wazua Wed, Aug 13, 2025

Maina Kageni cancer mission
sitaki.kujulikana
#21 Posted : Friday, October 30, 2015 11:30:16 PM

Bykhovets wrote:
It's good to raise funds, BUT...

If KNH and NHIF are the recipients then chances are it is a useless venture. Buy equipment for KNH that will get stolen, break down or gather dust in a corner? Buy consumables that cost 30k and leave them under the watchful eye of a nurse who earns 16k? Give the funds to a KNH who will offer 3 out of 7 courses of chemo and use the rest of the money to fuel the director's car.

Why are we doing the government's job? KNH is a level 6 facility directly under the MoH. If it cannot take care of children in the cancer ward, it should be shut down like Uchumi?

good points, also if the government is poor to a level it can not afford the same, I don't think they will be in a position to maintain the same.

But we just do such to be seen and also to feel good, deep down I don't think we really care about those kids. Otherwise we would all be stripping in the streets and camping day and night at KNH calling for change.

To each their own, it makes some of us feel good, charity to us is a high, a cloud 9 we love getting to every now and then. We steal public resources only to give back and then to steal the same again.
#22 Posted : Saturday, October 31, 2015 12:04:47 AM

Typical Kenyans always being suspicious of a noble cause.

Maina is a rich man he does not need to eat your petty cents. 20M is nothing to him.

This is a great idea which will go directly in saving kids lives especially the poor who can only vist KNH. I hope he will establish an NGO por Trust that will be in charge of the equipment, maintenance etc
sitaki.kujulikana
#23 Posted : Saturday, October 31, 2015 2:45:07 AM

Maina is a rich man he does not need to eat your petty cents. 20M is nothing to him.

This is a great idea which will go directly in saving kids lives especially the poor who can only vist KNH. I hope he will establish an NGO por Trust that will be in charge of the equipment, maintenance etc

typical kenyan thinking, the rich dude is safe, you can trust them, either way they are rich they can not steal.
But don't trust that poor man.

Whats the problem questioning the process, an understanding of how knh runs would be a good first step.

2:15 "you can not question, you can not ask ubongo aliokupa mungu ..."

#24 Posted : Saturday, October 31, 2015 5:01:48 AM

If he is rich and 20m is nothing to him and he really cares about the kids then he should have silently donated the 10m he needs. The other question is on the excess money contributed. Will it be refunded pro rata?
#25 Posted : Saturday, October 31, 2015 1:39:57 PM

I thought we had a thread about KNH a few days ago.

The doctors here will tell you the problem is not the equipment, it is the very people who are just about to get 20m tax free money to buy equipment that my taxes are paying for. Something they have never done.

I think it was a noble cause, but as other rich people have found out, its better to start a foundation and deal with one patient at a time to deal with these issues.

A better thing would have been for Kageni to canvas the populace to demand better services as he collects the cash for individual needs.

I think they bit more than they can chew and that equipment will gather cockroaches before he has finished his next marriage bashing program.

I hate agreeing with Mawinder but on this one he's absolutely correct.

The only people who gained in this are Maina Kageni and the Radio Africa. Not those kids.

According to him and the fellows who sent the cash, the problem with health in Kenya is buying equipment. Once we all changa 10 bob via mpesa paybill, KNH shall be a lovely organisation.

I disagree.

Note: I did not send so you can throw your rocks if you wish. I help but don't participate in publicity stunts.

#26 Posted : Sunday, November 01, 2015 9:34:35 AM

Shak wrote:
It would make more sense for him to sponsor the treatment of sick kids from poor families in a private hospital like Aga Khan

How sustainable would that be? How many poor kids would be treated with Kes 20 M?
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#27 Posted : Sunday, November 01, 2015 11:58:47 AM

now he can continue slandering the marriage institution in peace.hii PR anafanya haitamsaidia!
#28 Posted : Sunday, November 01, 2015 12:10:02 PM

Shak wrote:
It would make more sense for him to sponsor the treatment of sick kids from poor families in a private hospital like Aga Khan

How sustainable would that be? How many poor kids would be treated with Kes 20 M?

