wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

The new excise duty as assented to by PORK
XSK
#1 Posted : Sunday, November 01, 2015 4:49:52 PM

Wazuan who has clear information on how much more we shall pay in order to import 'our brand new second hand' motor vehicles?
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
bartum
#2 Posted : Sunday, November 01, 2015 4:58:56 PM

XSK wrote:
Wazuan who has clear information on how much more we shall pay in order to import 'our brand new second hand' motor vehicles?

when was it assented,i have a m/v to clear
#3 Posted : Sunday, November 01, 2015 5:07:01 PM

Money needed for more first class flights for useless civil servants. Make sure you vote for these potatoes come 2017 LOL
#4 Posted : Sunday, November 01, 2015 5:43:53 PM

Kenyans have no idea how powerful they are. We can do away with all these fellows - both the ones in government and opposition - and bring in "outsiders" - both in government and opposition.

Lakini ile ujinga watu wamebeba, haiwezi waruhusu!!!
XSK
#5 Posted : Sunday, November 01, 2015 7:34:41 PM

bartum wrote:
XSK wrote:

when was it assented,i have a m/v to clear

If you check the papers from friday BD and today DN they are just throwing figures around. For example saying that the prices for demio & premio will shoot with 150 k. Remember this bill had been returned to parliament by PORK with some suggestions. Parliament could not muster the 2/3rd required to challenge the PORK. Apparently after this failure by parliament, the bill is now law (not sure). Its just waiting to be gazetted. I need someone to confirm so that I can confirm or cancel my order from japan
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
vin
#6 Posted : Sunday, November 01, 2015 7:36:17 PM

@Maich,umeongea kama wazee finje hivi.I tell you we can vote all the usual clowns out and bring in new blood.it is worth it even if the new fellows will be new in politics.watajulia mbele.lakini ukabila na unjinga haziwezi tuacha.

Kenyans have no idea how powerful they are. We can do away with all these fellows - both the ones in government and opposition - and bring in "outsiders" - both in government and opposition.

Lakini ile ujinga watu wamebeba, haiwezi waruhusu!!!

Advice is like snow.The softer it lands the harder is sticks.
#7 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 7:09:51 AM

UK says the economy is okay and there is nothing to worry about.

I guess all that we are experiencing is a figment of our own imagination. Those taxes that were raised at night, you imagined that! Those higher interest rates you are paying, you imagined that! Weak shilling. Your imagination! Broke government, Imagination galore. KRA missing tax collection targets, Imagination kibao!!!

All you now have to do is to imagine the economy is doing great and voila!!! Everything will be okay!
#8 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 7:16:06 AM

Rotich says we are 30000km above see level. We must be heading to space ie nothing
kasibitta
#9 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 10:01:11 AM

Rotich says we are 30000km above see level. We must be heading to space ie nothing

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly humourous and sad at the same time
sitaki.kujulikana
#10 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 12:14:58 PM

the economy has always been bad in Kenya, ask any poor person Its just that now the middle class loans have been touched they are feeling the effect, and their propensity for whining is know, did you really think the rich will just sit by as you attempt to move into their space. Expect the mitumba cars and labels to take a hike.

The middle class locked out the poor from their dimension, its now what the rich are doing to you, remember the rich are not complaining, they are actually gaining.
#11 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 3:01:03 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
the economy has always been bad in Kenya, ask any poor person Its just that now the middle class loans have been touched they are feeling the effect, and their propensity for whining is know, did you really think the rich will just sit by as you attempt to move into their space. Expect the mitumba cars and labels to take a hike.

The middle class locked out the poor from their dimension, its now what the rich are doing to you, remember the rich are not complaining, they are actually gaining.

This is very theoretical!!!

The middle class have always borne the blunt of everything in Kenya!

Things are always relatively good for the lower class. Free Primary Education, Free Secondary Education, Free Maternity, Sunsidized fertiliser etc. Paid for by??? The middle class!

The middle class actually have had it worse. Even those who used to take their kids to select few nice public primary schools can no longer do so because those schools are now "flooded" because the schools are now free. The middle class fellow, after helping pay for free education and maternity has to go back to hospital and take his family to private schools and hospitals!!!

Lower class - Don't pay tax, Upper class - evade the tax! Middle class - Taxed on anything and everything!!!
sitaki.kujulikana
#12 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 4:26:11 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

This is very theoretical!!!

The middle class have always borne the blunt of everything in Kenya!

Things are always relatively good for the lower class. Free Primary Education, Free Secondary Education, Free Maternity, Sunsidized fertiliser etc. Paid for by??? The middle class!

The middle class actually have had it worse. Even those who used to take their kids to select few nice public primary schools can no longer do so because those schools are now "flooded" because the schools are now free. The middle class fellow, after helping for free education and maternity has to go back to hospital and take his family to private schools and hospitals!!!

Lower class - Don't pay tax, Upper class - evade the tax! Middle class - Taxed on anything and everything!!!

you see the problem with middle class is that they think everything revolves around them, one misconception is the tax, they think that payee is the only tax, they forget vat, import, local council permits are also taxes.

Nothing is good for the lower class, the hospitals are crap, the free schooling is crap, the subsidized fertilizer is also crap since the bulk goes to the long distance middle class remote control farmers.

