wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

4 Pages«<234
Casa Mia
S.Mutaga III
#61 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 7:13:17 PM

I never understand why people even bother to buy apartments etc if they can't get the title deed to the land. The developers then charge them service charges that almost match the rent in that area. I maintain that no sober investor should buy property without full ownership of the land. Leave apartments to the "know it all" young professionals who get shafted because they want to show off their address. Personally,I will never buy an apartment,and would rather buy land and build a townhouse,an apartment block to rent out,or be a happy tenant. Money should buy you freedom,but in deals like this Casa Mia case,it doesn't serve its purpose
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
enyands
#62 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 8:01:49 PM

S.Mutaga III wrote:
I never understand why people even bother to buy apartments etc if they can't get the title deed to the land. The developers then charge them service charges that almost match the rent in that area. I maintain that no sober investor should buy property without full ownership of the land. Leave apartments to the "know it all" young professionals who get shafted because they want to show off their address. Personally,I will never buy an apartment,and would rather buy land and build a townhouse,an apartment block to rent out,or be a happy tenant. Money should buy you freedom,but in deals like this Casa Mia case,it doesn't serve its purpose

this is true kabisa. im seeing a bubble burst somewhere soon.. Shafting continues.....
#63 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 8:36:36 PM

In the developed world the middle and upper class live in surburbia 20 or 30 km from the cbd, like casa mia, where they have space to do some gardening and their kids have space to play. Apartments in the inner city (within 5km of cbd) are for the poor who cant afford space, freedom and the quiet that surburbs afford. But in kenya the situation is quite peculiar.
whiteowl
#64 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 8:41:32 PM

enyands wrote:
S.Mutaga III wrote:

this is true kabisa. im seeing a bubble burst somewhere soon.. Shafting continues.....

this has nothing to do with a real estate bubble, it's just "normal robbery" smile
Nabwire
#65 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 9:14:47 PM

In the developed world the middle and upper class live in surburbia 20 or 30 km from the cbd, like casa mia, where they have space to do some gardening and their kids have space to play. Apartments in the inner city (within 5km of cbd) are for the poor who cant afford space, freedom and the quiet that surburbs afford. But in kenya the situation is quite peculiar.

This is a blatant lie! First of there are no apartments in suburbia, the ones that are there are on the periphery and usually reserved for the poor. The very definition of suburbia is a place where you can raise your family, in a house, with its own backyard! Secondly, you are just clueless, apartments in the inner city are black gold for the past few years because of a thing called gentrification! Google it, then google how much an apartment ( not even apartment, a studio) in San Francisco goes for, uwache kutubeba mafala!! Lastly, service charges are quite high in places like New York where you are paying for the address (location) for the convenience of living in the city, for security, for garbage bla bla bla, huko mashambani what is the 22,000 for?
#66 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 9:30:41 PM

Nabwire wrote:

This is a blatant lie! First of there are no apartments in suburbia, the ones that are there are on the periphery and usually reserved for the poor. The very definition of suburbia is a place where you can raise your family, in a house, with its own backyard! Secondly, you are just clueless, apartments in the inner city are black gold for the past few years because of a thing called gentrification! Google it, then google how much an apartment ( not even apartment, a studio) in San Francisco goes for, uwache kutubeba mafala!! Lastly, service charges are quite high in places like New York where you are paying for the address (location) for the convenience of living in the city, for security, for garbage bla bla bla, huko mashambani what is the 22,000 for?

I think it depends on the city, some suburbia accept apartments as long as they are not several blocks or congested and the amenities (parking, landscaping etc) are a match to those in the suburb.
Lakini what am reading here ati 1/12 of a plot..that's a slum.

Residents of some dorm cities hosting several suburbs will vote whether to or not to have apartments.
#67 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 9:40:56 PM

Nabwire wrote:

This is a blatant lie! First of there are no apartments in suburbia, the ones that are there are on the periphery and usually reserved for the poor. The very definition of suburbia is a place where you can raise your family, in a house, with its own backyard! Secondly, you are just clueless, apartments in the inneru city are black gold for the past few years because of a thing called gentrification! Google it, then google how much an apartment ( not even apartment, a studio) in San Francisco goes for, uwache kutubeba mafala!! Lastly, service charges are quite high in places like New York where you are paying for the address (location) for the convenience of living in the city, for security, for garbage bla bla bla, huko mashambani what is the 22,000 for?

So what is the problem? I never talked of apartments in surburbia. Who the hell would think of apartments in surburbia? All i said is that in surburbia you can raise a family and do some gardening.
Nabwire
#68 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 10:00:41 PM

Nabwire wrote:

This is a blatant lie! First of there are no apartments in suburbia, the ones that are there are on the periphery and usually reserved for the poor. The very definition of suburbia is a place where you can raise your family, in a house, with its own backyard! Secondly, you are just clueless, apartments in the inneru city are black gold for the past few years because of a thing called gentrification! Google it, then google how much an apartment ( not even apartment, a studio) in San Francisco goes for, uwache kutubeba mafala!! Lastly, service charges are quite high in places like New York where you are paying for the address (location) for the convenience of living in the city, for security, for garbage bla bla bla, huko mashambani what is the 22,000 for?

