wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

Casa Mia
Dawnwoods
#1 Posted : Friday, November 13, 2015 10:19:34 PM

Is Casa Mia a good investment?

Located in kangundo Rd, Kamulu area, 3 Bedroomed measuring 1022sq ft. Gated Community with other multiple Houses of the same size and shape.
The cost 5.75 Mil standing in a 1/12 parcel of land.
Sellers/Brokers Hass Consult Westlands.
10% on Reservation
20% upon Sale agreement
20% 3months later
50% on Completion
Construction Est 2014
has the usual charges and more as follows,
4% Stamp duty
Share Capital 22K
Service Charge deposit 22k
Advance Service Charge 22K
1.5% + VAT
Monthly Service Charge 22K
Valuation fee
Lace
Excise Tax
Electric Connect fee
Water Connect fee

Guys Gals.. as a longterm rental property

Is it worth the hussle?
25-35K Monthly rental.
#2 Posted : Friday, November 13, 2015 10:32:53 PM

The place is past joska, I doubt rentals will work anytime soon, around that area, especially for 25-35 - unless the rumors that do rounds those sides of wilson airport being relocated there become a reality.

tmatekwa
#3 Posted : Friday, November 13, 2015 11:07:11 PM

Two bedrooms are doing some 10k in that area. 25k not far fetched. Go for it. you will not regret.
#4 Posted : Friday, November 13, 2015 11:27:02 PM

Let's assume you can get 25,000/month after paying land rates, KRA tax, etc. That's 300,000/- per year. The purchase cost will be 6mn after all the expenses. The return is 5%.
If you have to borrow (at current rates of 18-25%) a significant portion of the cost then the return plummets.
Dawnwoods
#5 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2015 12:29:02 AM

@tmatekwa...go for it.(optimistic/Confident)
@vituvingi... returns plummet..(mathematical/Prudent)

Guys which is the way forward?
#6 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2015 10:02:20 AM

Yaani you pay 22K pm for service fee and only get 25K rental income?
Upuzi...will thos service charge include water and thitima?

tmatekwa
#7 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2015 10:12:30 AM

you are right impunity...what the hell is this monthly service charge? with that kind of money I can be able to put up a decent house of similar dimensions for less than 4m, without the monthly service charges.
#8 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2015 10:46:51 AM

The place is past joska, I doubt rentals will work anytime soon, around that area, especially for 25-35 - unless the rumors that do rounds those sides of wilson airport being relocated there become a reality.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly that Wilson story is true? Some brokers were using it in 2009 to sell land huko Ruiru Eastern bypass
Sakangu
#9 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2015 10:58:06 AM

22K pm service Charge, in Joska, Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
Unless it includes daily massage.
#10 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2015 11:14:41 AM

Exploitative Service Charges, that is my biggest problem with "gated communities".

Passed along a road somewhere and saw a list of "DEFAULTERS". Hizo aibu mimi siwezi penda!

4eva eva
#11 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2015 11:18:54 AM

Siku hizi Kuna 1 /12 th,hiyo imezidi sasa
popat
#12 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2015 11:21:20 AM

I've been there and I can assure you no one would travel that far to pay even 10k rent.So brother better do something better with your money.am even surprised there is a service charge of 22k to crown it all.Lakini wakenya we are too gullible.
Aguytrying
#13 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2015 11:56:57 AM

popat wrote:
I've been there and I can assure you no one would travel that far to pay even 10k rent.So brother better do something better with your money.am even surprised there is a service charge of 22k to crown it all.Lakini wakenya we are too gullible.

Agreed. Never depend on the seller's projection of the rents in the area do it yourself.

Guys i think the service charge indicated is a DEPOSIT not a monthly fee.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#14 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2015 12:24:53 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
popat wrote:

Agreed. Never depend on the seller's projection of the rents in the area do it yourself.

Wewe wacha. Its clearly indicated there, if you are keen.
10% on Reservation
20% upon Sale agreement
20% 3months later
50% on Completion
Construction Est 2014
4% Stamp duty
Share Capital 22K
1.5% + VAT
Valuation fee
Lace
Excise Tax
Electric Connect fee
Water Connect fee

tmatekwa
#15 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2015 12:32:56 PM

popat wrote:

I know several people who are paying 10k for 2 bed roomed houses. The houses are in their own compounds, often with space to engage in poultry or green house farming. Those with school going kids will find the education facilities cheaper than Nairobi. When compared to kasarani, Mwiki, and umoja where the size of those houses costs 15k-30k, Joska is a good bargain. Bus fare of 100/=
#16 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2015 12:35:55 PM

LOCATION IS A QUARRY. SHOULD BE MUCH CHEAPER

Aguytrying
#17 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2015 12:37:39 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
popat wrote:

Wewe wacha. Its clearly indicated there, if you are keen.
10% on Reservation
20% upon Sale agreement
20% 3months later
50% on Completion
Construction Est 2014
4% Stamp duty
Share Capital 22K
1.5% + VAT
Valuation fee
Lace
Excise Tax
Electric Connect fee
Water Connect fee

whaaat. I hadn't seen that. That means to get 25k rent, you have to charge 47K! ie 22+25=47. too high a service charge
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#18 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2015 1:40:02 PM

tmatekwa wrote:
popat wrote:

I know several people who are paying 10k for 2 bed roomed houses. The houses are in their own compounds, often with space to engage in poultry or green house farming. Those with school going kids will find the education facilities cheaper than Nairobi. When compared to kasarani, Mwiki, and umoja where the size of those houses costs 15k-30k, Joska is a good bargain. Bus fare of 100/=

Are you sure, green house farming? Which education facilities are available huko malaa that are comparable to kasarani or umoja.
#19 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2015 1:42:50 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly that Wilson story is true? Some brokers were using it in 2009 to sell land huko Ruiru Eastern bypass

Laughing out loudly brokers will say anything to sell. But that place is too far for that price and especially for that size of land.
#20 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2015 2:50:45 PM

Sakangu wrote:

22K pm service Charge, in Joska, Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
Unless it includes daily massage.

And that massage must end happily and should be at least 3 time a week!
And the ladies doing the massage must be replaced every month!