Now in the state of feeling special, the middle class went ahead and converted some public schools to be exclusive to their club, of course with the government paying for the teachers, that was reversed.

You see the middle class is like sossion and his gang, thinking that they are the reason the world goes round, they flood the few private hospitals meant for the rich, cause long queues as cashier struggle to confirm with their insurance companies whether they have exhausted their cover, or have to keep verifying their finger prints...
Mike Ock
#13 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 6:45:16 PM

For me I've stopped this mambo ya kulalamika. Things have always been bad in this land called Kenya, ever since the Britons stepped foot on our land we have suffered. The only time we got a temporary reprieve was for a few short years after independence. In such an environment you can get stuck crying and crying, but that would be a mistake, you have to be a man of action. Huku Kenya ni kujipanga and the only ways to jipanga are:

1. Setting up/joining a well performing private company
2. Run away to a more developed country
3. Loot public funds

Choose whichever one your heart desires. Notice I have not included an option for saving the country. It's beyond repair at this point. Ni kujipanga tu sasa.
vky
#14 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 7:53:36 PM

cars that sell for less than 750k are going to be hit the hardest, going by the current 20% excise duty these class of cars pay excise duty of between 57k - 80k, with the impending law the figure will shoot to 200k large, the cars here are vitz, demio na kadhalika

the next class are those that sell for between 800k - 1.2m these cars pay excise of between 85k - 140k, with the new law this will go up to 200k, cars here include axio, fielder, impreza (1.6) premio, allion etc

cars that sell for between 1.5m - 2.3m currently attract excise of between 150k - 180k, with the new law it will be 200k these ones will not feel the pinch too much, cars here include benz c180, passat, jetta, some foresters etc

cars that sell for more than 2.5m attract excise duty of 190k - >200k the effect here will be marginal increase and savings in cases where excise is >200k, cars include 4x4s benz etc

all the above is based on 7yr old newly imported used cars, the real gainers are going to be the guys who operate the locally used car market with units that sell for less than 700k
'One headache for famous medieval holy people was that someone might murder you to acquire your body parts for the relics trade'
mugo2of3
#15 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2015 1:38:20 PM

@vky, you have summarised it well.

0-3 year imports should ideally benefit but you can count the no. of imports in these range.

4-7 years which is typically >99% is the target of more millions for KRA.

PORK and Co. having an appetite for more and more money as usual have gone for the easy targets.

Cars will mint them money, Cigarettes and Beer Sin Tax come 2nd.
Then when they start taxing Del-Monte and Water, you know that we are doomed...
#16 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2015 2:36:11 PM

Future headlines "Thriving car yards shut down during the jubilee adminstration". Media will have field day on this one in 1 or 2 years kwanza when they compare with the kibaki days
#17 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2015 4:02:07 PM

This fixed taxes (As opposed to a percentage) are one of the most stupid things!!!

10 bob per litre o juice.

200k per car. Any car under 3 years

Sijui how much per 1000 sticks of cigarettes.

bla bla bla per litre of beer.

This are unfair taxes and deprive and disadvantage the people on the lower level of whatever it is!!!

Taxes should be a percentage so that if you buy a 10m car, you don't pay the same (or even lower) than the fellow who buys 500k car!!!
sitaki.kujulikana
#18 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2015 6:02:05 PM

mugo2of3 wrote:
@vky, you have summarised it well.

0-3 year imports should ideally benefit but you can count the no. of imports in these range.

4-7 years which is typically >99% is the target of more millions for KRA.

PORK and Co. having an appetite for more and more money as usual have gone for the easy targets.

Cars will mint them money, Cigarettes and Beer Sin Tax come 2nd.
Then when they start taxing Del-Monte and Water, you know that we are doomed...

All those are luxuries including the juice and bottled water, you see they will never touch vat. I bet the demand for the cars won't go down, a guy who can afford 1m can afford an extra 100k for his luxury.
Ericsson
#19 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2015 6:23:17 AM

At the end of the day choices have consequen;the jubilee governmentis messing up the economy but come 2017 we will go back to our tribal cocoons forget the problems they created for us in their first term and vote them in.
Its dangerous to have a leader who has never worked;they don't know what the masses are feeling.To them everything is okay and these are just opposition noises.
If u look at the career of Mwai Kibaki from education and career development and compare with the clowns we have you will see why we are suffering
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
enyands
#20 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2015 7:04:57 AM

Ericsson wrote:
At the end of the day choices have consequen;the jubilee governmentis messing up the economy but come 2017 we will go back to our tribal cocoons forget the problems they created for us in their first term and vote them in.
Its dangerous to have a leader who has never worked;they don't know what the masses are feeling.To them everything is okay and these are just opposition noises.
If u look at the career of Mwai Kibaki from education and career development and compare with the clowns we have you will see why we are suffering

"Tribal cocoons" .Don't you think it's so annoying when some gammament fool does some shitty stuff about his or her job then when they get busted they rush to their gishagi and call a galamoro ( meeting ) and tell his tribal cocoons that " kabila yetu inataka kumalizwa" .when I hear that people say this I usually feel like vomiting.
"Our tribe is being targeting " I hate this statement