#1 Posted : Thursday, February 18, 2010 4:56:21 AM

Half of a Yellow Sun
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, 2006
Random House
528 pp.

In Brief
Winner of the Orange Prize for Fiction

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie was once heralded as the “21st century daughter” of Chinua Achebe. Now, in her masterly, haunting new novel, she recreates a seminal moment in modern African history: Biafra’s impassioned struggle to establish an independent republic in Nigeria during the 1960s.

With the effortless grace of a natural storyteller, Adichie weaves together the lives of five characters caught up in the extraordinary tumult of the decade. Fifteen-year-old Ugwu is houseboy to Odenigbo, a university professor who sends him to school, and in whose living room Ugwu hears voices full of revolutionary zeal. Odenigbo’s beautiful mistress, Olanna, a sociology teacher, is running away from her parents’ world of wealth and excess; Kainene, her urbane twin, is taking over their father’s business; and Kainene’s English lover, Richard, forms a bridge between their two worlds.

Book Club Discussion Questions

1. Ugwu is only thirteen when he begins working as a houseboy for Odenigbo, but he is one of the most intelligent and observant characters in the novel. How well does Ugwu manage the transition from village life to the intellectual and privileged world of his employers?

2. About her attraction to Odenigbo, Olanna thinks, “The intensity had not abated after two years, nor had her awe at his self-assured eccentricities and his fierce moralities” [p. 36]. What is attractive about Odenigbo? How does Adichie poke fun at certain aspects of his character?

4. What are the sources of the distance and distrust between the two sisters?

5. Discuss the differences in social class among her characters. What are the different cultural assumptions—about themselves and others—made by educated Africans like Odenigbo, nouveau riche Africans like Olanna’s parents, uneducated Africans like Odenigbo’s mother, and British expatriates like Richard’s ex-girlfriend Susan?

#2 Posted : Thursday, February 18, 2010 5:06:33 AM

Okay so the day is here. I guess we can safely chew the first 3/4 chapters, or at least Part 1 (6 chapters) of the book safely. Sourced some book club discussion questions purely as a guide - you don't have to refer to them in contributing...

No spoilers please Referring to plot outside this section as we'd ruin it all for others.

My first observation is the book does give the feeling of reading a modern 'Things Fall Apart' or 'No Longer at Ease' novel. Is it because of references to the West African Culture, language, setting...

My second observation is femininity of the author comes through in the writing sytle and definition of characters. I've always liked movies / books which use first person's voice. And the author is intouch with her sexuality. What with the way intimacy is naturally intertwined into normal lives...

More to come...
#3 Posted : Thursday, February 18, 2010 11:18:59 AM

On reading 'Half of a Yellow Sun', I was nostalgic.

1. I admired Olana - beauty, elegance, kind hearted. If @simonkabz was reading the book, it would remind him of his new catch. Wife material as we guys say.

2. The respect learned friends were held with. Even in Kenya, when you we were young, a professor was position of respect and repute - eradicating ignorance of the masses.

3. Odegnibos empathy for Ukwu. When we were young, there was just more caring for your neighbour. He sets up his houseboy to learn at school, picks up the houseboy's mum for medical treatment, treats him like an equal - How many of us do that any more?

4. Comradeship of learned equals. Maybe you experienced it in high school, college, university or at work. The way Odegnibo seats and debates all manner of issues with peers on evenings; reminds me of Wazua.

5. The pride of Nigerians. Author and learned characters view the 'white man' with amusement. How they do not get Nigeria, the people, and their European's queer mannerisms. Reminded me of the need, for Africans to be proud of their heritage.
#4 Posted : Monday, February 22, 2010 9:49:30 AM

I'm advancing quite well in the novel. More twists and turns than I expected. By Thursday I expect to have done away with it...

The issue of why the sisters don't get along is interesting. I believe Kainene the quieter, more aloof, tell-it-to-your-face sister has grown up in the shadow of her more prettier, more social, more generous twin.

Anyone who approaches them immediately shows more interest in her twin. Maybe her aloof reserved personality also serves as a good defence. The different experiences in formative stages of life make it easier for Kainene to distance herself from her prettier twin.

But what is more interesting is what attracts the European Richard to Kainene despite Olana being prettier. Does this actually happen in real life - good looking white guy interested in ugly chic purely because of intrigue?
#5 Posted : Tuesday, March 02, 2010 7:50:42 PM

I've just completed reading it - it took me just over 2 weeks. A definite sign that I'm now older than my years. Long ago, 5 days would be too long.

1. Half of a Yellow Sun is a sad story and ends sadly. The second half of the book is difficult to read - desolation, poverty, war - didn't know what is hard to picture is also hard to read.

2. Characters are complex and a lesson in not judging just by initial appearances. Twin sisters surprise you in turns; and surprising how all change in desperate times.

3. And man can also be selfish. In all circumstances, all situations, selfish man deeply saddens. Often the innocent ones are the worst off.

