wazua Sun, Dec 22, 2024

23 Pages«<23456>»
M-Akiba treasury bonds via mobile
#61 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2015 9:28:29 AM

kyt wrote:
Clueless government and guys in the treasury, we are messed up as a country really messed up!!

Eti that @Henry Rotich is a Havard graduate? Havard my foot!!!

Aguytrying
#62 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 3:13:53 PM

cancelled indefinitely

http://www.nation.co.ke/...90/-/w5xyar/-/index.html
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#63 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 3:28:25 PM

Aguytrying wrote:

Some sober advise coming their way.I think its ok for now.
#64 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 4:20:56 PM

my brokerage firm sent me this:

The prevailing high interest rates & clearance issue with Nairobi Securities Exchange have been sighted as reason to delay in launching the M-Akiba product.

Kenyan Government had intended to offer the 5 billion, 5 year retail bond at the end of October 2015. With interest rates recording 22.95% last week, the government is waiting to see how the rates in the market behave before setting an appropriate date.

We shall keep you abreast of any new developments

#65 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 5:48:27 PM

Sober wrote:

The prevailing high interest rates & clearance issue with Nairobi Securities Exchange have been sighted as reason to delay in launching the M-Akiba product.

Kenyan Government had intended to offer the 5 billion, 5 year retail bond at the end of October 2015. With interest rates recording 22.95% last week, the government is waiting to see how the rates in the market behave before setting an appropriate date.

Amen. Hii kitu ishindwe kabisa. Wanjiku should be at NSE lifing private sector, not the often corrupt GoK

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
sl8r
#66 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2015 10:55:57 AM

Are these government bonds even 'risk free' anymore?
the question that has been eating up my brain is 'How do you borrow more money to pay off another loan??? HOW? HOW???????
MA
#67 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2015 11:53:45 AM

M-Akiba is revolutionary

We all agree that interest rates maybe a bit on the higher side and that everything is not really going as all would like it to be. But an objective look will tell you that M-Akiba is revolutionary
#68 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2015 12:23:12 PM

MA wrote:
We all agree that interest rates maybe a bit on the higher side and that everything is not really going as all would like it to be. But an objective look will tell you that M-Akiba is revolutionary

This revolution cannot happen as Treasury sleeps.

jerry
#69 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2015 12:45:49 PM

sl8r wrote:
Are these government bonds even 'risk free' anymore?
the question that has been eating up my brain is 'How do you borrow more money to pay off another loan??? HOW? HOW???????

It happens everyday. You take M-SHWARI to repay KCB MPESA and vice versa!
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#70 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2015 1:07:21 PM

Sober wrote:

Amen. Hii kitu ishindwe kabisa. Wanjiku should be at NSE lifing private sector, not the often corrupt GoK

Please note they have stipulated that it is a delay and not cancellation. Does it mean the GOK did not iron out all the issues before rolling out this M-Akiba thing. Transaction advisors should be put on the spot because they failed in not highlighting the black spots in the dealSad Sad
sl8r
#71 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2015 5:15:35 PM

Remember the crowdfund campagn that was done for greece?

http://www.aljazeera.com...os-150704085003879.html

someone should try that for Kenya, win free holidays for certain amounts of donations :D
tmakto
#72 Posted : Saturday, October 31, 2015 5:17:54 PM

I've been following this m-akiba episode and frankly, i wonder why the gov wont spend such energies in improving business climate and incentivizing enterpreneurs to go global so they can reap from higher tax revenue, which could reduce the need for such ridiculous "harambee" drives ...
S.Mutaga III
#73 Posted : Saturday, October 31, 2015 6:43:13 PM

muganda wrote:
Sober wrote:
S.Mutaga III wrote:
Minimum amount for investment Ksh 3000...target locked in= Wanjiku. One thing I have learned is to avoid investments tailored for Wanjiku...even in the NSE, the smart money makes the kill and Wanjiku goes home crying foul...almost always. Whenever I hear such investments meant for Wanjiku, I ignore and discourage anyone I know from investing. The best deals are hard to spot, and require effort to discover...there is no free lunch in financial markets.

Very true. why target the most uninformed lot in the fragment

Wise words; reminds one of the Safaricom debacle. Common investors need a salutory protector.

The deal was postponed. There are only two possible outcomes of this move.
1) Government officials realized that the interest rate was too high and will wait until interest rates go down. This outcome is highly unlikely.
2) "Who is who" were furious that they were locked out of such a lucrative deal (20%+). This deal will come back, repackaged, to only accommodate the big fish. The big fish realized there was no need to give Wanjiku free money. If this deal comes back, it will only be available to high networth investors and not Wanjiku. Wanjiku is designed to lose money.
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
gatoho
#74 Posted : Saturday, October 31, 2015 11:58:20 PM

Was trying the M-Akiba no and was saying to follow voice prompts, can that be done on roaming? Hoping for a fully automated menu
Foresight..
Cde Monomotapa
#75 Posted : Sunday, November 01, 2015 8:44:15 PM

This issue ought to succeed. These discreet ICT driven products have given, and at the risk of sounding sexist, an avenue for women to save their money in this patriarchal society.

If a study was done of the Unclaimed Fin. Assets, I bet the bulk would be women! Let's see how it goes.

Na huyu Wanjiku ni nani?
vastcapital
#76 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 5:04:03 PM

The craze about M-Akiba is at the least annoying. Veteran Wazuans like Cde Monomotapa should be the lasts ones to support it.
This type of Interest rate instruments are the ones that require huge money investment. Assume an investment of 3K @ 22% p/a the return is equal to KES165 for a three month T-Bill. Surely Wanjiku is better placed to invest that money in the Mahindi Choma type of business, in 3 months time she will probably have grown it seven fold. But to lie to her that she now has a chance to invest in Gvt Tbills...SMH Wanjiku has been taken for granted.
#77 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 7:00:58 PM

vastcapital wrote:
The craze about M-Akiba is at the least annoying. Veteran Wazuans like Cde Monomotapa should be the lasts ones to support it.
This type of Interest rate instruments are the ones that require huge money investment. Assume an investment of 3K @ 22% p/a the return is equal to KES165 for a three month T-Bill. Surely Wanjiku is better placed to invest that money in the Mahindi Choma type of business, in 3 months time she will probably have grown it seven fold. But to lie to her that she now has a chance to invest in Gvt Tbills...SMH Wanjiku has been taken for granted.

I was against @wanjiku investion even KES. 100,000 in T Bills/Bonds...its meager...she better use that money selling mboga in the estates.

Cde Monomotapa
#78 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 7:27:29 PM

vastcapital wrote:

Well, this is a legit product where surplus can be held that is neither a HYIP nor Ponzi. How many have been suckered? Even so called sophisticated investors?

The rate is variable definitely, an 'introductory offer' it can be said. Solves cries of banks offering too low returns on savings.

For those reasons I say let it run. Market and sell it!
jerry
#79 Posted : Monday, November 02, 2015 10:44:05 PM

Any T-Bills/Bonds auctions in progress?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#80 Posted : Tuesday, March 21, 2017 2:35:59 PM

Launching on Thursday