So what is the problem? I never talked of apartments in surburbia. Who the hell would think of apartments in surburbia? All i said is that in surburbia you can raise a family and do some gardening.

You made the unholy sin of comparing Casa Mia, found in the bundus to suburbian houses in the developed world without even batting an eye lid! Then went on to castigate inner city apartments. Apart from that, no other problem detected!smile
#69 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 11:00:16 PM

Not in NYC. Or the Bay Area [San Francisco]. Crazy prices in/near their CBDs.
Dawnwoods
#70 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 7:16:12 PM

Daly City is a Suburb of San Francisco.. Studio = $1800.. 2Bedroom = $4500.
Jimmy Boy
#71 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 7:44:08 PM

The service charge mentioned in Casa Mia has been annualized, they don't mean 22K per month, its the annual service charge for Year 1 when the estate shall be complete. There after the new management committee (residents) shall commence running the estate and charge service charge commensurate to the needs of the estate.
Regards,
Jimmy Boy
Dawnwoods
#72 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 8:45:33 PM

@Jimmy Boy... if the 22K is annual... it changes the whole Matrix... i have tried getting hold of Hass Consult and always Mteja.. When you think of it very well... 22K a month is far fetched.
enyands
#73 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 9:49:09 PM

Dawnwoods wrote:
Daly City is a Suburb of San Francisco.. Studio = $1800.. 2Bedroom = $4500.

solution link
Dawnwoods
#74 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 12:03:20 AM

@enyands... lol solution link.. Sleeping in a Truck... Well.. Hopefully the Law and the Outlaws, Cossacks, Hells Angels dont know you are there.. However, North Dakota has law allowing people to live in Winnebago's.. related to the Fracking bonanza.
Nabwire
#75 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 12:12:49 AM

Before Hardwood starts converting and dreaming of how he can also charge those insane amounts, remember that San Francisco, San Jose, even Oakland are insanely expensive because all the techies from Google, Facebook, Apple, basically Silicon valley engineers live there. They cant afford to live in Palo Alto or Mountain view just yet, coz thats reserved for that big big money! Ridiculous rates have to be justified by something, in NYC, its Wallstreet Bankers and old money who make the rents super high!
#76 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 8:21:33 AM

Hass consult also did Edenville on Kiambu road. I visited a friend who lives there and was impressed by the development and the ambiance. I trust that casa mia will turn out well. I remember when edenville started it go similar bashing being given to casa mia e.g:

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...s&m=73130#post73130

muganda wrote:
I vividly remember the Saturday - bright, sunny, cheery - when she said 'Please take me to see Edenville'. I confess I've never been too party to property, but a man needs to do what a man needs to do.

So there I was driving on Kiambu Road, past the Windsor turnoff, then past the Paradise Lost turnoff, and on and on. As most searches for property go, we got lost. After a quick Google mobile search to affirm we were still on the right road, we went on possibly another 2kms until we saw big banner on our left hand side.

It was definitely not in Muthaiga or Ridgeways. And the Boma Road was not labelled. In fact a drive on the rough road for another 5 mins just brought us to... (their architectural flair is only second to their marketing flair)

...brought us to nowhere - just a small sign on the coffee bushes; no cleared patch or anything.

Okay timeout - so it's just another concept development at an early stage. Prices attractive and HassConsult's first foray from property management to managing developments. And they say the road will be built. Slightly disappointed though that they want to build another estate on 1/8 acre plots in the bush. Hmmmn, Kenyans and our love of property!!!

And yes on the way there you do pass Suraya's Fourways Junction development http://www.suraya.co.ke/FourwaysJunction%20.html. Closer, just after Windsor turnoff, and almost the same price. Here the houses are at roofing stage. Is it true that there are some issues with Fourways Junction approvals preventing progress?

But today, edenville is the place to live.

Nabwire
#77 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 9:44:13 AM

You are probably right, I am not saying the value of the property wont shoot up, we were just against the 22K charge. Plus 1/12th acre sounds quite small
#78 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 10:07:30 AM

A 40x80 plot is 0.07acres, while a 1/12th is 0.08 acres. Thus the casa mia 1/12th is larger than the commonly marketed 40x80 plots.
#79 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 2:27:47 PM

Jimmy Boy wrote:
The service charge mentioned in Casa Mia has been annualized, they don't mean 22K per month, its the annual service charge for Year 1 when the estate shall be complete. There after the new management committee (residents) shall commence running the estate and charge service charge commensurate to the needs of the estate.

Makes sense, then the deal becomes more interesting - they must be pegging it on the rumored greater eastern bypass, that I think is said will pass by around that vicinity, plus the plans of expanding Kangundo road.