Anti_Burglar wrote:AlphDoti wrote:incognito wrote:Anti_Burglar wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Kudos teachers and pupils for good effort in science
They need to patent it quickly before uncle SAM country offers "scholarship" (read brain drain) to the pupils and "steal" the discovery. Then few years down the line it comes out as modified, improved idea
It looks like that was already existing traditional knowledge that they improved on.
Snake stones have been in use for sometime. They have been using them in Tharaka Nithi for ages.
In other parts of the world:
snake stones-Wikipedia Good to know. I think we need to patent all these good traditional methods.
In fact, while @sitaki.kujulikana is working on patenting
ugali, I'm working on patenting our African thatched roofing before somebody says it is "mzungu style", the way "kitenge" went.

As you think about patenting things, what is your opinion on generic medicines and medical supplies? Do you get the patented drugs all the time for everything that ails you? Why should we respect your patents? Why don't you concentrate on giving us hadiths and leave this patent business alone?
It is up to you brother as far as generic medicine is concerned.
With a patent in hand, it gives the school confidence that they will be able to leverage on the "technology".
It will provide some security in their investment, over some time until their idea plays out and have real value in the society.
Fruits of their labour if modernized, will help to solves problems, to save lives.
And regarding the thatched houses, is to show what is it that our great grand parents did, is amazing: cool in the heat of the day and warm at night.
Yes, of course there are better innovations as far as housing is concerned, but thatched house is an important part of our culture.