wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Stone that sucks poison out of snake bites
Coolbull
#1 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2015 10:28:32 AM

Kumbe there is something good happening in our secondary schools..These girls have made my day.

stone that sucks poison out of snake bites

I hope this is not hogwash press but a reality.
#2 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2015 10:48:29 AM

Coolbull wrote:
Kumbe there is something good happening in our secondary schools..These girls have made my day.

#3 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2015 11:02:53 AM

Coolbull wrote:

Kudos teachers and pupils for good effort in science Applause
They need to patent it quickly before uncle SAM country offers "scholarship" (read brain drain) to the pupils and "steal" the discovery. Then few years down the line it comes out as modified, improved idea Pray
Anti_Burglar
#4 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2015 11:29:51 AM

Coolbull wrote:

They need to patent it quickly before uncle SAM country offers "scholarship" (read brain drain) to the pupils and "steal" the discovery. Then few years down the line it comes out as modified, improved idea Pray

It looks like that was already existing traditional knowledge that they improved on.
incognito
#5 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2015 12:01:43 PM

Snake stones have been in use for sometime. They have been using them in Tharaka Nithi for ages.
In other parts of the world:
snake stones-Wikipedia
Excelsior
#6 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2015 12:55:30 PM

incognito wrote:
Anti_Burglar wrote:
Coolbull wrote:

It looks like that was already existing traditional knowledge that they improved on.

Snake stones have been in use for sometime. They have been using them in Tharaka Nithi for ages.
snake stones-Wikipedia

Good to know. I think we need to patent all these good traditional methods.

In fact, while @sitaki.kujulikana is working on patenting ugali, I'm working on patenting our African thatched roofing before somebody says it is "mzungu style", the way "kitenge" went.

#7 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2015 1:42:51 PM

In fact, while @sitaki.kujulikana is working on patenting ugali, I'm working on patenting our African thatched roofing before somebody says it is "mzungu style", the way "kitenge" went.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly what is the obsession with patents?
sitaki.kujulikana
#8 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2015 1:51:01 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly what is the obsession with patents?

smile patents are very good, especially when it come to extorting cash. I am sure that muzungu who placed a patent for coating mabati with stone is all smiles.

Hata mimi I will continue looking for juakali guys who can crack the ugali making contraption at least @impunity has put some thought in it, since our engineers are preoccupied with other things.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2015 2:21:42 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

smile patents are very good, especially when it come to extorting cash. I am sure that muzungu who placed a patent for coating mabati with stone is all smiles.

Hata mimi I will continue looking for juakali guys who can crack the ugali making contraption at least @impunity has put some thought in it, since our engineers are preoccupied with other things.

how many people have paid the japanese for making kitenges? lol! it's one thing to own a patent and quite another to defend it... plus patents are owned in markets so patenting a thing here does not mean it's patented in Solomon Islands.
vky
#10 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2015 8:00:29 PM

incognito wrote:
snake stones-Wikipedia

Why are there so many snakes in tharaka nithi, went there once and if I ever go back again it will be to soon, snakes there just don't give a fook talk of snakes basking on the road as cars pass by, it was quite a spectacle
'One headache for famous medieval holy people was that someone might murder you to acquire your body parts for the relics trade'
#11 Posted : Tuesday, October 06, 2015 9:45:04 PM

vky wrote:
incognito wrote:
snake stones-Wikipedia

Why are there so many snakes in tharaka nithi, went there once and if I ever go back again it will be to soon, snakes there just don't give a fook talk of snakes basking on the road as cars pass by, it was quite a spectacle

South Sudan is worse!!!
Anti_Burglar
#12 Posted : Wednesday, October 07, 2015 9:52:56 AM

incognito wrote:
Anti_Burglar wrote:
Coolbull wrote:

snake stones-Wikipedia

As you think about patenting things, what is your opinion on generic medicines and medical supplies? Do you get the patented drugs all the time for everything that ails you? Why should we respect your patents? Why don't you concentrate on giving us hadiths and leave this patent business alone?
#13 Posted : Wednesday, October 07, 2015 10:42:22 AM

Anti_Burglar wrote:
incognito wrote:
Anti_Burglar wrote:
Coolbull wrote:

snake stones-Wikipedia

As you think about patenting things, what is your opinion on generic medicines and medical supplies? Do you get the patented drugs all the time for everything that ails you? Why should we respect your patents? Why don't you concentrate on giving us hadiths and leave this patent business alone?

It is up to you brother as far as generic medicine is concerned.

With a patent in hand, it gives the school confidence that they will be able to leverage on the "technology".
It will provide some security in their investment, over some time until their idea plays out and have real value in the society.
Fruits of their labour if modernized, will help to solves problems, to save lives.

And regarding the thatched houses, is to show what is it that our great grand parents did, is amazing: cool in the heat of the day and warm at night.
Yes, of course there are better innovations as far as housing is concerned, but thatched house is an important part of our culture.