Lesson for me: Don't take life for granted
ngatts
#6 Posted : Monday, March 08, 2010 7:01:01 PM

So is this book available locally, in Kenya i.e.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 10:45:41 AM

@Muganda,
Now that you malizad reading it bila us even getting ourselves a copy...can i borrow ur book? and return in about 3wks?
#8 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 12:35:15 PM

@ leona that is why Africa never develops.Buy your own copy so that you can help the new Chinua Achebe grow.Laughing out loudly
#9 Posted : Wednesday, March 10, 2010 11:21:17 AM

@Bkismat
Sasaaa...being a conservationist,am concerned about the numerous trees that have to be felled for each of us to own a personal copy of this book. And with the recent rationing still fresh on my mind,not to mention the Mau crisis,naona afadhali i share a book with my broda Muganda badala ya kuharibu Mau ya huko kwa akina Chinua. So,should we make Chinua richer ama conserve our endangered African forests? smilesmile
#10 Posted : Thursday, March 11, 2010 12:13:19 PM

@ngatts, Sorry missed you. Book is available locally at Prestige, Book Point, Text Book Center.

@Leona, smile Lakini wewe, kwanini you always skip my posts. I went ahead and completed the book because of no direction...
muganda wrote:
Thursday, February 25, 2010 7:27:01 PM

So we need to decide, should we make a new pick then we all start or do you want us to wait and you pick up the same book

I'll gladly pass the book to you BUT just to make sure you'll read it, I first propose we pick a book or join @bkismat 'Mine Boy' and we do the deed smile
#11 Posted : Friday, March 12, 2010 8:09:57 AM

finally gotten a copy of the book. in fact 2 of her books(+ purple hibiscus).hope i can squeeze sometime this weekend to read it between partaking Jeremiah's frothy waters and being a hapless gooner fan (5 years and waiting).though is afraid of reading the text.horrible things happened to the Igbos during the 3 years Biafran war while the rest of the Nigerians did not even notice it.
#12 Posted : Friday, March 12, 2010 1:10:07 PM

muganda wrote:

I'll gladly pass the book to you BUT just to make sure you'll read it, I first propose we pick a book or join @bkismat 'Mine Boy' and we do the deed smile

@Muganda
Woiye wacha kuwa mkali na kitabu...smile smile

Sasa Mine boy...reminds me so much of school! You guys please pick something that has never been a setbook.Pray

And btw,i go throught the posts in such a rush i barely read everything,thus the 'skipping' your postsLaughing out loudly What book have you guys decided on for now? and pliz dont suggest that i read through the entire thread!!!

PS:Thanks in advance for the bookApplause
#13 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 8:15:11 AM

@bkismat, how far did you go with the weekend reading? Hope the frothies didn't get the better of you. I eagerly await...

Now that you're fully loaded, in the meantime, I beg you allow @digitek1 @leona and I to indulge in a quick Kenyan read of 'Charcoal to Gold'.

@leona, welcome in advance smile Get your Njenga Karume 'Charcoal to Gold' and I'm sure we'll be among the first peeps to review it...
#14 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 8:35:43 AM

@ muganda. was a good boy this weekend. I'm on chap 21. Will give review once I'm through though I'm not disappointed. it was all I imagined and all. And BTW she was on K24 this morning on the CNN show "African Voices"
#15 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 8:39:27 AM

What what @bkismat, I can't believe I missed it. I'll look for the link.

Lakini share a bit; I just feel like talking about it. It wont take anything away from what you have to say at the end, will it?

What has shocked you so far?
What has made you smile so far?
What has inspired you so far?
#16 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 8:57:38 AM

One thing is we have refused to learn from our history. Nigeria is still suffering from what brought the Biafran war in the first place.We refuse to learn from our neigbours otherwise their would have been no Rwandan genocide in 1994 or Kenyan PEV in 2007. Thank God it was just for a short while. Some scene like Abdimalik saying we have killed the whole family ,it was Allah's will while killing the family of Ollana's uncle's family sound eerily like what happened in Eldoret and Naivasha. I remember him giving Ollana a pair of leather slippers not long before.And the mama carrying her daughter's plaited head in a from the North, Shocking.
#17 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 10:27:04 AM

@bkismat, aiish this Wazua, sometimes the posts run away somewhere.
VERY VERY TRUE
bkismat wrote:
One thing is we have refused to learn from our history.

This comes out clearly in the novel. It's like we know we should polish our shoes everyday, but for one week we want to leave them alone, so we see what happens...

And so the human being is cursed to learn difficult lessons from experience. From the day when Eve and Adam ate the fruit, when they knew so well they shouldn't...

But the author brings it out so well, the tragedy, the cold heartedness, it's the beginning of a difficult part of the book.
#18 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 10:37:59 AM

and Kainene would have been perfect for "Ollana's revolutionary lover" but maybe its a case of opposites attracting.
#19 Posted : Tuesday, March 16, 2010 10:43:20 AM

bkismat wrote:
and Kainene would have been perfect for "Ollana's revolutionary lover" but maybe its a case of opposites attracting.

Actually I disagree. You often hear the adage 'opposites attract'. And I've heard Chris Hart (psychologist) oft saying people are attracted to those where they have many things in common.

I believe the three are in a 'common circle', but after that, you have to agree that Olana and Odegnibo are opposite in many ways. Not so with Kainene, I think...

But even more interesting for me, are insights into how women think, and what attracts men to women - the author after all cannot change her gender - it shows in her writing.

#20 Posted : Wednesday, March 17, 2010 9:36:47 AM

I saw a small part of the writer's interview in K24 last evening and I overheard her say that marriage is a dangerous Institution for women.I didnt get her explaination for that accersion , for those who saw the interview what did she mean by that?