Guka and soaps
#21 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2015 2:12:29 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
tafakari hii C&P:

The number of soaps was in 'ooo
So 1,ooo in the budget line is actually 1 million soaps.
So 37.5m means 37.5 shs per soap
Why would the government buy 1ooo soaps?

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly . Nyinyi vijana!. Jinga nyinyi.

Anyway, Intelli doesn't want to believe that crap. What bar soap costs 37 bob?Sad .Where?

Now since you are the subject matter expert - Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Kila barsoap ikikwa kwatwa tu vipande vipande using those tu lines... zinatoka ngapi?

Kuna mtu(watu?) alipangia kukuwa disaster tenderpreneur

If one justifies with small section for bar soap, what about for the pads? Per bundle/doz?
#22 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2015 3:16:10 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
tafakari hii C&P:

The number of soaps was in 'ooo
So 1,ooo in the budget line is actually 1 million soaps.
So 37.5m means 37.5 shs per soap
Why would the government buy 1ooo soaps?

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly . Nyinyi vijana!. Jinga nyinyi.

Anyway, Intelli doesn't want to believe that crap. What bar soap costs 37 bob?Sad .Where?

Now since you are the subject matter expert - Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Kila barsoap ikikwa kwatwa tu vipande vipande using those tu lines... zinatoka ngapi?

Kuna mtu(watu?) alipangia kukuwa disaster tenderpreneur

If one justifies with small section for bar soap, what about for the pads? Per bundle/doz?

I wouldnt put it past these people.... tenderprenueship is one of the worst evils of our time and hii ndio itaangusha Uhuru....
#23 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2015 3:47:17 PM

#24 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2015 3:50:27 PM

#25 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2015 4:17:52 PM

my opinion is the only way out of this mess is have a provision in law for 'market price'. the market price should be set every month by some gava body... so hii mwezi sabuni market price yake in nairobi is 300 bob (done by doing some aggregative mechanism.. max? average?) and then we have a stipulation in law that says if your tender is 30% above the market price - it's knocked out. Currently GOK is a bit tied to PPOA that says.... knock out people who don't know how to write tender papers and then take lowest bidder without that aspect of market price.
PeterReborn
#26 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2015 4:25:14 PM

my opinion is the only way out of this mess is have a provision in law for 'market price'. the market price should be set every month by some gava body... so hii mwezi sabuni market price yake in nairobi is 300 bob (done by doing some aggregative mechanism.. max? average?) and then we have a stipulation in law that says if your tender is 30% above the market price - it's knocked out. Currently GOK is a bit tied to PPOA that says.... knock out people who don't know how to write tender papers and then take lowest bidder without that aspect of market price.

But this market price does not also consider other factors such as the delay in government payments.When the garment overstays with your money then there is opportunity cost that needs to be factored.
Consistency is better than intensity
limanika
#27 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2015 4:53:48 PM

The greater evil is wasteful spending e.g. laptops, nys.. you cannot eliminate tenderpreneureship 100 percent. Much of what is happening is due to sheer dereliction of duty e.g. how can a whole accounting officer say he's not aware what is happening. Plus that sheepish smile by wajuu as uhuru stares at a drain in kibera tells all...
#28 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2015 4:55:06 PM

#29 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2015 5:02:32 PM

Which type of cartons are these? I thought one carton of soap has 12 pieces and one carton of pads has 48?
#30 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2015 5:04:08 PM

The 36# are trying very hard to "rectify" the blatant theft after the public outcry, but still in their folly they cant explain where KES. 500,000 disappeared to while buying the said bar soap.
Eti sasa ni 10,000 cartons of bar soap and not 1,000 bar soaps.

Sad Sad Sad Sad

limanika
#31 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2015 5:13:49 PM

Why do you need bar soap but no tents etc. I think someone taking us for fools or we're one
Sevian
#32 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2015 5:20:06 PM

Pray tell where you'll use 24m worth of sanitary towels...
Ama ni za ku-absorb el nino
#33 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2015 5:30:10 PM

limanika wrote:
Why do you need bar soap but no tents etc. I think someone taking us for fools or we're one

I have asked this question tangu jana mpaka kishwa imesalenda, nimeshoka.

Why is bar soap so related to the El Nino that much so that it comes ahead of things like uji mix, meko,warm jackets etc.

#34 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2015 5:37:14 PM

PeterReborn wrote:

But this market price does not also consider other factors such as the delay in government payments.When the garment overstays with your money then there is opportunity cost that needs to be factored.

I agree... I don't think watu waliopewa kandarasi za IEBC wote wamelipwa... but it's a chicken and egg scenario... the reason gava does not pay you on time is because all the money it had was being used to pay people who over quoted like in 2010! so it will continue like this unless a line is drawn in the sand! a line has to be drawn bila sheria kama hii.... sisi kwisha! we will never get out of it.... by the way the 30% is just a random figure from the top of my head... it should be someone's job to set that out.
Alba
#35 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2015 6:58:48 PM

Was recently reading eti the former Police commissioners Hinga and Kanyotu left an estate worth billions of shillings when they passed on.
Kanyotu's wealth is estimated at Ksh 20 billion !!!

This makes you understand how a civil servant can end up amassing such a fortune.
limanika
#36 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2015 7:09:42 PM

You know govt has no more ideas when the only option they see to raise revenue is to tax rentals. Excuse me, you raise tax you reduce spending hence zero sum game. At the same time accounting officer say the money is being spent behind their back.. they don't say if they look for ways to minimize wastage and they don't get reprimand by the boss
#37 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2015 7:21:44 PM

Me and my stupid self thought the warehouse was for 'storing' El nino victims as the task force does it's best to wash away the unusual weather phenomena using the 37000 cartons of bar soaps. I have no plausible reasoning around the high number of pads but i believe Rtd.Major Kigotho mistook the weatherman's 'Kutanyesha mbaya sana' statement to mean another kind of rain. If that's the taskforce preparing Kenyans for the Elnino i experienced in '97, we are dead meat. US please annex us.
#38 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2015 8:10:12 PM

Cornered thieves just trying to cover their heads. So the document is still evolving, if their thievery is not exposed by media we pocket the cash.
#39 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2015 8:45:25 PM

Now there's is soap that some from the fairer sex are using to enhance their sitting allowance, could this have been recommended to the task forceto fight off el nino?

#40 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2015 8:47:12 PM

So far El Nino is messing up these thieves big time......