. And KPLC [an old small position in place]. I am looking for value. I can wait 3+ years. I have ZERO cash. And little is expected unless I sell. Ignore dividends with only 3% yields. I am not interested in speculation or thin volumes. What would you do? And why? Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Member Joined: 5/14/2014 Posts: 288 Location: nairobi
do nothing I find satisfaction in owning great business,not trading them
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,549 Location: nairobi
sell still born KK and buy resurgent KQ HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
VituVingiSana wrote:I have a dilemma. I see bargains. I have no cash.
I have some stocks which I like for the 3+ year period that is beyond the 2017 election.
I have given my reasons on multiple posts on what I hold these.
KenolKobil KenRe Unga I&M Williamson/Kapchorua
There are other shares here and there but the above are my core holdings. I think I am diversified but the question is what do I buy that is more promising than those above. And what do I sell from the above?
No more than 5-10 core holdings. I can concentrate better on managing, following, reviewing, attending AGMs, etc for only 10 holdings. I do not mind attending other AGMs or meetings if there is a chance it opens my eyes.
I don't want more than 1 pick per sector which is why I have just 1 Bank, 1 non-bank Financial, 1 FMCG Industrial, 1 agricultural and 1 commercial/trading firm.
As prices have fallen; Centum pops out. As does Equity & HFCK. Britam too. And KPLC [an old small position in place].
I am looking for value. I can wait 3+ years.
I have ZERO cash. And little is expected unless I sell. Ignore dividends with only 3% yields. I am not interested in speculation or thin volumes.
What would you do? And why? when the next bull run comes, you need to be in one of these ... Bamburi, Safaricom, KCB, Equity, Kengen, NMG. Life is short. Live passionately.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/20/2015 Posts: 2,811 Location: Mombasa
@Obiero I have officially crowned and ordained you KQ Captain-in-Chief! John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/25/2014 Posts: 2,300 Location: kenya
Spikes wrote:@Obiero I have officially crowned and ordained you KQ Captain-in-Chief! Sasa naona you eat,sleep , drink obiero . Vvs wants help .wewe natafuta tu obiero.
@Sparkly. I have ZERO cash so I have to sell something to buy any of those you mentioned. What do I sell? Why? What do I buy why? In other words why sell KK/Unga/Williamson & buy Bamburi/Safaricom/KCB/Equity... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/25/2014 Posts: 2,300 Location: kenya
VituVingiSana wrote:@Sparkly. I have ZERO cash so I have to sell something to buy any of those you mentioned. What do I sell? Why? What do I buy why?
In other words why sell KK/Unga/Williamson & buy Bamburi/Safaricom/KCB/Equity... I think @sparkly is Focussing on the dominant market players . Bamburi is doing good since ARM isn't in that good ground after making some serious losses.you know safcom is dominant the CLOSEST is celtel. KCB and equity are the best predators on their food chain. His analysis is good though. Maybe he has a different reasons why
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/16/2014 Posts: 1,420 Location: Bohemian Grove
I would do nothing coz the counters you're holding have proven resilient through out the bear.I also think the downtrend isn't over by a long shot so any bargains you may be seeing now will turn premium and leave you regretting why you jumped in too early.
I have some stocks which I like for the 3+ year period that is beyond the 2017 election.
There are other shares here and there but the above are my core holdings. I think I am diversified but the question is what do I buy that is more promising than those above. And what do I sell from the above?
No more than 5-10 core holdings. I can concentrate better on managing, following, reviewing, attending AGMs, etc for only 10 holdings. I do not mind attending other AGMs or meetings if there is a chance it opens my eyes.
I don't want more than 1 pick per sector which is why I have just 1 Bank, 1 non-bank Financial, 1 FMCG Industrial, 1 agricultural and 1 commercial/trading firm.
As prices have fallen; Centum pops out. As does Equity & HFCK. Britam too. And KPLC [an old small position in place].
I have ZERO cash. And little is expected unless I sell. Ignore dividends with only 3% yields. I am not interested in speculation or thin volumes.
