wazua Mon, Jan 27, 2025

PHD-Curse or Blessing?
Wamunyota
#1 Posted : Friday, October 09, 2015 11:16:27 AM

For them, a PhD means higher status and intellectual ferocity. What’s even more interesting about their expressions and handshakes is that they are almost always followed by negative statements about their sons and young Kenyan men in general, “Siku hizi wasichana ndio wanasoma na bidii, vijana ni bure kabisa!” Nowadays, girls are more hardworking than these useless boys, they say.

I have heard the same criticism in different words across the socio-economic classes. From a carpenter to upper-class corporate heads and government elites.

I appreciate that my years of social and psychological sacrifice have not gone unnoticed. However, I am not excited at the prospect of being compared with “young useless men and boys” who have refused to go to graduate school.

Pengine Hana Degree
Hutia Mundu!!
#2 Posted : Friday, October 09, 2015 1:17:20 PM

What's this article really about?
Anti_Burglar
#3 Posted : Friday, October 09, 2015 1:27:19 PM

It is about base instincts in the light of 'education' and 'enlightenment'.
¿
#4 Posted : Friday, October 09, 2015 1:31:16 PM

Anti_Burglar wrote:

How so?
Anti_Burglar
#5 Posted : Friday, October 09, 2015 1:56:23 PM

¿ wrote:
Anti_Burglar wrote:

How so?

how feminism failed.
Chaka
#6 Posted : Friday, October 09, 2015 3:37:05 PM

PHD=Permanent Head Damage..
Chaka
#7 Posted : Friday, October 09, 2015 3:42:56 PM

PHD=Permanent Head Damage..
#8 Posted : Friday, October 09, 2015 3:46:10 PM

Yote ni sawa provided it is within your specs smile