My guess is maybe 10 or 20 but let him buy the equipment and take to KNH without relevant people eating. The machine will be dumped and all manner of excuses created.
#29 Posted : Sunday, November 01, 2015 6:13:58 PM

Good work Maina. It takes the courage of one man to bring positive change.
#30 Posted : Sunday, November 01, 2015 7:35:48 PM

Ha ha ha ! Ati maina is a rich man, for this and other jokes sms joke to 22222. You are probably doing much much better than him. It's all about packaging my brother. It's a superficial world where the label is more important than the labelled.

On the fundraiser, it had nothing to do with the cancer ward. Believe me I have been involved in projects at ward 1E and the really sad thing is lack of capacity to admit all deserving cases.

The waiting list to get there is heart breaking. But they have a unique problem of too many donors.

The fundraiser was a statement from radio africa confirming they are still a force to reckon with after Bikozulu and JKL trailblazed this new trend of crowd-funding. I wouldn't be surprised it came from Radio Africa's top management.

But like Paul the apostle said, some preach for selfish reasons but in all cases the gospel is being preached.
Anti_Burglar
#31 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 10:57:04 AM

Maina is the quack who thinks prescribing a 20m panadol will cure the figurative cancer bedevilling this country. All is not lost, however. If he could organise another fund raiser for the corrupt officials and his friends chip in like they have done, these officials will eat that cash collected instead of public funds and perhaps spare the country and let the citizens get their taxes worth.
#32 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 3:29:00 PM

I thought GoK signed a KShs 38bn medical equipment leasing deal with some corporates including Phillips mid this year? This would include equipment for major diseases of which cancer is foremost,no?
#33 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 3:36:34 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
I thought GoK signed a KShs 38bn medical equipment leasing deal with some corporates including Phillips mid this year? This would include equipment for major diseases of which cancer is foremost,no?

Maina kageni should not have swindled us.To date he is yet to account for the money.
#34 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 8:40:42 PM

I would rather a kid's life is saved than this arguing back and forth b/s

Americans are known to be very generous with donations and the likes and you can clearly see the difference between we and them. Go Maina I will donate and play my part.
chiaroscuro
#35 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2015 3:01:13 PM

sheri wrote:
Who manages that kitty?

The money is handed to KNH less Kageni's management fees.

What %age is his management fee?

No money shall be given to KNH. It will buy medical equipment for the children cancer treatment unit. According to Maina the equipment will be purchased directly from the manufacturer.

This is public money and for transparency sake and ensuring our money is used well, how will the manufacturer be chosen as I know there must be many manufacturers.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly By the way how much have you contributed?

I have contributed 200 Bob and I have a right to demand transparency. Maina cannot be trusted with such funds and the tendering must be conducted. Someone should go to court if they buy direct from the manufacturer as this is illegal.

It is foolish to give your hard earned money to some one you don't trust!
chiaroscuro
#36 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2015 3:05:42 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:

Maina kageni should not have swindled us.To date he is yet to account for the money.

what do mean?

He announced on live radio the exact amount collected. Spending of the money has NOT started, so there is no "accounting" to be done!
sitaki.kujulikana
#37 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2015 6:26:42 PM

I would rather a kid's life is saved than this arguing back and forth b/s

Americans are known to be very generous with donations and the likes and you can clearly see the difference between we and them. Go Maina I will donate and play my part.

Sad Americans donate to you poor people, why do you think there are homeless people back there, because they have a brain to know that that's the role of the government whom they pay their taxes to, of which should be used for such.

But I understand the middle class chaps, copy anything west with very little understanding of the same, then go the hashtags way to brag to all the good work they are doing.
#38 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2016 7:01:18 AM

He ate the money and donated syringes and NHIF cover for 5 children. All his donations were worth 48k. It is said he ate the other money over Christmas with hamburglars
#39 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2016 11:00:32 AM

He ate the money and donated syringes and NHIF cover for 5 children. All his donations were worth 48k. It is said he ate the other money over Christmas with hamburglars

efitense?
Thitifini
#40 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2016 11:23:06 AM

Why not he encourage cancer preventive measures? He would not need money for that, just his radio forum. Say he becomes ati-tobacco ambassador smile

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating