wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

vehicle entry requirements into Uganda
Mkimwa
#1 Posted : Sunday, March 21, 2010 9:16:59 PM

We are planning a road trip to Uganda/Rwanda, sometime soon.

Anyone who knows the requirements to drive through the Kenya-Uganda and Uganda-Rwanda border with a Kenyan registered vehicle?

Basically.. We will be driving a pals car, KBE - am not sure what documents we need to go through the border. Also bear in mind that the owner of the car, will not be with us.

Any advice/tips?

Anyone who has ever driven into Ug with a Kenya Registered car?
#2 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 6:27:08 AM

Mkimwa,

I once heard of an insurance yellow sticker or something like that. Long distance drivers in the group can enlighten us
brav
#3 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 7:46:38 AM

@Mkimwa Hii sio "Wizi wa gawira"?
#4 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 8:10:35 AM

Ask guka, I thought he has done a stint as a long-distance truck driver at sometime!
callaspade
#5 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 11:26:40 AM

1.carry original logbook coz you will leave it at the border(Kenya side)
2.get an extension of the car insurance to cover comesa,thats the yellow sticker,specify period like a week or two
3.get an agent at the border to do the clearing for you.try yourself it will take you an hour while the agent takes 10 minutes.post documents to him in advance.
4.do not drive yourself in Rwanda,geT a driver at the border...the country is right hand driveSad
5.leave your half at home(hope you find her)
6.have a nice holiday and if you need more details,ask FOC
7.please come back alone in one piece
#6 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 11:39:20 AM

Callaspdae has summed it up all for you.... A few more

1.Use Malaba border point.Not as congested as Busia and clearance is quick.
2.No need to post you documents to an agent.
3.You'll pay a fee for your car depending on size(a Saloon is Kshs 3,600).
4.Avoid exchanging money on the back streets.Use registered forex Bureaus.

and finally puuliiiiz!!....on your way back,bring me 4 PREMUS!!....puuuliiiiZ!!!...lol
Mkimwa
#7 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 12:46:57 PM

Asanteni sana..

1. Malaba
2. Log book
3. agent
4. mbesha
5. Spirit

The owner of the car wont be with us, do i need any documentation/authorization from him to pass through?

@Callaspade - its a boys only trip, better half is having hers in the opposite direction. na hii FOC ni nini?

@Guka - hii PREMUS ni nini? Ama ni ile pombe inaitwa PRIMUS?
#8 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 1:01:14 PM

...Primus is a DR Congo beer...take it at your own risk. Ever wondered why those Congolese dancers shake their buttoms the way they do. That is how you will be walking. It is worse than viagra. Ndombolo tupu...
...while in Uganda, avoid Baganda girls like plaque. Your trip may just end there. Dont pass throgh Rock Garden...It is worse than that joint along Kenyatta avenue...
#9 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 1:22:16 PM

Hiyo ni phombe ya Kigali.....If you can down 4,then you are good to outdrink an elephant.(The most i ever took was 3.A colleague found me in a street dancing with lighting posts in the wee hours of the morning...lol)
callaspade
#10 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 2:04:02 PM

@Mkimwa...FOC = Free of charge.
...hi mboys only trip maybe a tripping point.
...you were allowed atrip into UG ??
....Check properly...the gals trip could be the catch .
....you have been baited hook ,line and .....
have fun though and dont be a hero there.
....just be calm,they are all good looking.but as you can here from Hon.magigi....looks can be deceiving.enjoy
#11 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 2:16:21 PM

@Callaspade,
Agreed....No heroes pliz....There was this Walalo who hooked a Gisu gal.They agreed on a figure but once in between the sheets,the Gisu gals goes into a kiuno jig....My boy has never been to it....After kuvumilia,he shoots out of bed to the gals amazement;

Walalo to the gal:..."Hii sasa wewe ndio utanilipa!".
gal: Why?
Walalo:...Mimi naweka katikati na wewe unahamisha!
Djinn
#12 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 2:16:48 PM

@Mkimwa - some of the details given are NOT quite true...more so the Kenya-Uganda crossing (I have done this abt 5 times in the last 1.5 years (more recently in December)...

1 - Comesa Insurance - given its a new car it will have to be comprehensive and is charged per occupant as well as the car (I recall for my 1993 old bomber for comprehensive - 2 adults, 3 kids, the cover would be Kshs 17,000 - opted for TP at the border for Kshs 2500). Anyway, comesa cover might be very very costly but will cover you in about a dozen countries for the period specified.

There are representatives of Ugandan Insurance Companies at the border - you can get 4 months TP cover at Kshs 2500-3000 - go personally to their offices with a copy of the log book and get the cover needed right there.

