wazua Sat, Feb 1, 2025

The best fiction writer?
#21 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 2:44:49 PM

Stephen King. The best story teller ever.
Djinn
#22 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 2:56:13 PM

@aemathenge - hands down, Wilbur Smith is THE ONE.

Still, I think it really depends - one can swing from Anton Chekhov, to George Orwell, to Dickens, to Stephen King and find delight in these different writers. Lets not forget Soyinka and Chinua Achebe on whose books many of us were nurtured...

I still have fond memories of Jack London's "Call of the wild" and "White Fang" on which I cut my teeth in appreciating good writing many years ago...if I may share the opening paragraph....

"Buck did not read the newspapers, or he would have known that trouble was brewing, not alone for himself, but for every tidewater dog, strong of muscle and with warm, long hair, from Puget Sound to San Diego. Because men, groping in the Arctic darkness, had found a yellow metal, and because steamship and transportation companies were booming the find, thousands of men were rushing into the Northland. These men wanted dogs, and the dogs they wanted were heavy dogs, with strong muscles by which to toil, and furry coats to protect them from the frost."

Djinn
#23 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 2:59:30 PM

@jguru, regarding Stephen King, which book :
1 - Did you find most disturbing?
2 - Almost romantic and not a horror at all.

Oyear
#24 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 3:06:17 PM

well . . . Pillars of the Earth is being made into a TV Series . . . British (thus more chances of it staying true than JJ’s Dark Tower rendition is likely to be). As for Dan Brown, I think he’s stuck too much to a single formula and just as a heads up . . . the book IS ALWAYS better than the movie!!
#25 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 3:41:51 PM

I have been reading lots of technical staff since high school, essentially having no much time or interest in other books. However i have gone thr a gud no. of Grisham's, King's, Ludlum's Chase's (used to refer to them as SETHI in my native lang.) books. Ludlum's complicated language (kizungu mingi ngumu) wore me down n I stopped reading fiction. However, none of the above thrilled me more than the simplest, clearest storyteller with heartstopping twists n turns....once started, I could never sleep b4 reading the last page of... SIDNEY SHELDON! RIP.
DonBen
#26 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 3:46:03 PM

In the crime thriller genre, one of the greatest fictional writers of the 20th century - René Brabazon Lodge Alan Raymond a.k.a. James Hadley Chase.Applause

Widely read, hugely admired, sorely criticized, universally published and translated.
#27 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 4:17:07 PM

Robert Ludlum,anyday!!

Others that would folow closely are maybe:
James hardley chase,Sydney Sheldon,Darian North and John Grisham in no particular order..
anasazi
#28 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 4:26:25 PM

First I must recognize the skills of Stephen King. I read Pet Cemetary back in high school, and it was TERRIFYING to me at that time. At the same time, UNPUTDOWNABLE. However due to the terror effect, I kind of shied away from his books. However watched the movie Sixth Mile based on his book, and it was equally riveting.

For me, though, the author that I went back to again and again is Ludlum. I just loved his plots and counterplots. The Apocalypse Watch was one of my favorite in my high school days. I read the Bourne series a bit late after high school, and those were real page turners.

I started reading fiction back in primary school with Tintin & Asterix, moved to Hardy Boys, till Form 1 when I discovered Sidney Sheldon, Jeffrey Archer, Ludlum, Mario Puzo, etc.

I did read some Dickens et al, but I must admit... I started readin in the 90s, and so did not dig as much as I probably should have.
Form is temporary, class is permanent
#29 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 6:18:32 PM

The great grand daddy of them all: William Somerset Maugham does it for me!Applause

Not too far off behind is V.S. Naipul whose miguel street is still a cracker Applause

George orwell, Jk rowling are equally enchantingApplause

#30 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 6:17:21 AM

did you know that JK Rowlings of the Harry Potter fame is the first billionaire solely from the written word.
mburuke
#31 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 8:18:59 AM

For me robert lundlum was the one. Especially Mataresse circle that was quite a plot. His plot had the ability to keep u in suspense from the first page and they taught me quite alot about history and the global spy networks wachana na cid bure kabisa!
One's first step in wisdom is to question everything - and one's last is to come to terms with everything
#32 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 8:42:49 AM

I have not read much of late but Mario Puzo still my favourite fic writer, I also love Agatha Christie, especially the "The Murder of Roger Ackroyd, I have read this book a number of times!!!!!
#33 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 8:57:07 AM

Leona Dear. I am shocked. No Mills and Boon? No Jackie Collins?

@Mel Munyua, looks like the original Robert Ludlum reins in www.wazua.com.

Gentlemen, has anybody read Mwangi Ruheni's "When the Stars are Scattered"? It has a certain magic that compells me to look for buibui clad women whenever I visit Mombasa. Very intriguing.
#34 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 10:34:03 AM

@Mahegoat
I think i only read Mills and Boon once or twice when i was about 14...but when my Mum got hold of the books,they were banned from 'her' house until we moved to 'our own houses' as she sternly put it..smilesmile By the time i moved to 'my own house' i had outgrown Mills and Boon..so i never really got to read them. I however remember Nancy Drew,Hardy boys..etc
Jackie Collins is also great..In my collection i have Lucky and Chances,very rewindable reads!
Oh,and i'd forgotten to add Danielle Stelle..there's something very interesting about her books. i love them!
the sage
#35 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 1:14:01 PM

There are two types of books, those that are exciting to read but not intellectually stimulating. Those that are intellectually stimulate but they are a bore. A good book and a good author consequently a good author is one who is able to stimulate the mind as well as tell a good story. Here is my short list; Gore Vidal, Charles Dickens, George Orwell, Ernest Hemmingway, Paulo Coelho and Shabaan bin Robert.

wasee
#36 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 1:23:35 PM

Handy Boys.
#37 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 3:45:48 PM

the sage wrote:
There are two types of books, those that are exciting to read but not intellectually stimulating. Those that are intellectually stimulate but they are a bore. A good book and a good author consequently a good author is one who is able to stimulate the mind as well as tell a good story. Here is my short list; Gore Vidal, Charles Dickens, George Orwell, Ernest Hemmingway, Paulo Coelho and Shabaan bin Robert.

Asante sana the sage kwa kumkumbuka Shaban Robert. Kwa ulingo wa fasihi ya Kiswahili sidhani kuwa ana washindani wengi. Vitabu vyake kama Kusadikika na Utubora Mkulima vimeandikwa kwa ufasaha na vina mafunzo chungu nzima. Wengine walioshamiri katika nyanja hii ni Mohammed Said Abdala (Bwana Msa) ambaye ndiye tunaweza kumfananisha na mwandishi Sir Arthur Conan Doyle aliye baba wa kachero shupavu Sherlock Holmes.

Nilipenda sana kusoma hadithi za "Alfu Lela Ulela" hata ingawa zilikuwa zimetafsiriwa kutoka lugha nyingine.
Wa_ithaka
#38 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 4:27:14 PM

Going down river road- meja mwangi; Any Ngugi wa Thingo; Delta of Venus by Anais Nin
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#39 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 4:41:52 PM

Anyone who read "cock n lion"? Who was(is?) the author?..
#40 Posted : Wednesday, March 24, 2010 6:06:42 AM

"Its elementary my dear Watson" Thats the only book I can remember reading together with my dad. He would read a few of the short stories then my elder brother would take the book and also read a few of the stories and finally it would be my turn.