wazua Fri, Aug 15, 2025

This Tune defined our childhood...
#1 Posted : Friday, November 06, 2015 6:33:42 PM

African Sunset - The Bata Shoeshine Boys

Almost shed a tear, Good to finally know who played it!
Julie
#2 Posted : Friday, November 06, 2015 6:51:07 PM

Fond memories of mchezo wa Kati, bladder, cha mama na cha baba...etc before cartoons zianze kwa black n whit telly
#3 Posted : Friday, November 06, 2015 7:20:55 PM

Julie wrote:
Fond memories of mchezo wa Kati, bladder, cha mama na cha baba...etc before cartoons zianze kwa black n whit telly

Kumbe nyinyi mlikuwa masonko. In our village there was one tv set belonging to the headmaster. Naturally we would not go to watch.
#4 Posted : Friday, November 06, 2015 7:32:54 PM

Julie wrote:

this is the first cartoon I saw...

on a black and white TV model/make called 'UKI'
Julie
#5 Posted : Friday, November 06, 2015 7:43:15 PM

And "Casper the friendly ghost"?
Wamunyota
#6 Posted : Friday, November 06, 2015 8:42:51 PM

This is the easiest way to know how old a wazualet is.
Hutia Mundu!!
#7 Posted : Friday, November 06, 2015 9:31:27 PM

Listened to the coup recordings to the end. Seems same issues that informed the coup are now at a grand scale.
#8 Posted : Friday, November 06, 2015 10:19:04 PM

masukumaaaaaa

umeni uwaaaaa

#9 Posted : Friday, November 06, 2015 10:33:56 PM

masukumaaaaaa

umeni uwaaaaa

Kufa kabisaaaaa! Courtesy of childhood riddims http://www.theguardian.c...istic-secular-kids-study
#10 Posted : Saturday, November 07, 2015 9:31:09 PM

Listened to the coup recordings to the end. Seems same issues that informed the coup are now at a grand scale.

Kenyans have beeen complaining kutoka 82?

Ati the cost of living was so high in 82 that Kenyans couldn't afford basic necessities(I like that word with Luo accent)

After that wengi wetu walizaliwa na our(probably whining) parents. Tumeishi na sasa ni sisi tunazaa. We are looking back and complaining that the older days were better. Those days when people were complaining like that. Siku hizi vitu zimekuwa expensive. Haki afadhali kitambo...reminds me of one of my prima GHC teachers telling us that she didn't get it when people complain that money is in short supply. Even in the mzungu days when she was young, she said, people didn't have chums! They were sent many times home coz of fees!!

Halafu unatwambia hizo issues zote zilikuwa ziko. Detention? Section 2a? One party state?

#11 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2015 12:00:29 AM

Ati the cost of living was so high in 82 that Kenyans couldn't afford basic necessities(I like that word with Luo accent)

After that wengi wetu walizaliwa na our(probably whining) parents. Tumeishi na sasa ni sisi tunazaa. We are looking back and complaining that the older days were better. Those days when people were complaining like that. Siku hizi vitu zimekuwa expensive. Haki afadhali kitambo...reminds me of one of my prima GHC teachers telling us that she didn't get it when people complain that money is in short supply. Even in the mzungu days when she was young, she said, people didn't have chums! They were sent many times home coz of fees!!

Halafu unatwambia hizo issues zote zilikuwa ziko. Detention? Section 2a? One party state?

Applause Applause i dont know why people act like they dont know. We have been waiting for things to get better for quite a long time. I think this had been going on since man invented money.
Taurrus
#12 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2015 1:50:20 AM

if you never worked in the government during MO1/Kanu days pls cool down and watch what is happening now na hii ni trailer! Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad
kiash
#13 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2015 3:50:45 PM

mpobiz wrote:

Applause Applause i dont know why people act like they dont know. We have been waiting for things to get better for quite a long time. I think this had been going on since man invented money.

But on another note, do you know how you can check if things are better or worse than before? This is usually the case everywhere , check in the 80's if you had a car, how much would you use to fuel from your salary, pay rent, food and how much would remain for savings.Do the same calculation to day and see things are no better.

I have seen such a comparison hapa majuu when someone says in the 80's i could work 2 hours to buy a litre of petrol and today to buy the same i need to work for 20 minutes . This means things have changed.

Compare that with Kenya.

For those who know, there is the Bigmac (mac donald's) thing used to calculate the economy of a country . They say Macdo does use the economy fundamentals to set the price of a bigmac. sijui kama ni ukweli
Thiong'o
#14 Posted : Friday, November 13, 2015 10:47:25 AM

#15 Posted : Friday, November 13, 2015 10:51:54 AM

Beyond magazine smile
#16 Posted : Friday, November 13, 2015 11:01:20 AM

Taurrus wrote:

if you never worked in the government during MO1/Kanu days pls cool down and watch what is happening now na hii ni trailer! Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad

wacha watu walalamike and apportion blame to others... my life is definitely... markedly better than it was when I was young... it's better than my folks life when they were my age. So... kila mtu ajisemee... usiseme uchumi ni mbaya... sema uchumi ni mbaya KWAKO!
Rollins
#17 Posted : Friday, November 13, 2015 1:42:02 PM

kiash wrote:
mpobiz wrote:

But on another note, do you know how you can check if things are better or worse than before? This is usually the case everywhere , check in the 80's if you had a car, how much would you use to fuel from your salary, pay rent, food and how much would remain for savings.Do the same calculation to day and see things are no better.

I have seen such a comparison hapa majuu when someone says in the 80's i could work 2 hours to buy a litre of petrol and today to buy the same i need to work for 20 minutes . This means things have changed.

Compare that with Kenya.

For those who know, there is the Bigmac (mac donald's) thing used to calculate the economy of a country . They say Macdo does use the economy fundamentals to set the price of a bigmac. sijui kama ni ukweli

Twelve years ago a One minute call used to cost kindu 97 bob. Today it costs kindu 2 bob and sometimes free (airtel and yu)
Conclusion according to kiash: Life now is 30 times better than 10 years ago.Sad
Even a BrOKeN clock is right twice a day
Alba
#18 Posted : Friday, November 13, 2015 4:44:04 PM

Thats true. Things generally get worse if not nipped in the bud. Issues like corruption, nepotism, impunity, tribalism were in their infant years during the Kenyatta regime. When Moi took over, they were in their teen years. Now they are fully mature.

If you look at 1982 for example, corruption was on a very small scale. And it was limited to the big shots. Now everyone who has an opportunity to do business with the government is looking to make big bucks. Things will only get worse.
#19 Posted : Friday, November 13, 2015 8:06:28 PM

Taurrus wrote:

wacha watu walalamike and apportion blame to others... my life is definitely... markedly better than it was when I was young... it's better than my folks life when they were my age. So... kila mtu ajisemee... usiseme uchumi ni mbaya... sema uchumi ni mbaya KWAKO!

how do you compare a better life now to then, but true uchumi is very personal I am sure even akina @kiash there are people who have bad uchumi.
#20 Posted : Friday, November 13, 2015 8:28:47 PM

Some tangible ways of measuring if your uchumi is better than yesterday. If you can eat kuku once a week and you were only able to eat kuku once a month or year before that...uko better. If you have disposable income to buy a car and fuel it kwa jam za Nairobi...uko better off. Same thing to schools and hospitals. Your quality of life is better. Sure you cannot go to hawaii for vacation but zamani hata game park hukuwahi kanyaga.