wazua Thu, Jan 9, 2025

Tractor....
Shiznit...
#1 Posted : Friday, September 17, 2010 5:20:28 PM

Has anyone here in wazua imported a tractor or other farming equipments?
Am looking to buy a tractor either New holland, mersey fer...,case etc last time i checked farming equipments dont attract duties is it still the case?
what the best model for medium scale farming? thanks in advance...
Shiznit...
#2 Posted : Friday, September 17, 2010 9:19:48 PM

And if anyone know do tractors olso have year limit to import in kenya like the cars or i can import an old tractor pls advice?
iKenya
#3 Posted : Sunday, September 19, 2010 8:19:51 AM

Do a quick search in Wazua, this has been discussed previously...
Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own...
Shiznit...
#4 Posted : Sunday, September 19, 2010 12:00:12 PM

@ ikenya appreciate ya input but still cant find the imfo am after...need to know abt duty and if tractors hav the same limit of 8 year rule......
if u have the link pls paste...
JkMwatha
#5 Posted : Sunday, September 19, 2010 4:07:08 PM

Shiznit... wrote:
And if anyone know do tractors olso have year limit to import in kenya like the cars or i can import an old tractor pls advice?

Tractors and equipment don't attract duty and no age limit like in the case of other vehicles.
They do not even go through Jevic inspection.

Eg from UK, a medium size tractor is less than £1500 (ksh180k) to ship either container or RoRo.... although the height/width have to be measured to determine the cost of Freight.
So it usually cost of tractor plus delivery to port and shipping.

As for make - Massey F, Ford, New holland, J Deere, Case, Fiat... or whatever make will do fine, as the importer/exporter is always able to source the parts and accessories/attachments for the same tractors.
mjuaji wa stocks
#6 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 12:39:16 PM

Check this link.....

http://www.dumelow.co.uk/

The fellow deals with reconditioned tractors.....quite good quality.

No age limit...some were made in the 70's but still very good.

Tractors dont break down...aka age...they only wear and tear......Massey ferguson parts are quite readily available....i recommend you get a massey ferguson....re-sale value is also good....it is the toyota for tractors...

@jk mwatha et all...any idea of another good dealer apart from the above??

What about a shipping agent??
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

JkMwatha
#7 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 7:05:24 PM

take a look here

http://www.agriaffaires.co.uk/ .... you may be overwhelmed by the info.

Other places are Auction houses.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, September 22, 2010 3:46:29 PM

@Mwatha,
Very useful link and thanks.....You could be having a rough estimate for shipping to Mombasa say for an MF 385 or JD 3080?

@Wazua,
why not move this thread to "Market-Wanted"?
JkMwatha
#9 Posted : Wednesday, September 22, 2010 5:13:50 PM

the MF385 may cost £1300 [ksh165k] plus factor in delivery to the docks - may be £250 (depending on distance).... unless free delivery is indicated.

John Deere 3080 would cost more due to height (Enclosed Cab).
#10 Posted : Wednesday, September 22, 2010 5:32:31 PM

Thanks Mwatha.......It's clear now.Importing a tractor makes lots of cents (Sense).
mjuaji wa stocks
#11 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 9:52:34 AM

@jkmwatha.....the link you gave showed quite a number of old / rusted tractors...ama ni mimi sikuona vizuri...Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Any auction houses for tractors???....ama a link with new ones.....not brand new...but used not rusted tractors? smile
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

JkMwatha
#12 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 10:31:08 AM

mjuaji wa stocks wrote:
@jkmwatha.....the link you gave showed quite a number of old / rusted tractors...ama ni mimi sikuona vizuri...Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Any auction houses for tractors???....ama a link with new ones.....not brand new...but used not rusted tractors? smile

Rusted? old?

@mjuaji - I think you got up too early. Otherwise your PC monitor needs cleaning.

Agriaffaires is one of the most comprehensive websites
RE:agricultural affairs/ used farming equipment. You will even get nearly new 2010 tractors.
There's more than 20,000 tractors listed.

Auction houses may not be very useful unless you can attend them.
eg http://www.cheffins.co.uk/machinery/
#13 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 12:47:44 PM

@Mwatha,
Must be her eyes which are rusty??...There are quite a good number of nearly new machines (YOM 2006,2007)
mjuaji wa stocks
#14 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 1:34:57 PM

Mwatha ....nimeona

Njunge....mimi sii mzee kama wewe.Shame on you Shame on you

...computer is almost showing your uzee....Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Kwani at times you sniff nusa nusa....Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

jasonhill
#15 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 5:31:39 AM

Is there a healthy market for tractors in Kenya? There are a lot of used tractors on the market here in the Cleveland area. How much would a tractor fetch?
samwank
#16 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 9:44:38 AM

jasonhill wrote:
Is there a healthy market for tractors in Kenya? There are a lot of used tractors on the market here in the Cleveland area. How much would a tractor fetch?

That would be between 800k + , (well according to what i have seen in the adverts .
tony stark
#17 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 10:35:31 AM

mjuaji wa stocks wrote:

So which truck did you buy. Can you provide your experience so far?
kayhara
#18 Posted : Friday, October 02, 2015 3:41:29 PM

I would like to be able to own one some of these when I do retire to the lush plains of Laikipia county.

To Each His Own
bartum
#19 Posted : Friday, October 09, 2015 3:34:50 PM

JkMwatha wrote:
the MF385 may cost £1300 [ksh165k] plus factor in delivery to the docks - may be £250 (depending on distance).... unless free delivery is indicated.

John Deere 3080 would cost more due to height (Enclosed Cab).

who has imported a tractor from agriaffaires.co.uk i need to import.
iam eyeing one fob GBB 5500(or this expendive,its year 1986)