What would you do? And why? Those are some good holdings. The only thing you lack is a large cap blue-chip as listed by @sparkly. Remember they move last down and first up. If you have Williamson... Do you really need to also have kapchorua? Maintain a bond/mmf fund in the future to give you that liquidity. You could also trim each holding to make way for a blue chip. Like a small small portions of each. Haba na Haba hujaza kibaba. Or do nothing, they are good holdings, won't be the worst decision The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
@Aguy - I picked up a small IFB bond position recently when the rates were too juicy to be ignored. Hence the ZERO cash. Interest payments paid semi-annually but nothing of significance. I can sell the IFB at a profit but I need a solid reason to sell. My dilemma is what do I sell? [And I need to know why] ... I don't want to sell a portion just to realize cash to buy something else without a solid reason. If I like a stock for all the right reasons, I want to go all in. Following, reading about and analyzing 10 stocks is difficult so I prefer to concentrate on the Big Five (whatever those may be) but I have 5 significant but much smaller positions. These are either remnants of earlier larger positions (eg Olympia before I figured out MM is a crook) or some I started buying then stopped when prices rose or fundamentals changed eg FTGH. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Member Joined: 5/14/2014 Posts: 288 Location: nairobi
people love activity at their detriment. if you need activity/excitement then sell a few and go on holiday I find satisfaction in owning great business,not trading them
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,183 Location: nairobi
I have a habit of selling part of a stock which has not lost much in my portfolio and buying another which I feel is beaten hard for no good reason "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
What would you do? And why? Have a look at the sectors and what you hold vs what you desire to hold e.g I&M vs Eqty vs HF vs Britam vs Centum - whose prospects are better going foward ? Factor in there is a new sheriff in town. Looks like you do want to entrench yourself in the financials ? Since that seems to be where your appetite is focused. Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
VituVingiSana wrote:@Aguy - I picked up a small IFB bond position recently when the rates were too juicy to be ignored. Hence the ZERO cash. Interest payments paid semi-annually but nothing of significance. I can sell the IFB at a profit but I need a solid reason to sell.
My dilemma is what do I sell? [And I need to know why] ... I don't want to sell a portion just to realize cash to buy something else without a solid reason. If I like a stock for all the right reasons, I want to go all in.
Following, reading about and analyzing 10 stocks is difficult so I prefer to concentrate on the Big Five (whatever those may be) but I have 5 significant but much smaller positions. These are either remnants of earlier larger positions (eg Olympia before I figured out MM is a crook) or some I started buying then stopped when prices rose or fundamentals changed eg FTGH. How did FTGH fundamentals change? I'm eyeing that stock. Tbills and or mmf can help you be more liquid. And bond is good for discipline to avoid tempation of titling too much to stocks, the liquidy of mmf/tbills can swing both ways I see your dilemma more clearly. I know you must have a short list of the stocks that you would want to replace some of your existing holdings. Compare the potential incoming with what you already have. valuations and future growth/prospects. I can tell you for free that at the right price, the likes of equity, KCB, BAT, EABL, Safaricom, Jubilee trump most of the other stocks at similar valuations because they are solid firms that are minting billions and will continue to do so for decades, and as a result the market rewards and over rewards the share prices of these firms. That is a reason to add the big five or ten into ones portfolio. They will stabilise your portfolio and are bound to outperform the small caps over the long run. But at the right price. Im intending to crowd my portfolio with some of them after missing/selling them in the last cycle. The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
Aguytrying wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:@Aguy - I picked up a small IFB bond position recently when the rates were too juicy to be ignored. Hence the ZERO cash. Interest payments paid semi-annually but nothing of significance. I can sell the IFB at a profit but I need a solid reason to sell.
My dilemma is what do I sell? [And I need to know why] ... I don't want to sell a portion just to realize cash to buy something else without a solid reason. If I like a stock for all the right reasons, I want to go all in.
Following, reading about and analyzing 10 stocks is difficult so I prefer to concentrate on the Big Five (whatever those may be) but I have 5 significant but much smaller positions. These are either remnants of earlier larger positions (eg Olympia before I figured out MM is a crook) or some I started buying then stopped when prices rose or fundamentals changed eg FTGH. How did FTGH fundamentals change? I'm eyeing that stock. Tbills and or mmf can help you be more liquid. And bond is good for discipline to avoid tempation of titling too much to stocks, the liquidy of mmf/tbills can swing both ways I see your dilemma more clearly. I know you must have a short list of the stocks that you would want to replace some of your existing holdings. Compare the potential incoming with what you already have. valuations and future growth/prospects. I can tell you for free that at the right price, the likes of equity, KCB, BAT, EABL, Safaricom, Jubilee trump most of the other stocks at similar valuations because they are solid firms that are minting billions and will continue to do so for decades, and as a result the market rewards and over rewards the share prices of these firms. That is a reason to add the big five or ten into ones portfolio. They will stabilise your portfolio and are bound to outperform the small caps over the long run. But at the right price. Im intending to crowd my portfolio with some of them after missing/selling them in the last cycle. I totally agree. @VVS if you are to make market beating returns going forward you need a blue chip that will get you at least 50% return from capital gains and dividends when the market recovers. Your current portfolio, though sound is majorly made up of volatile/ cyclical stocks. Only Kenya Re is significantly under-priced going forward. I would lighten Unga, WTK, I&M, KK in that order and add on a blue chip especially if you have already made money in Unga and WTK. Life is short. Live passionately.