2 - I think its OK to use brokers if you have an additional 2-3k to blow and do not mind sitting idle doing nothing in the sweltering heat. But you CAN do the stuff yourselves. Don't fall prey to brokers who try to pass themselves off as officials by flagging you down like cops would. All customs guys are either manning the gate (in fact its G4S who man the gates) or sitting in the office.

3 - If you are abt 3 people - spread out the tasks and do as many tasks concurrently to save time (we have crossed the border in a record 10 minutes - wife with kids and passports/forex, myself with customs/police/insurance - so one person sees to the insurance, another the customs/police and another to convert whatever forex you need (BTW with forex, if you can, avoid the 50,000 and 20,000 denominations (high chances of forgery even with the licenced money changers). if you cross during bank hours at Malaba, go to Stanbic just next to immigration on the Ug side.

4 - Log book - sadly if its not your car, you need an affit davit from the owner indicating you have permission to travel with the car + owners ID, plus original log book, etc etc. Otherwise you will have a hard time. You need to fill a form in duplicate (one will be filed with the logbook and one needs to be presented on the Uganda side thereby acknowledging you have left the original at the Kenya border and the Uganda customs will issue you with another document to allow you to cross over. Kenya customs MAY ask for your ID or passport number. After you are done with customs, you need to notify the police a few doors down that you have left with the MV, sign in the book, number of occupants, make of car, registration, etc etc

@Njung'e - I do not recall paying anything for the car itself....perhaps commercial vehicles pay something...but saloons? Nada! I agree Malaba is better - though given the road conditions in Q1 and Q2 last year, Busia has been better. @Mkimwa, look for another discussion about roads somewhere in this labyrinth - some updates on roads to Uganda (both Busia and Malaba) - as recent as December 2009....

About Rwanda, hmmmm....I think just drive yourself....keep right on a straight road should be no big deal...just overtaking when sitting on the right and driving on the right is definitely a hair raising experience...have a capable driver as a co-driver if possible and let him make the judgement call about when to overtake. BTW never been to Rwanda but I hear you can converse widely in chiswahili and English....
Djinn
#13 Posted : Monday, March 22, 2010 2:45:30 PM

@mkimwa - one other thing...timing is important....if you get to the border around 7-8pm...(and 3-4pm) expect to take about 1.5 hours getting through immigration alone as 350 plus people travelling on Akamba, Busscar, Kampala Coach, in either direction try to get past immigration

The buses are usually abt 3-10 minutes apart on the road but once the first arrives, the lines builds up very rapidly... these are typically the times both inbound and outbound buses cross the border (day buses usually leave Nbi at 7am and owing to some stop overs, reach the border around 3-4 pm). Buses leave Kampala at 7am and 3pm and for the 200km it takes to Malaba/Busia, reach at 11-12am and 7-8pm. So the 7-8 pm is the mother of all delays since buses are crossing from either side and customs/immigration guys are rather tired and testy by this time....
#14 Posted : Tuesday, March 23, 2010 6:24:18 AM

@Djinn,
Maybe i put it casually......Kshs 3,600 takes care of your TP insurance needs even if the car is one and a half the size of your bomber (7 seater).Comprehensive is damn expensive.........secondly,Eldoret-Malaba is in horrible shape especially after Turbo and so is Suzanna-Sega section on the Busia route.I still would prefer the Kisumu route and to avoid that bad section,tee off to the left at Ebuyangu and head straight to Mayoni,then Busia.
Mkimwa
#15 Posted : Friday, April 09, 2010 8:20:49 AM

@ALL

Asanteni sana..

Went through Malaba, everything went smoothly.

As i learnt:
1. Dont use agents, they con you for no reason. You dont need them. On Kenyan side, we used an agent who made us "pay" not to leave for the log book. Turned out that was his cut..
On the Ug side, we did everything ourselves.

2. Mbesha:
-Ug side - Road licence - Ugx 42000
-Ug side - Insurace (third party 4 months) - KES 1,200. ONLY.
-Ke side - no single coin needed (unless u are using agent).

3. Barabara - there is a sharp contrast between Kenyan roads and Ug roads.. The NKR-ELD-MLB route is not bad if you have a high vehicle. However, if you have a saloon, u may want to reconsider that route. reason, there are some super ridges on the road, which can hurt your underside badly. especially from Timboroa onwards,and some sections on ELD-MLB. That really slowed us down.

There is a 10-20km stretch on ELD-MLB that is bad, but if you move slowly, you will survive. There are some super POTholes on that section, if you hit one at 60, you are likely to break your rims.

The Ug side is smooth all the way. The police men stop you, ask for your documents,and wave you on. no TKK, no chai. unlike our Kenyan brothers.