@Museveni - I want to be somewhat diversified but not over-diversified hence 5-10 core holdings. So no more than 1 bank. Centum is an Investment Firm with a heavy focus on real estate. I am unlikely to sell KenRe [Insurance/Finance] at the current price. @AGuy - FTGH needs to prove itself, as a listed firm, in a competitive Kenyan market.The cash from the Private Placement reduced debt & improved Working Capital. The reported sales & financial performance has been lackluster since the listing. It's not a HAFR but I am not rushing in. I will keep an eye on it for 6 months to see how it has coped with the recent turmoil. I am open to corrections and suggestions. T-Bonds and T-Bills are very enticing. If I had more cash, I would have bought more when the rates were 20%. Low risk. Regular cash flow. Guaranteed return of the Principal. @Sparkly - Thanks. That's my dilemma. I need to buy (as @AGuy says) at the right price. That also means I need to sell at the right price so we are comparing apple to apples. I just got Unga's report & it weakened my resolve to sell Unga! That said, as I learnt from KK, keep one's ear to the ground not next to the CEO or Chairman's mouth! @Aguy - What price should I look at for Equity, KCB, BAT, EABL, Safaricom, Jubilee? [I sold my Jubilee not coz they were not doing well but I though I could do better in other counters but I didn't. A poor decision. That lesson also plays into my dilemma.] Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
sparkly wrote:Aguytrying wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:@Aguy - I picked up a small IFB bond position recently when the rates were too juicy to be ignored. Hence the ZERO cash. Interest payments paid semi-annually but nothing of significance. I can sell the IFB at a profit but I need a solid reason to sell.
Following, reading about and analyzing 10 stocks is difficult so I prefer to concentrate on the Big Five (whatever those may be) but I have 5 significant but much smaller positions. These are either remnants of earlier larger positions (eg Olympia before I figured out MM is a crook) or some I started buying then stopped when prices rose or fundamentals changed eg FTGH. How did FTGH fundamentals change? I'm eyeing that stock. Tbills and or mmf can help you be more liquid. And bond is good for discipline to avoid tempation of titling too much to stocks, the liquidy of mmf/tbills can swing both ways I see your dilemma more clearly. I know you must have a short list of the stocks that you would want to replace some of your existing holdings. Compare the potential incoming with what you already have. valuations and future growth/prospects. I can tell you for free that at the right price, the likes of equity, KCB, BAT, EABL, Safaricom, Jubilee trump most of the other stocks at similar valuations because they are solid firms that are minting billions and will continue to do so for decades, and as a result the market rewards and over rewards the share prices of these firms. That is a reason to add the big five or ten into ones portfolio. They will stabilise your portfolio and are bound to outperform the small caps over the long run. But at the right price. Im intending to crowd my portfolio with some of them after missing/selling them in the last cycle. I totally agree. @VVS if you are to make market beating returns going forward you need a blue chip that will get you at least 50% return from capital gains and dividends when the market recovers. Your current portfolio, though sound is majorly made up of volatile/ cyclical stocks. Only Kenya Re is significantly under-priced going forward. I would lighten Unga, WTK, I&M, KK in that order and add on a blue chip especially if you have already made money in Unga and WTK. I also totally agree with @sparkly. As above on the value of bluechips. Esp the top 5-10. These stocks according to Me as long as they keep performing should never be sold. I would use a Trailing pe of 7 below as detailed in the " bear wishlist thread". If stricter a pe of 6. Equity. 33 and below Kcb. 40 and below Bat. 450 (pe of 10) and still an unlikely price to print Safaricom. 10 and below ( awesome stock) pe of 10 Jubilee. 350. (this and saf rank highly for me) The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
EABL. 150 The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
@Aguy - Realistically speaking, can EABL drop to 150 based on current earnings? If yes, then I agree it is a BUY by all means! I doubt it. EABL has sold CGI to help pay down debt. The closure of 2nd generation breweries and trouble that Keroche had with KRA will help EABL. I like the prices you recommend getting in for your picks but that seems impossible at the moment BUT I shall watch them! Hopefully, what I want to sell will maintain its price! Williamson - They should benefit from more tea thanks to the El Nino rains. For some reason tea prices are also increasing. http://www.businessdaily...-/13l82kqz/-/index.html Perhaps a temporary phenomenon before the tea floods in! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Investor
Stocks
No Cash - Rebalancing The Portfolio